223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Codorus State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (717) 637-2816
CGID3794

Codorus State Park

Camp Information
Sites
185
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   7   5   10   7   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Nice, large campground. The sites in the woods are nice but most of those don't have electric. We chose one of the electric sites out in the field. Very nice bathhouses and plenty of places to hike. Large swimming pool within (long) walking distance. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Do be aware of ample poison ivy at some sites. Not hard to avoid if you know what it looks like but watch the kids! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Camped there a couple nights during the week. It was very quiet and restful. Camp hosts were very helpful and courteous. We camped on site 120 ( a back-in site) which required at least 8" of leveling for the back axles of my Class C. Bath houses were clean and close by. Firewood was available at reasonable prices. We plan to return in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Our site was pretty level and I only had to add 3" of lift for the system in the MH to level it out. Some sites were pretty bad. We had a 50 amp site and it cost no more than the 30 amps sites. There are only a few of the 50 amp sites available and they are not marked on the map. As about one when you check in. Bathrooms and showers were clean and had good hot water but had a faint aroma of the pachyderm house of a few zoos I've been to. Not unpleasant but there. They have paved roads with gravel sites. Verizon MiFi works fine but no local Wi-Fi. They have a nice swimming pool but you have to pay extra for that. They have a dump station. All in all a nice park. Senior discounts are available but the price we paid does not reflect that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We had horrible sites. They were not level at all (paved but on a hill and sloped). There was no picnic table (it was located on top of the hill behind us and that camper had taken up 2 tables!) and our fire ring was up on the hill above our camper. But, these were last minute reservations and we didn't have a choice of sites. We toured the campground to look for better sites for our next visit. They do have some really nice sites. We visited the pool just to check it out and will use it the next trip. It looks fantastic! So, as long as you are careful with the site you pick this could really be a nice campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
The good on this park is nice lake setting. D loop was very shady and room between sites. We had a pet so were not able to get an electric site. Apparently they can't let a pet around people without pets. Strange layout: not so good about this park. We ended up with a site with no hookups for $27/night. Way too much for that. The pet noise and leash rules were not enforced. The site next to us had three dogs that ran loose until another camper told them to get them. Then the youngest dog barked constantly. The speed limit in the park was supposed to be 15, but we had cars driving by doing at least 35, including the police. I certainly would never let my child walk or ride a bike here. This could be a great place to family camp if the rules were enforced. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This campground is part of the PA State Park system. Always very clean, abundant grassy areas, and the people are always very nice to deal with. Many campground hosts are available to help you. Downfall is you can only have one vehicle per site, so an alternate vehicle needs to be parked in the overflow parking area. It's not a far walk to any of the parking lots, so it's not a huge deal. Swimming pool is not in the campground, but very close by. There is a variety of full sun, or full shade sites. Pets are permitted on certain sites. Plenty of activities for children to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a nice state park. We stayed in B loop which is wooded and shady versus D loop which is a meadow. Sites are fairly level and have electric (30amp or 50amp) only. They do not have "pet loops", so you cannot walk your dog all the way around a loop, but the walking areas are clearly marked on their map. The lake is nice; you can rent boats, kayaks or canoes. We did not use the pool, but it looked nice. They charged a fee. You can swim in the lake as an alternative. The park is very close to Hanover, PA, where you can visit two pretzel factories. We highly recommend Clair's restaurant. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
What an incredibly well maintained State Park! Staff and hosts were pleasant and genuinely took an interest in our enjoyment of the campgrounds. Took my girlfriend for her first night out camping in anything and she thoroughly enjoyed it. :-) We were lucky enough to get B65 very near the very clean restroom/utility sinks. (Loop hosts were near there in case of a problem). Site was slightly less than level, but nothing that couldn't be handled. Our site with electric was spot on, cleaned and ready to have a guest. Guests near us all abided by quiet hours, and we slept like babies. This park has earned a RETURN mark on my Google Earth list of sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
We loved this park. Clean and well kept, beautiful mowed lawns in open site areas. Helpful staff. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
$28 is full electric rate. The July 2009 review is a very descriptive review. Nice state park, but some sites are not suitable for MHs due to the incline. We asked and were allowed to drive through and pick a site first. Just beware that making the swing from the exit road to entrance is very tight. Bat-wing reception and Verizon broadband were very good in D loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
This is a fairly typical PA State Park campground: no water or sewer hook-ups, just electric. Water isn't a problem as there are numerous water faucets throughout the park where you can quickly fill your fresh water tank on the way in. The 'D' Loop is wide open with only young saplings so, if you don't have AC you might want to try and get a site in the A-C loops that are in the woods. Very nice state park: worth the visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We enjoyed our stay at this Pennsylvania State Park campground. Most of the campground is located in shade/partial shade (loops A-C) and most seem to have power (loops B-D). We have a 40' coach and weren't sure we could navigate into spots in the A-C loops so we stayed in the wide open space D loop which has 50 amp power and hard surface parking pads. However, driving through C to get to D we counted at least 20 sites that were workable for us. Next time we may stay in the shaded C loop although power there is 30 amps but it is noticeably cooler. The park appeared to be well maintained and quiet. We stayed Sun-Tue and most of the spots throughout the park were empty. I'm not sure how busy it is on a Fri-Sun. Restrooms/showers were clean. The adjoining 1200+ acre lake is absolutely beautiful. We did take advantage of the $4.50 per night senior citizen (62+) discount. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Cost with senior discount $22. This 3,452 acre campground is on land once owned by the Glatfelter Paper Company. The 1,245 acre Lake Marburg has 26 miles of shoreline for boating, fishing and one small cove for scuba diving. Sailing is one of the favorite things to do on this lake. You can not swim in the lake because the Paper Company and the town of Spring Grove are allowed to use the lake for their own needs so the lake rises and falls drastically. The campground has next to it for a price a public swimming pool sitting on the lake that is over a half an acre so 1000 swimmers can use the pool at the same time. The park also has 6.5 miles of trails for bikes and 19 miles of hiking trails. There are four loops for camping plus a special tenting area on a non paved road. Loop A has no electric and loops B,C and D have a mixture of electric 30 and 50 amps and non electric. We were in loop C and our site was not level but riding around the park there are sites that are level but you can not tell by looking at the sites. Loops B, and most of loop C are in the woods near restrooms and water. While Loop D is in the meadow with open sites and these are better for the larger campers but still not all level. This is a nice campground and we would stay here again the restrooms are older but they were clean and we found the check-in process to be excellent with very friendly volunteers or park workers. Check-in is 3 but we were able to arrive near noon and get in with not any problems. Places to visit – The Heritage Rail Trail in York 21 miles to the Mason Dixon Line in Maryland where one can pick up another 20 mile rail trail the Northern Central Railroad Trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Not a bad park. We were disappointed in the limited pet spots available and the lack of electric at most of the sites. Got pretty hot during the day and it would have been nice to run the AC for a few hours. Normally I would run the generator, but our neighbors' picnic table was actually right behind our motorhome so I thought it would be rude for them to breath the exhaust and listen to my generator during their vacation. Also, lots of restrictions on were you could walk your dog. If you don't like dogs then this would be a good place for you. Probably won't go back just due to the pet restrictions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
The sites here are nice, and the park scenic. They have a nice mountain biking trail area, some pretty hiking trails (although crowded), and the lake is beautiful. On the negative side, I think our cost of $25 for a pet site with no hookups was ridiculous, the woman at the checkin booth was grouchy, and the bathrooms were old and dirty. Fortunately, none of the negatives effected us after we checked in! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
The price reflects being a non-resident. As we liked the park and location so much they allowed us to switch to a weekly rate. Only lack of water and sewer kept this campground from a five star rating. Campground was clean, well located, and personnel were very nice. We encountered none of the negatives of the previous reviews. We loved having the units with pets in a separate area. Big rigs sites are in a large open area. Campground host provided maps and excellent information about the area. The campground offered many activities, but we were there to see the nearby attractions of Gettysburg and Lancaster. Codorus is much more reasonable than than anything in Gettysburg and Lancaster. We rode the Rail Trail from York PA to the Mason-Dixon line. One of the best Rail Trails we have used. We would most definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
I rated it low but we liked this park a lot. Its gorgeous, quiet & has lots to do. It's actually very close to home so it makes a nice getaway, & I can still keep close to my business when I need to. I will camp here again. You can only have 1 vehicle at each site, & God forbid you touch a single blade of grass with a tire. Now most sites are very long but we have 40' of camper & a crew cab dually. We are long & wide. Blacktop space gets eaten up real quick. My only complaint about this place was the "Campground Host Parking Nazi" & the way handicap placards don't mean squat in this DCNR Government owned park. They do have Handicap sites, & handicap parking spaces at the bath houses but I was quite annoyed with the "Campground Host Nazi" in our area. We had a visit from my parents & their friends , all over 80 years old & in a handicap placarded vehicle. Two of them were disabled. They pulled up in front of our site & before they could step one foot out of the vehicle, the "Nazi" was running toward us telling them they had to move the vehicle, they couldn't park there. There were handicap spaces not 50 ft away at the bath houses, but he made them park all the way down around the corner & walk better than 1/2 mile back to the camper. Naturally being much younger & better able , we parked it for them, but I am appalled at the way our handicap seniors were treated in a DCNR park. the next time we went there they actually had a paper telling you how to properly park your vehicle as not to touch the grass,(which desperately need mowed both times we were there) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Generally the park was OK but man oh man were the men's restrooms NASTY! And when they cleaned them it consisted of wiping them down with water or something, but did not include any sort of cleaner. And although they do accept pets, they are not allowed to be walked through the paved portions of the campground, only in designated areas-this severely limits the normal "walking the dog" walks. Oh well, live and learn. I will not be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
Very nice state park. Site was level a good size. Swimming pool was huge and not crowded at all during the weekdays. Pool can get pricey at $4/person considering it only cost $14/night for campsite. Heard it can get very crowded on weekends too.(1900 capacity). Very close to Hanover, Gettysburg, (took a day trip there), and York. Overall a great cg. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
Our family really enjoyed Codorus campground. We liked the fact that quiet hours began at 9:00pm and just about everyone was good about observing them. Those that didn't were quiet by 10:00, which is what most parks tend to have as a start to their quiet hours. The sites were wooded and well maintained. The staff did frequent patrols and our campground host was very helpful. There was never a line for the showers and the bathrooms were always clean and stocked with soap and toilet paper. We enjoyed Codorus State Park and would stay there again in the future. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
This campground includes a large number of spacious and wooded sites, a huge swimming pool (for which an extra fee is charged, a fee discounted for campers), a number of weekend (ranger-naturalist-type) activities, miles of hiking, biking and equestrian trails, a disc golf course, and abundant recreational opportunities on the 1275 acre Lake Marburg. The campground appeared to be well patrolled, the staff was quite helpful and friendly, and quiet hours were truly quiet. Although our family prefers campgrounds that are a bit more compact (access to many of Codorus's facilities requires either very long walks or driving), we had a most enjoyable stay at this large and well-maintained state park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
This is one of my favorite State Park Campgrounds. Site #62 is the best if your looking to a great tent site. It has both shade and sun. My kids loved riding their bikes in front of our site with us being able to watch. It was very quiet this time of year there. The place was very pretty and had more of a fall feel in spring. The bathroom was just a skip from our site. The workers here were very nice. Can't wait to camp here again!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
Great campground, no problems at all. We were worried 2 families with 8 kids next site over. At 10 which is quiet hour we did not hear anything.We will most certainty return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
This is nice state park in a central location. There are plenty of big sites so we had no issues. Pets sites are limited and together to prevent "issues" - VERY nice! There could be more water stations. The park is adding more electric sites. Most of the sites are paved and LEVEL! Beautiful looking pool (HUGE) that was not open being early in the season. Other campers were nice friendly and no issues were noted. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
This was an excellent experience. The camp sites are spacious and very clean. The baths where clean. The Sunday morning worship service was nice - the kids had a good time. The only down fall was the pool area. This is a state park so the pool was very, very, crowded. Otherwise kudos to Codorus. We will definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
Codorus State Park is a nice place to stay. They have very nice trails and the lake is great. We stayed in the pet area of the campground. No problems were experienced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
The park itself is very pretty, sites are nice and large. Beautiful lake. Bath houses were inadequate, only 1 bath house with 2 showers in very large loop, not filthy but not the greatest condition. Totally unprofessional staff. Extremely rude and downright mean and hateful. They were incompetent at their jobs and obviously hated doing what they do for a living. For this reason we will never go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$19
Large, grassy sites in both sun and shade. Wonderful place to go canoeing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
Many sites have a fair amount of slope to them, especially in D loop; sites are electric only or no hook-up Sites in D loop are out in the open, other loops are wooded. This park prohibits alcohol and pets except in a handful of specific sites and pets are defined as dogs, cats, birds, hamsters and any/all other animals. We had been turned away from another no-pets-of-any-kind PA state park for our indoor cats but we ended up in a pet approved site at this park. Close to Gettysburg and Harley-Davidson (and other) factory tours in York. We also made a longish (65 miles) day trip to Harper's Ferry and Antietam. Lake Marburg is a big lake in the park but not close to the campground. Bathrooms were relatively clean. Dump station is roomy and well organized, it has two ports and potable water. Nice park, annoying pet policy but pretty and quiet; we might stay here again. Fees for out-of-staters are $16 mid-week and $19 week end. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$17
Another good Pennsylvania state park. Sites 145 to 185 (D loop) have no shade but are on a nice grassy slope. Best PA state park closest to Gettyburg. The park encompasses Lake Marburg which is a pleasent lake. We will be back, see you then. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
Potentially nice park, marred by hostile staff. I reserved and paid in advance for four nights, with the specific understanding that I was getting a water & electric hookup. Arrived at the park with an empty water supply tank (saves fuel), only to discover there were NO water hookups, and the closest hydrant was about 200 feet away. As it happens I carry only 150 feet of hose. A neighbor was kind enough to lend me hose so I could fill the tank. Driving my tow vehicle out of the park, I started to take what looked like the most obvious way out, past the check-in booth. Two beer-bellied, uniformed types leapt in front of my truck, yelling "What do you think you're doing?" in a hostile manner. I was expecting them to draw guns, from the tone of voice. It seems there is a labyrinthine route that you are expected to use to exit the park, and it is marked only by a tiny roadside sign, less than 8 x 10 inches and down at ground level. When I returned from my day activity, it was starting to rain, and between that, the lack of water and the nasty park rangers I decided to pull up stakes and leave, blowing off over $50 in prepaid fees. I don't think I'll return here, voluntarily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com