223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Jonathan Dickinson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (772) 546-2771
CGID3723

Jonathan Dickinson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   7   3   9   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
Great location if you enjoy the outdoors and hiking, kayaking, boating. Bring your camera. The beach was closed during our visit. The upper campsite where we stayed is next to the entry gate and supports big rigs with back-in lots. It is open with a few palm trees. The well manicured sites are level pea gravel with FHU 50 Amp and clean facilities. The lower campground is about four miles away near the lake and consists of smaller, wooded, grass lots for tents and small trailers, although we did see some Class C's down there. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Very nice state park. Well maintained. Good camp store, bike trails, and staff. Wish we had a couple more days to spend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Nice clean bathrooms. No laundry. This park has two areas. The top one is by the highway and seems more suited to bigger rigs. The river campground is the nicer of the two areas. You can ride to the little store for wifi and the setting is very nice. We would return again if through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
We were in the Riverfront campground, four miles from the highway so it was quiet. The other campground is right on the highway. The park is very nice but shows the hard use parks in urban areas get. The campsites are well trampled, with paths cut between them, leaving little privacy. They're closer together than most state parks, too. We did not have enough voltage to run an A/C, toaster or microwave, even with everything else turned off. There was a nice dog path and trails are everywhere. Lots of activities are available. Restrooms were surprisingly well kept. There doesn't seem to be much enforcement of speed limits or noise levels. Being close to town, the park gets lots of groups of campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
The campsites for this park are set back miles from the main road. It is very wild and a beautiful natural setting, but lonesome. The staff that was present during our check in seemed stressed and a bit unfriendly. The sites were close and wide open with little to no privacy. The showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$29
Our initial stay was supposed to only be five days, but after two days, we fell in love and extended our stay to the maximum of 14 days. We had to move our campsite, but as it turns out that was good as our new spot was better. The campground was 100% full our entire stay. There may have been one space free one night, but that was it. We had full hookups, power, sewer, and water and they were placed thoughtfully. It appears the park was recently redone and it is VERY clean and VERY well maintained. There is a great playground for the kids and miles of pathways for dog walks. The RV spaces were spacious and gave us appropriate distance to our neighbors. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely. Would we come back? Absolutely Informational: We travel in a 36' Class A RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$29
Had a great experience camping here. Recently redone and the staff seems to take a lot of pride in their park. All park personnel very friendly and informative. Bathrooms spotless after cleaning and sites nicely spaced. Trees immature and so very open between sites. Plan on returning next December. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
Stayed in the Pine Grove Campground which has full hookups, but is not shaded. Sites were gravel back-ins and fairly level. 50 amp power was stable and water pressure was not a problem. Many OTA TV stations. Cell and Wi-Fi signals (Verizon and Sprint) were good. We stayed at Site 80, which backs to vegetation and is a bit away from the roadway noise. Finished our stay at Site 2 which is directly next to a small playground. The perfect spot for someone with kids. Not so great for someone who is looking for peace and quiet. Camp hosts and volunteers were all friendly and helpful. Shower houses were newer and always clean. Showers had latching doors and plenty of hot water. A nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$14
Paid FL Senior rate which made for a great value. We had a nice big level 50 amp FHU site. The sites in this section are all pea stone. We had no trouble with the check in process. We saw camp hosts treating the ant mounds. I wish more places would do the same. TV via batwing was very good. Verizon cell and broadband were also very good. Overall we had a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
The Sand Pine section of this campground is great. Newly remodeled, the restroom/shower area is very nice and spotless. Sites are smooth gravel and mostly level. There are several trails for hikers and bikers here as well as water access. The registration folks were the slowest that we've found in our month in Florida. Lots of chatter, but not much action. It took us nearly half an hour to get set up and we had reservations. Avoid going inside if at all possible. It's a quiet place with a few birds stopping by. We'd come back, for sure. Online reservations are the way to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$14
Rate is Florida senior special. This campground is beautifully laid out with large level sites. There is very little vegetation in the campground area making it feel like a big field. There is no privacy in the sites, but the newness & cleanliness of the campground make up for it. However, we like the fact that a state campground has sewer and will stay here again. The state should plant more trees/shrubs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
Perfect in every aspect with exception of road noise. LOVE this park with bike, hiking, kayak and activities. Add to these the super areas surrounding the park to north and south, it is awesome. Super staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
This is our second stay, this time at the quiet, woodsy River Campground. We had site 116 which is quite large but needs a little care to back into. Restrooms are older but clean. We took the boat ride on the very lush, scenic river to Trapper Nelson's cabin and enjoyed it a lot - saw manatees, blue herons, ospreys. Overall, a good "old Florida" experience right off I-95 a few miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
Rate reflects Florida senior discount, $13 plus tax. We stayed in the Pine Grove campground, which has all large level spacious back-in sites with a fair amount of room between them. The sites in this campground are all full hookup, but the 50 amp breaker on our site was bad so we just used the 30 amp outlet. They did replace the 50 amp breaker during our stay, so it was working when we left. As mentioned in earlier reviews there is road noise from US-1. Pine Grove is two U shaped loops. The sites at the bottom of the U back up to US-1 and have the most road noise. TV via batwing was very good, Verizon cell and broadband both excellent at 4G. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
Our first stay was 10 days in length. Our second stay was for 8 days. We enjoyed this campground. The bathrooms were clean and conveniently located. The sites are level and roomy. As previously noted there is no shade at all but this was not a problem for us. The only issue we noted is that the campground is very popular which causes a lot of movement in and out of the campground with the usual traffic jams. I would advise anyone having a reservation during the busy season (January thru March) to arrive late rather than early on the arrival date. There is usually a line up to get in to the park and there is not very much space in the parking lot for those waiting. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
I really appreciated other reviews about the traffic noise at this park, so we made an effort to choose a site that might not be quite as affected, and I think it worked out as we rarely noticed the noise. Wide open campground with brand new bath houses and large, well thought out sites. Lots of walking/biking trails throughout the park. We also rented a couple of kayaks and paddled up the river. Lots to do and close to both Jupiter and Stuart for any shopping or dining etc. We enjoyed site 42, level back-in gravel site with fire ring and full hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
This is a nice campground. It has great biking opportunities both paved and off-road. The River Campground is much more treed than the Pine Grove Campground, but big rigs would have problems navigating in the River Campground. Rangers were nice and helpful. Check out the observation tower at the Park, especially at sunset. The Blowing Rocks Preserve is also a must see and is just a few miles from the Park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
We had stayed in this park about seven years ago when we were new to RVing and drove a rented Class C. A hurricane had just devastated much of the park. We did not stay long and the park did not appeal to us. Now it has been rebuilt and it is fantastic. The sites and washrooms are new. All the sites in Pine Grove are huge with full hook-ups and nice landscaping. The hurricane took down the trees which might make for hot summers but in November the open skies were beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Great place in the new section (Pine Grove) to pull off on the way through. Not a destination park, unless you are a tent camper. River campground is pretty much tent only, and not big rig accessible at all. Pine Grove section is perfect for large rigs with sewer hookup, easy wide sites with pea gravel and lots of room. Draw backs are no privacy, no landscaping, and way too close to busy US highway 1. Bath houses (four of them for 89 sites) are modern and new, but they are not cleaned on a regular basis. Same big dead spider on the floor for the whole 3 days we were there. They don't even sweep, so what cleaning do they do?? Will go there again, as it is convenient for passing through, and the river looked nice for canoe trips. But will bring my own broom to knock the plastered bugs off the walls in the bathroom, and earplugs to sleep due to the noisy highway right next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Excellent job re-doing the Pine Grove section, my only complaint was no WiFi. Employees were very helpful and polite. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
We stayed at the river campground. It's nice and I like the location, but definitely not much shade and very little privacy. I like the park and there is a lot to do, so it's worth it if you want to bike, hike or kayak. The power in the river campground popped our circuit breaker a few times. The park staff suggested the pine grove campground, since it was recently redone. That location has no shade is just off US1. The bigger rigs have to go there, but we were looking for something not quite as open. The experience was good and the price was reasonable. It was our first outing with our new TT, so basically a learning experience and shake down, but we enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
We stayed in Pine Grove c/g, River c/g was too tight for our rig. Very well maintained c/g, full hook ups, 50amp, paved road, easy access, gravel pad, big rig access, plenty of space around the RV, grass between sites, all sites are well spaced out, picnic table, barbecue and fire pit, the landscaping is all very new and will take some time to grow and give some privacy, security gate, no WiFi, helpful staff at check in who also gave us a flyer with the name of Emergency Veterinary Care, nice touch and we appreciated that, dog walk with pick up bags, new and clean bathrooms, quiet, Publix and Winn Dixie close by and a few local restaurants, very little to see and do in the town itself. We would not stay here again, the Park was fine, but little to see and do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
Stayed in Pine Grove Section. The park was very clean. Restrooms were spacious and clean. Nice area for a bike ride and good for dog walking around the camping area. There are things to do within the Park, such as boating and hiking, but we did not partake of these. The campground seems new and well cared for. Good layout and spacious sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
The Pine Grove camp sites are some of the best in the Florida state parks; they are a ten. It is more of a resort type camp ground and there is not a bad site in Pine Grove.The river sites are more rustic and IMHO good for smaller rigs as a large rig will drag vegetation on the loop in the camp ground and some of the sites. There is bike riding, horse back riding, hiking, and boats to rent, from kayaks to outboard boats. Also a tour boat that takes you up river to a trappers old camp with a narrated tour of the camp.About a two hour trip for $20.00 dollars each. There is also lots of wild life to watch if you bike or hike. The rangers were all very nice this trip. A lot better than when we were here a few years ago. Then some were nice and some were not. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$29
Wonderful stay. We stayed at the river campground which is a few miles into the park in a beautiful wooded location. The sites are large enough and are semi private with their own BBQ. Great cycle trails with some brilliant off-roading. Super location right on US-1. Would not have liked to stay at the large campground near the road, though; glad we got the river campground with the peace and quiet. Would have got a 10, but the restrooms were not as tip top as they could have been. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Beautiful. Clean everything. Very friendly. Short drive to the best pet-friendly beaches of our whole trip. Stayed 7 nights and would gladly stay longer. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
I was interested in the history of Pine Grove section, since the devastation is still visible in the surrounding area. The Park Service has done a very good job of re-designing and updating what was a more natural setting. But now it accommodates big rigs and has sewer hookups. The shower houses are clean, but although laundry hook-ups are there, there are no machines, at least in two I checked. Trees will grow. Even though there is no vegetation between sites, they are fairly far apart, so one doesn't feel cramped. We drove to the River campground, but glad we didn't try to get in there with our 33' motorhome. This is our second stay and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Very nice park, easy in and out. Large sites all in the open, no shade. Very nice people working there, we will use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Very nice state park. Accommodated big rigs, which many state parks do not. A little buggy, but that's my problem for coming to Florida in August. Definitely would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
Super large sites! Nicely laid out with ample room between sites, one of the nicest layouts we have seen for a State Park. Perfectly level packed crushed gravel sites with huge patio and fire ring area. Lots of grass between sites. The park is only a year and a half old, the bathrooms are like new. Newly planted trees so there is no shade. Close to Jupiter with fantastic beaches and restaurants. Florida Seniors receive 1/2 off. If it had mature trees, this park would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We were here in the off-season, lots of open campsites. We have a big rig so we opted for the full hookups sites near Rt 1. The road noise did not bother us. Our site was so large, that upon departure, we were able to position the motorhome up in the site and drive the tow car and hookup all in our spot. It was that deep and that wide. All hookups were in good working order, but our sewer connection was raised, making it more of a challenge to dump (uphill). The rangers and staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a lot to do in the park; hike, bike, canoe/kayak, and boat tour. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We camped here a few years back, so we knew there was no shade, but we were pleasantly surprised at full hookup sites, level, and very large. They were planting trees while we were there, in a few years, it will be better. I would also like to see them plant lower ground plants between sites. Beautiful new bathrooms, but why no laundry? The hookups for laundry are there. The noise from Rt 1 is annoying, but the sound of the train didn't bother us at all. I rather like that sound. You can't beat the location-minutes from several great beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We stayed in the Pine Grove Campground. I'd recommend sites 33-51 because they are farther away from the main highway, thus avoiding roadway traffic noise at night. The restroom/shower facilities are brand new and well maintained. The park is very big rig friendly. All sites are level and spacious. The only negative is the lack of shade and privacy due to the absence of trees and shrubbery. We used our mountain bikes to ride the equestrian trails inside the park. Great stop over before heading to the Key West (5 hours). Make sure to purchase a SunPass and get on the turnpike before you get to Miami. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
This is the second time we've been here since they have renovated the Pine campground. It is beautiful! The sites are spacious and level. Everyone was very friendly. The river tour was great. I made a mistake and took a site near the highway. They were great about switching me to a quieter site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
One real bad thing about this park is the noise of the cars and then you have the train. I looked around and it does not even seem they are planting that many trees to try and filter the street noise. The staff is not friendly like in most state parks. They seem not too happy to be working here. Even if your site is ready they will not let you set up until the 3pm check in time. So do not try to go early. Would not go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
Pine Grove (PG) campground has the ambiance and road noise of a Wal-Mart parking lot. I'm surprised that other reviews are so positive. It's a crime that in this huge state park the campsites are so close to heavily traveled US 1. Zero shade, wind break or privacy, though the sites are spaced farther apart than if you were in a Wal-Mart lot. It's 4 miles to anything interesting in the park so a car is necessary just to get around. I'll never stay here again, though I would consider the River Camp (RC) area which is near the Loxahatchee and at least looks like a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
There are two RV camps at JDSP. The older River campground is quite a drive back into the rather mundane pine scrub environment of the state park. It's an enlongated oval loop set back in scrub and situated near the river. As with all Florida parks, when it rains the mosquitos will be difficult and the river area is no exception. However, it is close to the boat ramp and docks/concession/canoe rental area that also features a playground, picnic area, trail access and the newly built civic center. In the river area: we felt spots 92-102 were the best but pretty small. Pay attention to the max length the sites can accommodate and width is a big concern as there are small pines in inconvenient places. If you have a big rig, the front camp is best. The River camp DOES NOT HAVE SEWER, but it is more "woodsy." The new front area is great for hanging out on a longer time frame. It's sparse tree wise but well organized with bordered pea gravel sites and full hook ups including sewer. The bathrooms are new and well kept. There is a nice playground and pavilion nearby. The front camp area is not what you think of a normal state park setup carved in the woods. It's more an open, KOA type setup except the sites aren't rowed ornately: more twisting, turning loops which breaks up the appearance. US 1 is just on the other side of the dune so traffic noise is present, but one gets used to it. Beware the sand flies or "no-seeums" in the wetter months at the front camp. Lots of sand for them to live in, and two ponds nearby ensure a steady supply of mosquitoes, but in the winter both are minimal. There is ample shopping, bars, and restaurants near JDSP as well as beautiful Atlantic beaches. Juno Beach is a well known off leash dog beach for all sizes and a real treat for your best friend. Parking is easy roadside with stairs and wash stations and doggie bags/garbage cans for picking up after your dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We stayed in the Pine Grove section which was reopened in 2010, newly rebuilt due to hurricanes and wild fires. We were on site 38 which is close to restroom. Nice gravel drive, flat, full hook up 50 amp sites. No mature trees but many have been planted. Give them a few years to grow and the campground will appear much less like a flat, open field. Bring your bikes! Lots of riding trails. We walked the Kitching Creek Nature trail and climbed the Hobe Mountain Observation Tower. Also impressed that they have recycling containers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
I have very mixed feelings about this campground. I rated it a "7" even though we probably would not stay here again, but that's because others may not be as bothered by certain things as I. We stayed in the Pine Grove Campground which was re-built after a hurricane and fire destroyed it a few years ago. Everything is brand-spankin' new: wide asphalt roads, level, white-gravel sites, nice hook-ups, roomy sites, and while we didn't use them, I'm sure the bathrooms are fine. That's all good, but the newness means the landscaping is immature, so no shade or wind break. When we were here it was hot, but too windy to put down our awning safely. What I liked the least was the campground is spitting distance from US Route 1, so the hum (roar?) of traffic is constant 24 hours a day. This is problematic for me because I usually stay pretty close to the motor home. This may not bother you as much, especially if you spend a lot of time away from the RV hiking, cycling, swimming, boating, etc. But keep in mind the noise does not stop when the sun goes down. If we were to give this place another shot we would try the other campground by the river. We understand the sites are older, smaller, and harder to negotiate an RV into, but it is 4 miles from the road and I am guessing has much more of the campground atmosphere we (and perhaps you?) prefer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
As others have mentioned, the old section is a 4 mile drive through the park. This is "nature camping" and is favoured by tent campers. The new section is just off the highway and is favored by larger rigs. Having said that, we stayed in the old section (site #135) in a 40 foot motorhome. Other sites #'s will accommodate big rigs, but #135 is probably the easiest to get to. We did have a problem with low voltage (94-95 volts) which our surge protector didn't accept. While here, we got to see some of the local wildlife really close and would probably chose the old section again, should we get to stay in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
New park due to hurricanes and wild fires. No trees but I was here during March and it was nice. Lots to do. Has clean, large sites. Bath houses were clean and brand new. This state park has sewer connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$31
A very well organized, well managed, newly renovated park. The bathhouses are a model for any state park, and sparkling clean. Crews kept the grounds very clean and trash emptied. The sites are well planned, roomy and very level, but open and in the sun. For this reason, hats, awnings and sunblock are an absolute must. The campsites are neatly framed out with pseudo-timbers filled with fine white stone and ample parking. You are warned upon arrival not to place your tires on the grass. Do pay attention to the warning, they aren't kidding. There is plenty of room for a camper and a tent or screen house at each site.The camping area is relatively close to the highway but there is no traffic noise. The park is well secured and very quiet at night. The staff are very professional, helpful and courteous. Although we don't have small children, there was a lovely playground within the campground. Also covered pavilions are available. Hobe Sound Beach and the National Seashore are only a few miles from the campground: beautiful beaches. There are excellent restaurants within 10-15 miles of the park. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We stayed at the older "River Campground". It is over four miles from the entrance, way off the beaten track. Most the sites are relatively small but maybe 1/4 or 1/3 are big enough for a 30 foot or even bigger rig. The numerous mature pines and palmettos do making driving around challenging, and on our site (#109) there was a tree that was in the way backing in unless (at the suggestion of the Ranger) you went the wrong way around the one-way circle. There is plenty of room around the sites, and the rest rooms were older, but clean. There are hiking/biking trails that connect to the boat launch area, go along the river, and to the river beach area where there is a small store, and you can take boat tours or rent a canoe or kayak. It was a full house on the weekend with lots of families in tents, but to us that adds to the fun. The new campground right up by the park entrance next to Route 1. It has been beautifully redone, and there are absolutely no trees to worry about. There are some sites with sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Totally rebuilt campground after hurricane wiped it out. Wide blacktop roads with large gravel sites, all with picnic table, fire ring and BBQ. Pretty, but spare landscaping, no shade. This state park is located on the Laxahatchee River with plenty of recreational activities, including a very nice nature boat tour. We would return. There is a second, older campground near the river, it is heavily wooded, smaller sites and narrow roads, not for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Two beautiful and very different campgrounds. One very new, is big rig friendly with full hookups and the other more rustic, old Florida, for smaller RVs and tents. 11,500 acre park with 13 different natural communities great for bicycling, boats, canoes, kayaks, fishing, swimming (river), horse trails, nature trails, visitor center with terrific presentations for all the senses, campfire circle, ranger programs, 12 mile auto tour. Very fun and convenient cities just outside the entrance on US 1. Ocean & beautiful beaches very close on A1A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
This park is enormous! You drive five or ten minutes to get to the campsites off US 1. The people at the entrance gate couldn't be nicer. I was able to get Internet using Verizon, at my site, and get a satellite signal. I really enjoyed it there, and look forward to my next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
This review is specific to the River campground, which is the only one currently open. We have stayed at Pine Grove and were happy with the spaciousness and access to the sites. The River campground has a very narrow access road, and it was very difficult to maneuver our 35 foot motor home. Also, maintenance was lacking in that there were untrimmed branches that scraped the motor home when driving through the campground. We would stay here again, but only when Pine Grove is reopened. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Not that impressed. We did see 4-5 deer, and the lookout tower (not within walking distance) was pretty cool. But the worst part was the staff/rangers that I felt were a deal killer for us to return to this park in the future. It was clearly a bother to them for us to be apart of this State Park, they were very unhelpful and no common sense anywhere to be found. Several issues were experienced in our 4 days camping, and I didn't feel safe if the rangers were viewing us as a bother. At least this is what we felt. I would choose another park if this is important to you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This could be a great park but at the time needs work. The Pine Grove camp ground has the dump station and one bath room shut down. Also they are not policing the park too well, as there were boom boxes on until 3.30 AM on the weekends.The river camp ground was full with cars parked every where, to where you could not get a trailer through the road with out dragging limbs. They say two cars per sight, but as with the quiet time, they did not enforce it. Some rangers are very nice some not so nice. There are a lot of places to ride bikes but most of the old roads are blocked off for what ever reason. This could be a very nice park but at the time is not close to what most of the Florida state parks are, as far as rangers and the general condition of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Very tight parking for our 30 footer. Very desolate feeling area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
John Dickerson State Park – Hobe Sound, Florida – two campgrounds Pine Grove and River – 24 plus tax – water and electricity. Pine Grove has 90 sites but this section was destroyed by a hurricane and there is limited shade. River is 4 miles in from the ranger station and it has 44 sites but these are well shaded and close to the boat dock, swimming, trails and bike trails. When we visited in early May there was no swimming because of bacteria or alligators. The River campground is not made for big rigs even though there are large sites the road in is narrow and hardly any room to back in – would not put anything more than a 25 footer in one of these sites. It was really hot when we were there so the Pine Grove sites you needed air conditioning until late afternoon. There are some nice bike trails there and the rangers were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Part of this campground where we stayed was ravaged by a hurricane and controlled burn fire that got away from the staff. It looked like a war zone. The portion near the river however, is very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
The river sites are tight and not recommended for big rigs the Pine Grove sites are open and roomy we stayed in a 40 ft 5th wheel. The park is very big with plenty of places to bike it is 5 miles from the Pine Grove to the River. Has hiking trails, canoe rentals, boat tour to an old trappers camp. Great kayaking. Close to the beaches. A nice state park. It is very open from the recent storms that knocked down trees and then they burned the place down with a "Controlled Burn". We are going back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
Excellent campground. Not a lot of shade, but plenty of open sky for satellite use. Huge sites, plenty of separation. Park rangers can't do enough for you. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
This is a nice park in a part of Florida that can be very expensive. The sites are all back-in, but very easy to navigate and good size. The people at the park couldn't be friendlier. There are some things to do here, but we just stayed for a couple of days and didn't do much in the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$17
There are two camping areas here. One up front by highway and the other down by the river. It is a long drive to the camp sites down by the river. The sites are of normal size and very shady. Wild life all around. They have fire rings on the ground. There is a river there for boating, but not for swimming. Nice, long paved bike trails. Bathroom and shower rooms were old and need to be re-modeled, half the things were not in working order. However, it's a very peaceful, relaxing place to stay and I would go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
I think this was once a very nice park. They had a serious fire a few years ago and lost all of the trees in the "Pine Grove" area. We were fortunate in having one of the few sites that still had some tall trees around it. Most of the campground is very barren looking. The hosts also need to do a bit more cleaning up of the sites. There was a lot of trash in our site and dog waste! The park itself is nice with nice trails and a boat tours of the Loxahatchee River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
This is our first stay here so I we are not familiar with how this campground used to look. We found good paved interior roads, sand/dirt sites with 30 amp & water at the sites and an easily accessible dump station. The front campground is pretty wide open but we had small pine trees & palms next to & in front of us. We were able to travel the roadways & park our 41 foot motorhome with no difficulties. The camping area closer to the river has some beautiful smaller sites and was mostly occupied by tenters while the front area was full of RV's. We barely heard the roadway noise and never heard the train during our 1 week stay. We used this park as a jumping off point for several spring training baseball games in Jupiter & Vero Beach as well as sight seeing in Palm Beach. We also enjoyed the river & hiking/biking trails. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
This was a nice state park. Campsites are close together, but plenty of foliage creates some privacy. Bathrooms were fairly clean, but infested with mosquitoes. We had a terrible problem with mosquitoes and no see 'ems. I blame this on the time of year we went (being just after a tropical storm). Also, heat was a definite problem. I wouldn't recommend this park unless it's cool enough to be outside without shade. The campsites and trails don't offer much in the way of shade trees. However, the trails are terrific, for the most part. The beginner bike trails are very technical, but not physically exhausting. The intermediate trails though, were nearly impossible with large logs blocking the path. All in all, we stayed to the beginner trails for two days and had plenty of fun. Also, please note that the staff was particularly nice. They were so helpful in checking us in and providing us with maps for all the trails. I cannot comment on the swimming area as this was closed during our trip (due to the tropical storm). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
The park has 2 campgrounds. PINE GROVE is near entrance and thus near US1 (noisy) and within 1/4 mile of CSX railroad tracks. This campground was the most popular and was very shaded at one time, the hurricanes of 2004 and 2005 have levelled all the shade trees. As of June 2006, the remaining debris has been removed, leaving a very open campground. Sites are mostly level, grassy or sand. No 50 amp here, but big rigs would fit. Bathouses are clean but utilitarian. I saw no evidence of long term campers when I was there. Give this campground 20 years for the shade to grow back. This would be a nice place to camp in winter when shade is not such a necessity. RIVER is about 4 miles from entrance to park, near the Loxahatchee River. Strangely, there are some 50 amp sites here but those sites are too small for a rig big enough to need 50 amp service. For some reason, the utilities have been updated on each site, but when the upgrade was made vegetation between sites was removed, so many sites look out on the next site's hookups. Some shaded, mostly level ,sandy sites. I would not try to get a rig larger than 30' in this campground, and many sites won't accommodate anything bigger than a small TT or pop-up. Some sites are shaded and gorgeous, but many are either too open or too small. Overall I give the campgrounds a 3, but the recreational opportunities at this state park are excellent. Several beautiful trails through various Florida habitats are available, including sand scrub pines, slash pines, cypress stands, and hardwood hammocks. The river is a great paddle (try paddling up to Trapper Nelson's and beyond or up Kitching Creek for a real treat). The local area includes many nice beaches on the ocean and the intercoastal. Bring your pets as pets are now welcome at both campgrounds. If you camp here, don't come looking for a great campground, you won't find one, but you will find a gorgeous state park with lots of nature to explore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
The reason for a bad rating, is that this park received heavy damage from hurricanes in the past two years. The Pines Campground had a lot of trees damaged, so they leveled all of them to get to the damaged ones. This used to be a very shaded campground. It breaks my heart to see it in this condition. The River sites are still in good shape, but you can't have pets down there. Great for canoeing and great boat tour to the Old Cracker Homestead. Lots of hiking in the woods. We love to take our dog down trails in the woods, and clean up after her! A wonderful beach a few miles north in Hobe Sound that allows dogs on it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$24
While the Pine Grove campground in the park is pretty rough and scrubby right now it's not entirely without trees or greenery. Some sites were very open and a bit barren but not all. We like site #84 OK, it was level, had some plants and there was no one close on our awning side but we were a bit cozy with our neighbors on the utility side. In the Pine Grove loop sites 67, 68, 81 and 82 all looked fairly roomy and had some greenery. As noted in previous reviews the River campground has much more plant life and many tall trees but unfortunately no pets/fur bearing animals are allowed. Our bathhouse was a bit run down and the shower walls are so low that unless you're very short you can look the person in the next shower right in the eye; water was tepid. Easy to get to with decent roads throughout and the dump station is easy to access. We liked the auto tour and the observation tower and saw a mother alligator with youngsters off the boardwalk near the Eagleview area. The nature trails near the river were also nice with wild flowers starting to crop up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
This CG has been transformed from a lovely wooded area to almost a barren waste lane with the removal of all "non native trees". The trees & wild life are gone as are the level sites. A soft pile of mushy dirt now is where one must back into & we needed four wheel drive to the get the 5th wheel into the site. Florida State Parks have really destroyed what was a super lovely CG & are now allowing people to live/camp there as their home base. We used to stay there Spring & Fall each way going to the Keys. No more for us !! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
The only reason I rate this State Park a 9 is due to the damage of the hurricanes last year which is WHY there are NO trees in the front CG area. The area was totally destroyed by the hurricanes last year. The back campground near the river is still in perfect condition looks as if hurricanes never touched it. The cabins are in perfect shape also. Still canoeing within the park, great hiking and biking trails. It is unfortunate for the front CG damage, but this will be a beautiful park again when the trees return. A lot of restoration has been done by the planting of new trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com