206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Frontier Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (937) 488-1127
CGID3678

Frontier Campground

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   5   9   9   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice campground. We have stayed here before and it the same as before. Quiet and easy to get into the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Nice basic campground with level sites and paved patios. Size of sites are good, but not huge. Unheated in ground swimming pool is well maintained. Bigger trailers will benefit from pull thru sites as backing in is a little tight. The location is a little off the main path which makes this campground have a secluded feeling, but is not too far from some shopping and restaurants. We stayed here while visiting Kings Island for the weekend which is about 30 minutes away. Would stay here again if visiting in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Very nice park. Friendly owners. No cable TV, but can get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and a few PBS station off antenna. Wi-Fi was limited, they had so much band-width and when that is exceeded it shuts down for 24 hours. Lots of shade and quite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This park is situated in a nice, quiet, wooded area. We were given a pull through site which had electric and sewer on the left and water on the right side of the site. Although this is a nice park we would never stay here again simply because the impression we got that the owners really did not think much of their patrons judging by the voluminous list of rules and regulations interspersed with threats of eviction for failure to comply in virtually every other paragraph of the very lengthy list along with the notation that no refunds would be given. You may want to bring an attorney along to advise you on all the legalese on the "application" for a site. The WIFI was very poor and also contained warnings that we would be cut off for "abuse" of the system. We were also charged (for the first time in my RV life) for a concrete pad which we did not request, none of which is listed on their price list. To top it all off, the owner parked his personal pick up truck behind our RV on our site for an entire day without asking permission or giving us a discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Very nice campground and nice location. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The restrooms are very clean. The sites are fairly close together and can be very difficult backing into your spot if there are other campers on each side of you. WI-FI did not work for me nowhere in the park. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Wow, what a hidden gem. Small, young family-run campground in the rolling hills of southwest Ohio. Looked like every site had full hookups with 50 amps. We stayed on a cool weekend in mid-April, so the place was only half full, if that. So, the place was very, very quiet at night. The owners' home is right there. Every time someone drove in, the owners were there checking out who was coming in. Plus, there was one camp/work couple there, and the owner said there was another such couple that spent the summers there. Accordingly, the place was very well maintained, with the owner and his help milling around always doing something - cutting the grass, hammering something, straightening up. We saw no permanent/seasonals. All of the rigs that came in the weekend we were there were clean/newer rigs (including some HUGE newer fifth wheels and motor homes), so the place attracts a safe/decent/well-behaved clientele. We will definitely be staying there again. The only reason I gave a 9 rating instead of a 10 is that some of the sites, especially the pull-throughs are a bit close, a la KOA. The angled back-ins seemed reasonably spaced, but certainly not as big as, say, state-park sites. Some of the sites had concrete pads. We were kind of close to the office and pool/maintenance building, so the Wi-Fi was pretty strong. The owner did have to reset the modem once. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We spent one night here with the sole purpose of riding the Little Miami bike trail. We rode our bikes about 2 min to the trail and got a great ride in before dark. The RV park was nicely kept and the owner was very friendly and helpful. He was on-site and available our entire stay. The park was peaceful and the mature trees were glorious in their fall foliage. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Camp is clean and very nice with excellent showers. The only drawback was that the sewer hookups were located on the wrong side of the sites. We were fortunate in that the camp was not busy and we were able to use the sewer hookup from the site behind us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
We were here 10 days and enjoyed it. Nice campground with lots of trees. Nice areas to walk dogs. Water, power, and sewer reliable. Bathrooms and showers fine. Owner on-site. Only two washers and driers -- I never had to wait, but if the park was full, that might become a problem. The town nearby doesn't have much, but it's fairly easy drive to Wilmington or Centerville where you can find restaurants, WalMart, etc. As someone else pointed out, the utilities are oddly positioned and we had to connect to water in the front, rather than the back, but that wasn't a problem for us. Wi-Fi didn't work for us, but Verizon MiFi worked OK. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Pros: nice quite country setting, tall shade trees, clean & modern bathrooms and shower building, laundry on site, some large pull through sites, some sites satellite friendly, owner on site maintaining grounds, owner building attractive sheds for some seasonal campers, owner's wife cooks some meals for minimal charge, other campers talked positive about campground. Cons: 8-10 miles from grocery store, Limited WI-FI service. Would return and recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We are a family of Australians (4 kids, 2 parents) on our first RVing trip. We spent one night at Frontier Campground while passing through. Major advantages... Spacious and green rural campground. Great amenities for kids - particularly appreciated were the playground and the pool. Toilets and showers very clean. Only minor negatives... (Male) Toilet cubicles very small - the door would rest against my knee when seated, and I caught my head on a coat hook on the back of the door upon standing. We had a little difficulty finding a level section at our site, but did not end up needing leveling blocks. Overall, a pleasant rural campground, with plenty of green space and amenities for the kids to amuse themselves. We would not hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Very nice little park. It was secluded and quiet which is what we were looking for. The owners were friendly and accommodating. We met several of the seasonal residents at a potluck, and they were all very friendly, also. The pool is nice, although the putt-putt needs some TLC. Restrooms and showerhouse were very clean. The owners are working at improving after acquiring it a few years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This campground is out in the country: about 8 miles to small town grocery, pharmacy, restaurants, and churches. Clean and tidy grounds with lots of shade. Gravel interior roads and RV sites. Level grass tent sites. Big rig friendly: some pull through sites. Very clean, recently remodeled showers and bathrooms. Bathrooms are air-conditioned. Showers are not air-conditioned, but are well ventilated. Free Wi-Fi not available in some areas of park. Mostly quiet, except for the usual misbehaving dog that barks at everything while the owners seem deaf. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We stayed here for 4 nights for our son's wedding in Dayton. A 25 mile trip back and forth many times into Dayton but the campground was worth it. This is a very nice park in the country. It is quiet and very peaceful. Many seasonal sites but they are kept clean. Owners are very friendly and make your stay pleasant. We had one issue. We picked up mice at the park. When we arrived we were parked next to an RV that had put mothballs around the outside of his unit. We asked to be moved because of the smell. We should have realized the mothballs were for mice problems. When we left the campground we took mice with us. Thankfully we were able to trap them. First time we have had mice issues in our RV. We would stay here again but would be prepared for the mice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Small campground. Owners doing a lot of work to make it nicer. Very friendly. We stayed here so we could visit family and would definitely stay again. A little hard to find. Don't follow you GPS, follow their directions especially if you are in a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
I enjoyed this place. It is gravel but the sights are level. The owner is constantly making improvements. Like most of us he dose the best he can with what he has. Its quiet secluded but not to hard to get to, a nice change from the usual place. Its a little tough to get your satellite dish to come in but with a little effort I was able to get 90% of my HD channels. but there are several local channels. There's a reasonably prided canoe trip near buy Id suggest to anyone. They had the nicest showers and restroom Ive ever seen at a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We only used this as as stopover for one night. The sites are back to back which is weird but didn't matter as there were plenty of empty sites. Good voltage and water pressure. Owners live on site and were helpful in noting which would enable us to use our satellite. They had been having a lot of rain so the sites which were gravel were pretty muddy out of the gravel. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is an older park with very nice new owners. We were given one site that hookups were so far back behind RV, we couldn't connect to them, so asked to move to another and they said it was fine. Seems to be a lot of permanents down in one area, but all seemed to keep up their sites. Nice pool and pavilion. I don't use bathhouses but husband does. First night, no hot water, second night good, but bathhouses have no air conditioning and were very hot. We stayed here in order to tour the Air Force Museum. Fairly convenient for the money. Really think new owners are working constantly to improve the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This is a quiet, small, out of the way camp ground. Very shady yet we had no trouble with branches preventing us from parking. The lots are good sized and you are not on top of your neighbor. Very friendly owners. Close to Railroad Trail bike paths and antique stores. The fire pits all needed cleaned out and when we arrived ours was full of trash. However, we so enjoyed the atmosphere that we would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Great park in a nice rural area. Owners making lots of improvements and are very friendly. Several large pull-thrus for big rigs. Right next to wetland wildlife area and great biking trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
New Owners and they have redone the baths already and making other improvements. Site selection is important. Stayed on site 9 which is the same as several years ago and they have leveled site and added a small concrete patio. Lots of trees so we did not bother with satellite TV as finding a a line of site would have taken a while. We were in the shade 90% of the time. One note and they tell you to run the water for at least 30 seconds before hooking up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This park was about half full of the families of construction workers. Their trucks took off to work at dawn every day and returned at dusk. There was no drinking going and all were well behaved. This park is very well run. Management worked hard to make it a happy and quiet campground. This is a good place for kids. Lots of mature trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This was our first ever campground. We picked up our RV and went directly to this site. We had never before camped. We were told the owners were new owners that were really trying to revamp the campground. It was very tight getting into our pull through site. My husband got stuck around a bend to turn the RV around. We saw immediately how the RV community works to help you and a gentleman came to spot my husband around the turn. This is a small campground. If you want quiet, in the middle of the country...this is for you. They do have a pool (they were renovating it when we were there), a small playground, a not so good basket ball court, and a shelter house. They did not have a "camp store" like many we campgrounds we have seen. They had pulled up the mini golf course for renovation. There were a lot of permanent campers here...many were pipe workers. It was quiet and they all seemed to keep things clean. The bathhouse is small and littered with spiders. They were in the process of redoing the bathhouses. I can't speak for the mens room...the womans room had 3 small, small, small stalls and 1 shower. This was a great campground for our first ever camping experience. They had a potluck in the shelter house the night we arrived, with a movie projected on to the wall. This campground had the friendliest campers we have seen since. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
We must have stayed with the latest "new" owners of this park. The stay was HORRIBLE. To say it's a mud-pit is being generous. You cannot walk around your site or the campground without sinking several inches. He does nothing to the roads during snowfall, the roads are dirt so it's muddy as heck when it rains or snow thaws. He only shoveled his little area where he parks his car. Dogs are running loose throughout the park and we complained several times about it. Told him we were going to call the local shelter. People try to speed through the park although it's not easy as the roads are terrible. One day we had to ask someone who had their truck doors and hatch open blaring music to turn it down so we could hear our TV, and the bad thing about it was the owner was standing right there talking to them and didn't say a word. Promised they would have Wi-Fi by end of Nov...still don't have it. Terrible customer service. Owner talks about campers to other campers in the park. Posted office hours are not followed. So much more I could say, but this place is a DUMP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This campground was full of shaded sites. There were quite a few full timers and the sites were on the small side. Most sites had picnic tables but they were generally not on pads. The staff was friendly and accommodating. This campground would benefit from some updates, but was a nice place to spend the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
TrailerLife says they have WiFi, they do not! We found this to be a very nice campground for a GROUP or family, the sites are VERY TIGHT. They do have a few pull-thru sites. The CG is very old, I have been told that they are on the third set of new owners. There are many permamant sites, but not trashy. The owners are very friendly, and there plenty of activites for young and old. This park has several names, one is Caesar Creek Frontier Campground, another is Spring Valley Frontier Campground and I think that the final installment is Frontier Campground. The water source is well water and pressure drops. The trees are very tall so DirecTV was out of the question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Camped because of your comments. Exactly as expected. Nice owners and it will only get better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
We returned here after being gone a year and were impressed by the improvement. New owners again, but this time they cleaned out all of the old run down trailers and moved out all of the permanent people. New office, new attitude. Very nice place; still could use more gravel as sites were muddy, but the owners are working hard to improve the place. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
The park is in a quiet wooded area and is being renovated by a very concientious owner. She is eager to improve the campground and was open to suggestions. The sites are shady and large. A nearby mobile home park does create some traffic and there are some permanent residents that detract from the overall experience. Overall, a good place to visit that should get better with time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
Camped here 3 times this year. Located near the Little Miami Bike Path. Some of the sites are a little close, but the new owners are elimating some of the sites to make others bigger. They were taking down a couple of trees during our last stay. The manager was very friendly and made us feel at home. We could see improvements with each stay. There were actives for the grandchildren. We are looking forward to returning next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
The new owners are conscientious and generous. We needed to store our TT there while we attended a convention, and then we used it on both sides of the convention. The owner charged us a minimum rate to leave it plugged in for the fridge. One of the owners works fulltime elsewhere so most work gets done after the workday. I think the owners were exhausted, but they sure were nice. We stay there because hubby's mother is in nearby Xenia. Lots to see in this little town if you like to shop. We would stay there again, tho we hope they will update the laundry facilities, which were clean but old. I am unsure of the nightly rate since we had 2 rates as explained above. The owners are trying to bring back a nice old campground that had been let go for awhile. Good luck to the new owners! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
An excellent facility, but the new management still needs a little work. All sites had full hookups,and all sites were shaded. Clubhouse and pool were nice. Owner seems a little inexperienced and overwhelmed, but they are fixing up the campground nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
Campground is under new ownership and is now called Spring Valley Frontier Campground. Many improvements underway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
This campground is under new management and it seems they got too greedy. We talked to some folks that had camped here before and they said the campground has gone downhill. All but 3 of the pull-throughs have been divided into two separate campsites. The lots are only about 20' wide and not very long. When your awning is out, you are almost touching your neighbor's camper. The rigs are dangerously close together to have a campfire. Also, the picnic tables are about 2' from the neighbor's sewer hookup! Not very nice for outdoor eating. There are many trees with low-hanging brances next to the campsites, so if you have a large rig, it would be tricky pulling into the small sites. There is no overflow parking for extra or larger tow vehicles. We have a F-350 duelly and there was barely enough room to park it on our small site. We will not return to this site. The campers next to us said the same thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com