206873 User submitted reviews online!!
IB Magee Beach Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (361) 749-6117
CGID3712

IB Magee Beach Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   6   9   9   8   10   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This campground is all about location. You can camp on the beach if you buy an annual pass for $12, or you can camp here, just off the beach, for $25 with electricity and water. There is nothing fancy here but if you love the beach, this is not a bad place to camp. But, it certainly has some issues. The place was half empty when we arrived and yet we were assigned a site where the repairman was working on the service box. He assured us that he'd just be a few minutes but it took over 4 hours, and two more workers, to finally get us connected. At one point, he tried to blame my RV for the problem. All the time the worker was at our site, he was chewing tobacco and spitting out tobacco juice around our service post. I went to the office in the middle of the afternoon to see about moving and when I got there I found the door locked. A number of other campers were gathered around and told me the office was locked during a "shift change". Through the glass wall I could see one employee on the phone and the other one standing around doing nothing. Oh, I forgot the mention -- this is a government-run campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
Great place, pleasant help in the office. With some gravel spread on the parking pads and the elimination of some mighty big puddles when it rains, I'd give this place a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
The park here is nothing fancy; no shade, sandy, spacious sites with a little grass, but there’s also a paved parking lot if you don't want to park on sand. But you go here for the beach, and it's just a short walk away, on the other side of the dunes. No problems navigating our 38 ft. 5th wheel around. WI-FI works best at sites closest to the main admin building. We ended up in site 25 (surprisingly very level) and got good WI-FI speed. Very impressed with the bath houses; modern, clean and lots of toilets and showers. They aren't open to the general public; campers get a key card to access them. You even have your choice of stair or elevator access to them if you have physical limitations. Had the weather cooperated, I'm sure I would have given this place a 10 but the day after we arrived, a bad weather system moved in and stayed for the entire week we were there. Extremely high winds whipped the sand around so much that it wasn't even pleasant to be outside. All of our equipment, bikes, chairs, trailer got coated in sticky, gritty, sand. What a mess! The same system also threw tons of seaweed in the water and on the beach which made swimming or fishing next to impossible. The day we left was gorgeous, and the county workers had almost cleared all the seaweed away. They work fast! It was our first time camping this close to the beach, and to be honest, we'll think twice (and check the weather forecast) before we do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
This is a county park, and it is really nice. Only cons would be the lack of shade (each site has a small shelter/lean to) and the issues with red tide. Apparently it was very 'high' the night we were here. Both adults felt the effects, and both dogs showed symptoms. Stayed inside. Folks were friendly, and there is a trolley to hop on from this area to go around in town. Very handy if you have no tow vehicle. Would definitely come here again when red tide is not so prevalent. WI-FI was fantastically fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Quiet, campground and beach only got busy on the weekend. Wi-Fi very good, TV reception via antennae OK. Showers and bathroom areas really clean. (Cleaned daily). Only downer was our site had been used by slobs before we arrived. Cigarette butts all over the ground. Only thing I'll say about that is: "Smoke and Die!" We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
This is a nice place to stop for a while but you will have a hard time finding it if you are looking for "Nueces County Park", which is the park name this listing was under at the time of writing. The name has been changed to I. B. Magee and all of the directional signs reflect that. It is located on the beach just outside Port Aransas. Drive all the way into town and watch for the sign. Interior roads are rough gravel. The improved sites, separated from the beach by sand dunes, offer water and 30-amp electric hookups. Most are on a mix of gravel and sand. Ours was smooth and level. Sites are large and fairly well spaced but the layout is random so that varies. Beach sites with no hookups are available, and there is a dump station. Payment by cash is preferred. There is a surcharge if you use checks or plastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
We stayed five days with our grandchildren and it was great. There are no sewer hookups, but a dump station, so it worked out great. The kids had a ball being so close to the ocean. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
We always camp here. The staff is friendly and helpful if you ever have a problem. We like the fact you can watch the ships go by and the beach is right in front of the campground. The only time of year we don't like it here is spring break, it gets too crowded with some tacky people. But now with the new bath house, it's easier for them to make sure no one trashes it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is the park previously known as "Nueces County Park". The oceanfront sites are primitive sites without hookups, which cost $10 a night. We stayed in the hookups part, with dunes between ourselves and the ocean. They put in a nice, big, new bath house and office in 2007. The showers were plentiful and clean. There are also older, grungier bath houses with pay showers at the beach. There is a $5 deposit for the shower room key card. My main complaint was the sites were dirty and there was litter flying around. Some of the sites aren't level but most of them are, and there are many long enough for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
They have a new office complex with restrooms, showers, laundry, etc. that was very nice. For $5 they give you a key card for access to the new facilities (you get the $5 back when you return the card). The top deck observation tower on the third level is a great place to catch the view. The facility has an elevator for the handicapped. We stayed over the long Thanksgiving weekend, it was a great experience. The only reason for not giving the facility a 10 rating was the large pot hole on the drive leading to the camping area, go slow in this area. The environment was safe and quiet. The board walk into the swamp area was enjoyed very much by the kids. For those unfamiliar with the area, its next to the ship channel so its interesting to watch the ships go by. Lots of people fishing off the jetty, bring your poles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
This is a bare bones RV park, but still nice because it is almost right on the beach. It was clean, the folks in the office were very nice, and it was quiet. Even though there is no wi-fi, my AT&T air card worked just fine to hook up to the internet. We would definitely stay here again. Its the best site in town for being so close to the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Very nice park. Would definitely stay here in the future. Surprisingly there were also laundry facilities. Met other campers here which were also very friendly. Close to beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Nice area to camp and close to the beach. We were rained on and switched sites a couple times due to huge puddles and the staff was very helpful. The sand dunes help break the wind some. We have camped here three times and will be going back for sure. The downside of this area is the seaweed which gets really bad at times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
This is a bare bones RV park. They do supply a covered picnic table. We stayed right on the beach without any services. The cost is $10 per night. If you pay for 7 nites at a time you get 2 free water fills and 2 dumps included, otherwise the cost is $8. The RV park is right across the street from the beach. We have a 42 foot diesel motorhome so the sand is very able to handle any size unit. Lots of fishing, shelling, crabbing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$18
This is not a sophisticated campground because the bulk of the sites are on rough gravel roads and there are not a lot of amenities. There are some pull through sites are on a paved lot. The sites are of various sizes but roomy site were plentiful during the winter. Proximity to the beach is excellent. Campground has a secure restroom and shower for sites with electric hookups. There is an open restroom on the beach for dry campers that was usually pretty nasty and another restroom and showerhouse on the beach that is clean but only open during the day. A local free trolley comes to the pier that is within walking distance and goes through Port Aransas every hour. There is public bus transportation to Corpus Christi for $1 round trip. This is a great campground for those who don't need all the TV, pools, activities, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$18
This is a great park for beach lovers - just 100 yards (over the dunes) to the Gulf. Room for larger rigs, though the pull-throughs were still in development when we were there. Very helpful park staff and plenty of quiet. Road VERY rough coming in, but only 1/2 mile to downtown. Fun to watch the giant barges head down the channel to sea. Great bird-watching - even had a heron nesting near our site. Lots of fun local seafood restaurants, some on the beach. Sites not too close together. A beautiful, though windy place in winter. We hope to go back many times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com