220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Muskegon KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (231) 766-3900
CGID3636

Muskegon KOA

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   4   6   9   4   1   9   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
My family's stay was pleasant. The owners and staff were very friendly. The beach and water toys were great fun for the kids as was the good fishing and the trails. Our site was rather small as well as quite sandy, which meant a lot of dust flying around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
We camped here for 2 nights in a pop-up with a slide-out. We had enough room for what we needed. The site was shaded, which was welcome given the hot days. At first I was hesitant to let the grandkids play without me tagging along. However, our site was centrally located and in view of the play areas. Moreover, the security was great. There was security at the entrance of the campground and at the jumping pillow, a popular place for kids. Security was located in view of the playground. I watched them watching the kids and was able to relax. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was the first time my grandkids fished; each caught several. The kids also liked swimming in the lake, which was warm. They went on the hayride and participated in the ice cream social. We had a campfire and roasted marshmallows. The bathrooms were clean. While the floors were sandy and wet in areas, I expected this given the lake and play areas. I would return to this campground again. The kids said they would go back there again too, which is a good recommendation since they are so picky. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
The good - Very close to Michigan Adventures. The beach & water slides were very kid friendly. The Bad - First & foremost was the small lots. These were the smallest lots I have seen in 30+ years of camping. With the bed in our pop up pulled out, we were inches away from the bed in the pop up behind us. On the lot behind one of our group's site, they had a huge motor home back in, almost to the picnic table. When the motor home started up, the exhaust was on us while we were eating breakfast. The bathrooms were only cleaned once a day, so the paper towels were out most of the time. The road noise was quite loud. There seemed to be alot of people working there, but the late night noise was not controlled. My biggest complaint was the lot size. This is a KOA, the Hyatt of campgrounds. I would think there had to be a standard kept, that is why you are willing to pay more money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Though the park was small, the atmosphere was great. The lake was clean, the fish were big, and the addition of some new swim platforms and bounce pillows made this a bit more fun for the kids than it would have been without them. Overall the park was small, and being so close to the interstate you did get a bit of road noise. Given that, we would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Nice campground. Well maintained, very close to Michigan Adventure. Lake is great for catch and release fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
We camped with friends, and had 4 kids with us (ages 5-8). We went to nearby Michigan's Adventure. The campground is small with little for children to do (one bike trail, small beach, playground with small grassy area). Very close to highway 31. Mosquitos were very bad during our stay. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
Simply the worst camping experience of my life. During the day, it was as expected: a bit crowded but clean and fairly quiet. It began getting noisy as soon as the stated quiet hours (10:00) began. When I asked a very loud drinking group posted right behind our tent to keep it down (at 11:40), the loudest person there told me to pack up and go home if I didn't like it. He was the camp's owner. The parties lasted until past 3:00. We got no sleep and still haven't gotten our money back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Very nice. WIFI worked even though we were across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Not much to disagree with in the previous review, except that free Wi-Fi is available, though it might not cover the whole park. (We were fairly close to the office and had good signal). They expect $3 per person per day for visitors, but "the first half hour is free." We had plenty of visitors and never paid the fee. Lots of kids in the park who seemed to have a good time in the lake and riding the three-wheel rent-a-bikes. Everybody friendly and accommodating, good shade, daily at-site trash pickup, a tad noisy from highway noise and late-night happy folks (after quiet time). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$37
PROS: Kitchen sink for doing dishes; nice bike/hiking path around pond; paddle boats/canoe/kayaks for rent; washer/dryer. CONS: sandy sites (very messy and trailer started to sink); sites are small, no where to park; dump station is right in front of bathrooms--kind of gross; not a lot to keep kids busy. KOA personnel zealous to enforce some rules but not all. Got very upset when someone came to visit us and didn't check in the office within 5 minutes, but let someone take a bath in the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$41
Some staff were nice. Owners need lessons on dealing with the public. They say pets allowed but it was obvious they hate dogs. They would be better off to just ban pets. Our dog was chained at our site which was three sites from the office. I walked to the office to use the restroom (#1). I did my business and washed my hands- walked out of the door and the owner "accosted" me because my dog had barked at him as he passed my site. Only gone from my site for maybe 3 minutes. The sites are small and they put the largest units on each sites possible. Some people couldn't even park their tow vehicle on their site but had to park in the "visitor" parking area. The ground is sandy black dirt and is very messy especially when wet. For the kind of money they charge they should make improvements. In over 20+ years of camping this was overall the worst facility I have stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
The site was filthy, tiny. Apparently on the beach meant 'overlooking swamp'. On the site next to us there were at least 10 loud people and a barking dog. You can see and hear the highway, there isn't much to do. The bathroom wasn't clean, the shower was tiny, dark, and had standing water. It was awful. We paid for 3 nights but on the first night called a relative to have them book a site at Silver Lake State Campground. Campground refused refund, then relented and said we could have a partial refund and campground credit. However upon checkout we got neither! Silver Lake campsite HUGE, beautiful and just what we wanted. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
Though the sites are not as large, I found this campground to be well maintained and staffed. We found that the campground was quiet at night while we were there. However, other than renting a paddle boat or a canoe, there were not a lot of things for younger children to do other than a small playground across the road and a basketball hoop. Otherwise, it is very close to the Michigan Adventure Amusement Park and a good place to relax after a long day of rollercoasters and water rides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2003
$27
This park was a typical overpriced, under maintained KOA. Roads were gravel/dirt. Sites were grass/dirt and small. There were lots of trees. The park is on a small lake and has a walking trail around the lake. The park was full of kids and tents, not a place for anyone looking for a quite place to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com