223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (559) 651-0544
CGID3742

Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   7   5   9   9   10   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$48
This is an acceptable, average overnight stop, but I wouldn't want to stay here long term. The park has limited facilities, narrow gravel streets, and short gravel sites that barely accommodated my 40 ft MH. I had to disconnect the towed vehicle because it stuck out into the road. When I called ahead with the specs of my MH and toad, the person assured me the site was adequate. In short, this park is typical of 1970s or 1980s construction. It is also over priced when compared to other, newer resort style parks, some of which charge less. I saw several trailers and fifth wheels that appear to be full time residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
Quiet campground with friendly staff and owners. All services worked well including cable. They have Wi-Fi at an extra cost, but offer first half-hour free. Signal was very strong during that half-hour which was all that we used. Site was level and campground appears well maintained. Would stay again if ever in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Easy to get to from Hwy 99 & Hwy 198. The sites are not too long but plenty of room on the sides for a table and sitting outside and relaxing. Very clean and well taken care of. Shade trees on most of the sites. Our site #50 was level, with W/S/50AMP/Cable & WI-FI. All in good working order. Some shopping and a mall in Visalia. It's about an hour drive to Sequoia National Park, but it's an easy drive on Hwy 198 and as you get closer to the N.P entrance, it becomes rather scenic. There are a couple of campgrounds closer to the N.P. entrance, but don't think for big rigs. We stayed here for 3 days. It's a pleasant KOA and would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Long drive to Sequoia National Park, but not a hard drive. Staff was very nice and the park had a good number of trees. Our site I think was number 3 and well shaded. The park is older, but they keep it up. Would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
The grass was pretty dead, but the people that worked here were nice and friendly. The park is a long drive from Sequoia National Park, despite what the name of the park implies. There is a pool, but no hot tub, unfortunately. We stayed here four days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
Somewhat small but clean with good power. About a hour drive to Sequoia National Park entrance. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
This is a pretty, quiet, well maintained park. The owners are exceptionally nice and helpful. Nice laundry. Good Wi-Fi and OK cable. We will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
This KOA campground far exceeded our expectation of what a KOA campground should be. The facility is old but very clean and everything is kept in excellent condition. Staff is very friendly and will do whatever they can to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. We enjoyed the campground and the staff so much that we extended our stay by an additional day. We will plan our future trips to try to stay at this campground if at all possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$53
Friendly staff, nice park. Gravel roads, big spaces and wide roads for big rigs. Appears to be very family friendly and convenient to highway. Don't be disturbed by neighborhood homes with barbed wire fences which you may drive past, the park is good. Excellent restaurants in Visalia. Ate at Fugazzi's Italian and Valhalla for Danish pancakes! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$56
Nice staff, helpful. 50 amp pull through sites have no grass. It's just sand spurs. Interior roads have no gravel left. The are just dirt and dust. Very kid oriented. Nice pool. Excellent laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Best Wi-Fi I have ever gotten in an RV park. Phone service with Verizon was excellent too. No problems with noise that I noticed. Be aware that the grassy areas (yards) have lots of small burrs. They were easy to remove from our dogs' coats but they were a nuisance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This nightly rate reflects a stay two nights and get one free promotion. It's a good thing, because it would be over priced otherwise. The staff was friendly and there was a pool, but we didn't use it. The sites are mostly gravel and dirt, as are the roads. The grass was mostly brown and in dire need of water. The park is in a questionable part of town, but we didn't have any problems during our stay. The train whistle noise at night is constant so if you are a light sleeper it can be difficult. Our Verizon air card worked well. Some sites have large shade trees, so satellite reception may be an issue. I did use the cable hook up the first day because a dust storm blew through about 5 minutes after we pulled in. The cable reception quality was only fair, and had 10 channels. This is not a bad park, it is just on the low end of acceptable. For the price in the mid $50 range it should be much better. I would look around at other parks if I were to find myself in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$51
Sites are long enough to stay hooked up for overnight stays. There are big shade trees and grass between the sites. Friendly staff. This is our second visit here, and we'll continue to stay when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$53
The staff was friendly at this KOA. We stayed here one night.It was clean and ok maneuver our rig and tow car around but if you do not want to unhook for the night and have a 45' coach, this is not the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
We frequently travel from Southern to Northern California usually driving the I-5. We wanted to try Hwy 99 and decided the Visalia KOA would be a good place to spend the night. We were not disappointed. Friendly staff, clean well kept park and generous spaces. We definitely will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$56
The staff was extremely friendly at this KOA. We stayed here two nights while visiting Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon. It was very clean and easy to maneuver our rig and tow trailer around. Liked the added touch of being led to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
Small, quiet facility with friendly, helpful staff. Very hot in summer with limited shade. Rural location but freeway convenient. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$48
We really like our stay. The staff was very friendly, very clean park. Would recomend that anyone who is traveling should stay here. Was very clean and nice. Had good WiFi and cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
We stay here often to visit family. Don't be put off by the approach to the park. The staff is great, the park is neat and tidy, the spaces are wide and long. We tow and have a 40' motorhome but have plenty of room. It's quiet, relaxing and really quite nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$53
Friendly staff, beautiful newly refurbished bathrooms(warm and clean), up-to-date weather report of mountain area 24/7. Nice large grassy sites. Free coffee. Staff will help park you. Lots of local information available. Stay here every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$48
This park is very old, has gravel and dirt (mud) roads and charges an enormous price for not much. The night before we stayed in a Durango park for $36, which gave us cement pads, grass at each site, nice community room with fireplace. Beautiful grounds with fountains, fire pits, many TV channels and good Wi-Fi etc. We would not go back to Visalia / KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
The price is extremely high for this old park. Lots were dirt and turned to all mud when it rained. Water was leaking in the roof in the ladies restroom. Good place for a one night stop, but I wouldn't stay here more at the high cost. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
We stay here often while visiting family in the area. While cosmetically it is not the most beautiful of parks, we have found everything else more than acceptable. they office staff has been VERY accommodating, in fact, they have gone out of their way. The sites are fairly level, It is convenient to shopping, the Interstate and Sequoia. We look for quiet and clean. If you want fancy, it is not Seven Feathers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This campground is fine except for a few small details. Our space was right next to the entrance. I was a bit nervous as the neighborhood was rather run down. The other thing is you pay a $5 deposit to get an access card for the laundry. If you are out touring you never have a chance to get a card as the office is only open 8am to 6pm. Our site was close to the office but the Wi-Fi signal still wasn't strong enough to stay connected. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We stopped at Visalia/Fresno South KOA on our way to Yosemite National Park. The staff were helpful and even helped us book our next stop at another park. The pool was delightfully cool in the midst of the summer. Showers, restrooms, and laundry were all clean and functional. I would stay here again if I pass through this part of California. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
This park is basically a field at the end of an industrial park area. The sites were fairly level. The "managers" were a retired couple who didn't know the area very well and were not very hospitable or service oriented. They were unaware of an RV repair shop 2 miles away and tried to steer us to an RV dealership with a service department for which they had a "card." The dealership had horrible online reviews (and some reviews indicated they were very pricey). The park's laundry facility was horrible: 2 or 3 washers/dryers for a park with so many sites (and many long-term residents). In addition, the laundry machines only operate using a "special" debit card that can only be purchased from the office during their limited hours. To add insult to injury, they require a $5 card deposit, refundable with the return of the debit card: during office hours of course. So, if you decide you need to do laundry after 7pm, you are out of luck. Or, if you are lucky enough to have purchased a debit card (and had the office load it with the required amount of money to properly wash and dry your clothes), but plan on departing before the office opens at 9am, you are forfeit the $5 deposit and any unused funds on the card. Not a very customer-oriented practice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stayed here during KOA Kamping weekend. The main bathrooms (3 stalls in the women) are at the pool - so they are always wet and dirty during hot weather. It was particularly unsafe and unsanitary this weekend as they were never cleaned. While the check-in staff was friendly and helpful and some staff truly worked hard to pull off kids activities, during the potluck - it was the staff that sat in the only shade. I contacted the management prior to leaving and post-trip - they never responded. I would not recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Were we in site #A4. Very nice people at check-in. Has a store, laundry, salt water pool, bball, playground, game room, clubhouse, and propane sales. Our site was in front row and a pull-through which was 50 ft long. Just enough room for our MH and toad. Site was rimmed by shade trees and was a grass base. We were guided to the site which was level. Cable TV was included and was clear. ATT and Verizon both worked here. Wi-Fi was good as well. Park was quiet while we were here, most people are out sightseeing or just relaxing during the week. There are some permanent RV's but no problem with how they looked. Park was very clean and there is good separation between sites. Each site comes with a picnic table and grill as well as W/E/S/C. There is a Super Wal-mart 15 miles away in Dinuba. There are restaurants, gas/diesel and grocery stores nearby. Park is in an industrial area which is a little strange but you do not notice this when in park. I did hear RR whistles in night but was not loud enough to really disturb us. They also have a weather station playing constantly outside of office for updates. Store has firewood for sale as well as some grocery and camping items. Sequoia and Kings Canyon about an hour away from park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We were originally booked at a park in Fresno but were "bumped" and had to find a place quickly. We found this park in the Auto Club tour book, called them, and they had a spot for us! Very nice couple running the place, friendly and accommodating to us even though we didn't have reservations. Even recommended a nice place for dinner in town. Beautiful, clean, quiet park in a rural area but close enough to the main part of town. Can't say enough good things about them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This is a great RV Park. No road noise or trains. Cable TV and free Wi-Fi are included with nice grassed sites. Friendly staff who showed me to our site. It has easy access off 99 and all the usual KOA facilities. This is a clean quiet park and will make this a regular stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$38
Although an older park, it was clean and well run. The two lady managers were friendly and helpful. Good pet facilities. Hookup are in good shape. We enjoyed out brief stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Nice park, very quiet, and clean. It is off I-5 far enough that you do not get any road noise. The slight aroma of cow manure is in the air, but that is true throughout the San Joaquin Valley. This park is great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Used this park as an overnight stop midway on a trip to the Mojave. Good fenced dog area with grass and adequate space to run and play. Had everything we needed and the reservation and late arrival check-in process was easy. This is located in a dairy area and had the typical farm fragrance. Set back from the highway, so no freeway noise, but some train noise, not bad. Seemed to be quite a few long-term spaces occupied around the perimeter, but it was not a bother. Perfect fine park for an en-route stop-over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
Nice park set well off the freeway. Quite farm setting. Open grassy sites with a few trees. Great Wi-Fi at all the sites. Nice pool, but closed for the winter. No hot tub. Fire pits make for nice campfire. Easy friendly check in. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$50
We arrived about 4PM on Christmas day, understandably the office was closed. We used the "late check-in" option and filled out the registration. We had a 50 amp pull-through, the rate was $51.40. If we had not had a long hard day of driving we would have continued on to somewhere else. The cable TV did not work well, very snowy picture; as no one in the office we were not able to get the password for the wifi; there was a bad smell around our site. Not sure if the smell is sewer or wet leaves but it is not pleasant. The price is much too high for this park, it should be about $35 if the cable worked and you could use the wifi. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$41
This park was just OK. I didn't think the area was dumpy as some previous posters did. However, the sites are dirt/gravel and tend to get muddy from the inground sprinklers. Do not bother getting a site with cable, as only three channels come in good. We used our antenna and got more channels with better reception. The office closes from noon to three every day. Not a bad base camp to see the national parks, but next time we might try somewhere else as they are all pretty much priced the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
Stayed at this campground last minute. Close to Visalia and the 99 freeway. The grass was a little dead but it was the end of summer, There were long term RV'ers and overnighters. Nice pool and they had a store too. Nice hosts and not a bad place for a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Very clean, very well tended park. We enjoyed our stay of 2 months in a large site with lots of grass. The management was very friendly and helpful. We will certianly stay here again when we are in the area. I recommend this park very highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$53
Previous review was right on. It's a fine place for a night or two, if you have a reason to be in the area, but there's nothing to do here outside of relaxing in your own rig. (You can drive to Sequoia National Park, of course, but there are RV parks in Three Rivers which is 33 miles closer.) This is a standard KOA: well-run, nice little store, playground for the kids and all. WiFi is good and strong but make sure you tell them at checkin you want to use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Great spot for an overnight. (It's easy to miss the turn. Watch for it.) Shady level spots, clean showers, strong and reliable Wi-Fi. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$47
Couple of issues here. I booked this KOA after reading how it's labeled "Fresno South." Shame on me, I thought that meant it was near Fresno. The park is actually in a dumpy area of Visalia, which is about 47 miles south of Fresno. After checking in, unhooking, then driving to Fresno and Clovis, I realized it was too far away from the tournment we were involved in. I made it back to the KOA, hooked back up and boondocked in Fresno because there was NOTHING in Fresno worth even looking at. With that said, the staff was very pleasant and understanding. Although they did not refund that first night (I left at about 9pm after "staying" there two-three hours, they did cancel and refund the second night I had reserved. Additionally, I got a nice hand-written letter in the mail at home from the Managers offering a 20% discount on a future stay. For the little time we were there, the park itself was clean and quiet. Not really busy, but the playground did appear to be under repair. Everything worked as far as we could tell. Bottom line: Do not stay here if you have business in Fresno as it's too far away. Staff is fine and park would be good if you're staying in the Visalia area. Neighborhood is a dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
Not the greatest neighborhood but generally a sufficient CG. Access was easy for a 40'; quiet; cat loved to watch the groundhogs. Easy access to Sequoia, etc. Would certainly select this one again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
If only. I've said this to my wife on several occasions. If you could pick this park up and move it someplace else. If only this park were in a different location. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy. But as far the park goes, the spaces are very spacious and are nicely shaded with very mature oak trees. The staff was very friendly. The WiFi was probably the strongest/fastest connection we've ever encountered in a campground. The cable selection left a lot to be desired. This is in a convenient spot for traveling up/down CA99 or to visit nearby Sequoia. This is just the kind of park that you feel bad giving a lower rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$39
Not a bad place to camp to see the National Parks. The price is a bit on the high side. Only 14 channels on the cable tv. Staff was nice and the place was clean. Industrial Visalia is expanding close to the campground but I didn't find it a deal breaker. We would probably stay here again when revisiting the parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$48
We were there one night on our way from the Northwest back to Texas. It's conveniently located for that trip, but a bit hard to find in Visalia. Staff was pleasant, there's a nice store and it had shade (a very big deal in drought-ridden California). Didn't use restrooms or showers, but the park itself is well-kept. A bit pricey, but they have a monopoly out there in the middle of nowhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
Decent KOA, typical, friendly check-in. My main problem with the 5 rating is the neighborhood feels like a ghetto. Probably would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$48
Nice park. Everything was clean and neat, and it looked like they were adding on. We had a nice shade tree to keep the sun at bay, which was nice since it seemed rather warm for June. Great place to stay if your heading to the great Sequoia National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
Nice park. Gravel sites with some shade. Pool is clean, but can fill up quickly if the park is full. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
Very friendly staff members - and a clean park with nice facilities. Near a cattle yard but not an issue although the breeze did bring in a few whiffs. The pool was nice for the kids. The only detractor is the neighborhood you drive through is a bit trashy but the campground itself is nice and clean and feels safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
We full time, so we stay at a lot of parks. This is one of the better ones. It is obvious that the management cares about the park and keeps it in good shape. The water is drinkable, the Wi-Fi is great most of the time and the sites have a lot of room for slide outs and awnings. Nice grass at the sites and big shade trees. The pool looks nice, thought it is closed until the weather warms up. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
As hard as the owners try, and they do, this facility is just not up to the average standards of a quality RV Park. In addition, when the wind blew from the wrong direction, we had to close all windows, and doors because of the foul smell from the pens near by that housed cattle waiting to be slaughtered. It was totally over whelming. Sadly, this park was the only place we found in the Fresno area that was not a converted mobile park, but next time we will look much harder to find a better one somewhere in the area.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Nice family oriented campground. It has improved over the last couple of years due to the new owners. Trains can be heard, but are 1/2 mile away. The staff is friendly and the park is pet friendly with an off-the-leash dog run. There are lots of shade trees and grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Campground was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry room was clean and had new machines. Our motorhome site was wide and we had lots of room for slide outs and for our pets. This campground is pet friendly and well as family oriented. Location was convenient for going to the Sequoia National Park. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$29
The campground was in need of repair. 2 out of 3 showers in the woman's restroom were out of order. Trains traveled by the campground all night long, blowing their whistles, making it difficult to sleep. When making my reservation the woman on the telephone was very polite. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$32
This KOA campground is a great "base-camp" for the Central Valley. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and we would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Nice base for checking out Sequoia, Kings Canyon and Yosemite. Power was rock solid even though they were in the middle of a heat wave of record proportions and every AC in the place ran about 16 hours per day. Park was clean but dusty due to the heat/drought. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
Very friendly and attentive staff. Some areas of campground in process of being developed/upgraded. Sparkling pool. Plan to camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
This is a pretty good KOA. They cater a lot to families, and there seemed to be a lot of things for children to do. The main thing that we liked is that it is well-located to stay overnight on that long trek up or down the San Joaquin Valley. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com