214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Georgia Mountain Fair Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (706) 896-4191
CGID3738

Georgia Mountain Fair Campground

Camp Information
Sites
189
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   9   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Good campground and the staff is friendly. Loop A is the best for separation of campsites, however no fires are allowed in this loop. Restrooms are clean and maintained. Did not understand the boat ramp, they need a floating platform to tie up to when launching. Excellent walking around the roads, keep I'm mind these roads have hills. Hiawassee is a fun place to visit and you will not find a lot of brand restaurants, mostly local flavor. We stayed four days and will mark this campground for a return visit. The campground is run by the county and is better maintained than most Georgia State Parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
I was very pleased with our return visit to the Georgia Mountain Fair Campgrounds. We had previously stayed in Area 1 on the south side of highway 76, however this time we stayed in area 2 which was more accommodating to travel trailers. We stayed on a nice campsite on the hillside overlooking the lake. Most campsites have a great view or limited view of the lake. We were in the A section of area 2, which is hilly, but more space between campsites. Sections B,C,D,E and F are more level, but are closer together. The WiFi and cable both were great! Even with the Georgia Mountain Fair going on the campground still seemed calm and safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
This is a nice campground with sites on the lake and higher up on a small mountain over looking the lake. The sites on the mountain are wooded and farther apart. The sites on the lake are closer, but not too close. We had a good time, but this campground can become noisy if some campers are there for concerts and drinking/partying. The location is good and you can get to grocery stores and restaurants easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Return visit for the BMW Motorcycle Georgia Mountain Rally the first weekend in May. We reserved a lake front site that has the mountains in the background - beautiful! Sites on the lake are smaller and narrow. Good variety of sites to meet all needs. Close to town for restaurants and shopping. Full hookups including cable TV and strong wi-fi signal. Clean, well run, and in a great location for motorcycling, hiking, or exploring. Within an hour of Helen, GA, and Highlands, NC, and much to do to keep you busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Love this park! Great large wooded view sites. Neat, clean and well kept. Hilly and good for walking, biking. Nice pavilion for gatherings. Lake is beautiful and many sites have views. Then go down the Mtn. and visit Helen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Great campground, close to the town of Hiawassee, the fairgrounds, lake, and some very nice sites. This was our first time to camp at this campground and were not familiar with the sites. We would not recommend site A-24 unless you were camping with another family or friend being in A-22. Sites faced each other and we had no privacy and the campers in the other site had dogs who barked a good bit. We saw no other sites in the campground that are placed facing each other as these two are, but we would not go back to that site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
We camped here for the Georgia Mountain Motorcycle Rally in early May. We stayed in the full service area located near the fairgrounds. The park is in a wonderful location near the center of town and surrounded by many places to visit. This campground has excellent facilities. The restrooms were well maintained even through there was over 700 motorcyclists here for the rally. I walked the campground and there is a wide variety of sites from well shaded to sunny. There are lake front and lake view sites. There is a nice playground for children. We will return with our toy hauler for a week stay next year. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Absolutely beautiful campground. Sites very clean and level. Staff very friendly and available. We hated to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This campground is located close to everything in the area. We found it to be easy in and out with no really tight turns. We enjoyed our space (E6) as it had lots of tall trees and was shaded throughout the day. The asphalt pad was approximately 80 feet long and level with no slope to either side or front to back. While our site was not conducive to satellite reception due to the trees, other sites we noticed were available with few or no trees, some of them near the water. Our site had very clear cable TV hookup with 60 (+/-)channels. The WI-FI signal was strong although some camped at the water's edge under the hill could not pick it up. The two shower locations were very clean as were the restrooms. The campground was filled to capacity, yet was very quiet after 10pm. We would stay there again and have secured reservations two weeks away for a concert in their on-site music hall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Wow, there are staggering lake views from waterfront sites and even from inside sites as campground is hilly with open lake views. Sites are spacious, asphalt paved, and arranged for privacy. The park is divided into area north, and south of the highway. If you require full service, be sure to specify campsite on same side (north) as the Fairgrounds. The south side very suitable for tent, pop-up camping, but pretty tight for trailers and motor homes. There are lots of 'events' at the Fairgrounds which causes sites to be booked well in advance during these periods. I Suggest that you call to be sure sites are available. I stayed one week while attending conference in the area and would go back many times. I had a very good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Had a bad experience with this park that cost me time and money. Reserved a site for a 31’ TT, confirmed it by telephone two week before arriving, and was bumped to a different site that was only 35’ long and no sewer. It was a glorified tent site on the side of a hill. Electric and water hookups were at least 50’ part from each other with the water outlet in the grass between sites. Park was sold out and they could not give me another site. I wasted eight hours of driving, $78 in diesel, and 250 miles of wear and tear (half on curvy mountain roads). I was given a full refund but there was no apology or explanation from the staff as to why this happened. We were supposed to be camping with 10 other families at the park. Waste. Of. Time. Lesson I learned? Always get a paper confirmation and record who you spoke with originally! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
The campground is located in the beautiful Hiawassee Valley. Even though is has the lake going for it, I could not recommend this campground. We stayed in the campground area across the street from the fairgrounds, and were very disappointed in everything. The sites were very unlevel and close together. There were many permanent residents that made us feel like we were in a trailer park. It was pretty rowdy at times and everyone had big dogs. The lake patrol were bullies to fishers most of the time. We may have just had a bad experience there, but will not be returning. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
This was a great park with a couple of exceptions. All of the good sites on the water did not have 50 amp service, only the interior sites had 50 amp. My site was fine with the hookups, but it seemed as though most of the hookups were at the front of long sites, or at the very back. Bring your extension hose and cord. Did not try the wi-fi. Our site was not clean when we arrived, the camper before us was not very courteous. The campground is big rig friendly, but some of the big rig sites are not as friendly. Make sure you ask when making reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
Don't know why they advertise this place as being a wifi park. When I visited, the wifi signal only worked at about 3 campsites and the speed was extremely slow and certainly not broadband. Staff was also rude and seemed to care less if I was happy or not. Pretty park but staff spoils the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a beautiful park in a great location on the shores of Lake Chatuge. Most of the water front camp sites seem to be reserved by people for the entire summer, but the other sites are also very nice, though the views aren't as spectacular. We were not able to get a satellite signal, even though we weren't in the trees. The staff are not rude, but they are not friendly, which is unusual in this small Southern town. Many campers bring jet skis or small boats, and there is a good boat ramp at the campground. Overall, the campground is clean and attractive, and we plan to come back at least every two years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
A truly wonderful park. It is directly on the shores of Lake Chatuge. The sites are all over the place and you can have quite a lot of privacy. There is a boat ramp available. There is also a large playground. It is in the center of town, but feels as if you are far far away from everything. I urge everyone who likes Lakes to try it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com