223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Montauk State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (573) 548-2201
CGID3673

Montauk State Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   9   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$21
A November visit will allow you to enjoy the quietness of park and have it all to yourself. We chose a river site, and could see the trout and hear the stream from our window. Paved sites with 50 amp electric, but no water or sewer. Your big rig will fit just fine, but access roads are slow and windy. Cell phone service? No way! Campground Wi-Fi works pretty good most of the time. Other state parks in the area do not offer electric in November, and none of them have Wi-Fi so this was our best bet. A "premium" site is one with 50 amp and will cost you $2 more. Also bathrooms and laundry are closed after November 3rd. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
This park is a gem. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone service in campground area, beautiful scenery, top notch trout fishing. Facilities are good - clean and plenty of hot water. Laundry available - machines work well, unlike some state parks. The only real cons are no water/sewer hookups. Plenty of electric - mostly 30 amp but all water is community with several spigots throughout campground. Dump station is easily accessible but during busy times there is usually a line. Wildlife is a little too tame here IMHO - especially the smaller critters. Staff is super friendly, camp hosts wonderful. Big bonus - there is a wood lot for basics (wood, ice) right in campground with good hours. Main lodge has decent restaurant but not stellar. Old grain mill tour very interesting. Long-timers tell stories of pretty frequent flooding, so beware in spring. Surrounding area is gorgeous and the drive into closest towns (Salem for Walmart or Licking for other) is breathtaking. All in all though, the whole family loves this park. Can't wait to come back with the big 5th Wheel. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This was what I am calling a 'typical' Missouri State Park. That is - Great! I am convinced the Missouri state parks are close to if not the best. If they had sewer hook ups this would be a 10! Friendly staff, Gorgeous wooded shady grassy spots (but difficult for Satellite. Our spot was right on the river and the fishing was outstanding. To be fair, this is a fishing campground. Don't miss the huge ice cream cones at the lodge. No TV and no Wi-Fi but Verizon card worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
This campground is actually near Licking, Missouri, but with a Salem address. Nice wooded state park divided into four loops. Family friendly with playgrounds, exploring, and bike riding. Easy access for big rigs. There is ample space between sites which are paved and level with either 30 or 50A service. Each has picnic table and fire pit. Fire pits were the cleanest I’ve seen in years. Water is from community faucets and there aren’t many, so fill up at the park entrance. Heated bath houses have some age, but are cleaned twice a day. Each has a pay laundry room. River is stocked with trout from nearby hatchery. No TV signal, satellite depends on location among trees, and there is no cell coverage for any carrier. There is a full service lodge in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
This is yet another outstanding Missouri State Park. We had an unusually warm February weekend and decided to try-out the new fifth wheel at the park. We did not use the water hookup, and all we used was the 30 amp electrical. However, from the look of the hookups present, this is a great park for camping for a night or a long weekend. Fishermen will enjoy the fact that it is the headwaters of the Current River and is frequently stocked with trout. Families will enjoy the many playgrounds and a chance for the kids to splash-around in very clean river water. There are some historical sites nearby such as an old mill, and the state sanctions a restaurant in the park (we have not tried it yet). We did not survey the local area much. The sites are all concrete/asphalt pad back-in sites (no pull throughs). We will definitely be back, and it is indicative of the great state park sites in Missouri. One bad thing is that it was the off-season months, so water, showers, and flush toilets were not available. We did use the provided pit latrine which was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Very nice and quiet park. Four camping loops and the sites are spaced well apart. Plenty of deer inside the park. Nice store & restaurant with a ice cream parlor. The bath houses were small and your only allowed to fish in the river, no swimming. Good trout fishing though! We will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
Excellent campground with sites a few paces from the stream. No need to drive to your fishing location! Nice dining lodge with pretty good food. Camp store with nice people who know how to help you catch fish! Most sites shady, nice campfire programs at night during peak season. Worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
We have been here seven times in the last 5 years. This is a very nice stocked trout fishing river with several miles of fish-able river and 3 campground areas. Sites are shaded, level and black-top. Water hydrants that can be accessed from most campsites with long hoses (75-150'). Blue boys are needed unless you want to unhook for a trip to one of the two dump stations. Showers are clean and close walk from any site. Firewood available at campground and limited groceries and fishing supplies available at lodge. Some cabins available as well as lodge motel rooms. Most sites are can be reserved via phone or through email at Missouri State Parks website. If you like to wade and fish, a great place to take the family. Would rate a 20 if they had full hook-up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
This is a wonderful state park on the headwaters of the Current River that offers trout fishing as its main attraction. The campsites are wide and many are shaded. All sites have a picnic table and fire ring. The restroom facilities were clean and offered shower stalls with plenty of hooks and a shelf for clothing and personal supplies. There are several "loops" in the campground...one is for tents only. Camping cabins are available for rent, too. There is a lodge with a "snack bar" where you can get breakfast if you want. There are hiking trails throughout the park. We really enjoyed camping here, and will make this state park a yearly stop. You will need reservations, however, because it fills up early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com