218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Atlanta State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (903) 796-6476
CGID3724

Atlanta State Park

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   8   9   8   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
The rangers and volunteers provide friendly service to go with the quiet natural setting. The pull-through sites are narrow, curved pads, parallel to the paved road. Towering trees provide plenty of shade and block satellite reception. AT&T phone reception was good, data signal was poor. The full hook-up utilities were good. A daily entrance fee or state park pass is required in addition to the camping fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Stayed here 2 nights. Heavily forested park. Good access roads and pads. Very helpful park staff. 2 boat ramps to access lake. Around 10 miles from Atlanta, TX if you need something. Very nice leaf colors changing in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Campground was scenic, shaded, quiet and relaxing. We had full hookups at our pull-through site #16. We enjoyed watching the birds along the shoreline of the lake. Terrific sunset! No cable or Wi-Fi, but our AT&T cellphones showed a strong signal at our site and the surrounding area. Texas State Parks are a terrific value. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
This is one of the most secluded parks that we have stayed at. Not a lot of campers and the sites are spaced well apart. Beautiful area,park is going through some changes with logging out dead trees and cleaning up the areas. The bathrooms were spotless although small. The staff were excellent and helpful. Kind of out of the way but a great place to stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Very pretty state park, friendly staff and camp hosts. We stayed in “Knights Bluff” section; it was very quiet. Full hook up pull through sites, some more curved than others, but we had no problem with our 37’ and tow. Texas is now letting you fish free from the banks of their parks. Beautiful lake around this park, great sunsets, and good fishing. The park was clean and obviously trimmed and cared for, but still “wild” enough to satisfy. Walking trails were nice, didn’t notice any litter. Our Verizon phone and Wi-Fi card were both very temperamental here, work one minute, not the next. Park does not have Wi-Fi. The only other detractor was that fact that this park does not have a gate, its open all night long. There is no “live in” staff here, only local police presence. There is a bit of traffic driving through at night on the weekends. We were not disturbed, but didn’t feel a secure as one normally does in a state park. There are plenty of deer, raccoon, squirrel and other animals. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it for a quiet restful experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
We stayed here overnight on the way home to Houston. The park is very quiet and has towering pine trees for shade. We were in a pull through with full hookups. The park was not crowded on a Monday night. The lake is walking distance from the campsites and was peaceful and pretty. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Nice quiet park. Well kept restrooms available. Lake is nice for fishing and fish cleaning stations are nearby. Nice open field for playing large group games is near the playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
Beautiful camping sites -- three loops, and prices vary (as is standard in TX state parks) by amenities. We camped en route to Kentucky. This park is outstanding. Even though we arrived after the office closed, our experience was wonderful. The staff at this park was one of the most friendly anywhere I've visited in Texas. The sites were sheltered from the weather within the tall pines, and the lake was in good shape. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$18
We really enjoyed this state park. The sites are very shaded, paved, and level. Our site was close to the lake, so we were able to walk to the lake to fish. The park was not crowded, and we had a large site that had a firepit, grill, and picnic table. This is definitely on our list of favorites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This park is about 10 miles off of US-59 but it is well worth the drive. They have full hookup pull through sites and the staff wants you to feel like you are at home. The rest rooms are clean. In any state park in Texas you do not have to have a fishing license to fish which is another plus to this park. We stay here at least two times a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This is a nice park: has nice level pull through and back in sites. Be cautious if you get here after the office is closed. There were cones up on most of the sites to mark them reserved, except for two. We chose one of the two unmarked sites and went the next morning to pay, then we were told everything was booked and we had to pack up and move to another site at the other end of the park that was covered in poison ivy. We had already paid through a drop box for the first night and they wanted us to move that morning when check out was at 2pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Agree with the others: a beautiful park with big, clean sites. Gorgeous lake and lots of room to explore. We stayed here off season and had the place to ourselves. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
What a gem, like many state parks, it is well taken care of, big sites, not close to next campers, park people very nice and helpful, we have a big rig and it fit in nicely. No Wi-Fi, no cable TV, our satellite dish couldn't find a station either, trees, trees, trees. Very pretty place. Kid friendly but they were not a problem for us oldsters. Have lake, fish, boat, chill out: good place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
If people find out what a gem this park is, you won't be able to get a reservation. Clean, quiet, shady, level, everything we want and it's easy to get into and out. Don't know about TV or aircard as we didn't stay inside. We stayed for 2 days and next time we plan to stay for a week. We found nothing bad at this park from the time we checked in until we left. There are great park rangers, staff and visitors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
This is our 2nd trip to this park this year and we loved it. Nice large sites. We had full hook ups. Site 12 this time, we had site 20 last time. The park was full but still quiet. The rangers and office staff are super friendly and were seen through-out the park. The hiking trails were flooded due to so much rain and the swim beach was under water but the park is well maintained. Atlanta is a short drive away with a Walmart and fast food if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$14
This is another of the great East Texas state parks. It's very similar to Tyler and Dangerfield, and you can't beat the price for full hookups and beauty. Also the staff here is quite possibly some of the nicest I've encountered at the state parks. They really make you feel comfortable and welcome. This is great for just camping out in the beautiful piney woods and relaxing. I definitely will be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
The restrooms were full of spiders. The map didn't show the site we stayed in as a full hook up site but it was. We registered after hours and with the map being a out of date we thought we were going to get full hook up and got lucky. The park was pretty though had nice boat ramps and a little sandy beach swimming area. The park made us pay for two site even though we only needed one due to the amount of people we had. We had 10 people with us and 3 of them were babies they told us we still had to pay for 2 sites. We only stayed over night but I would stay here again maybe long enough to enjoy seeing the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Nice state park. We used a pull thru. We arrived after hours, and we paid in the AM. The on-duty ranger did not know how to process our coupon from the Texs State Park Pass, so we paid the full rate and used the coupon at another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
The showers and restrooms were filled with daddy-longleg spiders, as was the campground. This is why I would not rate it higher than a 8. I would stay here again because it is a very nice, out of the way campground that is very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$11
Superb campgrounds. We stayed just one night and, and not for fact we needed to be back home for voting, would have stayed longer. We are newbies so a pull-through was important. A phone call to the Park Ranger a few hours before we arrived confirmed they had at least three with electricty, water and sewerage. The Ranger who greeted us, was very friendly and helpful. Site was gravel but level - equipped with grill, fire ring and picnic table. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
Very nice, clean state park. Our site was shady and private. Staff is very friendly. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
This is a small, but quiet park with an abundance of wildlife. A family of four racoons visited our site each night. Many species of birds. We came for peace and quiet, and were not disappointed. The park is located about 35 miles south of Texarkana, off Hwy 59. The sites are very large with trees between each site. We pull a 39' 5th wheel with 3 slides and had ample space. Our only complaint was poor water pressure, but we will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$14
Quiet park, nice level pull throughs, area with full hooks close to swimming on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com