223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (276) 628-5333
CGID3616

Riverside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   5   1   10   2   1   3   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Wonderful people! Great cool adventure. Grateful I got to stop by for a visit. I will plan for a stop on the way back through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
The rate quoted is Passport America rate. Glad we did not have to pay more. This place is WAY back a very narrow winding road. Most of the sites look to be permanent residents. A few are run down but most look well kept. Only staying one night. Sure would not go out of my way to return. Store very limited - maybe because near end of season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Our one-night stay was just okay. There are several "scary" permanent residents. This campground is very soggy when it rains and the first site we were issued was much too muddy. We asked for a river side spot and was told we could move to the one that was remaining. The ASPCA should check into several pet owners at this place. The surroundings are nice, with the river and the mountains. There is no WiFi and no cable. It is advertised as being in Abingdon, but a pretty good distance from the town. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is the first time I've stayed at Riverside Campground in Abingdon. This was the nastiest place I'd ever seen. The bath rooms were terrible, didn't look like they had been cleaned since the park was built. The showers were nasty, even in the sinks there was no soap to wash your hands or no towels to dry with afterwards. One thing that erked me the most was the price for Camping was 30.00 a night. People should be payed to stay there. Golf Carts ran all day and all night. Dog's barked at night. The noise after quite hours was still loud. It just wasn't a very good experience for us. I would advise against anyone staying there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Great campground. Very family friendly with lots for kids to do. Everyone was very friendly. I will definitely be going back. Had lots of fun. Had great gospel singing and free hotdogs. Bingo every Saturday night for cool little prizes. Made reservations for Labor day weekend and can't wait for all the fun and games. No doubt I will be there a few times before then as well. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We set up camp on Saturday morning. Went to do some biking and had dinner. Arrived back at camp around 8:45. Went to our tent and could not access our site. No parking due to over crowding and to many tents on sights around us. The limit was supposed to be one car per site and 2 tents on site. We went to office and it was closed. After this we decided we also felt unsafe here with out a car nearby. Clientele around us was rather rough. We chose to leave. We pulled up stakes and went back to Asheville. I left a message on office machine. Then called back next morning. They refused to refund us our money. In general the campground was in pretty rough shape but clean. Sites were pretty rough around the river, with hardly enough room. They did not make campers follow policy. I also called AAA to let them know that they may need to check out what they are endorsing. Don't go...find somewhere else. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Don't waste your time here, find another campground. Bathrooms are bad, never cleaned. We were there for 4 days and they never touched them. ( use chains to hold toilet paper ), no towels to dry hands or soap to even wash your hands. Luke warm water only for showers. Grass in campground not mowed and getting very high. Camp sites have very little gravel in them so when it rains, it is mud. June 10th and they were just filling the pool. Golf carts run all the time.Campground need major overhaul, not worth the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Showers were terrible, dirty, and very outdated. Camping sites don't look like there has been any maintenance in a long time. Mostly occupied by permanent set ups. Looks like a lot of weekenders found this place cheaper to store their camper than storage. Entrance road very, very narrow and crooked and I was in a truck camper. Anything any bigger beware. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
Pay Heed. This is not "Big Rig" friendly. My whole weekend was consumed by worries on how we were going to get out of there without going off of the payment. Advise motorhome campers to unhook their toad in town before going down the the 2+ mile road that leads to the campground. There are two soft 90 degree turns after you enter the campground. Tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
This used to be a nice little campground. Apparently has new ownership that takes little or no interest in the facility. Very poorly maintained, store didn't open on Friday morning until after 11am, grass hadn't been cut in some time, sink that was broken last summer is still broken. Very disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
This park is an older campground located on a small river. The road in to the campground is North Fork River Road and it is extremely narrow in places. I did manage to pass a school bus on this road with out any real problem, but I was at a wider point in the road. I would recommend going no faster than 25 mph. The campground is mainly seasonal sites however the pull through site we stayed in was very nice. It required the use of some boards to make the camper level but thats why we carry them right? There are a good number of sites right up against the river, but they looked mainly for pop ups and tents. But i think it would be very relaxing listening to the water at night. The pool looked very nice however we did not use it, but there were a lot of people in it. The game room is old with some old video games and pool tables. There is also a basketball court and a volleyball court. If you don't have any equipment with you the campground has stuff for you to use. There was also a horse shoe pit. The bathrooms were fairly clean but old. The showers were old as well and kind of showed it. However there was not really any trash left all over the place. Now for the main office. This was very old and somewhat trashy. There isn't much to choose from in the store and everything seemed very cluttered. When the girl that checked us in went to use the credit card she had to disconnect the phone and run a cord to the credit card machine. There was also a big friendly dog that jumped up to the counter to welcome you to the campground which I thought was very cute. All in all the staff and other campers were friendly. The teenagers were very grown up and pleasant to be around. I would stay here again and for the price of $28 a night you cant beat it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This CG is really nice. If you enjoy fishing, boating and swimming, in a quite atmosphere, this is the place to go. We take our children and grandchildren. They have boat rentals, camper rentals and tent sites. The bathhouse is very clean. The camp store has a grill and the food is good and reasonable. The owners are super nice and always there with a helping hand. They truly made our first camping trip in our new camper, an enjoyable and stress free event. We go there as much as possible. Our four year old grandson even caught his first 3 lb. catfish off the dock. The river is beautiful and you see lots of eagles and other wild life. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$23
Extremely narrow county road (2.2 miles) to campground. Your in trouble if you meet someone, so beware. I don't know how TL gets their ratings, but campground could use a face lift. Ok for an overnighter, but wouldn' stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
This campground claims to be big rig friendly. However, the 2.2 mile road to get to the campground is very narrow and twisty. Cars coming in the opposite direction have to pull off the road where there is room to pull off, otherwise they have to back up until they find room. When I commented on the narrow, bigrig unfriendly road, the lady at the desk stated that most cars on the road are used to it, but if two motorhomes meet, someone has to back up. Unfortunately where and how to back up will remain an unsolved mystery. We were lucky that we met no other rigs on this road. Once in the campground, the road is very narrow and turns are very tight. We were happy to get our rig out of there and back on the highway without incident. The campground is lovely otherwise, but big rig friendly? It ain't so. Good luck if you try to take your big rig there. I will not camp there again unless I hear the road has been widened. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com