214849 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Wilderness Campground & RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-9331
CGID3782

Fort Wilderness Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   3   1   1   1   7   7   1   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The roads to get into park were really narrow. The sites were gravel sort of level and narrow. Mostly full time residents there. We were "treated" to bad singing on the weekends. The owner is a very prejudice, but the manager was nice. The location was convenient to go the the NP. We came in Sept- so the pool was closed but I don't it was cleaned ever!! Don't stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25?
This place was in the bottom two of all the campgrounds we have ever stayed. Very noisy right up to 11:30PM (karaoke, big screen tv, building going on); extremely sharp "S" curves; uneven sites; mostly permanent residents who do NOT keep their sites clean; etc. Even exiting the campground was a challenge. There was another sharp curve as well as a large bump to go over. We had to drop the tailgate on our truck so the trailer wouldn't hit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The campground is old and the sites are narrow. Just about all sites are on a hill. It looked like they never mow the grass or maintain anything. The bathouses were somewhat clean. There is no soap, paper towels, or toilet paper in the bathouses, I guess you are suppose to bring your own. The pool was nice, but there wasn't much chlorine in the water. If you are a big rig I wouldn't try getting into this campground. The staff was nice, but not overly friendly. The next time we are in this area, I think that we will look for a better campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
I arrived planning on staying for three weeks. My site was #82 and was just wide enough for the motorhome. After connecting the 50 amp shoreline I noticed low voltage below 100. My surge guard protection kept shutting down my RV’s electrical system. There were no circuit breakers at the 50 amp posts. The office was notified but did not understand my problem. So, I started using my generator for a few hours. The owner said don’t worry everything will be fine in a few hours. After some discussion I moved to site #8. There was another motorhome on site #9, and soon they told me about the septic system overflowing during July 4th weekend. They rented cabins for their children and grandchildren that had ants and mouse droppings. The laundry room had very few working machines. After realizing my TV satellite could not get a signal, I decided to cancel. The lady in the office called the owner who honored me a full refund of $580.00 for a three week stay. Interesting the RV’s owners on site #9 where only charged $400.00 for a month including July 4th weekend. As, I was leaving the office, the owner arrived and verbally attacked me and showed hatred. The park has about 2/3 of its sites taken by seasonal and annual rentals. Don't stay here you have been warned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
This is the worst campground I have ever been. No way to even get there with a big rig (150° curve on Shoal Creek Rd). Inside the park, manoeuvrings is very hard since the roads are bad and only 7-8 ft wide. The two pull throughs can only be "pulled through" with a short rig because of the narrow angle at the end. We left after one night and will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$59
The cabins here were in the worst condition! The owner and staff were rude and hateful. The plumbing leaked everywhere. The sheets were dirty: yuk. I would not recommend this place. What a disaster. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Convenient campground to Cherokee Indian Museum and Cherokee Indian Sites. Office personnel was very friendly and helpful. They had our paperwork and site picked out for us when we arrived. Ice cream was not kept stocked in store. Bathrooms were old. Laundry room was small for size of park but machines were kept in good condition. It was tight getting into and out of our site and not the most level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
This campground is a nice, no frills place to stay. We arrived and found the gentleman in the office to be very courteous and helpful. The office is stocked with some essentials to save a trip to town for incidentals. We were directed to a pull-thru at the very top of the last row (#50) and found it asphalt surfaced and very level. We noticed other sites that would be difficult to access with a bigger unit, some of them short and sloping enough that would give problems in leveling. Satellite reception is an iffy proposition as most sites are shaded by tall trees. Free WIFI is availble although the signal was weak at our site, but it did work. The tv cable signal was very clear with 36 channels, most of them good ones. There is a $3 charge per day for the tv cable connection. The water/sewer/electric hookups seemed well placed for most units. Picnic tables and fire rings were at each site. There is a swimming pool and childrens play area with playground equipment, both appeared to be well maintained. There was an abundance of permanent residents, but most of their sites were well kept and the campground was quiet with nobody loitering that we noticed. I would have given the park a higher rating had the cable connection been free. We would stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
The worst campground I've ever stayed at! Dog messes in my campsite. Loose dogs and kids harassed my dogs and myself. They constantly visited my campsite and bothered us. Paid for Wi-Fi and it wouldn't work and they wouldn't give me my money back. Red soil ended up on carpet inside the RV (not the owners' fault). Noisy! Yuck!! Just an awful experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The restrooms were always dirty. The staff was never in the office, and they were not helpful. They did not have signs with the proper messages. They put us at our site then they would unhook our water to clean bathrooms without informing us. The shutdown both bath houses for a 24-hour period. But the bathhouses still were not clean. The signs to get to the Park were not in the proper place to get there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The sites are a little close, the laundry was not really too clean but the price of the machines was so low it made up for it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
This park is quiet and away from the town. The sites are set up for long term campers. The park is not set up for Big Rigs (only a few 50 amp service sites, and poor road design) The bathrooms and showers were not clean and appeared to have just been opened for the season. The park has a very friendly staff, but difficult to locate them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
We just used the park as a base camp, There were mostly full timers there. Restrooms were small but clean. Pool was emptied for the season but looked well kept. Store was also a bit small and a bare. The sites were nice and for the most part level. Cable Tv worked with out problems. Would stop again if in the area. Its out of the way and quiet!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This campground had some damage from heavy rain before we camped even with work on going the staff were very friendly, they are trying to update, nice campground in the Smokies close to everything.would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
This is the worst park we have ever visited in all of our travels. The cable had no reception (which you have to pay extra for), and the manager was hateful about fixing it which he never did. The park is very unkept, has terrible access, and unlike all the other North Carolina parks is extremely unfriendly. To sum it up avoid this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Expensive for such a below average park. Although the restrooms were clean, bowls occasionly plugged up, paper ran out, etc and very slow repsonse to problems. Our 30amp box kept losing power and after a week still had not been fixed. About two thirds of the sites are permanent trailers, with many of them in an advanced state of deterioration. Sites were not mowed and generally this seems to be a campground where not much of the income is put back into the park. It's redeeming qualitys are that it is well off the highway and very quiet and the pool is immaculate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com