206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Paradise Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (877) 462-2671
CGID3769

Paradise Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   7   5   8   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
We stayed here a couple of days while passing through the area. The sites are level and are well maintained. The utilities worked well and the Wi-Fi was fast most of the time. They don't have cable but we were able to pickup several over the air channels. The roads are not laid out well for big rigs but we didn't have any trouble getting in and out. Make sure you swing wide before getting to the gates. The GPS will get you close but you have to look for the campground's small sign. Follow the blue camping sign from the highway but turn left at the end of the road, our GPS turned us right so we had to make another approach. The host were not very friendly and just wanted to get us out of the office. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We camped here over Memorial Day weekend. The office staff were friendly and smiling upon check-in. Our site was easy to back into and pretty level. However the sites were small and close to your neighbors. Our fire ring was 3 feet from the gravel road and parking area to the bathrooms. The fire pits were not dug out from the previous season and had weeds growing in them. The first night there was a thunderstorm, our power flickered on and off. The next morning some of the gravel roads were flooded and remained muddy the entire weekend. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned multiple times a day. With the contstant usage of the bathrooms, one out of the two toilets clogged, the management put an out of order sign on the stall door. The other ladies room on the far side of the swimming pond had 2 toilets, but no stalls or doors. Adults and children alike, would just roam through your site with no respect for your personal space. The beach and swimming pond were very small. With the temperature above 90 people were packed on that beach like sardines. Our children didn't mind, they still had fun at the beach. There are a few playgrounds, one is on the beach area. There was also multiple activities scheduled throughout the weekend for children and adults. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We came here specifically to tube on the Kishwaukee River, which runs right into the park. When making reservations, we were told they had a hayride to the tube drop site service... Sadly, it was canceled, the office didn't really help us, but we luckily asked a seasonal neighbor to drop us off, which they gladly did. Otherwise, most of the sites are pull-through & we asked to be placed in a location that doesn't flood (per previous reviews). The gravel site was mostly level & the overall size of the site was large, comparatively to other campgrounds (FN29). There are train tracks running next to the grounds, but only saw 1 train pass. We didn't use the restrooms/showers, but they seriously need to be updated (no doors in ladies room) & they are sparse. We checked out the 'swimming lake' & we wouldn't swim there, it needs a fountain or aeration of some sort. We did order pizza from the restaurant & it was pretty good. Our 2 border collies enjoyed meeting the other doggie residents. We didn't use the dump station, but it looks easy to use as long as there aren't too many cars parked in the lot. There is a gate/card system & a $5 deposit. All in all we enjoyed our stay & would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Very well maintained. Lots of family activities. Great getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
We checked in on Friday (Easter weekend) with friends of ours. They left on Sat afternoon, and once they left we were the ONLY non-seasonals there. Which honestly, was nice (quiet). The location we chose was gravel pad, water and 30-amp electric hookup. It was pretty level and easy to back into with our 19' trailer. I checked out the restrooms, which were clean, the showers were in a separate building, which I didn't go to, but the place appeared to be well maintained. There were workers everywhere getting ramped up for the new season. The only complaint I had was the site did not have a picnic table out for us at the site. They had not completely "opened" for the season, so not everything was ready (they were still stacked up at the beach, and not distributed to the sites yet). We talked to the owner a bit as he was riding through often, and he said they have plans to put in a pool hopefully mid-2012. The lake for swimming was clear, although we didn't swim (too cold). There were a few people fishing- and you had a choice of catch & release ponds or you could walk down a bit a go to the river, where several people caught some decent-sized fish. Overall, I gave it a 7 only because it wasn't completely open, BUT I would definitely return again because of the friendly owners and the potential it will have once they continue the improvements they are doing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Sites are TINY. We have a 34 ft trailer, and I told them so when making the reservation. Got here and the site was barely big enough for a popup. They moved me, but now I was in full sun: not a big deal, just not what was reserved. Also, the neighbors partied all night two nights in a row. Loud music the whole time. Rules were not respected. Fishing was okay, lots of weeds. Caught more grass than anything. Swimming area is a joke. A kiddie pool holds more people. Oh, and there's goose droppings everywhere. We will NOT be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
The office staff was very pleasant. A lot of permanent 5th wheelers & travel trailers right up at the front of the camp grounds. There are U.S. flags at every spot down the main drive. Right past this section are the daily campers where the river can overflow in heavy rains. The beach area is really small, we did not use it. They have a little restaurant on site, good food, no real activities to speak of during our week. Permanent sites have to maintain their own grounds, which some need to cut the grass, but all in all it is a nice campground. It is convenient to shopping stores just minutes away. Very quiet location between Marengo & Belvedere, and only 15 minutes to Rockford. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We camped at this park and found the sites to be much smaller than we're used to. It's a nice park, but from what we understand flooding is always a major threat, therefore, you have to hope you'll be able to fulfill your reservation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We chose this campground for is closeness to our home. It was our first visit to this campground. We had heard from others that sometimes if there is too much rain certain sites flood due to the campground being on the Kishwaukee River. So before arriving we called to see if any of our 3 sites had any water in them as we had had some thunderstorms through out the day. We were told no there was no water on them. Upon arrival we found all 3 of our sites to be saturated with water as well as have standing water on them. There also was a heavy thunderstorm about 30 minutes after we set up camp. We dealt with it as we knew the next day was supposed to beautiful and thought that the sunshine would dry it out. Around noon the next day all of a sudden we found our sites to be filling up with water very quickly that had overflowed from the river. We went to the office and were accommodated very well by the staff as far as moving all 3 of our campers to dryer and higher sites. Later that evening around 10:00 PM the water began filling up our new sites rather quickly. We were told by the staff again that they could again put us in another site up toward the front on the other side of a hill. I think that they should have done this from the beginning! The staff and owners know that their campgrounds flood when there is too much rain and the river over flows! They were very nice and understanding with our frustrations with having to move for the second time. We elected to quickly pack everything up along with our pets and kids and head home at midnight as the water rose very quickly in our site. This is a nice campground and the kids enjoyed the playgrounds. It definitely could use some clean up and updating. It also could use some lawn care. It appeared that the grass had not been mowed for a while. There are a lot of seasonal sites and some of them are not well taken care of. The fishing pond is nice. We never did use the swimming beach as it is very tiny. You could only fit about 10 people in this area and it was always full. It was a very quiet campground. The Kishwaukee River does run through it. They had five or six activities planned only for Saturday. There are no fire rings but rather a metal rusted round bowl type thing on three legs for a fire pit. You can not cook on these pits without a tripod. Luckily we had brought our grill to cook on. Also, bring lots and lots of yard guard and mosquito spray with you as it is loaded with them. All of us have our fair share of bites from the bugs even with religiously putting on bug spray. We would definitely consider going back as long as there is no rain in the forecast and has had time to dry up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The staff at the park is very friendly. The park was also very clean. The playground worked out great for the kids. They had a Parent/Child Bag Tournament and other activities planned. We had heard that the park sometimes takes on some water since its located on the Kishwaukee River so we called ahead to make sure our sites (40 & 41) were ok. We were told everything was dry. We arrived at our site and had to drive through large puddles to get into place and the ground was very soft and saturated. We dealt with it. On Saturday afternoon, the river started to rise and our sites started taking on even more water and the road in front of our site had standing water. I went to the office and let them know the situation. Rose was very helpful and relocated us to higher ground. We left for the afternoon and when we returned about 5 hours later, our old spot was completely under water and the roads were blocked off. Our new spot was nice, and backed up to the park (sites 14 & 15). Around 10pm the water was heading towards us again. We had been told the river had crested, but the water was still rising. The security guards & park personnel were great. They let us know we could move to higher ground and that they would be issuing free weekend stays for all of the trouble. We elected not to move to higher ground and stuck it out. When we woke up at 5am on Sunday, we had about 7" of water all around us. We were on a gravel spot so we had no trouble getting out. The reason for the 7 out of 10 is that the park knows that when they get this much rain, these things happen at this park. We packed up once and it would have been nice to move to higher ground (not in danger of flooding) the 1st time. It is a very quiet park and I would definitely go back. Just on a weekend when its not raining!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
It was nice. We did not stay long, but, it was quiet and peaceful. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
The park is grand upon entrance. Long strip of road with permanent sites. Our site was muddy and caused a problem getting in and out of the trailer. A beautiful river ran through the property and we did have a site where we could see the lake. No sewer hook up but a dump site at the exit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
This campground is very clean and the owners are so nice. Our kids had such a good time. They have a playground just for small kids. There is no pool but you can go swimming in the spring fed pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$75
Nice people. DJ was great!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
Transient sites are shaded, but rather close. Bathrooms and showers are not kept up during day. They will be installing WI-FI this summer and pool is in the plans. Will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2004
$17
Bathrooms were a mess. Beach was to small to swim in, we got wet in the river and took the kids to another campground to swim. Our site had no shade, the one small tree that was there was low and we ended up cracking a vent cover. My sister rented a Park Model and got a Travel Trailer with full holding tanks. We complained of the stench from it and it took them hours to come and empty the tanks. Although the staff was friendly, it should not have taken all day to empty out the waste of the renters before them. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com