223200 User submitted reviews online!!
LaSalle / Peru KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (815) 667-4988
CGID3619

LaSalle / Peru KOA

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   10   8   8   10   4   5   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This park offers many amenities such as a pool, play area which would be important for a family vacation. But, for just a quick overnight, it was a bit pricey. We were parked in a "pull-through" which, in reality, was just a part of the road that had a hookup provided. Spaces were close. If my neighbor had his slide out, I would've been able to borrow the salt and pepper through our window. The young man who checked us in was efficient and friendly and walked us out to our space. The Wi-Fi was very weak, even from our space near the office. We would stay here again because apparently there is very little else in the area. Our RV is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
It's not surprising that the reviews are so varied since its a small park but has 3 separate areas. The area by the office is right by a high speed county road and the sites are extremely narrow - most will not allow slides to open. The area behind the office is grassed with several large trees, but the ground level is very close to the water table and very soggy when we were there. Even more of a concern is that the pull-through sites are for two units, both facing the same way, so if its busy, you can get trapped. Some tent campsites are along the edge of this area, others are on the other side of the creek on higher ground and seem quite good. The Wi-Fi is very weak, even close to the office; most web sites will not open. I will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Very nice campground, family owned and ran. Movie night every Friday and Saturday. Very fun place. Well be careful out on the road and camp on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
We felt very welcome and appreciated the escort to the site. Site was gravel and grass, but fairly level. Trees were trimmed, but gravel roads are curvy. Roads can be driven slowly by a big rig. WiFi was very slow. Park was very quiet, neat and clean, but there are acorns around the bathroom area which may be a hazard for any one with issues walking. It was enjoyable staying at a park without dealing with the roar of the interstate. We would stay at this Park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
This is and older park with a lot of different sites to choose from. We had one up front near the entrance which was a pull-through. The site was long with plenty of room for our motorhome and tow but it was tight to the rigs on either side of us. The owners were friendly and the laundry area was clean with low cost to do our wash. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We stayed here one night for a group outing during the week. As soon as we arrived, the staff was very friendly and allowed us to choose from a couple different sites that would best accommodate our group. Shortly after arrival it started raining, and the owners were nice enough to allow us to watch the Bears game on the game room TV, even after the lobby had closed. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, and our sites were nice and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is a rural version of most KOAs. It works for a one night stay. There are not a lot of campgrounds in this part of Illinois. It is best to come in from I-80 versus 39. Campground is situated great distances from the nearest city so there is almost no digital TV reception. Owners are very aware of the lack of reception. Most campgrounds in similar situation would put in their own system. Some of the roads within the campground can be tight for a large rig. Our site was very level with good electric and water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Just an average park, dirt sites, limited shade. Our site had none. Biggest complaint was the internet service. Their web site indicates they have it; I called and was told it was available at the sites. We got there and set-up and and attempted to use the net to reroute our trip due to bridge repairs on I-65. NO INTERNET! Went to the office and asked the young man who had told me they had internet at sites about the status; he said that they have satellite and it comes and goes. Usually doesn't work. I even got up at 5:00 am to try and it still was so slow I could not use any of the map sites. Don't go here if you expect internet! In spite of what they say, it doesn't work! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
Nice family friendly campground. Quiet country setting near Starved Rock State Park. Owners are friendly and helpful. Neat and clean. Would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
I think we have finally determined that KOA's are to as the Bates Motel is to Motels. We rarely stay at a KOA that is wonderful but this one was not good. The water coming out of the tap is brown, not discolored but brown. Our site was not level at least for a big rig, they parked the people next to us in a popup the wrong way in and those people proceeded to take over some of our area as well. Not there was much to take over the spots are narrow. It hasn't rained for a while but yet the grounds were still wet. They get the same rating as Hickory Hollow up the street by Trailer Life but it is beyond me why. Honestly, we tried to get into Hickory first but they were full and this place is also packed. Well, at least we will know to keep on trucking next time through. We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Nice KOA with a friendly host. It was very wet from all the rain fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This rate is with the Military Discount. Easy on/off interstate and very quiet. Sites are close together and muddy when it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Weird site layout, with some tight turns. Sites were very soggy when we were there (needed 4WD to leave our site!), with standing water and lots of slick grass - I don't know how the tent campers managed. They were trying to pump out water while we were there. Dump station at exit/entrance is very crowded (we had to back into it, due to parked cars in front of the office) and dump is on the wrong side (probably why they have a long sewer hose there for guest use during dumping). Our site was grass-only (no gravel), and it was hard to level with the sogginess of the ground. I'm guessing this isn't unusual because they make a point on their campground map they give you at check-in that weather is not a valid reason to get a refund. On the plus side, it's a nice looking campground, and, in dry weather, might be a fun place to take a family to give the kids experience "camping", particularly if you camp in a tent or pop-up. Would also be a nice place for a motorcycle camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
This campground is nice and although the facilities are clean, they could benefit from some updating. The owners were wonderful and friendly. Even though the weather was a bit cool, we enjoyed the pool. Our site was right next to the road, but the local traffic was not bad and we enjoyed hearing the cows in the morning and evening. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A very poorly designed KOA campground. The dump station at the entrance can only be accessed if you are driving into the campground but not driving out. This campground is suitable for tents and popup campers but not Class A motorhomes 40 feet or longer. Turns are too sharp for big rigs especially if cars and other vehicles are parked close to the road. There is no drainage so the park roads and sites were full of mud puddles. Cost for electric and water only was $35 per night without a membership discount. While the staff was helpful and friendly, this is the first campground in 22 years of RVing that we won’t return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
We used it for an overnight stay while traveling. The staff is friendly and there are lots of activities for kids. Some of the sites would be tight for large rigs, but they are level. There is easy access to highway. There are large grass areas for pets and play. There is a well stocked store with game room for the kids. The Wifi worked great, but tv reception was poor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
It has friendly staff and is easy to find from the highway (while being far enough away from it to be a quiet campground). Site lay out was a bit odd and cramped in the full hookup sites. Bathrooms were either not heated or minimally heated, so not great for Fall camping, but they were clean. Good for an overnight interstate stay, but I wouldn't camp here as a destination. There are much prettier and cheaper sites at Starved Rock State Park (if you can get one). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We were a little disappointed with the description of the campsite we reserved. It stated, nestled in a shady oak site with a quite country road behind you. Well, there was one oak tree, and the cars drove about 60 on the road right behind our rig. I must add that we are used to camping at Corp campsites that are very wooded and secluded so I was expecting something similar with the description. Not at all similar. The sites were very close but I should have expected this from a private campground. When we arrived, I asked if there was a different site that might meet our expectations more and the owner said that if we didn't like it, and then he paused because the office was full of people. This kind of started the weekend off on the wrong foot but we decided to make the best of it. And we did and had a great time. I later confronted the owner's wife, and apologized for being a little grumpy about the campsite and she said she knew we would learn to love it. It all ended well!!! The pool was very nice and clean and so were the restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Park was OK for an overnight stay. The cows across the street from our site were not OK. We were told that their calves had been taken away from them that particular day and they bellered all night long. Not the campgrounds fault but it was still annoying. Nice pool for a refreshing dip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We over-nighted here on our way West. It was a nice little campground. The sites were packed in a bit tight but for a quick over-night it was fine. There seemed to be a lot of activities including a nightly movie (at least on weekends) projected on a big barn there. The volume was not obtrusive. While I wouldn't want to spend a weekend there there were those that were doing just that. Nothing wrong with it other then it looked like sort of a boring place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Nice park, clean restrooms and pool area. Owners are friendly and helpful as are the entire staff. We stay here at least twice a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
The site we went to was nice. Ultimately customer service can go a long way. Let me say that everyone in the site was nice and professional. The park was a pleasant one and it was well maintained. I definitely recommend it to families and any one considering this site. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Sites and roads to small for MH's. Other seasonal patrons unfriendly. Won't return. There are nicer CG's in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Lots of big old trees hard to get around with a long rig as the trees are very close to the roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This is the second time we've stayed here and probably the last. The park is close to Starved Rock State Park, but it is a very tight, close site campground. The campground is perfect for tenters or those pulling a pop-up, but the bigger campers will have a heck of a time maneuvering the roads and having any kind of breathing room. On our first visit, we were in a pop-up, situated on a site next to a cow pasture, which was great, the kids loved it. On our second visit, we stayed in a travel trailer and were sandwiched between two other trailers, too close for comfort. There were some activities for the kids, but not a whole lot. Additionally, the permanent residents don't take too well to weekenders. We felt very uncomfortable and unwanted, like outsiders. This is unfortunate, because the campground has potential if the owners and permanent residents took the time to make others feel welcome. We will not visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Very clean and scenic Koa!! Owners are polite and are there to help. Only complaint is the sites are a bit small, was likely fine in the days of no slides and big buses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
We chose this campground in order to get a reservation; the nearby state park (Starved Rock) was booked for the weekend. Sites are, as previous posts have noted, narrow, and some of the turns in the campground roads are tight for big rigs. There are very few actual pull-thru sites; many billed as such had two or more units in them, one in front of the other. The biggest rigs may not find suitable space, especially on weekends. We did find some of the separate tent areas quite nice - lots of shade and plenty of space for tents & vehicles. Rare to find a KOA so tent-friendly. I had to laugh, remembering a previous comment about camping in a cow pasture, when one of the cows from the next-door field got into the campground and wandered around! Part of the country ambience, which we didn't mind at all - rather fun. We did like the location - convenient to 2 major interstates but far enough away to completely avoid their road noise. Owners were friendly, bathrooms clean, lots of families and overnighting motorhomes. Fine for an overnight or even a weekend "second choice" campground in the Starved Rock area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
5 miles south of Starved Rock State Park. This is a very tight, close site campground. I felt like I was in a cow pasture! They charge your guest to come in and visit. They cannot tolerate any radios while you are sitting outside, probably due to the fact that everyone is so close. They do have some planned activities and charge for them also. Check out time is noon. We will not visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com