223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Jordanelle State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (435) 649-9540
CGID3667

Jordanelle State Park

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   8   8   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Excellent location for visiting Park City area. Beautiful views of lake. Beware - while many sites are long enough for a big rig, they are impossibly sloped. Apparently, the ReserveAmerica website knows which sites are level, but our rig and car barely fit. Wi-Fi signal was too weak to work at our site. Given its proximity to Salt Lake City, it's very, very busy in season and on weekends. Would definitely stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
We've stayed at Jordanelle twice in the past three years (when in Park City to visit family). As others have noted, it's fairly treeless, but right on the lake. It's fairly quiet, with very little road noise, and about 15 minutes from Park City. I don't understand the comments about sites not being level. We've stayed in the Hailstone Campground both times, and the sites are very level. We pull a 29' with our crew cab F250 and there is plenty of room. They have a number of pull through sites and we never had any problems getting in or out. There is quite a bit of wind in this area, as it's in a pass between the mountains. It actually snowed on June 17th this year, one day after we left! The weather changes quickly. But it is a nice location and we will return. I wouldn't recommend the fishing in June, though, nothing seemed to even warrant a bite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
There is a reservation 'fee' added so figure that into your rate. No real shade available although there are abundant small trees. Excellent location to Park City, fuel, grocery etc. Antenna reception is good. The lake is Really low and construction was ongoing while I was there so should be complete and much improved. When they say sites are 'tight' they are not kidding, but once I maneuvered my 30' RV into place the sites are nicely spaced with fire pits and tables. Played golf at several local Good courses and with a visit to the Olympic Village had a very enjoyable time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
We really loved our stay at Jordanelle State Park. The views are wonderful and with Park City right next door, there is even more to do besides what the park offers. Our pad was not at all level and in my walks, I didn’t see any that were better. Our site indicated that it was good for a 40 foot rig, but we had a very hard time fitting in. All pads and roads are paved and have a picnic table and a fire pit / barbeque. We had no grass and were glad we had a rug to prevent the dirt from being tracked in. No shade at our site. The showers were free and very clean. We had no sewer (dump station available) but the 30 amp electric and the water worked great. There is free Wi-Fi which we certainly appreciated. We loved Jordanelle and would visit again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
I stayed here while on a business trip in Salt Lake City for a week. Only about 20 minutes from Salt Lake City. Nice campground, but a lot of sites are not level. My front tires were about 6-7 inches off the ground and I still sloped. I had to get extra wood from Home Depot and also get hydraulic jacks for each front wheel so the air bags didn't just hang freely. Other than the site not being anywhere near flat, it was a nice place to stay. Good road riding and mountain biking near by. If you go, call and ask for a level site. There are some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Level, beautiful sites with a stunning view. Would have given it a 10 if sewer available and grounds a bit cleaner. People have failed to pick up their cans, glass, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We stayed here for over a week and it is a beautiful campground. Previous reviews list the amenities but this time of year you can get a full hook-up when only a few camp hosts are still working here. Full hook-ups were $25. Park City is a great place to visit and we biked on their trail system and took a tour of the Utah Olympic Center. Be aware that some sites are level but quite a few require leveling and this late in the season you can drive around until you find one that will work for your size RV. Scenic drives and hiking are close while you are visiting. This is one of the best state parks in Utah! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a beautiful park overlooking the Jordanelle Reservoir. We paid an extra $8 for a reservation as the regular price is only $20 and as it turned out, there were numerous sites available, oh well! There is now a strong Verizon cell-phone and Mi-Fi signal and most sites are satellite friendly. The 11:00 pm curfew has been discontinued and you are free to stay out late. We like to stay here when visiting relatives in the area and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Loved this place with the magnificent views of the mountains. Planned to stay 2 nights and stayed a week! We had a site overlooking the lake and opposite Deer Valley ski area slopes. So much room to roam and things to do in the area. Nice staff, considerate. Good laundry facility. Nice playgrounds. Only disadvantage would be the highway above and nearby but it didn't bother us. In fact it was interesting to watch. Great place if you have a boat or want to fish! Shore is rocky but the lake is clean. This will be a yearly visit for us! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Closer to Park City than Heber, this is a bargain for RVs and Trailers. Big, flat spots with electric and water for $20. We arrived at 5:30 on a Sunday in June and got a lake front site. Doubt that is always possible, but this is a large campground right off I-40. Dump station on site. Very family friendly with playgrounds and lots of space for the kids to go nuts within eye site. If it was in a forest, it would be a "10". Probably gets hot during the summer but they give you plenty of power for running your AC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Beautiful State Park. The spaces are huge with picnic table and most have fire pits. The staff are friendly. Dump station is very close and easy access. Very clean sites, restrooms and showers. Love this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Beautiful, clean, neat park. DNR staff was very cooperative. There is a very nice hall for receptions/business meetings. Not all sites have septic. It is centrally located. Enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We loved this park! We were able to secure the recently vacated "camp host" site so for an extra $5.00 had a sewer hookup. We had a lovely pull-through site with lake view. Each site had a barbecue grill and also a fire pit. Although my husband and I both came down with the flu while we were there, it was a beautiful RV site. Very quiet and well managed. We would love to visit there again when we can take advantage of the walking and hiking. We were able to easily get medical care in Park City and also shop there. It was only about 10 minutes away. Heber City was a little further in the opposite direction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Beautiful! Nicely maintained, clean and quiet! Lots of space to get comfy. The picnic areas at the individual spaces were huge, and concreted, with a great firepit and grill. Some of the spots seemed small, and we could not get level, but that is because we picked our spot online without looking first. The view here is awesome! We find public campgrounds the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Beautiful setting overlooking Jordanelle Reservoir and the mountains. The sites are situated far apart from each other so are fairly private (although no large trees), but they are very poorly designed. (Did they have any idea of what width/length spot is required to park a rig?) We were in a 30' fifth wheel and even though we were in a pull-through, we had to go back and forth a lot just to fit in, and it was impossible to get into the site without going off the narrow paved path. None of the sites looked very level: all required lots of leveling. We were lucky to get a spot by just dropping in. It was full over the weekend so make reservations if you can! We would stay here again in spite of the difficulties, because it is a beautiful setting and very inexpensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
We have been going to Jordanelle as our "first" camping trip of the year, on Memorial Day, for the last 3 years and have really enjoyed it. We have used several different spots through out the camp and on all but 1 of the different loops. We have found that the camp hosts are great and with the exception of one occasion have never had a problem with how attentive they are and very, very helpful. The spots are somewhat small by the waterfront but you can get in with some creative maneuvering, though I wouldn't try to get a big rig in these spots. The Showers are a great convenience though they can get a bit "used", as in dirty, on busy weekends. There are playgrounds strategically located throughout the park and are well kept up. There is a laundromat here as well, though not a lot of machines but they don't seem to be used all that much. We needed to throw some laundry in after the kids played in the mud and we didn't have to wait. It says that there is sewer hookups available but as far as I know the only spots with sewer hookups are for the camp hosts of each loop. All the spots we have used have not had sewer. There is a dump station in the park but can get very crowded if you wait till the end of the weekend to use it. Once the trees in the various loops grow up some more this will certainly a 10 star rating! We will be here again on Memorial day 2011!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a clean and beautiful park with views of the nearby mountains and the dam. Laundry is available in park. There is a marina and swim beach. Wi-Fi works well. Water pressure is very strong. Has a nice playgrounds for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Nice park overlooking the Jordanelle Reservoir. Sites are paved with lakes views, but many are not very level. Level sites fill up quick. Roads are narrow but not too difficult for our 36' class A. Pets are allowed here, but not allowed on the public beach. Nor are there many places to walk them. I would guess this campground is more for boaters or families. Freak snowstorm hit while we were here. Antenna TV reception was fine. Cell reception worked for both AT&T and Verizon. We probably would not camp here again, just because of the lack of nearby things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is a great park. It has easy access, large sites, even a laundry. Were here in mid-October and had park all to ourselves. No problem for big rigs, as the sites are huge. Definitely will come back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
Beautiful campground, with cement patios, very large cement fire pits that have a grill and a bar to hang pots over the fire. Each site also has a flat, sandy area for pitching a tent. Sites are situated so there is privacy, while still affording views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Free Wi-Fi. Restrooms and free showers were very clean and large. There is no parking at the showers, you have to walk, but it is not far. About 10 minutes from Park City, close to interstate, but no traffic noise. There is a marina and small store. Busy on weekends, need reservations. Senior discounts. We really enjoyed our stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
With lovely lake views, clean facilities and family-friendly ambiance, Jordanelle State Park is a winner! A convenient base camp for exploring the Heber valley, Park City, Deer Valley and even day trips to Salt Lake City. This park gets very busy on weekends and reservations are a must, but on weekdays spaces are generally available without advance plans. There are extensive day-use and picnic areas in the park with excellent soft grass for walking the pooch and if a boater, the marina and personal watercraft launch areas are outstanding. Site selection is key as quite a few spaces are on sloped terrain and may be fine for a 24' TT but severely unlevel for a 36' 5er or a big motor home. The dump station is a bit hidden: look over by the tent areas on the flats near the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
A great campground. It lacked trees but overall a positive experience. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Beautiful park. Lots of room, great view, very quiet, clean, and you can't beat the price for a nice campsite with hookups. We decided at the last minute to stop here for the night, and fortunately they had a cancellation. We were sorry we couldn't stay longer to enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
Spaces were small, meaning not too wide. Not alot of mature trees, mostly young ones which made for little or no shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
It was a great family trip. Saying that, I have a couple of issues. The camp host for our area was not very friendly or they did not come around. The park ranger was a little over the top, especially with vehicles parking and the talking after 10:00. This lake can get very busy, so best to get there in the morning. I would not stay here if I was looking at relaxing. Sites are nice and kept up but there are not tent sites for every site. Make sure you check this out if you need a tent site also. I would also not stay in sites 100+ because of the dump tanks next door and you can smell them. No shade at camp sites. Some beaches have shade. Water is not to bad about 65 degrees in Mid August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Very nice paved sites that are terraced with paved picnic area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Overall, we are impressed with this campground, a very nice facility. Like most of our State Park experiences, we liked the lower cost, but found our visit to be not as quiet as other facilities where we have stayed. We arrived after hours without reservations, but an "off-duty" Park Ranger readily assisted us to get situated. It appears that each camp ring has one site with a sewer hookup, and that site is occupied by the host for that ring - the rest of us get to unhook and drive to the "dump". It is a very nice "dump" facility, but when I stay for a period longer than the capacity of my holding tank, I am not going to appreciate the fact that I will need to break camp mid-stay to take care of that chore (maybe if I bring a really long hose the host will allow me to "T" into his sewer connection?). Our site was located adjacent the shoreline - nice. We are a fan of trees and shade and would like to see more than the lakeside ring where we stayed provided. Some of the other rings seemed to be better off in the tree/shade department. We will definitely include this campground in future plans - we have already reserved five nights in August. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We actually didn't stay here but did a drive thru and checked it out. There is some confusion out there about hookups. NO SITES HAVE SEWER except the host sites. The gate clerk even told us there was full hookups! Not so! Very nice park with a great view from most sites. 37,38 and 44 are fairly level and have a great view of the lake and mountains. Picnic table grill/firepits available at most sites. Will stay here on our next visit to Park City UT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$17
We loved this park, our view of the lake and the mountains was incredible, the fishing was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful, we will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$17
This looks like a nice relatively modern state park on a pretty lake but we were fairly unhappy with the site we were assigned. We were glad we had only paid for two nights instead of our planned five. We've stayed at more than 60 places (national parks, state parks, nice RV parks and not-so-nice RV parks) in the last nine months and this was the most extremely out of level site we've seen to date. Many of the other sites are much more level (and then again many others are just as bad as ours) so it is very site specific. We also had problems with low power, measuring just 108 volts for 30 amp with no draw, it dropped to 105 with one AC running. On the plus side we had a nice view of the lake, the pull-thru site was long and wide enough for our 30 ft class A and the site came with a fire pit, BBQ grill and picnic table. We liked the private shower rooms but the water 'on' button for the shower had to be pressed down about every 1-1/2 minutes, the water temp could not be adjusted (but it was warm enough in July) and they were not very clean. There is a laundry on site which is a nice feature for a state park. Gates are locked nightly from 10 pm to 6am. Close to Park City and Heber City with Salt Lake City just about 45 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
Nice sites if you like no trees. Beautiful views of lake and mountains. Quiet, peaceful with lots of space between sites. Good dump site. Be careful of pull thrus if long motorhome since they are curved. Already made our reservation to return in fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com