206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Summit Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (765) 766-5873
CGID3780

Summit Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   6   7   9   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Electricity is a problem. Entire side of campground A (where we were) lost power several times over the 48 hours we were there. A call to the office resulted in a park employee showing up to flip a switch, or something, within about 15 mins or so. Folks we camped next to said it's a regular problem there. Bathrooms and showers have standing water pretty much all the time, from the front door to the shower areas, which need painted badly to cover the rust from the iron water which is the most prominent color in the shower. Staff does their best, it seems, to keep the shower/bath house stocked and cleaned, but the facilities are in need of renovation. Hiking trails are just OK, but pleasant. Bought five green toothpicks that were being sold as firewood at the 'camp' store, which only sells ice and the so-called firewood. There are a couple bait/sundry/grocery stores a mile or so down the road from the park. The park property is nice; however, with a really pretty and clean lake. The beach is smaller than some other comparable state park facilities, and we had the place to ourselves on Friday at dusk. The sites in area A are very large, but some are full sun. Sites in area B are smaller, less level and more shaded (mostly pop-ups and tent campers in that area, it seems). There is a shared-post water hookup for the camp sites, but bring plenty of hose. We used all of 50ft. Lakefront sites were all booked when we reserved our site a week prior. Overall, the campground was filled with pleasant folks, fewer bike-racing children than we've seen at the other state parks this year, and more adult 'group' campers. It's probably not high on our list for return sites, but it's not out of the question. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Very nice camp ground! Lots of sites in Loop A are next to the water or close by. All sites are very good size. Everything clean and well kept. Two things that were an issue. The power supply for our site did not work right. Power was constantly flickering. Fishing was very poor from the bank. Most people there this week fishing was saying the same thing. Will definitely camp there again, fishing not withstanding! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice state park, well taken care off. Sites are not that level overall on the north road in section A, can flood with heavy rain. Empty for the most park during the week but packed on weekends. No sewer, water available, bring 50' of hose, 30 amp electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
We had reservations here for two nights. Our campsite was in the wooded area close to the lake. I liked the site but we had electrical problems. Both my box and my neighbors box would trip the gfci as soon as I hooked up. I could run my generator and have no problem. Cooled trailer down and then spent the night. Park electrician came out next morning. He could find no problem with his breaker and thought the problem was on my end. I have not had this issue before or since we left park. I could defeat the gfci but we decided just to move on down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Nice park, with good trails. Campground has waterfront sites available. We stayed on the waterfront which are in the woods. These sites require some leveling but not bad. Word of caution: these sites can be very windy!! We were here in October and very cold wind blowing through campsites made it unbearable to be outside. Non-waterfront sites on the other hand were completely calm! Just check the weather if you can before booking. Playground available for kids. Overall a good park that we'll return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Nice state park, roomy and well maintained. Eight miles to New Castle and many nice places to eat. Los Amigos Mexican was excellent. Nice beach, shade or sun your choice. Gravel sites, back in and pull through. Cell phone coverage weak but doable. Mifi in and out with Verizon. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Great State Park, water requires plenty of hose to reach hydrant. Can be very busy on weekends, but plenty of sites on week nights. Sites are for the most part level, some are off quite a bit front to rear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
Back again at Summit Lake. This park is open all year. The rate posted is the off season rate. The water wasn't on yet nor were the restrooms open. Water is available from the well house only per the office. Dump station was available for use. Gravel pads level and in good condition after a very wet winter and spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
A very nice state park. However "stimulus" money was spent planting trees that will be to close to the roads in loop "A" in years to come and will limit the access of "Big Rigs". The campground can be very busy on weekends, but during the week occupancy is sparse. There is a beach in the park but not close to the campground as is a boat rental. Shower houses are in better condition than during our last visit in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
We camp here several times per year. Well maintained facilities; satellite friendly in main loop, back loops are tree covered. Rate is for Sunday through Thursday. Out of state residents pays $7 park admission fee on top of site rental. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Very nice sized campsites. We stayed in section A site 33. Sites near water are less than level but have great shade. Grounds are well maintained. We had trouble with the water hook-up being to far from site and had to make a trip to local walmart for extra hose. Also, you share water hookup with neighbor site and water pressure can sometimes be a less. Playgrounds are not for very small children and the geese droppings will keep you away from them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Some shaded sites, not very level near the lake. Other sites with no shade, all grass and gravel out along the enter/entrance loop road. Water connection was a major problem and the water faucet is shared between 2 campsites which can be spaced fairly far apart. Bring lots of hose with you and know which side your hook-up is on. It took 30 minutes changing sites just to find one to accommodate our RV hookup and lack of significant lengthy hoses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Nice family campground and friendly staff. Severe weather struck during our visit and the staff went around door to door with relevant information to keep all campers informed. Our loop had sites immediately adjacent to the lake, which was great for fishing with the children. The beach was clean and quiet. The restrooms were generally clean; however, very dated with peeling paint. We plan to make an annual visit to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
It is off season, so there are very few RVs here (3 including us). It is well maintained with easy access to sites. The rate is reduced Sunday through Wednesday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$11
Early in season water was not on. Bathhouses locked. Always well kept campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Beautiful State Park with very large sites. Interior sites were actually bigger, and the back of the sites do not butt up against each other as indicated on the maps. They have a buffer green space area in between. We were actually closer to the people across the road than the people in back of us. Rangers held nature activities and campfires for the kids, and the numerous walking paths along with the rest of the park were very clean and nicely mowed. Beach was fun for the kids with a very reasonably priced concession stand. Would most certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Excellent state park with very big campsites. We stayed with family and had plenty of room between campers to set up screened tent and enjoy company. Nice, brand new playground for kids, nice swimming beach, walking trails and very friendly staff. Excellent place to stay. Only complaint is that bathrooms had lots of peeling paint on walls. Not a big problem but kept me from giving the park a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Beautiful state park with huge campsites. We went during the week and had our pick of waterfront sites. They said it's very busy on weekends. Baths basic, but clean and decent. Lake is all no wake, and fishing is big here. Only complaint is that pets are not always quiet, and some acted aggressive. Park rangers should address that problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com