214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Solomons Island Navy Recreation Area (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (410) 286-7415
CGID3715

Solomons Island Navy Recreation Area (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
400 +
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   10   9   8   6   10   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Stayed here the weekend following labor day. Cheaper rate was because it was considered "off season". Stayed in "G" loop. We were completely surrounded by retired military "full-timers". The grass was above ankle high. We had full hook-up but the location of the electric box/sewer pipe were such that I had to pull the trailer almost all the way to the road to hook up. Sights were extremely small, more of a trailer park feel than a campground. We noticed another loop that was on the other side of the campground that seemed to have more space. If we go back, we'll try and get a spot there. Didn't make use of the swimming pool, but it was still open limited hours over the weekend. There's a golf driving range, mini-golf course and outdoor table tennis/billiards/foosball table. The beach is fairly small and is located on the shore of the Patuxent River. There are several baseball fields and we saw several family gatherings/parties around them on Saturday. The restroom associated with our loop was deceiving large. Eight showers and just as many toilets. Dated, but very clean. Good water pressure in the showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We stayed here for Labor Day weekend. Pools (4) and the beach were great! They had a jelly-fish net up that was awesome. Miniature golf, 2 playgrounds, small arcade and so many more activities for our little ones. Our site didn't have sewer, so we used the bath-houses. They were kept very clean. The sites themselves were very roomy, although it would have been nice for them to have mowed the grass for the holiday weekend. Grass was about ankle length, which was a turn off. We were close to home and tempted to go get our own push-mower to do the job ourself. Overall a good time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Have to put up with USN security, but that is understandable. 3 large swimming pools, boat ramp, swim beach, large marina - very level sites. Most sites were over 60 feet. Large grocery stores 3 miles south. Very interesting town just 1/3 mile to the southeast. We like camping here. 50A at all sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We stayed here for a few nights while visiting with friends in the area. We are not military, and our friends sponsored our stay at this facility. It was very nice...though off season so not full. The laundry facility was not the cleanest, and the washers were smaller than average meaning you needed to use more of them. The area was beautiful and so was the weather. Would definitely stay here again if we had the opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Overall this was a gem of a find for military/government. NO traffic on the way there or home, and It is so close to DC area (1 1/2 hrs). The pools with water slides was great. The beach was nice. Downside, no campfires and some jellyfish. But overall very clean and a great find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Very nice campground with lots of activities. We live about 5 miles from this fabulous place and camp here at least 2 to 3 times a year. Many previous posters talked about the "permanent" residents living here and all their "junk" accumulating around their campsites. YES, there are permanent campers here but they are no longer allowed to stay on one site for years at a time. After talking to one of the residents, they are now required to move to a different site every couple of months. I'm assuming this is an effort to cut down on some of the "junk" that might accumulate on their site and make it look run-down. I called and got a spot in the "F" area which is absolutely fantastic. Full-hookups and HUGE sites.. even has a concrete pad to park your camper and a concrete pad for the picnic table. I have stayed in the other side of the campground before and I do agree the "F" area is much better taken care of. They had a TON of planned activities, miniature golf, fishing pier, beach, 3 swimming pools with slides, arcade room, tennis courts. The list goes on and on. We will continue to visit this beautiful campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
I’d venture to say that 75% or more of the campers here were permanents/seasonals/regulars. The grass on many sites was not cut – saw lots of push mowers on live-ins’ sites so not sure if it’s regularly maintained or the responsibility of the camper. We were in a water/electric site which was quite wide but not very deep (no full hook ups available but these appeared to be much smaller - not as wide and just as shallow) Kids enjoyed the scheduled activities – there were 3 day. Mini golf was a lot of fun and you can borrow board games from the arcade. Pool area was OK – baby pool was closed each time we visited and I wasn’t comfortable with 2 toddlers in the larger pools but oldest son enjoyed the slides (you have to pass a swim test to use these). Beach area was nice – roped off area to keep out jellyfish. Dump station appeared to be clean but unlike any we’d used before – no fitting from hose to sewer connection – you just sit your hose in the open pit/hole – and that’s if you even use a hose which we saw some people did not – apparently this is OK here – ewwww! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is the best campsite in the world. Too bad most of you can't get in here... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
There are still too many homesteaders here. We still could not get a full hookup site. I have been trying for 4 years to get a full hookup site for a weekend and still cannot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
One of the best Military affiliated campgrounds I have seen. The location on the Patuxent river is beautiful. GPS 38.344, -76.4675 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
We were here for the campground's annual Halloween Festival. Our family had a great time with the haunted house, as well as other activities that were age-appropriate for 5 and under. The pool and swimming beach are closed for the season, but mini-golf and the driving range were still open. We look forward to coming back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Someone mentioned earlier that many sites were occupied by what appeared to be "homesteaders" and that appeared to be the case for us, too. I spoke with management and found out that in the coming months stays will be limited in length. No more year round occupants save for the active duty military members stationed nearby. Very nice park but looks worn. Management told us that updating/changes were coming soon as soon as the long term campers were removed, thus allowing improvements to sites and facitilities We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
This is one of our favorite campgrounds, minus the fact that campfires are not allowed on any RV sites due to propane. The bathrooms are clean, the RV sites are a good size depending on which loop you get. Some are tarred, while others are piled into a gravel road. Very easy to set up satellite, almost impossible to get WiFi from adjoining business since the rec center doesn't offer it. Possesses bungalows, apartments, houses, tent sites, and RV sites for rent. The three adult pools and kiddy pools are clean and large, while two have large slides. They have LOTS of activities, an H shaped huge fishing pier that sells baits and has a place to clean fish, an activity center with arcades and game check outs, a HUGE campground overall, a sand beach next to the pools. Park is overall quiet. Though it doesn't have a camp store, there is a 7-11, fast food, one gourmet and one regular grocery, recreation and ace hardware stores, bars and restaurants across the island at Solomons and any store you can think of over the bridge. Overall great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
Small number of campsites available because of so many "permanent" campers. (We were told those campers parked on a yearly basis and were chosen by a lottery each year. I find that hard to believe because some of them looked like they hadn't moved in years, but nonetheless it was a nice campground.) The sites were nice and spacious with shade trees (or trees for the kids to climb) - unusual for most campgrounds. The pool complex wasn't open when we were there, but it looked VERY nice. They had mini golf and a couple of playgrounds, too. Bring your bike - none of the amenities were close to the campsites. Overall, we thought this was a clean and quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
This campground is very clean, well kept, and is located along the Patuxent River in Maryland. The sites were level and quite large. Our kids had plenty of running room right around the camper. They have several playgrounds, pools, a game room, and plenty of opportunity for fishing or boating. There is a small marine museum about a mile away that is very kid friendly also. I did notice some rust in my filter screen when I disconnected the water hose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
What a great campground that is so close to home for us. This was our first but certainly not our last visit to the Solomons Island Navy Recreation Center. We reserved 2 primitive tent sites side-by-side and camped with 3 other families. These sites were spacious and very easily accommodated 4 larger sized tents with plenty of room for lounging and even parking 4 vehicles. Each site had a fire ring and stationary grill. We were in the front of the park near the highway and camp access roads but didnt have any complaints about the noise like a previous reviewer mentioned, you could hear some traffic but it really didnt bother us at all. The scheduled activities that we attended were top notch. The private beach was wonderful, very clean and we saw no jellyfish (although we didnt go very far from shore). Since one couple had bought their boat we enjoyed the on-site marina. The 3 playgrounds, mini-golf course and game room were both clean and appeared to be well maintained. There are 4 swimming pools (baby/toddler pool, 1.5 4.5 foot pool, 3.5-4.5 pool with slide, and a 6-12 pool with slide & diving board), but all were freezing. Since it was the weather was soo nice, I guess I shouldnt complain about that though. We stayed on a holiday weekend and the campground was pretty full but we never had to wait for bathroom or shower use (the bathhouse near our site ~in the F section I believe~ was somewhat dated and the showers were small but it was clean for the most part). All and all there were no complaints from anyone we camped with. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
The best place to camp in Maryland! Lots of things to do for the family. Great fishing and crabbing pier! Beautiful river views all over the campground. Friendly people and very helpful. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$37
The campground is well kept. We were given a spot on the main road and the road traffic was a little louder than we would have wished for. There are NO fire rings and no fires allowed. They do have a bonfire every other Friday. There are 3 nice pools and a baby pool. There are also 2 waterslides and a diving board. Beach is very nice also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$23
This is a DoD run recreation center located in Southern Maryland and is the gem of the East coast. Extremley well kept, many activities for all ages. Fishing, golf, pool, crabing, paddle boats, and game room are just to name a few. Sites are all level, some concrete pads. Most roads are paved, a few are hard packed gravel. Some sites are larger than others but all are a decent size. This campground is located right on the Patuxent River and has a beach as well. You must be active/retired military or DoD employee to get access. Camp ground is open all year. Rates vary by paygrade and payscale. Without a doubt I would recommend this camp ground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com