223483 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Creek State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (641) 236-3722
CGID3735

Rock Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   9   7   8   8   7   5   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Roads in park are narrow but no low trees and you can get through. Parked late at night and the campground was empty. Most sites are too small for large RV. Most sites closer to water are grassy area and not well marked on where to park. They are also sloped towards the water. Would not stop here again. Park was clean. It just needs work on sites, like gravel parking areas as opposed to all grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Great location on a small Iowa lake that allows small quiet motors only. Paddle, fishing, and other boats are available at the marina which is only a short walk from the campground. The campground hosts were friendly and smiling. The tent area is shady, while spots on the beach are in full sun. Many families enjoy the park, and the park becomes quiet at sundown. I was fortunate to hear a local band at the band stand, but they stopped as the sun set. I camp here at least once a year and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We've stayed before, and were excited to come back. The busy family-friendly park is quiet at night. We enjoyed the roads and bicycle path. The lake is full of pan fish, offering fun with those with boats. The marina within walking distance sells bait and rents paddle boats. For a night of nostalgia nearby Newton offers Valle Drive-In - we were there during a model A car club visit. Back at the campground, we enjoyed a nice evening fire in the provided fire-pit. I'd like more trees in the campground, but appreciate the lakefront campground. We will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
A very nice, picturesque park in a wonderful lakeside setting. Many sites right on the water. Park needed some maintenance after the winter; restrooms hadn't been cleaned in a while. Narrow internal paved access roads. All sites are grass, which could be a problem when it's very wet like it is in April. Very few sites are level and few sites available for big rigs. Good fishing access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
Very nice state park campground. Sites are very roomy with good grass. The men shower had a button you pressed with a timed flow that was too short, but I did get clean and there were hangers for my stuff. Very peaceful and away from I-80. Our GPS routed us there via dirt roads, but it is easy to avoid them if you exit at Grinnell and then go North to hit CR F27 and then head West to the park. Good place for boating too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We had a reserved site (#28) with 50amp service. The pad was short: didn't have room for our towed vehicle in front of the motorhome, but parking slightly on the grass wasn't a problem. Rangers were scarce Monday through Wednesday. Previous campers had tossed out our reserved tag and the ranger didn't even look at the post until Wednesday. We left on Thursday. It would be nice if the garbage truck didn't have to make his rounds at 5:30am on Monday morning also. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
OK campground with a lake resort kind of feel. Somewhat roomy sites, but for many shade is sparse and sites are not isolated from one another. Campground fronts the lake. There is a boat ramp a short distance away in the park. This is a good campground if you like small-lake boating or fishing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$9
Guess we stayed at this park at the wrong time. We stayed here on a Saturday night. Park was nearly full and we had to dry camp near the tent area. We had great views of the Lake and had room for the little one to roam. Lot’s of parties going on and the park seems to be very well used and a little worn. The restrooms and showers where horrible, very dirty, the most disgusting I have ever seen! I don’t think we would ever stay here again but it we did it would NOT be on the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
A nice, well-supervised park. Playground was on the small side, but enough for little ones. Showers were clean and water was warm! Our site was within decent walking distance of playground and showers, but same cannot be said for many other sites at the campground. The No Extra Vehicle thing is a bit inconvenient, but nothing that totally took away from the nice, quiet experience we had here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Nice family friendly State Park. Self reservation is first come first serve. There is a lot to explore on the hiking & biking trails. Nice sand beach, good fishing and boat rentals. Many camp sites are close to the water and all seem to have shade. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com