206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake City Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (386) 752-9131
CGID3634

Lake City Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   5   4   2   9   7   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Some sites are paved, some are not. This is an old KOA in need of lots of TLC. RV sites are all pull thru. Restrooms and showers were clean. The reason I marked it as not kid friendly is because the rec room is not ready for kids. Perhaps a seasonal thing, but it was dirty and smelled musty. I wouldn't want to spend much time in there as is. The office hours are limited. If you arrive when no one is there, you can pick a site and settle up later. Don't know about extra charges if you come real early. We came when they were open so it wasn't an issue. There are lots of rules, and some are posted on the walls (not my favorite) but no odd rules. It is a shame you have to tell people to pick up after the dog or to not torment the ducks, but some people need to be told. The lady who checked us in was efficient and polite (and firm about the rules). No biggie. Could not get the Wi-Fi to work. Cable was fine. Water pressure was no problem, but we followed their instructions exactly to not use a screen or filter. Quiet park. Good for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
This is an older park that is trying hard, but still has a ways to go. Office hours are 8-10 am and 4-7 pm. If you arrive outside these hours, you choose a vacant spot and settle up when the office next opens. This park filled by 4 the day we stayed there. Water pressure is very low, and sometimes just a dribble. Sites were a bit narrow, but all easy access pull thru. Nice grass between sites, blocks provided for under jacks, daily local paper delivered, and nice pond to walk around. We were unable to check out the store, bath, or propane due to the limited office hours. Code required to access bathhouse and toilets. Laundry was clean, only $1.50 wash, 1.00 dry. It's a quiet location and fine for a simple overnight stop, but you will need to get the WiFi and bath codes from the office during their limited hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
This campground is fine for overnight stay but it looks a run-down and the sites are soft dirt. The office personnel are nice. The best aspect of this campground is all the camper sites are pull-throughs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Sites were paved, but all surrounding areas were not. Very muddy with standing water when it rains. Passing through; stayed only one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Told them we had a 37 ft with a dolly and car in tow. About 60 ft. Got there and the only pull thrus that would work were marked for 70 ft plus! Took one anyway. All the other pull thrus were too short, not level asphalt in rough shape. Didn't much matter since it had been raining and many of the sites were under water! I don't do 50 amp hookup in the middle of a lake! Roads are way too small and poorly laid out. More rules than Alcatraz ! Small dog section, big dog section! They have to be kidding. Restrooms and showers are clean. Wi-Fi is a joke! Too weak to sign on. Cable is very basic, water pressure is a joke too! Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This campground was fine for a one-night stay. The water pressure is 30 psi. The atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. We had a pull-through site that was large, and close to the office, which also has a store. It was convenient to the interstate, but not so close that you can hear the cars. We liked it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Good pull through/full hookup sites with easy access. Low water pressure. We were unable to get the cable and the internet Wi-Fi was very intermittent. We stayed one night on our way north, so did not use any of the facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Traveling from Gulf beaches to Atlantic beaches, we thought we would stay here 2 nights. We wanted to break up the driving day and get some wash done. The water pressure was not adequate to allow our washer to run. Barely adequate for a shower. The amenities were fairly nice. The pool was clean, grass cut, and hook-ups worked. For some reason there was no cable hook-up at our site. We just set up satellite. I didn't say anything to the woman at the desk as she was very argumentative and I did not want an encounter with her. The Wi-Fi worked great for us, but there were very few campers in the park. Due to all of the many rules, unfriendly front desk, water pressure, and road noise, I would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Former KOA, 1 mile north of I-10 on 441. 441 is pretty busy,so there is some highway noise but not like the Interstate. Stayed 4 days; goal was to visit friends. Lots of big rig friendly sites, almost all are pull through. Drive through a little bit of grass to blacktopped site, and picnic table is on concrete. Site is a hair narrow, step out of RV onto the grass. Plenty of room between sites. Leaving is a little tight; the road between the sites is a little narrow. Another post mentioned the rules. Yes, there are a few more rules than usual. Rules such as "no draining of petroleum products from motor vehicles", leave the ducks alone, close the shower curtain - really? Makes me wonder what situation forced the owners to put these things in writing. Water pressure is low, owners know it, can be a problem for on-demand water heaters. Cable was good with several HD channels and only went out once. Internet kept resetting so we did not use it. In their defense, it rained 6" in 36 hours during our stay. Blocks are required under jacks, and are provided. Satellite worked fine, Sprint 3g wi-fi was good, Sprint cell mediocre. Dog friendly, employees helpful, not intrusive. Office is open 5 hours a day, 8-10a and 4-7p. Gave it a 7 because of the water pressure. Would recommend it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Rustic park located just off secondary highway. Nice park for over night stay, friendly staff. Watch out for ducks! Nice store with good stock. WiFi worked however no water pressure. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
If you love rules, you will rate it a 10. We are full timers and have never seen the like of it in our travels. Surprised there wasn't a quiz for us in the morning. Owner charged me $3 electric surcharge because I arrived 4 hours early, although I agreed to leave in their normal 20 hour check in/out time span. I have been metered before at less than $3 PER DAY; this was for 4 hrs of having a TV on. Micromanagement extraordinaire here! If you get pass the office guru, the campground will serve you well. Wi-Fi fine, Cable overall fairly weak. Office closes 10am-4pm. Easy access to I-10. Will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
OK for overnight. Close to I-10. Paid $32/night for full hook-up pull through. Level paved sites, clean restrooms, good WI-FI and cable. As noted in other reviews, too many nuisance rules and regulations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This is your best choice in this area. Many parks in this region are little more than fishing camps but we had paced streets and paved pad, no tree problems with wide turns. Off the interstate a little (minutes), west of I-75 (if that is your turn) a little, but worth it. Owners will give you an even shorter route back to the free ways that are not in the books and works fine. If a big rig the 120' pads (#'s 1-6) are immediately on your right as you pull in so do not turn and pull to the front of the office. Plenty of room to pull in and then just stop. OH...and do not let the kids chase the pet ducks! Our 45' bus was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
While this is a very clean and well spaced campground, they present you with a list of rules that are very off-putting. They say "my way or the highway." When people offer this type of attitude I stay clear. The rules were reasonable and certainly ones that I would have followed but the "in your face" way of stating them was so offensive that I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stopped for just a night stay. Easy on/off the highway, big flat pull-through sites, quiet. Bathrooms very clean, excellent shower pressure. Laundry facility excellent and very clean. We pulled in after 7pm, park manager saw our lights on and came over to give us the codes for the wifi and bathrooms. Would stay here again, very clean and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
Rate was with Passport America. Well run and clean. Grounds were maintained daily. The water pressure was adequate, but unreliable and CATV was not the best. Everyone there was extremely friendly and attentive. Our first day was tense due to a neighbor with barking dog for 4 hours. I reported it to staff, they spoke to the guest and it never happened again. We stayed 3 weeks. Road traffic was sometimes bothersome. Huge bass were caught in the fishing pond which added to our enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Real clean and well cared for. The Host was real friendly and showed concern for all of the campers. If you are going to arrive between 10am and 4pm, call ahead for your site number. The big rig sites area extremely large and easy to get into. The park is less than a mile from I-10 and easy to find. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$31
The camp was impressive -- well kept up, super clean bathrooms and showers, recycling offered for aluminum to benefit an animal shelter, a friendly and knowledgeable host, wifi worked beautifully, general store with just about anything you might need in a pinch (other than food) even refills for propane. The only downside is the closeness of the sites - you are right next to your neighbor and practically look in their windows. Upside: ducks wander the grounds freely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Nice RV park in close proximity to 1-10. Not many choices in this area, as we found out after going to a few others that were dumpy. This is a nice RV park with roomy, pull through spots. The park was clean and easy to navigate through, and had a dog walk area close by our site. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
We knew there were rules going in, but this place is nuts. Sign posted in office stated you could not even wash the bugs off your windshield. We had a reservation for 2 nights but when I saw that we left the next morning. I am sure they had their reasons, but they were over the top. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$13
I have stayed in this Park many times in the last three years. The Owner is friendly and offers assistance if any is needed. It's in an excellent location: 2 miles from Lake City and grocery stores. Outstanding location for Vets: 2 miles from the VA Hospital and VFW. An American Legion Post is located across the street. The Parks Wi-Fi is very good. The Park is on my list where to stay whenever I come to Lake City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
The website seems normal but the campground isn't. The woman owner is quite rude and not there half the time. There is dust and dirt all over the inside of the small rec hall and inside toilet areas. In back of the office there is a smell of garbage. The people here were not very friendly either. We felt so itchy after staying here one night that we had to stop at the Flying J and use the showers before traveling on to Lakeland. If it were free I wouldn't stay here again. Stay on I-75 and don't get off in Lake City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This is a very odd campground in that you can't check in until 4:00. With that being said, we were able to check in earlier with calls to the management explaining that we needed to be earlier arrivals coming from Georgia. I also had washing to do and meals to prepare. We loved the campground even with all the rules and regulations. You can see that in time past it was a great campground with lots of visitors I'm sure. The laundry was extremely nice and clean. We also enjoyed the store as well as the grounds. The pool was clean, but it was rainy and cool. We would stay here again and would take into account the late check in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
No trouble getting site: just called ahead. Good Sam park. Many cable TV channels and good power. Well kept and manicured. Very nice and clean pool. Pricey for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This was are 2nd time here, nothing has changed since 2010. Still very nice and peaceful. Again we were able to get the best site, #44. We fished a lot and caught a lot of bass. We did the springs and relaxed. owners do have a lot of rules but this is what we like and it is needed compared to other parks we have been in this year. The park is very, very clean. The only negative is the cable t.v. is not strong enough, Cable company needs to amplifiy it. Ohm it out, it is low. We camped here in a motorhome and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice place and nice lady running it. Park feeling with lots of trees and grass. Cute pond in the back. We enjoyed sitting on the concrete pad beside our site watching fire flies and listening to the frogs at night. We were able to fill out propane tank in the morning. Freeway is close but our site was in the back and not much of a problem with noise. Definitely will stay again. We have a 36 ft and pull a truck and were able to get in and out easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We checked ourselves in as the office is only open a few hours each day. The site was acceptable. The park is old but seems to be well cared for. Management protects their ducks at all costs. The swimming pool appeared to be quite large for such a small park. The mosquitoes were absolutely awful, but perhaps that's normal for this time of year. It is a good one night stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This was a very nice campground for an overnight stay. The camp was very quiet and peaceful. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. There are a lot of rules, but they are reasonable and are probably needed during the busy season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Close to freeway so some noise. Roads and sites are gravel, plenty of room. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
We liked this park. Yes there are a lot of rules, but they are needed to keep it nice. That said, I've never stayed in a park where I was not allowed to clean the bugs off my windshield! Big, juicy Florida bugs: yuk! In any case, we (including the bugs still on the windshield) would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
If you must stop somewhere for the night, then use the rest area on I-10 because if you come here it'll be a mistake. The manager has a chip on her shoulder when she's around, which luckily is only a few hours a day. If you need anything between 10 and 4 pm, then forget it. All the cabins have mold on the outside walls and the dumpster smells heavily of garbage. Oh yeah, and check out the fake reviews the owners write for their place. What a joke. Get me once, shame on you, but get me twice, then shame on me. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS ONE. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This place is a dump with unfriendly owners. The rental cabins have green and black mold. I got in and out real fast. Don't waste your time and money here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Another good 1 night stop, had long pull throughs. Rules, Rules, Rules. All RV parks have rules, we need them, but Lake City had so many they had to attach an addendum to the printed rule sheet. Fair price for a park close to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$37
Great for an overnight, probably for longer if there is a reason to stay in Lake City. Nice playground, friendly people. They do give themselves room to kick you out (staking things in the ground, chasing ducks etc) but they did not indicate any desire to use them. Our site was very long and nearly level. They require wood or plastic blocks under jack pads, but they do supply some (there were even enough to hold my water filter since I couldn't stick the holder in the ground). We'll probably continue to use this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
A nicely maintained park with a lot of extras. Large pull through sites with no shade for over night stays while traveling. The park staff was very friendly and most helpful. For some reason(s) your GPS will not get you to this park. It will, if you put in the long & lat coordinates. It is located about 5 easy miles from I-75 & I-10. The restrooms are very clean and are heated and air conditioned. Access is to campers only via entry code. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Easy in and out off of both I-10 and I-75. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Nice area for dogs. Only issue is that the sites are asphalt so you have to use pads under your jacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
If staying here, be sure you're pulling into the correct campground: this one is a little more than a mile north of the interstate, not the one right next to it. The short drive was worth it though, we were amazed at how empty it was. Huge pull through lots for rigs over 70 feet, great pool, and nicely responsive owners. WiFi worked great, faster than at my house. Will definitely stay here again when we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
It is close to highway but traffic noise was not a factor during the time we were there. Check-in is not until 4 p.m.. Because we asked to check in before that we were told we would have to check out by 8 a.m. or pay for another full day. There were some sites that had shade during part of the day but most did not. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and were accessible only by security code for safety. There was a small pool and a small play ground for children. There were also a couple of walking trails but signs were posted saying there were possible snakes and alligators on the paths and in the small ponds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Passport America daily rate. Park is located just off interstate but has a bit of vehicle noise which can on occasion keep you awake. Park is clean and sites are well-organized. Cable is excellent, but you need to be close to Wi-fi hot spot if you want strong Internet. Friendly staff and has nice activity room and showers. Good for overnight or short stay. I would return to this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
Nice place. We stayed 2 nights and then moved farther south because it was so cold this year. We sure would stop again. Very pet friendly (which is important to us). Even gave us bones for our 2 dogs. Nice historic town nearby to visit too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
We had a great overnight stay here. Clean, quiet park, with easy access to I-10. Summer could be a problem with scarce shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We decided to stop and check out the park for our winter vacation in Florida. The park was nice and clean. Pool was clean cool and refreshing. Only problems with the park was the area, it was in the poorer part of town and far away from the local Wal-Mart. Also if you stay nightly the Wi-Fi is free to nightly guest, but we found out that if you stay monthly you have to pay $20.00 extra per month, which we found to be outrageous, since they charge $400.00 per month plus tax. After hearing about the $20.00 extra per month for Wi-Fi we decided to try another park in the area for our winter stay in Florida. Other than those problems the park was OK. The manager/owner seemed a little rude and really didn't go out of her way to care about us not staying for the winter. We would stay here again if in the area, but just overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
I was not happy the way the employees were treated. I stayed at the park for 5 days and saw the employeer taking advantage of his help. for example.. not paying LEGAL hourly wage abuse of authority abuse of employee health issues We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
The park and pool are very clean. The owners are very helpful in every way. We have stayed overnight several times and each time the park is improved. I would have given the park a higher rating but the water pressure was very low. The location is only 45 minutes from Jacksonville We would stay here again overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We have stayed at this campground over a dozen times. The Manager is very accommodating with any of your needs. This campground is quiet and peaceful. No interstate noise at all. They have good power and water pressure. Asphalt slabs for parking and a spotless pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$36
Lake City Campground is 1 mile north of I-10 at Hwy 441 about 63 miles from Jacksonville. The Office is only open from 4-7PM and check in is at the same time. The place has a pool, playground and 2 ponds. The restrooms and spotless and the store/office has about anything you might want. You are about 4 miles from downtown Lake City that has a lot of small shops and eating places. I would stay there again if I am in Lake City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This is no longer a KOA. This was our third trip to this campground. The sites are paved and level. The electric hookup is great. Water pressure a little low. This park is very clean and well ran. The pool is sparkling clean. The staff is very friendly. This campground is about a mile off of I-10. No road noise! My wife nor I can really think of anything bad to say about this location. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
Very clean, well organized. The hosts were very friendly. The sites are somewhat close together and the spot I was assigned gave me a choice, open the awning or open the slide (depending on position in the spot relative the trees). But since I was only there overnight, this is not seen as a problem. Away from the interstate enough not to pick up the sounds of the traffic, but close enough to be convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$26
Located in a run-down area. Autos "drag racing" and owner's dogs barking late into the night kept us awake after a long day on the road. Many long term units and lots of people sitting around. Not a secure feeling. Campground staff very abrupt and not at all friendly. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
Nothing good to say so will say nothing, did not stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Easy to find one mile off the highway. For overnight stay they had very long pull-thru sites. We felt that these sites were to close to the long term sites. The WiFi was a bit of a hassel with alot of instructions to log on and a fee of $3.00 a day. No shaded sites and seem to be a bit remote. We just did not have a good secure feeling there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$34
Pull throughs are 120 ft long. Cable TV was free. Swimming pool open in season, March 1-October 31. Some shaded sites. Places to go sightseeing. All within a few miles. Stayed in Kottage. RV sales and service close by. Will go back in July. Office personal were Friendly and helpful. 1 mile off I-10. Exit 303. We camped here in a ?.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com