219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkmont Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (865) 436-1271
CGID3743

Elkmont Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   8   10   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We had family from Switzerland with us and had a large group of kids. This place was a blast! The younger kids were told about the Junior Park Ranger Program and we were on! Very educational ranger programs and lots of things to do! All the rangers were very helpful , knowledgeable and friendly! Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We arrived late one evening, got our site set up and drove into Gatlinburg to gather some supplies. Gatlinburg is kind of like a beach boardwalk, so it may or may not be what you enjoy. Even in the middle of July, the humidity was very high. It rained all 3 days we were there, so we never really felt dry. The campers beside us gave up and went to Knoxville. The river/stream is awesome. It has a good flow rate, and generates a nice sound when sleeping at night. We let the kids float part of the stream on some tubes. They loved it, but the water is cold, so have some nice big towels to bundle them up in when finished. The shade is very dense in the park due to the amount of very large shade trees. The restrooms were cleaned daily, but there are no showers in the park. I loved the park, but the damp/wet weather made our trip a bit difficult. If you had a few days of clear and dry skies, this might be an almost perfect place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
No hookups whatsoever are available. Clean restrooms with flush toilets and water is available throughout park. No showers but you can take a dip in the river which runs through the park. Don't use soap in the river! Portable showers are not allowed in the park either! Construction is taking place just outside of camping area but it is quiet at night. The construction appears that it will be completed before winter. Lots of improvements such as paving has been done this year throughout the GSM NP. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
There are currently some renovations being done in the campground. Some restrooms are closed, some water faucets are not working, and there are some piles of debris or building materials cluttering up an otherwise beautiful place. You can get a large RV in here, but will most likely have to make a reservation far in advance as maybe half of the parking pads tend to be small. Some tree limbs were low over the roads in some spots and I’d be concerned about damage to rubber roofs, antennas, etc. With the dump station being located six miles away, and you are supposed to fill fresh water tanks there as well, I just didn’t consider it to be an RV friendly campground. That said it made a wonderful and peaceful retreat after a day in town. Easily worth the extra effort to get a large trailer in here and in a year or so when construction is finished it should only be better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
If you are looking for a great CG near Gatinburg and can boon dock, this is a great CG. Restrooms are nearby all sites but no showers available. Sites are level and natural. Park federal officials at check-in are typical bureaucrats not very helpful. However the walk-around hosts are very helpful. Hiking trails are all around. Mountain stream (little river) is beautiful. There is no dumping station at the CG. It is located across from the Sugarlands visitor center. Fresh water is available from faucets located near the restrooms. There is a limited amount of overflow parking available. This may be a must if you have a big RV and toad or TV. At your site, you must park on the paved site only not on grass. We love this CG and its surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We have stayed at this campground for the last 3 yrs. Never any problems and to date the best place we have ever stayed. OK, They have no elect or water hook ups or showers. The bathrooms have running water. We stay for the hiking and backpacking in June. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Elkmont is the most isolated big campground I've been to in this part of the US. Watch out if you're taking the Little River road from Townsend in a big RV: it's really twisty and narrow with rock overhangs. I felt like my 28-footer barely made it. Don't know if a big rig would fit. Elkmont is the antithesis of nearby Gatlinburg which is very ticky-tack. It's probably the most peaceful spot I've ever taken the RV. Tall forest canopy covers the campground: it's all shade. The streams in the campground can't be duplicated elsewhere. My kids love this campground but they're outdoor types. If your kids need TV, Wi-Fi, cell phones, game rooms, etc., please take 'em somewhere else less quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We stayed in a 32 ft motorhome in June for the synchronous fireflies. Very nice campground, remember there is no electricity, so be prepared. The sites are huge, very shady and spacious. We wanted a river site, but they were all taken. Maybe next time. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Continues to be a great family campground. Quiet and spacious sites. Plenty of room to ride bikes and play in the river. Many easy hiking trails accessible. No hook-ups available. No cell phone service. No showers in restrooms. No problems. No fireworks for anxious dogs. Emergency number for park service available. I had a death in my family and they could not have been more accommodating. One of the most restful campgrounds ever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a very rustic campground located in the Smokies. It's located just a short drive from Gatlinburg. Nice river runs through the middle of the campground, very wooded, very relaxing. The only problem with Elkmont is no hook ups and no cell phone service. It's a great place to go to get away and just relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
We loved our stay here. The sound of the Little River was a gentle, constant presence at our site. One afternoon we spent three hours on the 5-mile hiking loop that starts on one corner of the campground up the Little River Trail, to the Cucumber Gap Trail, then back on the Jake Creek Trail. In early April, wildflowers were profuse and the river beautiful. One note: we would classify the hike as 'moderate' rather than 'easy' as listed in the park's day hike brochure. The big downside was that we couldn't get any cell signal whatsoever (even with a booster) which meant we cut our stay short, as I work from our RV. One day we drove the RV to the Sugarland visitor's center, which is about 8 miles away, and I was able to work from the parking lot as that is one of the very few spots within the park that gets a cell signal...but with snow in the forecast, we decided to move to a campground outside the park to conclude our visit to the Great Smoky National Park. Also, a trip to the visitor's center is required to use the dump station and/or fill your water tanks. Despite the lack of cell signal and hookups, it's the prettiest RV campground within the park as far as we're concerned, and we look forward to returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Primitive if you are used to resort class campgrounds,but lots of peace and quiet. Plenty of room for the kids to ride bikes and play in the river. Great area to commute to hiking trails, Gatlinburg, and Cades Cove. Sites clean and wide. Can be a little noisy if you are next to a generator site, but they still have certain hours of operation. Have pay phones for use, since no cell phone service is available. Store has plenty of firewood and supplies available if needed. Campground hosts accessible and very knowledgable. A peaceful place to relax and look for firefly sitings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
No hookups, no showers, in the beautiful Smoky Mt. National Park campgrounds, and if you don't mind "roughing it", an area you must see. Close to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Very wooded, some sites on creek. We saw the firefly synchronization (a phenomena where hundreds of fireflies light up in synchronization) the ranger said the only other place to see that was in Asia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$9
Even though there are no hookups available or showers, this National Park campground 7 miles from Gatlinbug was the best "non hookup" campground we've ever stayed at. The sites are big, woodsy and many are on the river. Our river site was so very peaceful and relaxing. Fly fisherman, the sound of the roaring river and a campfire at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$15
There are no water, electric, or sewer hook-ups and the nearest dump station is 6 miles away. The sites are spacious, heavily wooded, and mostly level. The campground is relatively convenient to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge but still retains a secluded feel as it is within the confines of The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and additionally is 2 miles off the main park road. It is a beautiful campground with the Little Pigeon River running through it, lots of trails to explore, old growth forest, and outcroppings of massive rocks. It's good for a weekend get-away (being there are no hook-ups or even showers available) or for those who like to "rough it". If your kids are outdoorsy, they will certainly love the hiking, fishing, biking (bring your own), exploring, swimming, and innertubing. As these are all weather-dependent, be sure to bring some indoor diversions in case it rains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com