206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Prophetstown State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (765) 567-4919
CGID3626

Prophetstown State Park

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   8   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The full hook-up sites are large and nicely landscaped, providing some privacy between neighbors. The campground is top notch. Love to stay here for Purdue home football game weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
As far as state park camping goes, this is far above the norm. Spacious sites with front loop all full hook ups. We camped with extended family after opening of water park and enjoyed a great six days. Nice flat scenic bike trail that runs through the park and is kid friendly - no Kamikaze mountain bikers trying to get airborne. Many of the full hook up sites offer shade and privacy- electric only sites are more wide open with minimal shade. Easy to find and access and is big-rig friendly. Staff and campground host very friendly and engaging. One of our return spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
We were in pull-through number 116, and it was wonderful. Private and clean and big. We had a little walk to the restoom/shower but it was quite beautiful. Restrooms were big and spotless. Wonderful bike and hiking trails. Very easy to get to. I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Absolutely the nicest state park campground. We had a full hookup site. It was easy to maneuver into and a quick hook up. There a plenty of trees in the campground section even though the park is a grassland park. We had bikes and took advantage of the miles of paths to ride. There are various club houses (I assume for rent, but didn't inquire). Getting to the park can be a bit tricky but just follow the website directions or signs off I-65 and its no problem. The staff was extremely friendly. Only issue is, since its a state park, there's no "late" check out. They have a standard Sunday late checkout, but nothing Mon-Sat. We absolutely would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
With its tall grass prairies, Prophetstown is such a nice change from the deciduous forests of most of the Indiana State Parks. This park continues to be our favorite Indiana State Park not only because of the scenery but also because of the Historic Prophetstown farm and Native American Village, the nearby Tippecanoe Battlefield, Wolf Park Sanctuary and the proximity to Lafayette and Purdue University. The campground itself is well laid out and shows considerable thought went into its planning. The full hookup sites have sufficient vegetation that allows for considerable privacy. The electric only sites are located with a full view of the prairie. Ground was broken this October (2012) for an Aquatic Center with an additional campground to follow. Future plans include more hiking trails and perhaps a mountain bike trail. Hopefully, the park with all the upcoming improvements will still retain its quiet, peaceful nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Very new campground with lots of large flat sites, easy to pull in and out. Half of the campground is full hookup (unheard of for Indiana State Parks) and half is electric. Comfort station in the center of electric only loop. Very new and clean. There won't be any shade for about 20 years. Great place to camp for Purdue football games. We'll be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The sites were level, there were cypress trees between sites so you had privacy. We were in the full hook up area. I think the non-full hook up area was more of an open field. The site was huge and had a fire ring. I can't remember the exact price we paid but I think my estimate is close. We loved it and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This was our second trip in our new travel trailer; the first was to a private-owned campground. Different vibe at the state park, it seems, and we really liked Prophetstown SP. Sites are nice and big and well-defined, partially-shaded by cedar trees, park has paved roads, full-hook-ups, clean bathrooms, great hiking/walking paths, beautiful scenery, on-site store at the 1920's type farm also sells fresh-from-the-farm produce, eggs and meat. Kiddies can pet the horses and cows, or help with the milking and gathering the eggs at specific times. Bought some loin chops and put 'em over the fire. Man, those were tasty. Nice folks all around, no late-night partiers, everyone liked our dogs, camp host was a pleasant fella. If you stay in the electric-only sites, they're wide open with no trees or shade. Several tent campers and pop-ups in that area. Easy to get in and out of the park, shopping in Lafayette is 10 minutes away. We'll visit here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Very nice sites in the full hookup area. The electric only area is more open. Sites are not as private and there is very little shade. There is no restroom in the full hookup area, but the restroom in the electrical area is very nice and clean. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Very nice State Park. Half of the sites are electric only. Other half are full hook-up. Full hook-up sites have shade, other side does not. Very nice bike paths, playgrounds. Ice, gifts, sundries available at the old farmstead. We will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Very nice campground. There are gravel pads that are neatly kept and pretty easy leveling. We did not need to use the shower houses because there are full hookups. This is a fairly young park so there is not a lot of shade trees. There are a couple of playgrounds and several bike trails. There is also a working farm which is very interesting to tour. Kids can help with farm chores like collecting eggs and milking a cow. There is also a catch and release lake for fishing. No pool, but our stay was enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This was a nice state park. Loved having the full hook up, as this is not the norm for state parks. Not much in the way of shade at this park. We understand it is fairly new as a campground, so that will come with time. We traveled from the Chicago area, and it was nice that it is off I-65, within 5 miles of the exit. We camped with our young nephew, and he really enjoyed the nature talk and walks. There are several pull through sites with lots of grass at each site. The historic area was not super special, but an interesting way to spend 45 minutes. Wonderful views in the morning. I would have given it a 10 if it had more shade and swimming facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
One of the nicest Indiana State Park campgrounds. The full hookup area has nice level sites with some trees to provide privacy. The playgrounds have lots of new swings and slides for the kids. The historic farmstead is not that great, but overall it is a very nice park. Battle Ground is worth seeing for history buffs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
The fee listed includes a daily $10. per vehicle for out of state plates. This is a nice campground and we were there when it was almost empty so we had an entire loop to ourselves. Our site, #155, was very level, spacious, private and the full hookups worked well. We had a great view out our back windows. We rode our bicycles for several miles on their excellent biking/hiking paved trails. We would definitely return here sometime and stay a little longer to check out the historical site that was nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Full service available on half of the sites. 6 mi to services. Short distance to Lafayette-West Lafayette. Good history site. Very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Out most favorite campground ever. If you stay in the full hook-up area the sites are very private. Blue spruce trees between all of the sites blocking out your neighbors. Sites are very level. No need to use boards or any other means to level the camper. Love this campground. We come back every fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is becoming our favorite spot to stay when traveling North. Beautiful large campsites, well screened by trees and crushed limestone pads on some of the most historic grounds around. Very clean restroom/shower building even if it is some distance from the full hookup area. The only real negative is there is no pool, lake, or river in the area. 3+ miles of 12' wide paved bike trails. Very beautiful when the wild flowers are in bloom. Sites to try are 109, 111, 113. Price is $35 on the weekends (full Hook-up). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Wonderful park totally underrated. The only gripe is the access to get there. There is no access from the office road, but it would work if they let you in. Follow instructions on the Indiana DNR site. Sites level and extra clean. Services worked great. Very close access to Purdue, Lafayette, and related activities. Has a working early farm on the premises as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is one of our favorite campgrounds in the fall. There are not many trees as it is a young park and will take several years for the trees to grow. Most of the full hook-up sites are very private. The bathrooms/showers are quite a walk from the full hook-up loop depending on where you are located. All of the sites have a very nice gravel pad. The electric sites are out in the open but are spread out. There are lots of nice hiking trails and biking trails. There is a nice open field in the center of the electric loop so kids can play tag, football or just run themselves silly. There are also numerous playgrounds around. There is Historic Prophetstown to visit as well as Wolf Park (very well worth the visit) nearby. Two notes: there is a train nearby that you hear once in awhile, but really isn't a problem. If you are driving to this park or in this park at dusk or dark, be extremely careful and watch for deer. They are everywhere! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Very nice and quiet campground. I arrived mid-week without a reservation and many sites were vacant; reservations add $11 service charge. Site 104 was perfectly level and had full hookups. Picnic table and fire ring with grill top provided. Park entry fee is $6 for in-state, $8 out-of-state in addition to camping fee. The “comfort station” with toilets and showers is located in the “electricity only” section of the campground, which is about a 5 min. walk from my site, but is fairly new and very clean. Park has paved bike trails and mowed grass hiking trails. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We loved this park and campground. Most of the sites are large, level and separated by pine trees for privacy. Facilities are clean. Road is paved. Our camp host was very friendly. Park is restored tallgrass prairie with easy to moderate walking trails. Great playgrounds for kids and a paved 3 mile bike/hike trail. Definitely will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
A beautiful campground, and the best is yet to come. We loved the full hookups (a real rarity in state parks) and the private pull through site we were assigned (midweek without a reservation)! It does seem there are a lot of plans for this park, including tennis courts, swimming pool, etc. The playground is extensive and attractive, and there's a fishing pond and a few trails available. We were sorry to be here for just one night, and will happily return! A note about getting there: the southbound interstate exit needed to get there is currently closed (summer 09). Visitors will need to take the next exit to the south (Rte 25), re-enter the interstate there and go back north to Rte 43; the northbound exit is open, and you can follow the directions from there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
By far this was the most beautiful CG we have stayed at so far. We stay here for the 4th of July weekend. The grounds and the rest rooms were very well kept. Lots of trails to hike and a guided tour to see eagles nests and a working farm to see. Plenty of play areas for the kids. The sites are big so you don't feel crowded and the full hook up are there's trees around so you don't see your neighbor. The DNR has great plans for this park. It's the jewel park of the state. We will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
Some of the things we liked about this park were the FULL hookups (most state parks only have electricity and maybe water), the size of the sites (although other state parks have sites that are a little more separated), and the quiet environment. We could hear I-65 occasionally, but it was far enough away that sometimes you wouldn't hear it at all. Since this place is less than four years old, many of the trees in the Spruce campground don't offer much shade, but they're tall enough and dense enough to give nice privacy if you get the right site. A few sites are "buddy sites" meaning that they are completely open to the site next to them so be sure to know what you want before you make a reservation. The meadow campground is electric only with NO shade whatsoever, the point is you're surrounded by native meadow grass. It's pretty with nice, open views but there is no privacy. There is a HUGE playground that will keep kids busy for a while. The campground Host was VERY nice and helpful, but not intrusive. Firewood was available for $5 a large bundle. There is no camp store, but Lafayette isn't too far away. There are no laundry facilities. My AT&t cell phone had great reception. The shower house had three normal showers and one ADA shower stall. The showers were OK but could use a little more aggressive cleaning. Flush toilets were clean. There was also a pit toilet closer to the Spruce campground. There is a bike trail that is approximately three miles long, and a couple of hiking trails as well. Also in the park you will find a working 1920's era farm with crops and livestock. Admission is included with your entry fee to the park. While we were there, ground was being cleared for a nature center with a scenic overlook. Future plans also call for a swimming pool and family cabins as well as some more bike paths and hiking trails. With these additions, this place will surely become more popular. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
The campsite we were in was large and private with lots of mature trees. The newer area was open with small trees and little shade. We were there during a tornado watch and the park rangers were great in letting us know what to do and where to go. There are two big draws for this campground -- the 7 mile bike path through a prairie and the 1920's era farm. There are also nice hiking paths. Great place for a quiet camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
New park. Nice roads, good level sites with lots of space. Too new to have trees, so there is no shade. Has very nice play ground for kids. Lots of places to ride bicycles. Is close to Purdue University. Friendly people! Big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
Very new CG. Two distinct sections- south end in pine forest- huge, private sites of crushed gravel w/full hook ups- long way from showers. North end- open prairie with newly planted trees (great views). Electric only, very close to nice, clean shower house. Highly recommend reservations for weekends/holidays. Ghost town on weekdays. No pool, but great playgrounds, super paved and flat bike trails. Nearby history museum of early 1900's farm (xtra fee). Developing replica Indian village. Near national historic "Battle of Tippecanoe" monument. Close to Purdue U, Lafayette and W. Lafayette. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
A great place but there is no shade as the park is only 5 yrs young. Level gravel sites. Call for directions because the GPS does not give you accurate directions. Really nice place with a bike and walking trail. Close to Purdue University. Site 120 is a pull thru really nice but a ways from the bath house and playground. If you want to be close to these two try section 200. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Loved this park. It was the nicest State park that we ever stayed at. I went golfing nearby and it only cost $21 with a cart.Their is also a wolf park 10 minutes from the park. They have a howl night on Friday and Sat nights.It was cool seeing howling wolves close-up.I would highly recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is our family's favorite state park. Even though the trees are just "babies" this park will be beautiful in a few years. The comfort station is new and very clean, there is a nice paved bike trail and a very well marked hiking trail. Since this park is so new, every time we go there is something "new" to see. We will be back on a regular basis. The park is a quick 15-20 minute drive to the Purdue Lafayette campus for all of you "boiler" fans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
We stayed at the Prophetstown campground this weekend and I have to say it's a very nice park. They have a great playground and bike trail. I seen more wild life at this park then any other. This was a very hot hot weekend and shade is hard to find since most of the trees are still small. This campground will only get better with age. The Prophetstown farm and Indian village was very disappointing it cost us $16.00 to get in, we walked to the Indian village on paths that weren't marked (good thing we can read a map) to find a few new vacant buildings and nothing telling you what you were looking at. At the farm we walked around and checked out the buildings and few animals but couldn't find any workers. I did see a guy in the field cutting grass. i could have stopped at any farm and seen more for free. At 3:00 pm we went back for the milking of the cow and did find a very nice young lady who showed us how to milk a cow then she was gone. I don't know if it was just a bad day to visit or if this was typical. I will be going back to the campground I thought it was very nice but I'll pass on the farm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This was by far and away the nicest place we stayed on our last trip. Can't be more than a few years old. Beautiful, highly screened camp sites. You can see your neighbor if you really look. Site surrounded by Blue Spruce and other trees. Site pad white crushed stone. 110 sites 55 w/full hook ups. Beautiful new cedar bath house, spic and span. Monster playground (actually 4, all quite large, including the picnic grounds), if you have kids, but far enough from the camp not to disturb, close enough you could let them go alone. All sorts of things to climb on and have fun with. There is a paved, 3 mile bike path almost as wide as a 1 lane highway. If there is a negative, there is no beach, river, pool. This was an Indian town a couple of hundred years ago. The "Prophet" was Tecumseh's brother. The whole of the park is pretty flat and in wild flower prairie. Just gorgeous. If I'm in the area, I'll definitely go back. This place looked under-used to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
As said earlier, this is a new park. Little or no shade available. Sites are all laid out in landscape timber with fine rock as the base. This will cause some sites to hold water after a large rain. We had a very good time staying here and my wife loved all the deer we saw. Our first night we watched a doe and her 2 fawns cross a road in front of us. The 1920's era farm was a delight to go thru. The native Indian village was disappointing as it was not finished yet. There was no charge for this as they do not charge campers for admission. We did visit Tippecanoe Battlefield and the nearby Wolf Park. We had an excellent 3 day visit and will return someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
Very new State Park so the facilities were all nice and up to date. No swimming pool. The camping is devided into 2 sections , full hook ups and electric only sites. There is only 1 playground in the campground and it is at the entrance so if you are camped in the back loop it is quite a hike for the kids. Roads in the campground are all one way and only one lane wide , would have been nice if they were a little wider to help with the longer rigs. The dump station was built with the ground sloping away from the dump making it difficult to empty the tanks. All in all it is a nice park and we will probably go there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$31
This new state park opened in 2004 and the campground opened in 2005. Restored and maintained area of praire and fen made this park special to explore. They are still building at this park. Because the campground is new, there is virtually no shade yet. Many sites in the full hookup section of the campground have evergreen trees dividing the sites and may cast some shade from the side if the sun is at the right angle. We stayed in the full hookup section but on a site that had no shade at all. There is an asphalted trail for bicycling/hiking. For a fee, you can enter an area of the park that has a Native American village and living history farm on the state park grounds that is nice to visit. The farm's draft horses plowed one of the fields during the weekend we stayed at the park. Pack tick repellent! We pulled many ticks off our dog, ourselves, the trailer, and the interior of the truck! We liked this park and would stay at it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com