223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Mono Vista RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (760) 647-6401
CGID377

Mono Vista RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   4   9   7   8   3   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
We have been here three times in a pull thru. Were there 4 nights this time. Uneven side to side (2 blocks) but nicely in the trees. We don't use sat so no big deal there. They did not hand out any info on the park so did not know they even had tv - but not that important to us. WiFi was off and on but they told me that upfront before taking my $4 / day. Would surely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
Stayed here three nights. Park is near the town and a great base camp for Yosemite NP and surrounding mountain area. Site was adequate for 40' coach with 4 slide-outs & leveled nicely with small amount of tweeking. Utilities were good but water pressure seemed a little high so used a reducer. Our 3 wi-fi hotspots didn't work so paid $4.00 per day to use office wi-fi. Park has many large trees which made satellite reception difficult. Moved on last day and was able to hook-up. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Great spot to overnight along the eastern sierra. Some highway noise from 395, but not bad. Easy access to Mono Lake and Yosemite. Don't miss the Mono Cone restaurant just across the highway for a burger or some ice cream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
The pull-through sites are so un-level that my air leveling system ran out of travel. Too many trees and many need trimming. The trees drop sap so beware that you rig will be covered in sap after a few hours. I guess this place didn't get the memo that California in in a severe drought. They over watered their patchwork grass all day every day until there was mud. They only accept cash or checks so they won't hold a site past 5:00 PM. No Wi-Fi. Make sure you have plenty of fuel before you get here; fuel in Lee Vining is very expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Stayed here for a week. It's at 6700' so a little cooler than other places. This park was excellent in it's layout and maintenance. The shower/restroom building was always clean and functional. Most spaces are shady and ours, an electric/water, was shady all day. There's lots of lawn area and there really is a view of the lake. Got lots of sunset pics on the property. An easy walk to shops and restaurants. The office has a small store with ice. We had a great time and hope to return for the fall colors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is a nice quiet park that is close to Highway 120, which enters Yosemite. Lots of shade trees and a nice dog walking trail adjacent to the park. Easy entrance and exit. Friendly staff. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Nice camp ground. Sites with full hookup are gravel, and fairly level. We paid for a pull though site although they have some that are back in. They also have sites within only electrical and water as well as some tent sites. Clean bathrooms. They give you tokens to use the showers but you don't have to pay extra for them, as I recall. They do, however, charge for the WiFi. When we were there it was very quiet. Would recommend it. BTW, nightly rate of $35.00 doesn't include the tax of $4.20, so factor that into your decision about where to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Make sure not to arrive prior to the 1 pm check in time. It's firmly enforced. My husband was not allow to use the bathroom because we arrived around 12:30 pm and that's during the designated bathroom cleaning time. Wi-Fi is available at $4 a day and the check-in clerk indicated due to speed it's only good for checking email. We forgo the Wi-Fi and relied on our AT&T smartphone which had a good reception. We will not return to this campground due to their inability to accommodate customer's needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is a well maintained rustic campground, with some full hookups, helpful and friendly staff at check in. Roads are paved, back-in pad was gravel and level. Big rig access was adequate. Quiet, not a lot of space around the RV, and parking for our towed was tight. Not a lot of privacy and the RV's are fairly close to each other. Lots of shade trees, so not all sites are satellite friendly. Grass between sites, with barbecue, and picnic tables. We had just a peek of a view to the lake. Bathrooms were large and spotless and the laundry large, clean, and well equipped. Pet friendly with a large pet walking area and pick up bags. There is a charge of $3 per day for WiFi. Lee Vining is a nice little town with a few good local restaurants and plenty of things to see and do in the area.  We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
I would have given a 10 if the showers weren't coin operated for 5 minutes. Excellent walk area for dogs, this park is clean, has tree shade and wonderful mountain air. Has a view of Mono Lake. The WiFi was poor and difficult to get on. Staff was very helpful with information and directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Liked everything about the park. But after paying them over $200 for my stay, I don't think I should have had to pay a dollar for shower tokens. The pads are gravel with grass strips. Landscaping is well maintained. Sites vary in size and are adequate, level, with shade trees. Some road noise from Hwy. 395. Staff is friendly and helpful. Utilities worked well and were conveniently placed. Good location for less crowded Yosemite East and Tuolumne Meadows. Tioga Pass is long and steep and not good for large motorhomes. Good choice if you have a towed vehicle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice campground. Site was level with paved pad with grass between sites. Lots of shade trees. Office staff friendly and very helpful. All utilities worked well including Wi-Fi. Toured Yosemite from the park. Bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Nice campground, very friendly owner/manager. Our site was a pull through, not real wide but had a nice picnic table & shade tree. Unfortunately once you are in the motorhome the view out the front is mostly the gas station rear yard...but not that bad. There are not too many pull through sites so call ahead if you need one. The back-in sites are not very large. Good location in town, good dog walking area, nice store. We wanted to stay 2 nights but they were booked so could only stay one. Checked out the showers which were clean & private. However, they only give you one "token" for 5 minutes of hot water, then you have to buy more time if you want it. This we found tacky, but we think hikers/tenters were coming in to use them also as it states "public showers," so can somewhat understand, but they should let the people staying at the park use them without the token issue. I used the laundry, very clean. Free, good WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Friendly and helpful during registration. Pull through 50 amp site was gravel surrounded by grass with mature shade trees. Table and BBQ at site. Roof mounted satellite dish no reception due to trees. Shower and restrooms were clean, need tokens for shower (free), but hot water limited to 5 minutes per token. Overall a pretty park, would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Very nice park. Nicely shaded with mature trees. Can see Mono Lake from the park. Nice long dog walk area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Respond quickly to structural problems. Ladies, beware. Use shower stall 1. I was in 2 and had nice hot water, then BAM. Someone in 1 turned on the shower and mine went ice cold. No biggie, really. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
Very pretty, nice staff. Some sites are small, limited spaces for big rigs but they do have them. They have a $12 BBQ every once in a while - excellent food! Do not buy the pay for use internet! It is provided by Schat.com. We will never be scammed by them again. 90% of all internet sites are blocked by them - very strange. Useless. We would not stay here again because of the internet scam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Spent our first night in our new unit here. Nice sites, helpful staff, shade, easy to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
The staff is very nice. Spaces are tight, but there are some with grass. It's a good overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Nice view, big grassy spots, friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
The location is not in a particularly pretty area but the campsite is well maintained. There is not a lot of separation between sites but because we were almost the only ones staying there was plenty of room/privacy. The showers were being renovated and weren't ready for use so they rushed to get 2 ready for us and provided us with free tokens. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Very nice RV park; very clean and well maintained. Lots of large shade trees and grassed areas. Has an onsite store with RV supplies and food, a book exchange library and DVDs for rent. Spaces are a little close together but it didn't bother us; we had a nice view. Only accepted cash or checks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Sites are close, yet very quite and clean. Negative is that you need to arrive between 1:00 and 5:00, any earlier and you can't check in any later and your site will not be held for you. Dog run is unique in that it is a path out into the open space. Nice walk, but not being fenced is limited. Great location to sight see from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
The sites were level and covered with uniform large gravel. There was plenty of shade for late risers like my wife and myself. Bathrooms and were heated, clean, and in fairly good shape. First two showers (token operated - five and a half minutes of hot and only cold thereafter) are free. The little lady commented they were good size showers. The electric did not have a breaker switch, which is a point off in my opinion as I want to turn them on after all is hooked up. While only 100 yards off highway, the park is not too noisy, as the traffic is light. Staff was friendly in spite of us coming in pretty late in the day - not easy to do when working with the public. Sites were electric and water only (which works great for our class B) with a dump station being provided within the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
They had WIFI. $5.95 day. Very slow. Water, electric, no cable. Noisy. The older lady that checked us in was a little rude. She said we came in the wrong entrance. GPS took us to the back entrance. She should have been more understanding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Be advised this park has an old 30 amp service that does not produce adequate power to your site. My electric meter registered in the red zone the 5 days we were there. I was very concerned about damaging my electric appliances. Sites contain loose rock that is difficult to get traction on when positioning your rig. The park needs a major upgrade. I will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Nice park with some spots having a very nice view of the lake. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms. Showers are token operated, but these are included with rental. Water is hot and pressure is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
Cash or checks only. No credit cards. We had a nice pull through. Too many trees for satellite dish to work. Gals running the desk were very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a moderate sized campground that sits on rt 395 just above Mono Lake near the Tioga Pass entrance to Yosemite Nat'l Park. The sites have level gravel beds with a very nice patch of grass around each site. There are no fire pits. Open fires are not allowed. There are picnic tables at each site. There was plenty of room to pull our rig forward to back into our site. The bathrooms are very clean. But you have to get tokens for the showers. Each token is good for 5 minutes of hot water and unlimited cold. So we showered in the RV. There's a very small children area that didn't look all that great. They ask you not to walk pets near the grassy areas. Instead they have a marked trail that goes into the desert area paralleling the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is basically the only game in town. The layout of the park is a bit strange and we saw more than one rig get lost or come into their sites from the wrong side. FHU (including cable TV) are only available for a few sites, others are E&W only. They don't take credit cards. The strict check-in time of 1:00 means that sometimes (like when we arrived at 1:10) there are three or more rigs stacked up: the entry drive can get very crowded. On the other hand, the staff is very nice and helpful, our site was very long and allowed us to back up far enough that we could access our satellite internet, avoiding the expensive (and not terribly reliable) Wi-Fi. We would stay here again because of the proximity to several areas we like, but only if we could get our preferred site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
The sites are very close and some of the trees need trimming for bigger rigs. The facilities are clean. Since this is the only park in the immediate area it's best to have reservations. There are many types of sites, pull-throughs, back-ins, sewer or no sewer, tent, no hookups. The laundry was $2 and drying $1 for 30 minutes and the clothes didn't get dry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We called on a Friday looking for a 4 day stay starting the next Tuesday. Patty was friendly and quick, she found us a site with water and electric hookups. The site was shaded and has grass. We traveled with 2 small dogs and found the park to be very pet friendly. They provide a designated area and plastic bags to clean up after your pet. The restrooms were clean and well lit. The shower rooms are individual with a bench and hooks to hang items on. Five minutes for each token for hot water. Additional tokens are $1.00 each. The dump site is easily accessible and was clean. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
O.K. for a couple of nights but it's the only convenient campground to east entrance of Yosemite. Wifi wasn't available for the first day due to complications but worked well, for a fee of $6/day, after it was fixed. Laundry was expensive and clothes didn't dry after two cycles. Nice breakfast at Nicely's. Don't miss Mono Lake guided tour. Probably won't be back in the area but may or may not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Be sure you don't arrive before OFFICIAL check-in time of 1:00PM. Park is well maintained and most of the staff is very friendly. Had pull-through site #10 and got good roof mounted satellite reception. Would stay here again when visiting this area along US 395. Be sure you have plenty of fuel as diesel was VERY EXPENSIVE in Lee Vining. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
We stayed two nights at the Mono Vista RV Park. We were in space #10, a pull through space right next to the office. It was easy in and out. The spaces were a bit tight, but totally adequate. The showers were operated by a token, which is given to you when you register. You get five minutes of hot water, and you had better be done with the rinse, because the cold water is an eye opener! I guess Wi-Fi is available, but costs something like $5.00 per day. The check in person couldn't tell me much about it, so I didn't use it. We drove into Yosemite from here and checked out Mono Lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Beautiful scenery. Nice, grassy area, and picnic table at our site. Pretty dog walk field. Barbecue grill, picnic table at site. Garbage can at site, but not dumped often enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
The area around this campground (Mono Lake Valley) was a pleasant surprise for both its beauty and interesting features. The campground itself is well run with comfortable sites. We had a water and electric site that was a nice pull through. The owners are very informative and accommodating. Our only criticism is a weak Wi-Fi system provided by an independent contractor who charges for it. We had to go to the office to get a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This was a nice little park. Our site was shaded, as were all of the pull-throughs that face the lake that was obscured by City Maintenance buildings. A large privacy-fenced lawn in front of the pull-through sites served as drive-out in the mornings and a lovely large lawn in the afternoons. Our site was gravel and all in our section had nice little patios with a small picnic table (seats 4) and a grill: all under a large shade tree. Beyond that was not another site: but more grass. So nice to relax after a day of travel and so nice to be "unsquished" after too many days of bad RV parks in CA and OR. The only downside is that if you are not here by 5:00, you aren't going to get in. And if you want to use the bathrooms, you have to get a key from the office before it closes. Price includes taxes: don't remember pre-tax price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
As reported earlier, sites are very close to each other. We called about two weeks ahead, and were told only water & electric were available, which was OK. We checked in and was sent to site #43. They have a check out of 12 noon and a strict check in at 1 PM because of watering. As a matter of fact, while checking in, the curb side of the MH was washed, we had to towel it down. The site we were sent to, was about three inches under water. Mama went to the office, saying it was not for us as it was too small and we expected that with size, weight and jacks that we would sink. They said we reserved that particular site, which was baloney. We were given another site which was better. That said, the park was OK and quiet. Verizon cell and aircard connections were very good. As mentioned earlier, it is the only game in town. We would stay here again, as it is very close to Yosemite, which was the purpose of the stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed here on our way to Yosemite for one night. It is a nice clean park. Sites are small and tight compared to our last stay (Meadowcliff RV Park). TV reception was poor and very few channels. The Wi-Fi worked but was quite slow. A pool would have been nice especially with the hot weather. Power was low at times. The showers are token operated and we had to buy more to get a decent shower. They are the only game in town so they can take advantage of that fact. Maybe stay here again if we had too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years or so and am about to go again. I have stayed in my motorhome, in a tent and in a tent trailer. This is an outstanding little park as far as I'm concerned. The people are super and helpful and do a great job of maintaining the park. It is a family run operation. They and the park are terrific. They are motorcycle friendly and just about everything else friendly. I highly recommend this park. The date last camped here is wrong because the web site didn't work properly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Location, location! We had a view of Mono Lake from our kitchen window, as we were camped on the grassy area to the north side of the park (W/E only). No Full H/U were available when we arrived late in the afternoon without a reservation. Most of the full h/u spaces have shade, although we hardly needed it with the cooler weather (mid-70's). The sites all appear to be very level and grassy, with nicely maintained gravel roads. The nights were very cold, in the 40's. We recommend going to the South Tufa ranger talks to get a great overview of the ecology, geology, and natural history of Mono Lake. There is an information center on the main street (Hwy 395) which has bundles of information about the area. One must go to Mammoth Lakes to find a pharmacy, or more than one grocery store. The ghost town of Bodie is about an hour north, given the last 3 miles of rough, gravel road. It is a very cool old gold-mining town, rich in history. We really enjoyed our stay here, 4 nights, and hope to visit again next year based out of this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We stayed here for our annual fishing trip to the Sierra's. We normally stay in the June Lake Loop, but decided to be adventurous. We had the most pleasant stay. The people working in the office were very nice and answered any questions we had. The sites were CLEAN and green. Restrooms and showers were clean. I had read that someone complained about the coin op showers, but the office provides tokens at no charge for the showers to guests, what's there to complain about? The town of Lee Vining is also very pleasant and a nice place to take a daily walk. We will definitely stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
I wish I would have read the reviews prior to paying for the 1st night, I would not have stayed. I, as the other campers, received very poor customer service from the owner. She claimed the check is held up to one day prior to check-in and then when we called to say the length of stay was incorrect and that two days were firm and we would pay day-to-day due to possible visit to sick family member, she said we had a contract and had to stay and pay for the days she listed. WHAT CONTRACT? I have nothing in writing, but a letter from her saying cancellation is two-weeks prior to arrival and received the letter 6 days before arrival. Cancellation was assumed to be the day before arrival due to the check be held up to one day prior to arrival. We have not even arrived and are already disappointed, but our friends are getting married and now we may not go at all and she can keep the one day check if she is that hard up since we received word our family member is worse and in the hospital, I will NOT stay her nor recommend to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Very nice family run park. Shaded grassy spots. Nice laundry facilites. Gravel roads. Would recommed to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We stayed here three nights in a pull through site with no sewer or cable. If there was wifi, they didn't tell us about it. The electric was 30 amp service. The campground is very attractive with clean showers and bathrooms. The location is great for visiting Mono Lake, June Lake Loop and Yosemite. We had several problems with our overall visit. The campground host was not polite or friendly, the site was not very level, and check in time is 1:00 PM. We arrived at 12:30 PM and were told we could not check in because work had to be done on the site. We did not witness any work being done on the site before we eventually pulled in. We were told we could wait in the driveway (or in the park across the street which we never found) but other rigs were pulling in and some would wind up out in the street. After looking for the park which we were told was across the street, we just went up the road and purchased fuel. By that time it was 1:00 PM. I would try not to stay at this park again. Problem is, there isn't much else in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Has a great view of the lake due to an electric/water only and no cable site: no full hookups available. Camp very clean and orderly. I was able to get DirectTV well (no trees at my site) and Verizon card worked great. No ATT cell service. Only problem I had was the campground rule of no checkins until 100PM. My site was available at 930 but no dice. They explained they needed the time to cut grass and water, neither of which was done (nor needed) at my site. So I sat at the visitors center for 4 1/2 hours as they wouldn't let me stay in their driveway area. Also, this meant that 5 campers were all trying to check in at the same time with some out in the highway. Also, this camp doesn't do credit cards, so bring checks or cash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Pretty nice park and well-located for seeing Bodie and Mono Lake. But I have had trouble with an over-voltage condition, causing my high voltage protection device to continually trip out. The owner was cooperative by checking readings in all pedestals, but didn't understand why one leg of the supply read 135 v. which is too high. Consequently, we were unable to run most all of our electrical gear except for the TVs and refrigerator. Because we were not comfortable leaving our rig to tour the area, I rate this park lower than it should be rated. I would not stay here again due to this problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Nice little mountain campground, great staff. The park is what you would expect in the mountains, nothing fancy but has everything we needed. We selected Lee Vining because of it's location, great for a home base for heading out to Bodie, doing June Lake Loop, drive to Yosemite, and of course checking out Mono Lake. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Easy access for any size rig. We had one of the very large pull-through spots. Satellite TV (Dish Network) was marginal because of trees and mountains, but it worked most of the time. Didn't try the Wi-Fi. We were there a couple days after Easter, and the laundry, rest rooms, and showers were not available yet. (Temps fell into the teens at night.) Cable TV was in the process of being replaced. They have a nice dog walking trail out in the sagebrush. Excellent Verizon voice and EVDO data signals. The town of Lee Vining is tiny but has a grocery store, gas station, and a couple restaurants (closed while we were there). At 6,700', winter stays late. The Mono Lake Visitor Center is in town at the edge of the lake. They still have the rule that pets cannot be left unattended in your RV while you are gone. We arrived at noon to beat some weather that was coming in, and they cheerfully let us check in and occupy a site. Very nice manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Excellent site, very clean with nice facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Wifi available ($6) and a laundromat. Nice view of Mono Lake. $28 is a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
A nice park with some great views and a friendly staff. Sites are fine with lots of trees. A great place to stay to visit Yosemite; that way the RV doesn't have to climb into the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We were in a tent site with our Class B because all of the RV sites were full. This was a nice park with lots of shade. The RV sites seemed kind of close together but we had plenty of space on a tent site. The showers were great, you get a large room with plenty of space for dressing. I thought charging $1.00 for a shower was kind of a bad deal after paying so much for a site however. The dog area was clean when we were there and much appreciated by my road weary mutts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This is a nice park, very conveniently located for Mono Lake and surrounding area. The owners are friendly, helpful and seem to work hard to keep the park nice. There are a couple of negatives, however: there are several permanent or semi-permanent sites that are neat and clean but definitely on the shabby side; there are very few sites that have cable tv; wi-fi costs $10 per day and only seems to work in some areas. The trees and hills behind the park appear to block satellite tv and internet access to all sites. And they do not take credit cards. Be prepared with cash or a check. But our site is sufficiently long and wide for us to park our truck comfortably and have some (although not a lot) of space between us and our neighbor and the location is great -- in fact there's not a lot else in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We've stayed here twice (only as overnighters), but had positive impressions both times. Helpful staff (even though the park doesn't take cards, they took my out-of-town check). Very quiet, very clean. Minimal supplies in "Store," although they had the one thing we needed, which was a battery terminal cleaner. Oh, and a nice dog walk, with fresh watering bowl and collection bags. I'm sure we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
This was a very nice campground. We would absolutely stay here again. We travel with 2 labs and were very upset at the dog run that is provided. The dog run is a narrow path through shrubbery outside of the park. Along the path on both sides is full of dog waste. I tried to use their dog run twice and could not return again. The smell and abundance was so bad that I almost vomited after returning. It is not the parks fault as they supply bags for customers to clean up after their pet. I guess the other guests don't mind walking through the filth. I would think the park would take it upon themselves to clean this up for their guests that do wish to take their pets into a decent environment. I would walk my dogs across the street to the high school. It has nice grassed areas for your dog and they just ask that you clean up after them. Another issue was that there are signs everywhere not to allow your dogs on the grass. One of my labs is a senior and the hot pavement really hurts her feet. So, she tends to walk on the edge of the grass for comfort. I actually got yelled at by people that live there in mobile homes. I was not allowing them to relieve themselves on the grass, just walk. Otherwise, it was very nice! The showers are some of the nicest we've seen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Nice campground, plenty of shade, lots of grass, semi-level sites. Ten pull-throughs, and eight of the back-ins have full hookups (E, W, S, TV), the rest of the back-ins are just water and electric. There is a dump station for those sites. The showers were clean, but they operate on tokens only, they give two tokens per person per day (one token is 5 minutes). WiFi is available but it was $25 per week or $10 per day. Very quiet at night. Picnic table and BBQ stand, no open fires were allowed. Gas station next door, but higher prices up here: filler up before you come. We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Great place in a great location. The baths were not open yet but we didn't need them as we are self-contained. Good dog area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Not a bad campground, only selected sites have TV access. We got there an hour early and had to wait off site until 1 PM even though our site was vacant. I know rules are rules. The grounds are grassy, you can walk to town. It is clean, quiet, and the nights are really cool. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We stayed for a week. Overall a good place to stay. Quiet, nice dog area, great location. The reason they don't want you leaving your dogs in the RV all day is fire hazard. They've had 2 RV fires where they rescued dogs. But, if you are going to dinner, store, etc. for a couple hours it's not a problem. They water every day, for hours. Coming from the desert we cringe at the waste of water! They do have Wifi now, although not the greatest service. Goes in and out. Didn't get all the cable TV selections as listed, and most were fuzzy. The dish would not work due to all the trees. When we made our reservations they were very helpful in making sure we got a pull through. Yes, it's cash only, and you must send a check for reservations. Makes you carry extra cash for a long stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We were not impressed with this park. They told us no pull through when we made our reservations. We had to send a check to hold our reservation. For the price it left us wanting. No WiFi, no 50 amp service, pay to use the showers, and there were plenty of pull throughs when we got there. Back in spot was small and narrow. Nice shade trees, but we couldn't use our Dish. I guess they corner the market in the area, but I didn't get our money's worth. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
I come here every year and it is always the best choice for full hookups in the immediate area. You can't go wrong here. Be aware, no credit cards, cash only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
We also have mixed emotions about this park. On the plus side the grounds were generally very well manicured and tidy. Also, very central to a lot of great recreation opportunities. Nice little town with shops & restaurants within walking distance. Negatives: Not being able to leave poochie in the RV for any, repeat any, amount of time is a major limitation especially when considering Yosemite is not dog friendly. Very bizarre and non-modern administration of the park i.e. cash only (no credit cards), don’t do email, and of course, no wi-fi service. Couldn't use our satellite as the shade trees were way too thick and their cable TV really stinks (few channels with poor reception). The kids play area is in disrepair had a broken slide and 2 broken park benches. Our site's plumbing wouldn't allow full open valve draining of the tanks (would spill back). Showers are open to the general public and token operated (hokey system). It’s too bad they’re open to the public because the entire facility is constructed very tastefully however, the additional transient usage drives the problematic token system and makes the facility dirtier and noisier than it could be. We’d be willing to pay a few extra bucks for a site if it would enable them to eliminate the public showers. All-in-all a decent place to stay but it’s not totally capitalizing on it’s potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
This is our second year in a row staying here. Still a great place to stay on the way to Lake Tahoe. Spent two nights here, and still highly recommend this RV Park. Great staff, clean restrooms, and level spots! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Not sure why the last person gave this campground a 6. Maybe they are the type that take their lovely, non-barking dog on trips with them and leave it in the rv, for others to listen to it carry on while they are off having fun. As for the outsiders using the restrooms, maybe, just maybe this is a source of income that can keep the daily fees for us down. We have been coming to this location for many, many years, and rates have not changed in the last four or five years. Will keep coming back as this might be the nicest rv park that we visit. Very friendly staff, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
I had mixed emotions about this RV park. The grounds are manicured constantly including constant mowing and watering. Unfortunately, that sometimes interferes with relaxing in your own space. An incredible dog run available with collection bags, waste disposal can and fresh water and bowl at entrance/exit of dog run. They have a lot of dog rules: dogs cannot be left inside the RV when you take a drive. This limits the sightseeing you can do unless you want to leave Fido in a hot vehicle. The staff are very rule oriented. We met a lot of nice people who continue to come here year after year. The bathroom facilities were also superbly clean but also available at a fee to the general public and that posed a problem at certain times. Overall it was a lovely, quiet park that allowed us a week to visit the Mammoth Lakes Area. They don't accept credit or debit cards: checks or cash only. Be prepared. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Camped here largely on the reviews from this website and was not disappointed. Very friendly staff, very level gravel spots with grass everywhere else! Beautiful restrooms. In walking distance to several nice restaurants, icecream parlor (yum), etc. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Nice park = good staff. Clean restrooms and laundry. Downside is that restrooms / showers open to the public and can get crowded with "outsiders". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
I concur with the previous reviews of this site. We got a grassy site on the north side of the campground, which backed up to the sagebrush and a spectacular view of Mono Lake. Not all sites had cable TV, but that wasn't a problem. Great location if you want to go to Yosemite, but stay several nights and visit Bodie ghost town and Mono Lake. On the day we arrived, Bishop, 60 miles south, was 90+ degrees and muggy! Lee Vining was in the upper 60's and quite pleasant. RV park is on the north edge of town, which straddles US 395 and is only 5 blocks long. You can walk to one of several restaurants in town (we preferred Bodie Mike's-- good ribs). Be sure to visit Mono Cone-- not a geological formation, but an ice cream shop across the street. They don't take credit cards, but the folks are nice and give you your money's worth. Travel note: If taking highway 120 into Yosemite, be aware that the roads are steep. Our Triton V10 just made it, only going 15 mph on some spots. But the scenery is worth it. Also a good stop if you are going to or from Tahoe. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Green grass, huge shade trees, what else can you ask for? Great location for visting Yosemite, Mono Lake and beyond. Will be there again next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Park is within walking distance of Lee Vining. View of Mono Lake from park. Nice grassy, shady site that was easy to pull into with a 36' MH. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great place to stay for one night or more. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$20
On Hwy 395 near the eastern entrance (Tioga Pass)to Yosemite. Great fishing for miles around in the Eastern Sierras. View of Mono Lake. Minutes to June Lake Loop and Mammoth Mountain. Bathroom and showers are kept unbelievably clean. No tents on RV sites but has designated tent sites. Closed during winter due to snow. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com