214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Morro Bay State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (805) 772-2560
CGID3630

Morro Bay State Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   4   10   9   7   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$50
Morro Bay State Park is an excellent campground. It has 30 amp water/electric only with spacious sites. However, I don't think the $50/night fee is even close to reasonable. For the money, I'd recommend to stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$50
Very clean and State Park campsite. The RV sites are all pull through, so it's easy in and easy out. Sites are paved and level. Some have shade, but most are without. Electrical and water hook ups are all working and in good order, bathrooms are clean and well kept. Showers are free; water was warm but not hot. No camp store but nearby town is walking distance. Would recommend and we'd go back there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
This is one of the best state parks we have stayed. Sites are not on the water and a couple miles from the "rock" but in walking distance to marina and small beach. Nice golf course is adjacent to the campground. Walking distance to a great little restaurant Bayside. First come first serve to reserved RV sites, but all were about the same. Clean, very friendly staff. Museum also in walking distance and town is a bike ride away. Will definitely come back since there is water/electric for the RV sites and dump station also on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$50
Not a good value at all. Self check in very early. No help other than a hard to read map. No septic available. Noisy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
We love this area, so our review may be biased. We had an ADA site with electric and water hookups for our 37' travel trailer. Plenty of room for the truck and trailer. The site is a cement slab with a table and fire pit. The pad was perfectly level, negotiable by a wheelchair, and with room to deploy the lift. Be sure to get the state park access pass to enjoy a 50% discount. This is not the same as the handicap placard for parking in handicapped parking zones. The placard will allow you to use the ADA spot, but will not give you the discount. Also, please don't reserve the spot without a handicap placard. You will be turned away, and you will have taken the spot from someone who really needs it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We love this park. It is clean and spacious, and is close to the bay and hiking trails. We've stayed here several times and have always had a great experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
The bathrooms were dated but clean, unfortunately there was no soap and no towels or blower to dry with. We enjoyed the site and it gave us reasonable privacy (for a pull through). The location is great, and we enjoyed some great walks. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Sites and loops are paved and level. Sites are a little too close for our taste, but we did not have a problem with the noise level. We stayed at pull through site #23. It had water and electric hookups. Some sites are in the shade. Many, including #23, are in the sun and surrounded by shrub-size vegetation. Huge trees are scattered throughout the park. The site includes a fire ring/grill combo, CCC-era stone grill and picnic table made of stone, cement, and wood. Showers and restrooms were muddy at times. Some of the toilets were clogged. Park workers cleaned throughout the day, but it was hard for them to keep up during the weekend when the campground was full. Showers were free and had inconsistent hot water, which is exactly what posted signs said to expect. Just across the street from the campground entrance, is a place to rent canoes and kayaks. This is near the Bayside Cafe. Having a restaurant in walking distance to a campground is a nice treat. The Museum of Natural History was a very short walk down the road. This park has plenty of hiking trails, including one that goes to the top of Black Hill where you can get some great views. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Stayed in site #6 which is a pull-through with 30amp electric and water hook-ups. There are no sewer hook-ups in park unless you are a host. There is however a sanitary dump located at the back end of the park. Site #6 is located directly across from a restroom/shower. The showers were all free this time because of a "no hot water guarantee". They were fine all week but there was a day of very little water pressure. Site 6 is directly across the street from the Morro Bay Yacht harbor and actually has a view of the water. The state nature museum is walking/biking distance and is free to registered campers, the kids will love it. The Morro Bay Golf Course is next door to the campground. Canoe and kayak rentals are across the street from the campground or you can launch your own there or at 3 or 4 other very close places. A walk/bike into downtown or the embarcadero is about 1.5 miles and is very nice during the week, a bit busy on the weekends. The host drive through the campground several times a day selling bundles of oak wood and kindling. The ranger comes through once at night. A fairly quiet campground except on the weekends when it's usually full. My $25 rate reflects 1/2 off hook-up rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
This is an outstanding state park. I cannot find a fault. We just loved the setting of the park as well as its amenities: trees/bushes between the hookup sites gave nice privacy, sites were level and just pristine with BBQ and fire pit and stone tables. The campground was within easy walking distance to so many things to do (restaurants, kayak rental, natural history museum: free for campers, hiking trails, beaches, and even golf). Lots of friendly rangers. Well set-up sanitation dump. We stayed on a sunny, warm winter (Super Bowl) weekend; I'd say about 75% of hookup sites were filled. There was lots of room in the non-hookup area. But I can see where reservations would be necessary as the high season approaches. AT&T 3G reception was OK; Verizon was non-existent. The Park offers WiFi for $7.99 a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
This is a wonderful campground, it has large sites with plenty of room for a big rig. The majority of the sites are pull-throughs with very few back-ins. It's a quiet park with mountain and bay views. The showers and bathrooms are a bit old, but clean and with hot water. You are close to town, but not too close to ruin the camping experience. The only thing that would make this park better would be full hook-ups, but for now partial will do. I would recomend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
Yikes! Fifty bucks for a state campground with zero amenities? They even wanted 8 bucks for Wi-Fi. Not a bad place: nice setting, clean, sort of isolated, but close to town. Virtually every RV park around Morro Bay is cheaper with more to offer. If the state of California thinks this is the way to economic recovery, well, I'm glad i don't live here. We drove as fast as our Dodge would pull us to a cheaper and nicer park called Morro Dunes. (Right on the water and 20 bucks cheaper.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
One of the best state parks we've been to! There are a limited number of full-hookup sites, so book in advance if you want one. That park is beautiful, the rangers are very nice, and you're within walking distance of everything in Morro Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
This is a favorite place to go any time of the year. You have a feeling of being in the mountains when you are actually at the beach. Lots of places to visit in the area, too. A day trip to Montana de Oro is a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Nice park and great scenery. Rate was for non-hookup site. Good cafe to eat at across the street, other choices for food in town but too far to walk to. Also a nature center, mostly geared to children, is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
This was our first stay at a California State Park and we were very impressed. The trees, the views of the bay, and nearby shops/restaurants made our experience great. And to top it off, we had water, electric, and a Wi-Fi signal. This is a prime location to me and there’s so much to do here to include relaxing. We don’t know if the rate is considered expensive for a state park such as this, but we felt we got what we paid for here. Definitely we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Great place! We were in area with hook-ups which was filled to capacity. Obviously, a reservation is desired if you want hook-ups. Lots of open sites in rest of park, however. Previous reviewer commented it's within walking distance of town. I suspect it is as I walked about three quarters of a mile along the shoreline and then up a path that led into a residential area. Finally I ended in a small park that had steps leading to the beach. I suspect one could get to town that way. I was very impressed with the masonry work, done by the CCC's during the Depression era in the 1930s. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
I loved this park! Sort of an "old school" feel. Nice setting. A lot of the sites were spacious. You could walk to town if you wanted. There are few hookup sites available, but they are a bit close together for me. This is a good campground to use as home base while you check out Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I gave this park an 8 because the surroundings are beautiful and my husband likes it because it's a good place to ride his bike. What I don't particularly like is the lack of privacy between spots and most spots don't have hook-ups. The few spots with hook-ups are the best spots. Also, at least in the summer, it has an abundance of young children which is great if you have kids, but we don't, so it's not a real quiet place to be. We were able to walk to the town of Morro Bay since we don't tow a car and we are 50-60's in age so it's not a bad walk, just not much to do in town once you get there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Nice campground with friendly people. Very user friendly. Don't arrive after dark if you don't know the campground (it's confusing). Very, very tight dump station turn. Lots of grass burrs in our dog's fur, so keep your dog well brushed while here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Perhaps due to CA budget mess, rates are now $35/nite dry camping and $50/nite with full hookups. We were told they were first-come, first-served only. No reservations. Wi-Fi is available near ranger station. Nice park, very woodsy and scenic as previously described. Well kept, but not much of a bargain. We stayed only one night as there were full hookups in town for the same money with Wi-Fi at site, laundry, pool, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is a great State Park, very clean and taken care of. The campground is close to the marina and has great trees all around. The sites are very good, had no problem with a 34-ft motorhome and car: did not have to unhook if I didn't want to. The town of Morro is very close and we had a great time down by the docks. The campground host was great and his site was very clean. We will stay here many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We arrived after hours (had a reservation) and were directed by a park ranger to our site. We were specifically advised not to use a generator during non-generator hours. I appreciated the concern for quiet time, only wish the ranger would come by during those hours to enforce it. Camp host site was the most uninviting camp site I have ever seen. We were here 7 days and not sure what he did. Our refrigerator stopped working, I went to the SP entrance for information, she gave me phone book, not helpfull at all. Called Morro Dunes RV and a gentleman came out and repaired the refrigerator. He was honest and fixed the problem for a very fair price. If you need RV repairs while in the area, call them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Very nice park, quiet. Lots of greenery, it is across from the marsh where lots of birds hang out. We saw lots of birds. The sites aren't real wide but good enough. Very nice state park, close to Morro Bay. We will go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This campground was one of our favorites on a trip up the California coast. We stayed in one of the non-serviced sites. It was clean, level, and spacious with a grill and fire pit. The personnel were friendly and helpful. Though the park is close to town, it is large enough that you are not aware of it being near a populated area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Great campground! Close to Morro Bay, close to San Luis Obispo. My family and I love it here. Book early and get a site with hook-ups (water and electric only). Sites are private and campground is in a very natural setting. One of the few campgrounds where I woke up in the middle of the night to the sound of an owl in the tree above our trailer. You can even get pizza delivered to your site from one of the local eateries! Great stuff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$26
We stayed here 5 nights, great destination State Park. Thirty of the sites have electric and water hookups, these are reserved early so plan ahead. Dump station, clean showers & restrooms, fire rings, TV antenna picked up four channels. The Wi-Fi is offered through AT&T and is very expensive, best to drive into Morro Bay and go to The Top Dog Cafe on Main St, free Wi-Fi if you buy something. The History Museum is right next to the campground, use the free entry pass they give you at check-in to save $2 per person. The Monarch Butterflies were in Pismo Beach at the 'North Beach State Park' (Nov through March), plenty of signs to tell you where to go. Some other great things to see and do: SLO (every) Thursday night market on Hiqueria St; the SLO Mission & Museum; Elfin Forest; Morro Rock; Nit-Wit Ridge house in Cambria. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
We didn't actually stay at this campground. We tryed to make a booking over the Internet, but here it said that 40' RV's could not be accommodated and we, therefore, had to find an alternative site. On the 18th of November 2008 we then went to see the campground, and it appears that around 30 sites will in fact take a 40' RV. The on-site ranger had in her possession a campground map that showed a large number of sites with length 40' or more. The "trick" is to know which of the sites that will take your 40' RV and then book it despite it saying f.x. 32' only. The ranger told us that you will not be turned away as long as your rig will fit in the space you have booked. It sounds like someone in the reservation office need an ungent update. Apart from this, the park looked in mint condition and we would like to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
We were is site 23 which is a pull-through hookup site, no sewer. The trees have been thinned out considerably, but there is still shade. The weather could not have been nicer. Golf course is discounted for campers; the museum and marina with kayak & canoe rentals is within walking distance. The bathhouses are pretty good for a state park and maintained everyday. The sites all have a table, fire ring and bbq; the non-hookup sites also have a food locker. Great destination park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
Park has many mature eucalyptus, cypress, and pine trees. Our site 20 had a big eucalyptus that kept dropping seed cones on our rig. Easy walk to Windy Cove, Natural History Museum, and Heron Rookery. Campsites needed the accumulated bark,seeds, and sand cleaned off. My experience with California state parks is that this is one job not done enough. There were no butterflies in the grove. Most of them are down in Pismo Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
Location, location, location. Morro Bay is a wonderful destination, and from this camp you can ride your bike into town, rent kayaks, explore the wetlands, and play golf at the adjacent ocean-view, challenging public course, that we paid $20 for off-peak. We had great February weather, with none of the infamous fog. The park is set amongst Monterey Pine trees, and there are only a precious few hookup sites, that are full much of the time on reservations, even on many winter weekdays. The non-hookup sites are easier to get, except on some weekends and during the summer. Those are actually nicer, more spacious sites. Be warned that the trees may just block your satellite at many of the sites. Supposedly the front row hookups and the '50's (dry) are good for satellites, but our Dish worked from both sites we stayed at (#14 hookups $29, and #83 dry $20). There are no sewer hookups, and the single dump station, which also services Montana de Oro campground, can have a lineup. So, reserve early and enjoy a top-notch destination and very pleasant campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Plan ahead as the hook-up sites are limited. That's the only bad thing about a beautiful park. The trees mentioned in an earlier review are being thinned out. The Nature Museum is great and very kid friendly. Nice and clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
Great State Park. We used this as a base camp to sight see the Central Coast area. Close to Hearst Castle (30 miles), Cambria, Elephant Seals. Sites are level, campsites are a nice distance from each other. Restrooms and shower rooms were clean and kept clean through the week we were there. Dump station is free if camping there. Museum was interesting and interactive - free if camping. Easy access to Morro Rock, Embarcadero. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Very nice place, ideal for a vacation. Only 30 hookups, though, so make a reservation if you need one. Lots of eucalyptus trees which drop bark and leaves and may make it look messy to some people. Fabulous birding, I saw 42 species on our first day. Nice hike up Black Hill and easy bike ride into Morro Bay or to Bayside. They were having difficulty with the hot water system for showers so showers were free when we visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
We like this campground a lot. It is close to the water but not visible from the campground. It is a beautiful location. There is a dump station but you have to pay. It was quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Great park. I love to come here year around. Great natural history museum that is very interactive and free if you camp there. Only 20 hookup sites so plan way ahead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
I would sure like to know where our State Park Campground fees are going. They certainly are NOT going back into the State Parks. This place is an overgrown weed infested dirty rundown park. I have stayed in parking lots that were much nicer and cleaner than this. The generator hours are out of line with reality, 10:00a to 8:00p. I like to have breakfast and coffee before 10:00a and watch TV after 8:00p. What were they thinking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Level pads. Lots of trees created private and cozy settings. Nice restaurants nearby. Nature center on the grounds. Just a couple hundred yards from the marina. We were there in between major storms so showers had no hot water and not all restrooms were open. Close enough to Hearst Castle to commute up and back. I loved this place and wish we had stayed more than a single night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
This state park campground is outstanding an all respects. It is one of the few California state parks that provide hookups. I went in without a reservation, using a disabled veteran's pass. The Ranger very cordially assigned me a space with hookups. There is a marina within walking distance, where there is a good restaurant. Without a doubt, this is the best California State Park that I've been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
We stayed on the first weekend they reopened after a major rebuild. It was our first trip out with our new trailer. The sites are clean, the restrooms were brand new. The hosts were very helpful. The park is wonderful. Make reservations early it books up fast. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Recent million dollar plus renovation. Many of the non-native trees removed. What was once so dark and damp it was more a haven for vampires is now open and light. Campground hosts are friendly. 30 water and electric hook up RV sites are pull throughs. Dump station easy to access. Hike and bike section. No store on site but town is a very short drive. Golf course borders west side of park. Estuary on south with bird watching. Small marina on south side with kayak rentals and restaurant. Plan to return. Free WiFi about two miles away at a coffee house in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$26
Great State Park. While we were there on a previous visit we saw a Monarch Butterfly Migration that caused all the trees in to park to look like orange pumpkins. If you like sea life and bird life, this is the park. One evening we watch the Egrets return for the evening from their daily fishing. They landed in the trees on the edge of the bay and it looked like a decorated christmas tree full of white balls. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com