206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Holtwood Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (920) 834-7732
CGID3739

Holtwood Campground

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   3   8   9   4   4   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
A very nice county park. Park personnel/host were friendly and nice. Many seasonal sites but all clean and neat. We overnighted mid-week in E section. During the week they are grouped as two long, level side-by-side pull throughs, no sewer and very open. On the busy weekends the pull throughs are turned into four very close back in sites. There are two electrical boxes and four water hookups. The electric boxes have two 50A and two 30A plugs. First come, first serve as to who gets the 50/30A plugs. All roads are paved and sites are grass/gravel. The rest of the park is nicely tree covered, and we would have no trouble maneuvering our 45’ motorhome. Biggest problems are the bathroom and laundry. Women’s side has one toilet and two showers set up in an old portable trailer. Wood 2x4 placed across bottom of shower to hold back water. Considering their age, they are as clean as possible. The laundry has three washers and dryers ($1.50 each) placed into a partially gutted, old decrepit trailer – very yucky! One dumpster for the entire park. Multiple small trash cans placed around park to collect beer/soda cans. Easy access off US 14 and McDonald Road. A river flows around the entire park and signs are posted stating the park is a flood zone so be cautious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Hosts were polite campground was clean. It was nice to stay right on the river, however this campground is in the center of Oconto, so we had some traffic noise and across the river was a neighborhood that was unsightly. We prefer camping in the woods, but it wasn't a bad little campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Nice county park. Sites are very close together. We stayed in the E section; no sewer but nice sites. Showers are coin operated; we didn't use them. Only 1 toilet for such a big site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
Really nice, well maintained city campground. Overnighter sites do not have sewer but for a night or two that's just fine. Areas around sites are nice and grassy and there are plenty of places to walk for some exercise. Park is right off US 41 which runs north-south, so it is very convenient for travelers. Large number of the shaded sites in the park are occupied by seasonal folks but they are kept very neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Nice park, right in town. Big rig sites are the out of the trees, with no sewer. Not sure I could get my 45' MH in the sites in the trees with sewer connections. We like having clear sky views for the sat dishes anyway. If we were here more than one night, I would have tried to get onto one of the sites right on the river. There's a dump site just outside the campground if you have a no-sewer site. This one is on our return list, if we need an overnight in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
This is a nice, city-owned campground on the Oconto River. There is noise from a nearby train track and the highway that passes through town. Lot of shade trees. There are a few seasonal sites available on a waiting list. Weekend campers are mostly families. Things to watch out for. We have been full-timing for 6 years and this is the only campground we have stayed in where someone has tried to cut the hose to our grill in order to take our propane tank: twice in 2 months! We will think hard before camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
This is a nice campground along the busy highway going through Oconto. Lots of trees. Very few spaces have a view for satellite TV or Internet. There are several seasonal sites with a waiting list. Good fishing on the Oconto River that runs along the campground.We stayed here for 1 month and 1 week in a motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This was a beautiful campground right on the river. There were shady sites and ones that didn't have many trees. There were pull through sites. We had about 30 coaches over 40 feet long and there was absolutely no problem in our accommodations. The manager and his staff kept coming by to make sure we were all settled and they kept asking if there was anything they could do for us. What a lovely place. The surrounding town was quaint and we could have spent more time there. We will definitely go back on our own or with another rally! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Nice park/campground on the river in the center of town. Stayed one night mid-week and found it very quiet and clean. Easy pull throughs for big rigs if not busy. If they are busy you will have a back in and share the power box with 3 other rigs so you may end up with 30 amp as the box only has 2 50 amp plugs. Great one nighter and maybe more if you are looking for a spot to stay, not a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
This campground is very close to my home. They have now obtained new city funds to improve all the electrical service updated for this coming summer (2006). They already started the upgrade last fall after the park closed. The new pull through sites are great for folks who are passing through and want just an overnight without being in the middle of the seasonal sections. The reason the swimming pool is so far away, it's not really the "campground's pool" it is just a city pool that happens to be close (on the same road) as the campground. And the dump stations are also a city owned feature along this same road, but not within the boundaries of the actual campground. We use them (for a cheap fee $3) all the time for our own motorhome. Lovely folks come back here year after year, and many are so pleased. One note: Finding the entrance to this campground is difficult. As a resident of this area, I see many campers going too far north and turning around and accidently turning down hwy 22 where there is also a small day use only State Park (Copper Culture State Park). They are frustrated as they can see the Holtwood park across the river but can't find the entrance or a bridge to get there. Often I stop meandering campers to tell them how to get to the park entrance. Although you can see the campground from the main highway, it is located across the river. You need to drive south on hwy 41 of the hwy 22 & hwy 41 intersection until you see a stoplight at the corner by the Riverside Bar and Lumbermill Art Gallery. Turn west there and drive for 2-3 blocks to find the campground entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Most of my comments will be somewhat negative, but we had a great time there! Spaces are tight, lots of low trees, only one trash area, lots & lots of kids, side-by-side big rig sites. BUT they have an area near the entrance with huge pull-thrus and no trees; the swimming pool is down the road a tad; the river is really cool; canoes are available. The river-front sites appear to have been advance reservations with lots of groups. We were there accidentally for the town Copperfest - parade, food, flea market, arts & crafts, fireworks. People at the park were nice - employees and campers. Definitely a family park. Most units were pop up and out campers or smaller trailers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com