206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Trail In RV Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (530) 238-8533
CGID373

Trail In RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   5   1   5   5   4   7   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Nice small park with new manager. Park is a bit run down, but he just took over and is working hard to get it back in shape. They have kicked out some of the trashier people and the ones that are still here are looking ok. Wi-Fi is not working right now and the Cable is in bad shape, you only get 4 channels. The power is good and Verizon works well. The pool and bathrooms are nice and clean. I could not get my dish to work, as for the trees. Only stayed for one night so didn't set up the remote. As far as Passport Americas places go, this will be one of the nicer ones, once it is fixed up - if they do fix it up. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
While it looks a bit “too” rustic, our drive-through site was level, power was clean, and our Verizon reception for the phones and “air” card was great. Best of all, we were able to get Direct TV via our rear roof mounted dish which isn’t always possible in some of the more expensive sites we have been. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
We paid the Passport America price of $15.50. We would never have stayed here for full price. First the good: Nice long pull through site; we didn't have to unhook the car for the overnight stay. There is a store for some food and movie rentals and the man in the office was very nice and helpful. Good free wi-fi and cable. Verizon did not work. Bell ExpressVu worked despite all the trees. Now the bad: the place is a dive. Junk and garbage everywhere and the long time residents sites are disgusting. If management would evict the junkers and clean up the area it could be a nice park. Ok for a cheap overnight stay but no longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
The cost reflects passport. This is the most rundown RV park I have been in the locals were all at the office which is 80% of the RV Park a broken down ransacked trailer meets you at the entrance and everything goes down from there would not send my worst enemy there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
We stayed here for one night at $14 on our way up north using our Passport America card. The park is pretty rundown and there are a lot of longtimers staying here. We did get a pull-through site and for one night on the road it was OK. They did have a pool and restrooms as well as a general store. The location is off the highway, so it was quiet and close to Lake Shasta. The Passport rate makes it worthwhile to stay for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
The rate reflects the PA discount plus $1.00 a night for 50 amp power. Trail In RV Campground has everything you need: full hook-ups (30/50 amp power), free Wi-Fi, cable, reasonably clean showers, pool and grocery store. They accept all discounts: GS, AAA, Escapee, PA, Happy Camper, etc. Interior roads are passable but not in great shape and pull-through sites are large enough to accommodate big rigs with tow vehicle. Location is convenient to Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park, Shasta Nat'l Forest, Shasta Lake, and Redding. The current owner and the manager are wonderfully nice, attentive, helpful, cheerful, friendly people. Issues with this park are its appearance, road noise, and whining dogs. The park buildings and grounds haven't seen any maintenance in years. Most of the sites are occupied by permanent and/or seasonal residents who have no interest in keeping their areas free of trash. But then, the park buildings are surrounded by junk and trash. There are a number of cats roaming the park and they, presumably, keep the rodent population in check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
The price shown is based on Passport America membership. The folks here are very friendly, but it is real country and most appear to be full time residents. Our gravel pull through site was long enough to accommodate the tow car without disconnecting. We stayed here one night to visit Lassen NP. Entrance road into this RV park needs a lot of work so go slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$14
Close to I-5 but quiet. Friendly staff. Wi-Fi is fair, a bit slow most of the time. Good place to stop while traveling I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Let me start this with the fact they had a flash flood a few days ago that wiped out the main entry bridge that allows easy entrance for bigger rigs into camping spots. They seem to be working on it but I'd bet it'll be a while before it's done. It is possible for trailers as long as you can make a sharp cut but would be work for a Class A. That being said this is an "OK" park for an overnight stay while driving through but probably not a place I'd stay if I had younger kids. There are several permanent campers (aka people living here) that reflect the economy of the area, the office and "store" are old and well worn and the management was definitely friendly. There were many of the permanent campers hanging out on the front porch of the office/store and to be honest it creep-ed out my wife. There is some highway noise from I-5 but it is not horrible. We did not use the restrooms or showers due to creep factor. All in all it's a quick stay while passing through and for the price it's an OK type place, more a $10 park than a $15. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
I'm glad I ignored the other reviews. We had no problem with this park for an overnight en route stay, especially for the $15 Passport America rate. We got a long pull-through site (in an area separate from the full-timers), 50 amp, full hookup w/ basic cable, free Wi-Fi (worked well for email and light browsing) and from sites 3-5 Dish rooftop satellite should work. It is convenient to I-5 and quiet, in a valley surrounded by treed hillsides. The host was helpful and friendly. Kids were playing. It's run down and not a campground we'd like to hang out at, but would stay overnight again for the Passport rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
The permanent residents outnumber the overnight campers 10 to 1. Most of the park is covered in junk that the residents threw around their campers, old motor homes, shacks etc. There were several dogs running loose, so I didn't feel comfortable leaving my dog out alone at all. Trash was everywhere. The pool was dirty and I didn't go in the restrooms. I didn't feel good about leaving anything unlocked or otherwise unsecured. This is one I will definitely not visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
As a Pass Port park we were able to save some money on the regular rate. The park is very old and very tired with many long term residents living there in older units. Dogs were allowed to wander the park without being leashed and deposit their business where ever they wanted. The pull through sites were long and wide enough for our rig. This is not a first class park, but for being safe and off the main highway it will work. The manager fellow was helpful and willing to help. The free Wi-Fi was not reliable and seemed to be off as much as it was on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
I'll say this: What did we expect for the rate? It was not expensive, and it is mostly a long-term resident park. The pool was clean, so were the restrooms, but I would not let my kids use them without an adult escort, as some of the people hanging around seemed frightening. We followed the sheriff into the park, it was not a social call, that should have been a sign. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
This is basically a park for long term residents, with many older units in need of major maintenance. One trailer had 4 or 5 old refrigerators piled next to it. Fire rings are actually old rusty wheels without tires. There are about 10 spaces for travelers but the whole place needs a lot of work. The pool was open and looked clean; however, the WiFi was down and the "store" was inadequately stocked. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Traveling up I-5, stopped here for the night because I noticed it was a Passport America park. A typical, older campground with limited facilities, but washrooms were clean, staff were friendly and the price included cable TV and WiFi. Sites were a bit sloped but not enough to force me to bring out the leveling blocks for the one night. If I was staying longer I would. All sites and roads are gravel. My length is 44' and I just fit into the pull-through. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
This RV Park is under New Ownership. The staff is helpful and friendly. I drove there by myself without my husband, as he had to work and arrived latter. Upon my arrival they hooked up my 40 foot motorhome for me. With a smile they quickly hooked up my electrical, cable, water, and sewer! I was impressed with their friendly service. The park is easily accessible from the freeway and well marked with several signs. The lake was very close, not more than a five minute drive away. The pull through sites were long and easy to drive into. I would highly recommend this park to lake lovers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This park was nowhere near the rating received in the Trailer Life campground directory. It was reasonably well kept but it is an old park and shows its age.The sites were rustic and dusty. It appears the park is supported by the numerous "permanents" living on site. We ran into a very uncomfortable situation with a neighbors Pit Bull mix, running loose in the park and acting agressively towards our dogs. A request to the Managers to take care of it brought the response "just shoot it" and a request to the owner brought nothing but laughter and unpleasant words. In fact, they said we could leave if we didn't like it. We would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Small older park. Close to - but not on Shasta Lake - must drive about 1.5 mi to get to nearest arm of the lake (Salt Creek)and even further to get to boat ramps at Lakehead. Easy access to/from highway I-5. Gravel roads & sites. 12 pull-through sites w;hich are too close together. Small, limited store. Restrooms & showers were old but were kept reasonably clean. Had approx 6 year-round RV residents living there and several "permanent" RV's set up for their owner's use during summer. Place was for sale when we were there so resident manager, though nice wasn't very motivated. It would probably appeal to jet-skiers & water skiers looking for an inexpensive place fairly close to the lake so they can stay at the lake all day and return to RV at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com