218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Kamp Klamath RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (707) 482-0227
CGID368

Kamp Klamath RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   10   8   9   8   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Nice shaded park in a beautiful part of California. We enjoyed the salmon and chicken BBQ, the great trail thru the woods, along the ocean and river. I had hoped to catch some salmon but no luck. We did catch some very large redtail surf perch. We really had a good time and were well taken care of by the friendly staff. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Price reflects Passport America rate. Stayed here three nights, and had a great time. The manager is a super guy. Had a salmon and chicken BBQ on Saturday night, and the entertainment was super. Do not expect a 4 diamond resort, because it is a kind of helter skelter type campground. We had full hook ups with 50 amp, and voltage was good. We were the first site on the "upper" level. Good location to see the Redwoods National park and Jedediah State Park. Also, take the Requa road to overlook to see where Klamath river flows into the ocean. You may see a whale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Nice park. Great location. Camped in the shaded sites with full hook ups. Upon arrival we were given a book with information of every thing in the whole area. In addition the manager gave us a map which he marked all the sites in the immediate vicinity. This park is on the river about two miles from the ocean with a sand beach and a lookout point were we saw whales. It's a five minute drive to the coastal road with many hiking trails in the redwood forest. A ten minute drive to the 304' redwood and the Roosevelt Elk viewing area. The restrooms and showers were recently remodeled and kept quite clean. We stayed midweek for three days and enjoyed the time we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
The only reason I did not give this campground a 10 is that it has no cable hookup. This park is a gem. Like camping in the woods of a state park. The owner and his helper sidekick are very friendly and helpful. They want you to be comfortable. If you are lucky to be here on a Saturday night they have a wonderful all you can eat salmon and BBQ chicken feed. With entertainment. It was fun sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoying the great music. They have a resident goat and some chickens. The owner gave us fresh eggs for breakfast one morning. They were awesomely good. They have 3 different venues. #1 is on top of a hill with a grassy area and picnic tables and a fire pits. Wi-Fi is great up here, not so great the rest of the park. They need to improve on that a bit, it would be nice to get it all over the park. Section #2 Is in the woods some full hookups and some tent sites. Section #3 is in the meadow area, with a play area for kids. There is some 40 acres to explore. Enjoy! We camped her for 1 month, which reflects on the price listed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
This is our ninth circumnavigation of North America since we retired 12 years ago and this was easily the best experience of more than 100,000 miles. 76 sites set on 33 acres amid huge trees, tall shrubs and grass everywhere yielded incredible privacy and quiet. The owner and his staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and showed us their greenhouses, vast vegetable and flower gardens, free range chickens, rabbits, a goat, and the blackberries for picking. But Saturday night was the crowning achievement. A $14.95 all-you-can-eat fresh caught salmon and chicken BBQ with huge quantities of vegetables, rice pilaf and salad served on a brand new 2,500 sf redwood deck with Buck and Friends' four piece band playing amazing country and rock and roll at a very professional level to the maybe 75 guests who dined and danced until at least 11:00 p.m. There were people visiting from as far away at Switzerland and Cape Town, because of their international reputation, and the party atmosphere in that magical setting was better than New Orleans in its heyday! The Wi-Fi was strong and everything was just perfect. Truly extraordinary, and we will visit again and again, over a Saturday night, of course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice wooded camp sites, sites not well planned out. It is kind of like staying in someone's back yard. Full hookups lack a little, water was not good and there is no laundry facilities so plan well. It seemed like more of a fishing camp than a RV park. If you are there on Saturday don't miss the cook out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Close to beach and a quiet campground. Very scenic, good fishing base camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Kamp Klamath is the second campground you will find on this road. Just drive past the first one and you will find this great spot. It is a great place to stay for RVs and tenters. You are sheltered of the wind and the mist and you are surrounded with beautiful trees. The owner and the people who are working on this campground are great and make you feel at home. For tenters, they have a beautiful grass sites and also for the RVs you have your own grass spot and table. Nice trees everywhere. Just a short bike/hike or drive to the ocean where you can see the Klamath flowing into the ocean. From the beach you can see seals, whales and many birds. There is no reception on the antenna, Wi-Fi is not to fast but sufficient and at night it is very, very quiet. We will sure come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
At first we did not know what to expect because we used our Passport America membership to check out the park, but it turned out to be the best park we stayed at this year. Everyone who works here has been very friendly, courteous, and very helpful. You are not far at all from all the trails and sightseeing. In fact, right here on the premises they even have their own trails. You are right by the Drive-Thru-Tree and Trees Of Mystery, and right down the street there are trails that are part of the Redwood Forest. Everything is right here along with seal and whale watching. And my most favorite part of Kamp Klamath was Billy the Billy Goat. He was the star attraction! He brought a smile on my face everyday! I highly recommend Kamp Klamath. I will always return when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Pretty park on grass with gravel roads. A bit difficult to find and when we called for directions, there was a lot of confusion and very little correct information. Crowded entrance if more than one RV coming in at a time. Nice enough people but not knowledgeable. After a long check-in (15-20 minutes) we found our sewer was full. It took 45 minutes before they decided if they could fix it or if they would move us. Very confused about what sites, if any, were open. Sewer finally fixed so we could set up. Fisherman apparently love this area, lots of campers and boaters. Sites are large, plenty of space between. In addition, all the utilities are arranged so that one camper is not looking at the other camper's utilities. Every other RV parks the opposite direction. Picnic tables at every site. This area is VERY remote. Super markets and other conveniences are 20 miles away so stock up before you come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We love Kamp Klamath on a Saturday night. Their salmon BBQ and jam session are wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is by no means a fancy park, but it is in a lovely area and serves our needs perfectly. We paid full price one night and Passport America half price another. Well worth the short drive off Highway 101 to this great, quiet CG. Be sure to include a Saturday in your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
We stayed at this Campground 2 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. We returned this year and found the Log Cabin had burned down and there are plans to replace it. The team was as friendly as ever. The BBQ on Saturday night is outstanding. The Wi-Fi was not the best but Verizon works very well. There is no cable but if you have a Direct TV receiver, there are antennas available. Mounted Satellite antennas will work in sites not blocked by trees. Overall, this was a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Found this campground on Passport America's website (price reflects 50% off). We did not know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. Small friendly park in a forest-like setting. Mostly back in sites with a couple pull-throughs on one side of the camp ground and remote tent/RV camping on the other side. The host was great, he found an extra dish receiver for us and was able to hook us up with over 100 channels on Direct TV. The Wi-Fi was spotty (off and on) and was somewhat usable. There is no cell phone service with AT&T but Verizon had a tower nearby providing an excellent signal. The log cabin clubhouse recently burnt down and according to the manager will be rebuilt soon, but don't let this deter you. The 3 day weekend we spent there was fabulous. The fresh caught salmon dinner on Saturday night is the best I've ever had. Live entertainment was awesome. This park may not be for everyone, 38 foot plus motorhomes will find it difficult to maneuver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
The access to this park is horrible for a big rig. I am rating this poor because after talking with the owner, and telling him what we were looking for, he said he had plenty of room. Upon arrival it looked like Sanford and Sons Lot, with old vehicles, mobile homes, and junk spread around where "campsites" where. There is camping in the trees, but they did not look like anything well thought out, or easy to navigate with my rig, or for that matter anything over 24 ft. We did not stay, and moved on . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Very quiet and friendly park. Staff extremely helpful. Setting is definitely for nature lovers. Great old forest hiking. Stayed for 2 nights and would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not the place. However, if you are looking for a nice friendly, clean place to stay: this is definitely the place to be. We stayed here using the Camp Club USA discount. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. They even had chickens in the park and gave us fresh eggs everyday. The sites could be a little tight for big rigs, but I wouldn't let that stop you. It is a great spot for visiting the redwoods and Crescent City. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Those rating this park with 10's need to get out and travel more. Not to say this park was bad, it just doesn't deserve 10's. All sites were back in (that I saw, maybe they were hiding). The road is a little skinny, so even with our 25ft TT backing in was a pain. (disclaimer: my skills aren't the best) All the hookups were at the back, running along a short fence. I had to stretch the sewer hose almost it's entire length. On our site, the water connection was sticking maybe 4 inches out of the ground, and was angled down. I had to dig a little hole around it to keep the water hose from kinking. Not all sites were like this though. Other than that, this park was fine. Quiet and off the highway, but easy to get to. It's near the "Coastal Drive". Staff was really nice. The lady offered us some extra tomtatos and eggs from the garden We came in late, and he showed is to out site, and said we could settle up in the morning. Rate is the Passport American rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We've stayed here before, but we were a little disappointed this time. The bathrooms have continued to deteriorate, they're OK, but just barely. The sewer connections on the shady lower meadow area are hard to get to and are raised up a little too high. The management told us that the Coastal Commission is making it hard for the RV park to upgrade the sewage system. The on-site manager is a great guy, really trying his best. We ended up camping on the sunny "parking lot" just to the east of the office, near some "work campers" who were a little noisy. But as always, the location can't be beat, it is off the highway, near the beach and near the redwoods. We will probably stay here again, the other alternatives in the area, while more well-maintained, are not as rustic or as well-located. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Friendly staff, nice family oriented facilities and a wonderful Wed and Sat night BBQ - salmon and chicken with live entertainment. Enjoyed our stay and will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We enjoyed our recent 8 night stay. This place is remarkable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The natural beauty surrounding the park is incredible. We will definitely be staying here again and recommend Kamp Klamath to our friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is a very nice, rustic park with a very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We spent a week here and were very pleased with our experience. At first sight it may appear a bit rustic,after the first day this became part of the appeal. The store is well stocked and the staff are very friendly and helpful with any need. The Saturday night salmon barbecue was the best meal we had all week. For the fishermen the staff can give you any type of advice you may need, most helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Don't believe everything you read on websites. We booked in advance for a week, but left after 1 night. They kept an extra day's rate as a cancellation fee, but we had to plead family emergency to get it. This place is pathetic. The laundry facilities were so filthy that they were unusable. There were several very old and shoddy campers everywhere, the "lawns" were little sod carpets in the dirt and were filthy. Ours had leftovers from a previous customer's dog. We stayed one night because we were exhausted, and we awoke to the sight of several vehicles being mechanically maintained on the grounds. The river was quite a distance away. We didn't stay to "enjoy" the other facilities. Just terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We camped here on our way to Brookings, Oregon. I had made reservations for 2 nights but wished we had just kept going on to Brookings. The location was great but the campground left a lot to be desired. The woman that checked me in was smoking at the front desk and seemed as though I was more of a bother. When they showed us the site they were going to put us in we chose to go to another site without sewer hookups so that we could have a bit of space. The neighbors slideout would have been almost over our picnic table! The website gives the impression that there were all kinds of activities, this is untrue. I heard that the bbq was good on Saturday night but they did not have any of the golf/horseshoe/badminton or volleyball set up. When we asked about them we were told that they weren't "set up". The laundry facilities were broken down so they referred us to a laundromat in Klammath that was dirty and most of the machines were broken. We will visit the area again but will choose another campground for our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have RV'ed for over 30 years and have traveled the breath and length of USA, plus Mexico, Canada and Alaska. This is the first review we have ever written. Kamp Klamath gets the Blue Ribbon for having the worst and filthiest restrooms, and showers ever. Kamp Klamath also get the Silver Cup for the best mis-leading web site. To quote from it's copy, "On the quiet shore of the Klamath river." Thats a joke, the river is over a half mile walk away. If the tide is out you may be able to get past all the tall weeds and see it. Due to the web site and talking to the owner early in the year we made a big mistake: we paid for two months in advance. After the first two days we knew we had made a huge mistake. We left four messages at the front desk so we could cancel at least one month and get a refund, but he never did call us back. We would have liked to just leave and go elsewhere but we are retired and had already spent our money. To let you know how bad Kamp Klamath is, we left three weeks early. Do yourself a favor do not stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This park had several different areas. There were the regular RV sites in the gravel with little shade. There were RV sites in a meadow with lots of shade and then a lot of tent areas. There is a large area about 3 acres for football, soccer, badminton and anything you would want to play. The management was extremely helpful. We asked to purchase some salmon and they found a fisherman quickly that was willing to sell his fresh fish. They were wonderful to take the time and give us directions. The Saturday night BBQ was fun and we enjoyed the entertainment. We were going to use the laundry room but it had more broken washers than working ones. A fellow in a tear drop trailer said the bathrooms were dirty and upon request they cleaned them immediately. The electrical where we were parked needed repair. We tried to walk to the Klamath River from our camp site which we were told we could do; turned out to be too muddy to navigate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Their ad says they can accommodate RV's up to 50 feet, but the lot was barely big enough for our motorhome without room for the towed car. They asked us to park the car on a small grassy area where many, many other campers pottied their dogs without cleaning up after them because they might try to squeeze another RV in next to us. Thank God they didn't have to for we literally would not of been able to have our slides out and barely would of been able to open our door. We had to be very careful trying to get to our car door, due to the irresponsible pet owners and the park owners not enforcing the pet cleanup. They charged us full price for Saturday, not honoring the Passport rate. Many others do the same, but they state that policy in the Passport ad. This park did not have that stated. On the positive side, the staff is very helpful with local information. It is close to the National Redwood forest and the surrounding area is beautifully rustic. They also had a delicious Salmon grill out on Saturday night accompanied with local musicians which we totally enjoyed. We stayed 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday, in a 40 foot motorhome. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Bathroom/shower rustic but clean, very nice friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$13
After coming down two miles of barely paved roads, across a one-lane hard-to-access Bailey bridge, we arrived at the campground. One look at the brown grass, rock road, and run-down office, and we said "Oh, my." But, after 3 days into our week, we have a different perspective. The roads are not too dusty because there is not that much traffic; we don't see the office very much; and we are watering our patch of grass. It is very quiet and peaceful, but somewhat rundown. The previous comments about needing cleaning up still apply. Probably because there is only one full-time employee. The sites are wide, but not very deep. We are here on Labor Day weekend and it does not seem at all frantic; still peaceful and quiet. After checking other campgrounds in the area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Nice wooded setting, staff friendly enough but not terribly informative. WiFi was marginal from what we heard around camp. Terrible one-lane bridge on the way to the campground, CREEP over it. Easy access to Redwood National Park, beautiful scenery, and the Klamath River. We were on the Happy Camper half-price rate of $13, and liked it well enough to extend our stay from 3 to 11 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
I agree with most of the reviewers here that the people who run this park are generally very friendly and helpful. The park is clean and quite family oriented, and our boys had a good time during our recent two night stay. On the downside, our cable didn't work very well (only about five channels were clear enough to see) and the wi-fi signal was too weak to use, even in the main building laundry room. I told the management about these issues upon check out, and the response was about as weak as the wi-fi signal (they'd have somebody "check it out"). In reading the other reviews here, it seems the wi-fi issue may be an ongoing one. However, all things considered, we would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This campground was the last campground we stayed in on our Oregon Coast and Redwood Forest trip. When we first pulled into the campground I was disappointed. The camp was older and fairly unkempt. To pull into our site, we had to drive down one side of the campground loop, back into an empty site, then pull into our site. The western campground loop road would be very difficult to navigate with a big rig because of overgrowth and trees near the side of the road. Our site had 110 power, no sewer and functional, though broken, water valve. The power plug was exposed to the elements and not up to date. The site, and roads are all dirt and grass. Our site wasn't level but we were able to level out sufficiently. As a previous review mentioned, the camp is off highway 101. But it is three miles off the main highway. The road is fairly maintained but if you travel it at night, take it easy. There are some bumps and a temporary(?) one-lane bridge replaces a section of washed out road. The good thing about being three miles off the highway is that it is quiet. However, because of that, it is also less convenient. Our site was in the shady, western part of the campground. The eastern part is a line of rigs in the dust. The full hookups appeared to be more in the eastern section though I would still have chosen the western, shady area over the dusty, sunny, more crowded eastern area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This camp suffered a devastating flood in late 2005 and is still recovering from the damage. They lost 23 campsites when the river tore away part of their park. Also, the bathrooms apparently took quite a hit during the flood and are not yet in great shape. However, we still really enjoyed a four-day stay at this park and would certainly return. The campsites in the portion of the park to the west of the headquarters were very shady and pleasant. (The area to the east is not shaded.) The sites were fairly level, but the mixed dirt/grass surface became a little muddy at times. The location of the park is fantastic, right near state and national parks featuring old-growth redwoods. Also, the coast is right nearby, and we saw whales every day at the mouth of the river. This park is about a mile from the highway, unlike most of the other parks in the area, so it is very quiet. The staff is very friendly and cooperative, and they host a really delicious barbecue on Saturday nights. They have live music -- some of the staffers and their friends play stringed instruments (guitar and dobro), and they are very talented. The park has no laundromat, so we had to drive into the nearby town of Klamath. Also, the WiFi signal was very weak; it worked only in the headquarters building. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Campground was found to be in a poorly maintained condition. The restroom's were VERY run-down, dirty and not stocked. The shower's were sorely in need of repair, the men's shower didn't even have hot water. Several dilapidated trailer's homesteaded the pull-through section. The trailer's were occupied by a host of unsavory individual's who spent their time working on their RV's until 3 o'clock A.M. each night. After the third night, I complained to the manager. The night's were quiet after that. We paid for a week but left about two day's early. Wonderful location near whale watching and giant redwood's. Would return to the area for more hiking and bike-riding, but would NOT stay at Kamp Klamath again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This is what a campground should be, wooded and grassy, the sites are rather small but only every other site is used except doing a holiday weekend, when you arrive you go pick your site and let them know where you are staying. On Saturday evening there is a BBQ salmon/chicken dinner and campfire with sing-a-long, it was great. The owner runs a sightseeing "Funbus" tour to Fern Canyon and the great redwoods, the price was $29.95 and included a lunch when we got back to Kamp Klamath. He is very informative about the redwoods and the area, the tour is well worth the price. We had paid for a two week stay but due to family illness we needed to leave early and he gave us a refund, thank you! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Showers were not what we expected and we opted to shower in the RV. Nice and peaceful, weren't many people there when we camped the first part of June. They used to have cable but said the cable company went out of business. It's too remote for antenna reception. Folks were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Just got back from this surprise of a RV campground. An excellent destination campground. The owner Aaron was friendly and helpful and was constantly getting the campground in better shape. A great experience for our kids with a lot of room to ride bikes, my 5yr old and 6yr old nephew had a great time riding around on a large open grass field. A short walk about 50yrds from the edge of the grass field to the Klamath River. Help was friendly and gave us some helpful tips where to fish for Salmon on the river. This is a great place if you don't want that parking lot feel that many of the campgrounds around Klamath have. This place is next to the Redwood National Park so lots of forest. We picked buckets of Blackberries that we hope to make into jam this week. The biggest surprise was the fish smoker onsite. We smoked 20lbs of Salmon with Aarons expert advise for $10 (cleaning fee) plus the small cost of the wood. It's really good, we have lots of it. If you don't fish just go to the local Indians and they will sell you Salmon for around $1 a pound. We also went to Crescent City about 19 miles North where you can pick up fresh caught Tuna for $1.25 - $1.00 per pound from the fidshing boats in the Harbor. We camped here in August 2003 in our Itasca Sunrise SE Class A. This is a woinderfull rustic but still very comfortable and clean campground We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com