218071 User submitted reviews online!!
River Ridge Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (231) 823-8338
CGID3685

River Ridge Resort

Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   9   10   9   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$65
Very nice RV Resort. Great family park. Lots for kids to do. Good everything - pool, playground, utilities, paved roads and sites. In some parts of the resort trees were planted close to the road and now have grown to the point that backing into a site can be a challenge. A few pull-through sites are newly available. The Good Sam discount is now gone, as is daily garbage pick-up. Sites are not overly big so parking at the site can be an issue for bigger RVs. Some campers park in the lot near the Welcome Center and walk to their site. Lots of modified golf carts that travel at speeds well over the posted limits so kids and at times adults need to be careful. We have stayed here several times in the past and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This is a very nice, full service, family friendly campground resort. It is geared for mostly large travel trailers, motor homes and permanent seasonal use. Our 23 foot AS was one of the smaller rigs! If you want any imaginable amenity, with not so much privacy, this is your destination! Apparently ownership has recently changed, in the last 2 years. Check in staff a little disinterested, but may have been anecdotal...Make sure not to check in before 3pm or out after 1pm, or you will be charged $5 for each 2 hours early or 2 hours late. Lots of planned activities for families/movie nights with popcorn at the clubhouse. Great store, marina, fishing available, very clean and nice bathhouses. A winner for families! Not for the outdoor, hiking enthusiast... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
We spent a nice week here in a 43 ft RV. Our overall experience was excellent. River Ridge is among the nicest landscaped RV parks we have ever stayed in. Resort staff were very friendly and service orientated. Clubhouse, pool and restroom facilities were well above average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We stayed as part of an FMCA Rally with the Blue Water RVers. The park is the one of the best we have camped in. It is clean from top to bottom and everyone is nice to talk too. The restaurant is well stocked as is the store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
Excellent place to stay. Spic and Span clean. Spotless really. Beautifully manicured grounds. Great clubhouse and pool facilities. Shower and bathroom facilities at clubhouse were amazingly clean and well maintained. Multiple curtains for showers and stalls, with ample bench room and plenty of places to hang kit bags, towels and clothes. Lockers are provided in the clubhouse locker room as well, so you have a place to put your stuff when using the pool as well. Nice camp store with grill to order sandwiches and such. Store was like a small party store with a good selection of beverages and snacks. Staff at this store/grill was very friendly. Beautifully situated on the Muskegon River with a really nice marina facility. Campground is above the river on high ground. Pool overlooks the river and the entire setting is just beautiful. All the lots had a really nice cement pad, in-ground cement fire pit, and each site had it's own landscaping making it feel like you were home. It really felt like a sub-division for RV's. Nothing rustic about this place. Top notch higher end facility. Very family friendly, with a wonderful playground facility for the kids. I will return with my family again, and suggest you try it. Some issues that I encountered on my visit were as follows; 1- It would be nice to have access to the laundry facility during later hours or perhaps with coded pass keys to allow you entry anytime you needed. 2- I was not overly impressed with some of the desk staff on our arrival. While there was a cheery young lady on duty, her smile and attempt to greet us was mitigated by the fact that another woman who actually handled our reservation was a real sour puss and we were very put off by her. Our impression was she was in charge and to be honest she had an attitude as though we should be thankful to be staying there. Could have been an off night, but my wife encountered the same woman on the phone when booking our reservation and her attitude was the same two weeks prior to our arrival. I certainly wouldn't let that dampen your enthusiasm for staying here, but am pointing it out in case anyone from River Ridge reads this review. Lastly, the real disappointment during our stay, was that we could not rent personal watercraft (jet-skis), or pontoon boats. The web site and printed literature both indicated this was possible and posted rates. Also, a roadside sign/billboard advertising the place also stated this. We were told that they no longer rent these out. Disappointing since we planned on it and we happened to be staying there during 90+ degree weather. With the RV park being on the Muskegon River and with it's own marina, it would have been nice to enjoy the water like that. Other than these pretty minor issues, I would say that this will be on my roster of places to return to time and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Great resort for a short or long stay. The resort is on the Muskegon river and boating is easily available. There's not much that a camper would want that is not available. The resort is open to most types of motor homes, 5th wheels and trailer but no tents or pop-ups. Stanwood is a rural area so there is not much else close by. There is golf, some shopping and a few places to eat within 10 miles. This resort is well worth a stay. Some people stay the whole summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
River Ridge Resort is a great RV park. It is well maintained and manicured. It is very quiet and family friendly. The staff is also very helpful and friendly, too. We have a three year old and find the playground and grassy area perfect for him. The camp store has everything and more that you will need. The pool is nice but, our only complaint is that there is not a hot tub. For the volume of people there, a second pool or an indoor pool may be a good idea. If you have a boat, this is a great place to go boating. The only other drawback is that you are quite a ways away from things to do or stores. While the campstore is huge and the park has a lot of activities, rainy days can be hard because you are far from the nearest town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We have stayed at this park before. During this stay we were in the older part of the park and the cable tV was not operating correctly. The electric supply was not impressive, we kept blowing breakers in our unit and this has never happened at another campground. The park was noisy, and the staff apparently does not enforce the quiet hours. The water supply was very good. Hookups are at the back of the site, and the sites can be difficult to back into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This is a great RV park. Site was level and wide enough for our car, 40' motorhome, fire pit and picnic table to be on concrete. Water pressure was really good. Sites are fully landscaped with flowers, shrubs and grass everywhere else. Pool was large and immaculate. This RV park was the best we have stayed at in our year of fulltiming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We stayed here one weekday night and had a FHU back-in site with 40+ channel cable TV. We were able to get Wi-Fi ($3/day) at our site. This is a fairly large, newer RV resort and marina. All sites appear to be gravel back-ins and most are FHU (about 60 are W&E). Most sites are very open and thus very satellite friendly. The only problem I had with the sites was the rear of site hook-ups. We were barely able to reach the electric, water, and cable with our 25' cord, hose, and cable. There are plenty of amenities: great pool and lodge, tennis, basketball, and volleyball courts, a playground, cafe/store, and the marina. This is definitely a destination RV park. Gravel sites, pay Wi-Fi, and rear of site hook-ups hold the rating down a bit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Nice RV Resort, but came up a little short of my expectations based on similar resorts not all that far away. The GOOD - Fully Landscaped, security roams, large kid friendly pool with adult hours, fantastic store on Muskegon River with pontoon and yearly boat slips rentals. Themed weekends for some entertainment. Family friendly. Golf Carts allowed (and there are plenty). THE BAD - 1) No place to park RV while checking in! Lot was full of "extra" vehicles. Not a good 1st impression. I blocked the entire parking lot. 2) Our concrete pad was un-level. In fact, many looked to be un-level after we looked around the next day. I didn't bring blocks because I figured every place I've been to at this price point has been level. Even if I had, we came in at 9:30pm, unhooked by 10pm before we noticed. Last thing I wanted to do, and neighbors too no doubt, was hook back up to level us. Really no excuse for that. 3) Hook ups at rear of coach and buried in creeping myrtle(?!). Make sure your cords are long enough. We BARELY made it on our 50amp cord. Water hooks up a little rickety, but works fine. 4) WiFi has a cost. The other resorts I've been to are free. At $50 a night (no coupons)...it should be free. Nee to get with the times and loose that dated policy for sure. 5) Check out was 1pm. A tad early considering 3pm check in, and they told us most folks check in around 8-9pm. Other parks are 2pm with same check in times. Not the end of the world. You can pay to stay longer if site is available. Ours wasn't. 5) A sticking point for me was simply the pool. Nice clean pool. Kids loved it. Family loved it. Adult hours are a great idea. However, on a special weekend like "Wet and Wild" designed around kids activities and getting wet all weekend (park was packed with kids btw), they should think about waving that policy for that particular weekend. At closing, the pool went from very busy, to virtually empty. Everyone had kids! Tons of bummed parents. Would I stay again? Probably, but considering Wet and Wild wasn't as special as other places we've been, I'm not sure we'd opt for it relative to a place just south of here. It has the same price, just as pretty, better themes, level pads, and seems a tad more polished overall. If you own a water toy though, this is the place for sure. Store is a wickedly well done idea and they're bottom line ($$) I understand shows it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This campground needs a overhauling We camped here for a couple months. We were harassed by security every time we had guest over or over stupid stuff and they would harass our guest too! The manager is full of baloney, never keeps his word! My opinion,should be fired! He is a BS'er! We would loose water pressure every time we needed it, at least twice a day! Poor "cable TV" quality,which is satellite! Internet service was terrible and costly, way slow..When you can even get it and only one user! Campground has much potential,the price only includes cosmetics of the park and behind the scenes high school drama that we can do without on vacation! The campers are a great crowd and greatly to have met them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a gorgeous park and it is our favorite to date in the three years we have been traveling. It is immaculate and nicely landscaped. The showers, laundry, pool and other amenities are tops. The manager goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you want or need. We have no complaints about this park at all. It is a perfect vacation destination as they have everything close by including a marina. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
This was our second time staying here. It was better than ever. The only complaint I'd have is there are no pull-thru sites and the electrical hook-ups are to the back of the pad with bushes. So if you have a toy hauler, it's very difficult to get your toys out without doing it before you back in and unhook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Only two more things they need here: a few trees and a beach on Muskegon river. This campground is VERY VERY clean, the grass cut, the managers are very nice. It's located on 12 miles of Muskegon river. Great boating fun, and fishing (recommend fishing in the early morning or weekdays.) Bring your 40 foot boat, its big enough. The campground is security locked: not just anyone can go where you camp (thats nice). WiFi could use some updating for sure! Other than that, was well worth the cost to stay here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
They have beautiful landscaping at paved area sites; a very nice camp store and a boating area. Most of the sites have concrete parking for rig and car and picnic table with fire-pit. We really liked this park and stayed for three weeks. However, it was really packed with lots of kids on weekends so driving slow was a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
My only complaint about this campground is that we hoped to rent a boat at the marina. The marina is not owned by River Ridge, but they work together on the same property. Unfortunately, the marina didn't have liability insurance and couldn't rent boats; their website and advertising conflicts with their current position. We were able to fish off the piers though. The sites are large, beautifully landscaped, well maintained, and level. There's a large children playground, sand volleyball, a gorgeous clubhouse, and large pool. The pool was pretty cold, however. The resort is located 10 minutes south of Big Rapids, where there is a river walk, fishing, parks, shopping, etc. They are about 45 minutes north of Grand Rapids. The views are wooded, the river is nice, and the resort was always active with security and staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Pretty nice place, very new and well-maintained. Staff outside of the office are very helpful. Security escorts you to your site and helps to get you perfectly lined-up in place. Access to the park is via key-carded gate. Most of the people there seem to be seasonal RVers without many kids. If I'm in the area again, I'd return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We loved this campground! This RV Park is meticulously maintained and manicured. Most all sites are paved and the fire pits are also cement. Sites along the outside are best. Everywhere we went there was staff there to help and answer questions. The gift shop that doubles as an ice cream shop is wonderful. Views are great – right near the water as well as seeing the treed hills. Playground was well maintained and large. Pool was also very well maintained. If you like luxury RV parks with all the amenities, this is the place for you. Because the park is newer, the sites are heavily treed, so if you want a rustic experience, this likely won’t fit that need. This is a great park for kids and adults alike. Their scheduled events were fun. The location has a very remote feel, while only a few miles from a “bigger” city of Big Rapids that offers many large retailers for all your supply and grocery needs including Wal-Mart and Meijer. I highly recommend this park; I think so far it has been the nicest RV Park we have stayed at in Michigan! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
More adult oriented maybe, than young kids. Although they do have a nice pool area, playgroup and field for sports. They did have a party Saturday from 4pm on that closed the pool area. Renting a pontoon boat was a highlight of the weekend. I think we would plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$42
This place use to be on our "best place to go and do nothing" (previous review september 2005). Fast forward one year and I have to wonder what the heck went wrong! It's not that the place changed, but the management has apparently decided that their previous rules no longer apply (quiet time is now never enforced, there were older campers and pop-ups). The bathrooms were trashed one day, the park was full of trash in the morning (after the teenagers got to run around all night doing whatever they wanted-driving gas powered golf carts at all hours of the night-kids screaming on the playground after 11PM). Many of the seasonal people and the staff complained that the manager has made some very bad decisions this year. We camp to relax and spend time together as a family-not to have to hear people being loud and partying loudly until 4AM! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
This is the finest park I have visited. Beautifully maintained, clean and detailed. Very friendly staff. Great activities for the kids every weekend, and yet quiet enough for those who want to get away. Each site has level, concrete pad with plenty of room for a pop-up or 45-foot motorhome, with space for parking the toad or the boat. 20,30 & 50 amp service at each site, along with water and sewer. Picnic table and fire pit at each site. Great lodge, marina, launch ramp and docks, bring the boat for great boating, tubing and skiing on the Muskegon River. Pool is big enough for lap swimming or for the kids to play. And, soft serve ice cream for the kids big and small at the marina store. Don't let this secret out !! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
Great activities for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
WOW! This is about as good as it gets! I cannot say enough great things about River Ridge. My wife says "it is the best place to come and do nothing". It is the most relaxing place-excellent facilities, beautiful landscaped sites, concrete in all the right places (would you believe a concrete recessed fire pit at your site?), great playground for the kids, right on the river with a marina at your disposal, olympic-sized swimming pool, great place to star gaze, I could go on and on. One complaint though: they made the roads too narrow for proper turning while backing up and also did not angle the sites in relation to what direction you would be backing in (I call it 'backing in the blind'-some sites you are backing in on the passenger side of you truck instead of being able to use your drivers' mirror and watch your progress). It's frustrating, but minor in the overall experience. A Premier RV resort for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$42
We camped here on Memorial Day 2005. While the park in still not complete, it is a very nice park. Some of the roads are very tight and hard to back in a longer trailer, the individual campsites are great. The showers are clean, but would prefer an area were we could get the kids dressed in private (its a large locker room style). The other bath house was locked, because it was in an undeveloped area. I only had one complaint, they had just opened a new section for the busy holiday weekend and they did not have all the bugs out of the systems just yet. We did not have power at our site until about 10:00 pm on our first night and the water pressure was pretty bad as well. The camp ground management was understanding, but was slow to do anything to help fix the issues. I am confident that once they get things fully opened they will have all the bugs out of the system and it will be a great place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
Incredible new resort campground. When we arrived, one of the staff members led us to our site in her golf cart and helped us back in. The sites are all paved including the fire pit, beautifully landscaped with a sprinkler system, all the same size, full hookups. There are 231 planned sites, but there is one section that is not yet developed. There is an awesome basketball/shuffleboard/tennis court area, and also a huge play structure and open field for plenty of fun. The buildings are gorgeous. The clubhouse is huge with a deck overlooking the pool and a lounge where campers can go and play games - bring your own or they have some there, including pool. They showed a movie in the lounge for the kids with free snacks. In the lower level there is a small gameroom, a really nice fitness room, and dial-up Internet access. The locker rooms lead out to the pool, which is 25-yards in length. The clubhouse and pool overlook the river. Down the hill is the store and the dock where there are rental boats. The store is well-stocked. They have hand-dipped ice cream, and there is an open pavillion above the store with tables. There was a band playing there on Sunday night. There are no street lights near the campsites, but there is security that drives around. Very quiet and peaceful. My only complaints were that we had to carry our trash to the dumpster instead of having it picked up at the site, and the only bathhouse was the locker rooms for the pool. There is another bathhouse, but it is located in the undeveloped section and was locked this weekend. Also, the rules state no campers under 24' and no truck campers, but we saw both there. There is not much nearby the campground, and to do any biking or running outside the campground would require using the main road, although there is a large shoulder. However, there is really no need to leave this extremely clean, well-maintained campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com