223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Galesburg East Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (309) 289-2267
CGID3650

Galesburg East Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   8   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
This park is off I-74 just far enough to be very quiet, but GPS confuses the directions. Blue camping signs will assure getting there. Price reflects Good Sam discount. The new owner of this former KOA park is working hard to improve sites and facilities. Our water, sewer, and electric functioned properly. Air TV was fine even under the beautiful trees. The pool was closed for the winter, but other amenities were available, such as a stocked lake, trail, laundry, showers, game room, two cabins, and a book exchange. Some cosmetic improvements will assure the success of this park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
I really liked this little park. It was easy to get to and very convenient to the city of Galesburg, which was surprisingly quirky and interesting. My site was shady and the Wi-Fi was excellent. The pool was sparkling clean. The owner was very friendly and escorted me to the site. Even though the website isn't working, he assured me via phone that they were indeed still in business. I certainly would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Great RV campground location and pricing. Extremely friendly staff. Used the Laundry facility- low prices, very clean and efficient. Convenience store prices were extremely reasonable. Nice pool area and game room. Owner in process of updating pool deck, but still great access. Loved camping in the farmland! Recommend to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
This campground has easy access to I-74 and just two minutes from the exit. Our site was level and no problems with the hookups. Well kept lawn. Nice area to walk the dog with small pond on the back of the property. Well kept pool and play ground area. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Agree with previous reviewer; new owner is a fellow RV'er. Good customer interactions. Would give it a ten if the campground had cable hook ups since most sites are treed and no satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
New owner. Took over May 1st. Very friendly. Escort by golf cart to the site. Gravel pull thru sites, grass in between, picnic tables. Excellent wi-fi, plenty of TV channels on the antenna. Easy in, out with a HDT and trailer (60 ft. combo) Excellent power, water pressure and sewer. Has a swimming pool. Went out for a walk to checked out the pond started to walk around it and found a trail. Followed that. Nice walk in the woods. Only heard the train and interstate noise during the day/evening. Not when going to bed. Did go to sleep listening to the frogs in the pond singing away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We stayed at this campground while back in the area visiting family. We mostly used the campground for sleeping but enjoyed our stay overall. It is a clean well kept place. Our site was pretty level and the Wi-Fi worked well. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
A very nice park for an overnight stay. Showers were surprisingly clean and private. The office personnel were friendly and efficient even though they had had a very busy Friday evening. We could not connect to the wireless internet, but have had no trouble in other parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
A very nice, clean, and convenient campground. Mature trees provide almost all sites with some kind of shade. Level gravel sites and most were pull thru. All services and restaurants nearby. Galesburg has some nice antique shops and historic buildings. We stayed three days and would return. Our GPS did not get us there. Call for directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
It is an older KOA. The host are keeping it in excellent condition. Showers were great with soft water which was a pleasant surprise. Lot's of shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This park is fairly close to the interstate but we experienced very little traffic noise. The sites are long, level, spacious and shady. I can see how, if it were full, it would require some tight turns. The pool was great. The owners were very helpful. Tornados were a possibility while we were there and we were given very good instructions about our location and what to do in case of emergency. Over the air TV was adequate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Easy access from I-74. Internal roads narrow, lots of trees, not good for satellite reception but good reception for local channels on antenna. Utilities not located properly for larger units. Limited items at store when we stopped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This is an older park as previous reviews have indicated. The internal roads are very narrow and the sites are all basically pull through, but because the roads are narrow it is difficult to maneuver into the site. The pull through sites are short and many of the RVs were right at the end of their site making it difficult to pull off the narrow road into and out of the sites. Matter of fact, to get out of the pull through site, we had to back up into the vacant site behinds us and pull forward to get onto the narrow road. The trees 3 to 4 inch limbs need to be trimmed because one can see where they have been hit by RVs. We stayed here one night with a 32 foot fifth wheel. I wouldn't stay here again. The water pressure was good, as the the power. The manager was very nice and took us to our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is an older, but very nice park. Fairly close to the freeway, it is clean and well organized. The sites are fairly large. If you want satellite reception, tell them and they will put you in an appropriate spot (16-19). The park is nicely treed, but it is also surrounded by acres (no exaggeration) of mowed grass. Great place to take a walk with the dog! The park is very quiet, too. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Nice campground. Sites could be just a tad longer as with the truck in front, we were just in bounds. Water was not good tasting but we then used a filter. Roads were a little narrow. We were there while it was raining and the drainage was fine, We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
A little off the highway, down a frontage road. Sharp left turn into park, then another left. Easy check-in; friendly and helpful staff. Heavily wooded sites. Staff knew we needed roof-top satellite and took us to one of the few sites you could get it. Lovely, long, level, wooded site. Utilities were in good location and all worked well. Clean laundry room; all worked well. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Very nice park. Lots of shade and close to I-74. We stayed for 10 days. The owners actually opened the park early for us since we had to be in Galesburg for a few appointments at the end of March. Large and level sites with easy hook ups. We have made reservations to stay again in Oct. on our way back through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
If you love the sounds of trains and interstate in the background you'll love this place. The road and RR noise is not the in your face kind of noise but it's there in the background and there's a lot of RR traffic. They have gravel roads and sites that are level and reasonable size. They have a nice fast internet,Tengo, and Verizon mifi also works. The rate seems a bit high for late season, no cable, and pool closed. But it's set in the farm land area of Ilinois and a good park. Our rate was 31.50 with GS discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Kids would be a little bored here, but those folks who enjoy a quiet, shady, laid back park would enjoy this campground. The laundry is spotless, and large commercial dryers shorten the time to finish this job. Nice lounge with pool table and fireplace. Galesburg has interesting historic district with several great eateries. Friendly staff guides to adequate sites. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Interior roads and gravel sites are very narrow but easily navigable by big rigs. Sites are level and well shaded by tall tree cover. Excellent Wi-Fi is available but cost extra if used for more than one week. Pool, restrooms, laundry and clubhouse were clean and inviting. The grounds include a pond and nature trails. AT&T phone and data service were very good. The cost is based on the monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Clean; friendly and helpful managers; far enough away from the Interstate to have little noise. Not particularly close to anything, but services are available in a short distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is an attractive RV park with lots of trees. The Wi-Fi is reliable which is unusual because we normally have problems with TengoInternet. Satellite didn't work but we could get local channels through the antenna. The sites are long and level gravel although not much space between sites. Our neighbors "party pit" was right outside the bedroom window, and they were still entertaining at 11:00pm. For some reason, they bunched all the RVs into the same area rather than spreading them out in the near empty park. Camp fires were in abundance and our neighbor's smoldered all night long. Unfortunately, the wind blew it right in our direction so by morning the interior of our coach smelled like smoke. There is road noise from I-74 and train whistles from nearby tracks. As previously stated in other reviews, the owners were efficient but would not win any awards for friendliness. The park is fine for an overnight. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Perfect for an overnight stay when traveling. Long gravel sites that were pretty level, with quality Wi-Fi. I agree with other reviewers that the lady in the office wasn't a people person but not really rude. Note: Some sites could be tight turning if traveling in a large rig. Also: if you need dinner, gas, ice etc., stop before this exit as there was nothing else at the exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We almost didn't come here because of the negative reviews but am glad we did. The owner isn't nasty at all, she was quite friendly but who cares - why people judge a campground by how friendly the staff is is beyond me. We have been in some real dumps where the staff was friendly and visa verse. The sites are level, shaded and clean. It is not a destination campground, but a great place to spend the night. We will stay here from now on when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Shady level sites. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Good Sam discount. Friendly lady in office led us to our site. Site #16 that we were in, was not very level. Would stay here again when traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
As the other review said, the manager (who is also the owner) was never friendly and we were here for two days. The sites and streets are so narrow if they had parked someone in front of us we would not have gotten out. The owner was more worried about not having workcampers (wonder why, with her attitude). They thought having 50 amps makes it big rig friendly. I think not, we need move to maneuver. We were not able to use our satellite and they do not have cable TV. Not really a big rig park, and we will not come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
When we arrived at the park the female manager must have been having a bad day. She was not very welcoming or accommodating no matter how nice we acted. Was escorted to our site which was long but narrow making it difficult to position the rig on the pad and still have room for the slideouts to miss the utility poles. Pads are level but could use more gravel, ours was muddy and soft. Park is right next to the interstate so there is traffic noise. Pool looked nice and the grounds were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We camped here two different nights in a Class B on our way to and from the west coast. The campground is really excellent, ultra clean restrooms/showers, extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff, (who are RVers themselves). Has very level sites and it's setting is a really nice, tree shaded country environment with an outstanding area to walk and play with the dogs. They have a nice pool and the general park is very well maintained. We will always stop by here when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a good place for an overnight stop, but will also do nicely for a longer stay to explore the surrounding area. The bathrooms are clean and reasonably modern. The gravel sites can be a challenge, especially in the rain, but things worked well and we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely use this fine facility again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
I agree with previous camper but would add that the showers and laundry facilities are excellent. They also have a pool which was not open when I was there. The owners are campers themselves and can readily relate to visitors. They also have a small stocked fishing pond on site. Our rate reflects GS discount. I gave it a 9 because of the gravel sites required me to use leveling blocks ( 2 x 8). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Galesburg East is a good campground to spend a night or longer. This very neat campground is owned by a friendly couple who take a hands-on approach. All roads and pads are gravel. There are a variety of sites that can accommodate any size of RV. There are plenty of trees. The park has a wireless hotspot near the office. There are plenty of over-the-air television stations. It has easy access to I-74. The negatives are some noise from the nearby interstate, and most sites need a little leveling front to back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
We pulled in for a night, and if the weather had been nicer we would have stayed longer. This RV Park was nice, easy to find and get to and not noisy. There were some trains during the night but no whistles! You are near the second largest RR-hub, but it didn't bother us. Nice location to Galesburg to take in the sites. All the sites had some gravel and were pretty level, nicely spaced apart. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Friendly and helpful owners, and it's clean and neat. No satellite or Wi-Fi if that's important to you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
We would stay here again. The park has easy access from the interstate, but is far enough off the road to muffle the road noise. There are nice shade trees and lots of grassy areas to let the pets walk. The owner is very helpful in getting the rigs parked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This is a very nice park. The sites are wide and long pull-throughs. Shade trees at every site and grassy areas under the picnic tables. Clean and tidy in the office/store as are the grounds. Staff on duty was helpful and knowledgable about the city of Galesburg. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Most sites are pull throughs, excellent gravel roads, shady and grassy sites. Park is well kept with few seasonal sites. Very nice tent area. It's close to interstate, but far enough there is little noise. Train track is about a mile away, so some noise from that. We were escorted to our site. No satellite reception because of trees. No cable, but many over the air channels. Electric, water, sewer all in good condition. Wi-Fi signal weak, but usually works fine. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Decent little campground but a bit overpriced. Easy on & off I-74 but far enough away so you didn't hear the interstate noise. Site size was fine. Pretty little fishing pond and a nice mowed path thru the woods. Would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Easy on-off from I-74 but far enough away for quiet stay. Almost completely tree-shaded but trees do not affect rv movement/parking. Friendly hosts that also assist in moving to site. Good connections to Electric and Water. Roomy sites with gravel site and park roads. Not listed, but I picked up a very strong and fast unsecured wifi location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Well run and maintained former KOA campground. Wide sites sites, great showers and restrooms, Wifi worked well, pool was warm and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This is a very nice family-run campground. The pool, baths, and showers are clean and well-maintained. Although the interstate highway is visible from the campground, traffic noise was not a problem. There are a number of "long-term" sites along the western edge of the campground, and all of the units there seemed well maintained. Hook-ups were fast and easy. Sites are roomy for a commercial campground, and there are a couple of nice "gliders" with tables for rocking. The lady (presumably owner) who checked us in was very friendly--I'd forgotten my Good Sam card in the camper and offered to go dig it out, but she just gave me the rate without making me find my card. The office/store seemed well-stocked, although I didn't browse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Having returned from 3 months on the road (i.e., Maine to Arizona/New Mexico and back). I would rate our experience at this park as the worst of our entire trip. Our mistake, asking for an end site (when 7 were available), rather than taking the one that the manager wanted to assign us!! I'm sorry, but this is an old KOA, where everyone is on top of everyone else, and we like a little privacy. When we asked for an end site, the blond woman at the desk became very hostile, offering multiple reasons why we weren't "deserving" of such a space. (i.e., at 42 feet we were "too small" to warrant an end site, or people who arrive after "closing hours" get the end sites). When my wife asked how many people arrived after "closing hours" last night or the night before, the answer was "well none." So we were about to drive on, when suddenly an end site was available; but only with great effort and hostility. Then we admitted that, yes, we had a dog. (20 pound Welsh Terrier. About as friendly and on-leash as you'll ever see). We then were subjected to a diatribe about what we were not allowed to do with our dog. Once in our site, we spent our time inside the trailer. I have seldom felt less welcome in a park. There are signs everywhere: "Do NOT walk here." "NO dogs in this area." "NO exterior mats." "Do NOT walk on the grass." etc., etc. We lived in the mid-west for 6 years (Iowa and Nebraska) and know that those people are very friendly, warm, caring, and helpful. This park does not exemplify those attributes, and as such, is not a credit to Illinois or mid-western tourism. We would never stay here again. The restrooms were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
First stay here - and one of the best kept and run parks we have used. Big, level gravel spots with nice shade and room to roam around in a very rural setting. Quiet and clean and friendly. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. All hookups were in good repair and placed well. Picnic table each spot clean and painted. A great choice if you are traveling 74. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
One of the nicer places we stayed. No trains! This was one of the quiter campgrounds with easy access to the interstate. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. This was once a KOA park and the new owners are doing a nice job on the upkeep and upgrades. I would stay here again. . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2004
$23
Roomy interior roads and sites. Lots of mature trees. Easy to navigate and level. The camp store had the necessities. Although near I-74 it was quiet. A good place to overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com