220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Movietown RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (601) 859-7990
CGID3803

Movietown RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   8   5   5   7   8   6   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
Check-in was very quick and efficient. This may be the best place to stay in the area. Sites are roomy and the layout of the campground is good except for the unlevel sites. Wi-Fi was slow to very slow, but we were usually able to get our basic online stuff done. Staff and campers were exceptionally friendly. We were treated to a nearby hot air balloon rally (we counted 15). Downtown Canton has a lot of neat old buildings. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This park is filled with day workers and seasonals/permanents. There weren’t very many RV sites available for RVers looking for an overnight stop. The roads and sites are gravel and the sites were very unlevel front to back. The majority of the sites were pull-throughs. Drive in, pick a site and get set up, and then go back to the office to pay. The spacing between the sites was decent. There were no picnic tables or fire rings. This is a basic RV park and OK for an overnight stop as long as you can deal with the front to back slope of the sites. We were in the back of the park and couldn’t get their Wi-Fi to work for us. Our nightly rate of $24 was the Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
Basic park. Pick your own space and let office know. Appears to have a number of permanant spaces. Nice park away from highway. Good overnight spot. Would stay again. Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
Has all you need. Management nice. Good Wi-Fi and satellite. Pick you own spot with plenty of pull thrus. All facilities at office area only. Would return as stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Convenient for an overnight stop. Sites are well space with grass in between, but absolutely no shade. Completely first come/first serve; pick a spot and put cash in an envelope (provided) and slide under office door. Office/shower house/dumpsters are at least 50 yards from the closest spot and 200 yards from the farthest. Wi-Fi was slow and became almost useless during peak time. Lots of long-termers with rough looking campers, but quiet. Will only stop here again as a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Gravel roads with very uneven spots. The park is full of workers or people/families living in the park. No one was in the office, but we were pleasantly surprised to find the Good Sam rate posted with the envelopes to put payment through the door. Wi-Fi worked great! Very few spots are available for transients which is a shame, because the park is in a perfect location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Park has gravel parking sites and the pull through sites are very unlevel: high and low. The park is very clean, with what appear to be long termers or transient workers. The signs are not clearly marked and the street name appears changed on the web site, but not on street signs. The staff was very nice. This was okay for an over night, on the way to Red Bay, Tiffin Motor Homes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
This is a nice park, sites are long and wide. There are drainage ditches at each site, but do not pose a problem. No noise from the interstate! Close enough to town for all your needs. We went into town to eat lunch, at Hot N Tasty, a new restaurant which opened about four months ago but the food is great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
We were looking for a mid-Mississippi spot for one night, and this fit the bill. Good pull-throughs, ease of access. Contrary to earlier reviews, we found the sites to be close to level, no gymnastics required leveling. And the "ditches" cited by some reviewers are actually part of an extensive and well designed drainage system allowing the gravel sites to remain solid and safe in any rains. These "ditches" do not pose any navigation or maneuvering issues. Good place to overnight; well maintained, clean, and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
I would have liked to give this campground a better rating, with a little effort it could be a very nice RV park. We stopped for one night, but due to mechanical issues had to stay longer. Pros: Convenient to Interstate but far enough off the highway to be quiet; full hookup sites; sites are wide enough and long enough for big rigs; clean, modern restrooms and laundry. Cons: The sites are quite sloppy. Large ditches take up to 1/3 of your site. Many sites have considerable erosion into the ditches, leaving large bare spots. The sewer connection, located at the very back of the site, is a foot above ground level making draining your tanks a fiddly business. There are fire ant nests everywhere and no sign that management tries to control them. A "stray" hound is fed and cared for by one of the permanent residents (with the knowledge and consent of the campground owners) and it wanders the campground leaving deposits on any site he chooses. The restroom/laundry is located at the office making it about a quarter mile hike from the campground sites. The physical layout of the site made setting up a bit tricky so that the door didn't open over the ditch and our 20 foot sewer hose reached the connection. Adequate for an overnight stop. We would not stay there again. Rate shown reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Called two days in advance but was told reservations not required. Was not told that they close at 1:00 on Saturdays and were closed on Sundays. Only one row of "level" sites, most taken up by year-round residents; the rest were sloped and pushed the limits of our self-leveling pads. Could not get access to wireless internet. Did not see any restrooms or laundry rooms, but if they exist, they were at the main office, far from the sites, separated by a drainage ditch and several cabins. While the speed bumps might be necessary during the busy summer season, they are "very" large. Was going to stay two nights but decided to move on after one. Would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
First the good things, the girl in the front office was friendly and helpful, the park was convenient to the highway and there were no problems with trees blocking the satellite dish (there are none). This place seems to have been created out of an old pasture with the interior roads and pads of gravel. Drainage must be a problem because there are deep ditches on both sides of the interior roads and through the individual sites (I could barely get in and out of the MH because my steps were directly over the pipe that ran under my site). Next time I'm in the area, I'll look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Easy access from I-55 Ext 119; also a good fuel stop. Sites are gravel and all slope back or forward depending on the row. Extra blocks will be needed for one end. Local TV signals are strong. Air card - 5 bars 3G. Very dusty - there's been little rain; when it rains it looks like there would be some drainage problems and mud. Lot of permanent worker type units and a lot of closed up units. Several sites have electric problems, check before setting up. We arrived on Sunday the office was closed - picked a spot and slide the check under the door. Since there's not much else... it works for an overnight stop near Jackson. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Stayed here 2 nights. It is expensive. Not near anything but the interstate. Gravel sites are close together. Has newly planted trees, but for now sunny with no shade available. Would only use as an overnight site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Very nice and clean park for a one night stay. Close enough to I-55, but still very quiet. Sites were a little uneven front to back, so had to reposition the motorhome to find a level spot. Has pull through sites. Would return here again if driving down I-55. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
I arrived here around 4:30. Staff had gone home, though they told me by phone they'd be here until 6. Put cash into provided blank envelope and put through mail slot in door. The campground has nice long gravel pull-throughs. It is close to I-55 and a Loves truckstop. Worked well for my overnight needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This is a very plain Jane campground which would be okay for an overnight stay but it is also not easy to find. The address did not come up in my GPS so the lady gave me the address of the church across the street. You pick your site when you get there and the Wi-Fi only works by the office and laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
What a great place to overnight. Every site has full hook-ups, a level gravel pad and a real decent amount of well maintained grassy space between each site. The interior roads are well maintained gravel and the young trees are growing nicely. The road leading to the entrance is a bit bumpy, so slow way down. There are no assigned sites; you select an empty site after check-in. Once you enter, beware of the massive speed bumps put there to remind everyone to slow down. I saw a children play set on the lawn near the office. Absolutely will overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Nice management seems happy to have us stay with them. Very good overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Stayed here for a week as Hurricane evacuees. Campground is flat with no tree higher than 8 feet. Roads and sites are gravel . Almost every rig is leveled to some amount. There is only one bathhouse for 117 sites and 12 cabins. The men’s bathhouse had only two commodes, two urinals, and four shower stalls. Very well maintained and clean. There are local grocery stores but a Wal-Mart is 8 miles down Interstate 55. The manager was very friendly and helpful. She has a list of places to go and things to do. No cable and five local channels. No pool. No pavilion. No fire pits. There are full hookups and all sites are very large with easy access. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Nice park. Self checkin We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
Very basic overnight park. Wide open, lots of empty sites. Not a tree in sight! Sewer connection is too high off the ground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This campground has very wide spaces. No amenities, it looks as if it is an overnight stay. My husband liked the very wide spaces and easy turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
A clean campground but there’s no shade, the trees are still very short. The roads and sites are gravel and many of the sites have a slope front to back. The laundry, showers, and restrooms were very clean. There is a small playground but no swimming pool. The sites lack picnic tables and fire rings. The casino is not close. The campground is OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
This is a fairly new campground and as such lacks shade. They have planted numerous trees and once the trees mature, it will a lot better park. The sights are level and easy to pull into. The road going down to the park is narrow, but once in the park it is wide open. Even thou, the ad says it is near a casino, it isn't. The staff is very friendly and were very helpful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com