206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Montebello Camping & Fishing Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (540) 377-2650
CGID3706

Montebello Camping & Fishing Resort

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   8   7   10   6   7   8   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Nice quiet wooded site with easy access. Park is very clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful. Very relaxing! A few miles off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Note that there is no cell phone coverage or wireless access. Not a problem, but something to be aware of. So, if you every want the perfect spot to get away from it all and chill out, this is it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Two items of concern: (1) Tree hazards exist in this campground. Old, tall pines with dead branches, one tree totally dead, others unhealthy. (2) Beware reservation cancellation policy. A $10 fee against credit card for cancellation for whatever reason, no matter how far in advance cancellation is made. When cancellation is made within a week of planned camping, a charge of first night camping is charged. Best to check campground website for unreasonable policies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
“Natural beauty” typifies this campground, said to have been the family for four generations. Has lots of mature trees and shady spots with grassy sites. They have the best camp store I've seen, plus fuel and a post office. Campers were enjoying fishing and there is a small beach. We approached from I-81 via Rt. 56. Reviewing driving instructions on the campground's web site is a MUST or you can get into trouble. Rt. 56 is not for the timid and has signs posted to warn truckers not to take the route. We had no problem but driving slowly is necessary (20 mph is the rule). To avoid a good length of Rt. 56, approach from the Blue Ridge Parkway and go 3.2 mi to the east, staying on the main, paved road; don't be tempted to take hyws 6xx. Camp staff was great and allowed us to stay for one night even though they have a two-night minimum on weekends; they favored us with a 10% military discount. Forget cell phones and WiFi. I would have rated this campground a "10," save one problem: the sanitary drain was too high with no screw-in connector. Even with a drain hose support, fluids are forced to go uphill. When a bolus of water full of "stuff" hits the hose and it starts to snake around, things can get UGLY! In any event, this out-of-the way place is worth going out-of-the-way for campers who like spacious, shaded spots in cooler mountain climes at an altitude of nearly 3000 ft. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very remote location but beautiful and peaceful. We had a nice spot right on the lake and it was very quiet. The lake is not clean - the kids swam in it because it was very hot but the water was a brownish color. My daughter and husband went on a horseback ride one day and loved it. Their guide was knowledgeable and they said the scenery in the Appalachians was beautiful. My main negative comment about this campground and the reason I won't go back is that the road to get there is treacherous. It is almost a vertical climb up a mountain with a vertical drop off, no guard rails and very curvy road. Large RV passed us going down while we were going up and I thought we were through! The way down was a little easier because we were on the other side of the road with no drop off. Something else to keep in mind - there was no cell phone coverage anywhere. The woman who ran the store was very nice and let me check my messages from work as I was expecting an important call. I am not complaining about the lack of cell coverage (it was very nice to be disconnected) but it is something to know before you go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
We spent two nights at this beautiful, rustic, shaded campground. This is the first campground we have given a 10 rating, but for campers like us who want a clean place out in the woods, it is well merited. Both the reservations and check in were friendly and efficient. The campground store is very well supplied, even including some meals (we had a fine breakfast there one day). The sites are really in the woods like we prefer, well spaced, level, with convenient utilities, fire ring/grills, etc. There is a friendly on-site host who welcomes new campers and otherwise ensures that all is ship shape. The connected lake is clean with a nice walking area. We met one family who had been coming here for decades: because it just is such a tranquil beautiful setting. We certainly will return to this gem of a country campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Small campground not far from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Getting there can be a challenge as the roads are quite steep, twisty and narrow. We were on site 33 which was a pull through, but in order to get off the site I had to go through a site across the road due to trees (thankfully no one was using it). Site itself was shaded and appeared to have fresh gravel, almost level. Roads are very narrow and in need of work (severely rutted in places). Grounds were generally very clean. We were there during the week and it was very quiet. WARNING: If you are towing or in a motorhome and your GPS attempts to take you on Campbell Mountain Road, DO NOT take this road. It is directly off the Parkway with a sign pointing to RT 56, and is immediately dirt and loose gravel, becomes very steep, twisty, no guard rails with steep drop offs, generally pretty scary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This park was very nice and relaxing, had plenty of shade. We went horseback riding and it was awesome. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Very nice campground however the sites are all on top of each other and the roads inside are confusing. We had two sites #19 & #20. Our friends were on site 19 with a pop up also. Ours was #20 which is directly along the 'lake.' Loved having that site but no shade and there were two pair of geese each with young that left behind lots of 'droppings'. You constantly had to watch where you were walking. Great staff at the little store. Anyone going to this campground, only drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway to access it. The roads are terrible. You can see your own tail lights around some of the curves. Would go again for more than two nights. No Cell service so it was nice to be unreachable. Camp host was extremely friendly and helpful: said that if there was an emergency he could get us to a phone or vice versa. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
The first year we camped here (2007) we had one of the tiny pull through sites. Since the sites are so close together it feels like everyone in the campground is family because there is no separation. The next year we got the large site on the "Lake" which is more like a pond or borrow pit - very pretty. This trip would have been fine, but the owners let some tent campers have the back half of our campsite without consulting us. We went to hike Crabtree falls and came back to people pitching a tent on our site. We politely let them know that that was not a separate campsite but they insisted that the owners assigned this site to them. They paid for it. and the site number was 19 and a half (seriously). We went up to the store to find out what was going on and the employees were very rude (as they were each time we went to the store). We spoke with the owner who was even more rude, getting in my husband's face and insisting that that was a site; it was on their map and the people were staying. We went back to our site and endured extreme harassment for the rest of the weekend. The owner told the family that we "tried to have them thrown out" (very unprofessional). The husband threatened us with a knife, the wife screamed profanity at us several times (it was the campground joke - all of the other campers heard and kept asking us what was up with the crazy family on our site). The mountains are beautiful, the campground is fair, but definitely not safe!! We will NEVER camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We couldn't wait to get to Montebello after reading all of the wonderful reviews. What we found was a mixed bag. The store is as described; clean, cute, well-stocked, and picturesque. Employees are plentious. First, please note that you must climb mountainous roads to get into the campground. They are pretty, but steep and curvy...so just be careful. The campground is across the street from the store. I only saw one employee enter the campground on Sunday evening to collect trash. They seem to hang out at the store. The bathrooms were not cleaned the entire time we were there. The men's restroom was great, but the ladies' was terrible. The playground is small and quite a distance from the sites. Someone has spent some money on some landscaping. That's nice. Wish they would spend some on things you need in the campground. The sites themselves need some work. Most sites have very little gravel and are unlevel. The campground roads need to have more gravel and some work done. Our site's road was full of huge ruts. There is a brand spankin new barn facility behind the store that is gorgeous. Just wish they had spent more money on grain and hay. So, you can trail ride on their horses because they're safe because they're so weak from being underfed. Does this make sense? I think this place was once beautiful. I think the funds are not going back into the campground. It is a shame. I would return if they'd improve the sites and totally revamped the entire campground. I wish they would feed the horses more and not offer the trail rides. I'd rather see them well fed and happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Very nice little campground in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We stayed on site #19, which is "on" the lake, but also under trees. The grounds were well groomed, but the small lake was kind of green. There is a small beach, but we did not swim. Everyone respected quiet hours, and the atmosphere was friendly. The owner/operator was very polite and helpful. Dump station was immaculate! The pull through sites were a little close together for our taste, but there are plenty of other sites with more room. Bathrooms were a little dated, but were clean and kept clean througout our three night stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
We were there during the week in October so we had the campground to ourselves and had the lake front site, it was very peaceful and scenic. The views were wonderful. It was hard to get around the pull through sites though, there were some that were very narrow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
If you like large sites, lots of shade, and quiet this is the place. Beautiful campground in the woods - far from anything except a country store. Nice ponds for fishing and a small lake for swimming. Showers are a little dated and spartan but very clean. Staff were very professional and helpful. Great place to just relax! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$24
Very nice park, not far from the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia's mountains. Most sites are shaded, a small number (including ours) are on the shore of a 4-acre lake and have less shade. Bathhouses were clean, facilities were in good shape and included laundry, the lake (with boat and kayak rentals available), a playground, small trout ponds (with fishing available), cabins and duplexes, a pavilion for group events, and a country store. A few seasonal sites, but the majority are for overnighters. We were very pleased, and thought it a great value! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com