223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Marquette Tourist Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (906) 228-0465
CGID3623

Marquette Tourist Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   6   9   8   10   10   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Very nice park in a nice setting. We had an electric only pull-through site but it was tight getting in/out. Staff is basically college aged running the office and are not always knowledgeable concerning big rigs. We specifically asked if Wi-Fi was available and told yes only to find that the site we were assigned would "probably not" pick up the signal (after we were set up). Other than that it was a nice stop and we would return if in the area only we would ask in advance if the Wi-Fi worked at that site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We really loved this park! The sites are very roomy, not at all like the typical private campground. The people who work here are very friendly and the park is clean. We were in site 65 in the back corner, surrounded by tall pine trees. Best of all, since we didn't have a car, the city bike paths were available to go into town or all around the county and even across the UP if you want. The city, the beach, and nearby Presque Isle are all within reach. Their Internet was okay, and our Verizon worked very well. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Stayed here for 4 nights but had to leave because of the Hiawatha Music Festival; no sites available. We had a site backed up to the maintenance shed of the local University, and yes, they do start their heavy equipment early in the morning. We also could not get satellite service due to trees and could only get 3 channels on TV. We did enjoy reruns of "All in the Family", "Mash", "Rockford Files", etc! Overall a good place to stay and enjoy the sightseeing in Marquette where there is a lot of history. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Got a last minute cancellation for the 4th of July weekend. Typical City park, crowded on the holidays and weekends. Nice spacious, paved sites and the campers respected the quite hours. WiFi reception at the site and good cell phone coverage from Verizon. There is a small swimming beach at the campground. Playground for the kids and lots of hiking and biking trails in the area. Rate reflects full hookups. There is an additional $5 charge to make a reservation on-line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Stayed here 5 days during 4th of July weekend at site 56. Very large sites, mostly wooded and quiet. Predominately grass sites with some paved. Tree location can challenge your back-in skills. Avoid the full hookup sites near the back fence if you can. The light industry businesses start up their front loaders around dawn during work days. Over the holiday weekend there was a heavy mix of tent and RVers. Some regular visitors put up makeshift 'group' sites, taking advantage of the large, somewhat undefined spaces and land than allowed. After the holiday, everything returned to normal, and the park showed its other face - quiet with most tents gone. Rated lower than a 10 based on lack of W-iFi and strange location of utilities; some sites require 3 lengths of sewer pipe and two or more lengths of water hose. Come prepared! Rated higher for check-in, visual appeal, location convenience, strong Verizon data link. Rate includes online reservation fee. Absolutely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This is a very nice park located on a lake within city limits. The site we had with full hookups was paved and spacious with lots of room for our 35 feet and two slides. The sites are not very close together so there are no neighbors breathing down your neck. There are many beautiful tall pines in this park. Television was very limited and there is no WiFi available, perhaps the only two drawback to this park. Staff is courteous and helpful, maintaining the facilities well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Marquette Tourist Park is attractive, with many wooded sites. There are bike paths and hiking trails, as well as a playground and beach. The bathrooms were very clean, and the showers were hot. No WIFI available, but Verizon 4G was strong. Friendly attendants, and the park is well patrolled. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
It was very quiet while we were there on their last weekend open for the season. Maybe too quiet, but it was nice. They have nicely wooded sites. Electric (and especially water) connections were a little far so you may need extra hose, but the facilities are clean and very well maintained. They have excellent drinking water available and the price is reasonable. Very close to town, but feels miles out. I liked it here very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This municipal park is located in a quiet area north of city and is adjacent to several city service buildings. It was somewhat difficult to determine the exact bounds of the very large sites. There was no over-the-air TV reception. Satellite reception might also be difficult due to prevalence of large trees in the campground. Verizon offers a 4-bar broadband signal for Wi-Fi access. The park serves as a good base for exploring the area. There is good security lighting, but try to avoid sites right under light poles – the lights are bright! I’ve down rated this campground since other city-operated sites visited in this region offer better amenities at lower prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great park right in the city, but doesn' t feel like it. We've stayed here before. We stayed there this time in our 41' toyhauler. Our site was easy enough to back into, however, my wife had to get on the roof to hold branches up for us to back in. Others complained of this as well while we were here. I see other reviewers had issues as well. The park needs to figure this out because I doubt we'll be back till they trim. It's not worth the risk of damage to the rig or the risk of injury. The park should consider their liability in those cases as well. In any event it's a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice clean park. Bathrooms are older and were clean when I used them. There are a lot of activities in the area that you can access from the park via the bike trail. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Nice Park. We had full hookups and everything functioned as it should. We have a 43 ft motorhome and it was a little tough to maneuver into the spot but we did. Watch the low branches. I mentioned they were an issue and they said they have to have a arborist from the city (city owned park) come out and take care of it and that hasn't been working out well. Gee government red tape, shock! We didn't use the restrooms etc but from the looks of them they are older. Nightly fee included $5 permit fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This is a well located campground with quick access to most of the sights in area, many of which can be reached by bike. the campground offers a mix of open and more wooded sites. Bathrooms are clean, but have only a few showers. When we visited, the lake was closed due to a dam break, and was in the process of being restored. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is a great park within the city limits and close to NMU campus. They are doing some construction by the river so there was limited access to the water. There are picnic areas and a ball field open to the public, but those areas close at night. The camping sites are roomy, shady and grassy. The bathrooms were very clean, despite the holiday weekend and very high usage. It's a good location for day trips to Copper Harbor, Iron Mountain and Munising, yet there is plenty to see in Marquette itself as well. It's a short drive to Presque Isle Park, the Marquette Harbor Lighthouse. Lake Superior beaches and other local attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Some of the hookups are a bit inconvenient. This is made up for by being right in town! Very clean and friendly. Good paved roads and level sites. Be careful of some of the trees with low branches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Wow, watch out for the trees. Tight fit for a 40 footer but manageable. My concern in the fall would be the chipmunks, they nest everywhere and will eat engine belts and filters. The campground needs a fox or two and maybe some hungry owls. Beware the back fence, it backs up against a very noisy plant site. DO NOT GO TO THE FAIR AVE LOCATION, GO TO SUGARLOAF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This is a very nice city park with many full hookups. It is in a good location on the edge of town and is a quiet setting. Sites are good size and many were paved and shaded. TV available over the air. Most sites have to many trees for satellite TV. Staff was both helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
We were unable to use the sewer hook up on our site with full hook up because of trees on the site. We have a slide out and had to park between two trees that kept us quite far from the sewer hook up even with an extension added to the tube. There are a few small trees for shade but nearly no privacy. The sites are small. This campground is okay if you expect to do site seeing in the area and not to do much "real camping". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$20
Very nice city-owned park just 4 miles outside of town. We stay here every year for a mountain bike race in August. The "lake front" sites are now a river since the big flood of '04, but still a very nice place with plenty of trees around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com