221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Jalama Beach Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (805) 736-3504
CGID381

Jalama Beach Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   8   10   7   3   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Now one of my favorite parks. Just got back from a week of camping in our 35 ft travel trailer. We stayed up top in space 111. This space has electric hookups, but no water or sewer. There is an on-site dump station and hose bibs every 4-6 campsites - opposite side of the street from the campsites themselves so you are not running a hose through another persons campsite. The view from up top was unreal at times. If I were to stay again, it would be up top and maybe a couple of sites on the mid-level of the park. I would not stay down on the bottom sites. There are some good sites down there, but you are literally parking in the sand on those (not bad if you like a lot of sand in your stuff - not exactly what we want), and the view is not as good. On the bottom level, there are no sites with electric that I saw, but you can use a generator if you have one. I do not know the quite hours. Down on the bottom, there are a ton of tents. Probably 85-95% of the tents are on the bottom near the small playground. There were trailers mixed in with the tents down there. I would not stay here in a tent. The wind kicks up every late evening and there were some really big gusts at night. I don't know how those people put up with it. Up on top, they allowed people to park sideways if they fit into the lines and also gave a lot of leeway with letting people overhang onto the road. There was plenty of room for everyone to pass, so it was not a problem. It helped us to get a lot more space behind our trailer near the campfire ring. I saw a few 40 ft motorhomes pull in up there and they were probably sticking out into the road 6-8 feet. They barely fit whatever site number they were in. Our trailer being 35 feet, we still had 10 feet to the fence behind us and could park my truck on one side of the trailer near my slides and still had my awning fully out on the other side - good room width wise. The beach was great for the most part. There was some tar bubbles, for lack of a better description down on the beach. They are not always easily seen when you are walking on the beach and I had to really scrub to get the black stuff off my feet later in the day. If you watch out for it, you will be OK. One day out of 5 we sat down and had nothing but sand flies attacking us. We did not sit in that area for the rest of the trip and had no real issue after. The Jalama Burgers are really good as everyone else has stated. Almost $7 for them, but they were great on the first and last day camping. The road getting there is 14 miles long after you turn off highway 1 and it is a skinny little road at times, but easily manageable if you know how to drive. The Wi-Fi at the park was pretty decent once you get connected. This was our first trip there and we will be going back as soon as possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
We are brand new to RVing and this is our first stay in a county park. The place is Very much worth visiting. I was concerned about the road coming in based on other reviewer comments but in our 38 foot coach pulling a toad it was no problem. It is challenging but very passable and the traffic is very light. As you near the park, you will crest a hill and the ocean comes spectacularly into view. It is truly beautiful. Our space 112 is very much adequate for our large RV. Spot 112 is up at the top of the park which has the most commanding views. At this point in our experience, I have a difficult time imagining a better place to park for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
Wonderful beach and, as others have said, down a long winding, narrow road. It was very foggy, which led to some white knuckle driving. Our site was right on the beach and we actually parked on the sand. It was very windy and we had to dig our rug out of the sand each morning. The hamburger shack was extremely slow with orders. It took 45 minutes for a burger, and several people asked for their money back and to cancel their order. Overall we liked the campground and we will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$43
What an awesome place. We stayed in a 43' Coach in ocean-front (no hook-up) site #60...pull in. Bring or buy some firewood for your fire at sunset! The "Jalama Burger" at the store is not to be missed, and the fish and chips good as well. Neat folks that run the store, great source of fun local history. Great local snacks and anything you might need as supplies...best tortilla chips we ever had. We used 4 solar panels to keep the gen set off, and were able to make the tanks last 6 days before motoring over to the easy to get to dump and fill station. Don't let the road spook you, we had the coach and a toad and just took it slow. There's some new "experimental" free Wi-Fi that was clean and fast. Other than that, no cell phone (yea) service. Santa Barbara County has a easy to use on line reservation system. Been coming here for 40 years, can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
I rate this park an 8 based on its location. We were in space 113 for two nights. These spaces are the highest with absolutely gorgeous ocean views with great sunsets. Only electric available at these sites. It was a back-in site, easy walk to beach, and lively area with a lot of outdoor activities. Onsite general store and restaurant. Did not eat there but did buy a few items at store (high prices). The road to the park, about 14 miles, is narrow, windy, and hilly but worth the drive. Google Earth the road to see what I am talking about! We will return but for a longer period of time. Make sure you are well stocked with food and drink. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We have stayed at Jalama several times over the last five years. Great ocean view (all sites). We love this place. And NO cell service to distract you from enjoying the campground. They have pay phones! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
14 miles down a very curvy road but it is worth it. The sunsets were incredible. We did not have reservations so only had a few spots to choose from. The top tier provided beautiful views of the ocean. We stayed 2 nights and would go back again. No soap or paper towels in bathrooms. The showers took 2-3 quarters and they were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We stayed here about 15 years ago in a tent. Not much has changed since we were here last. For us, the negatives outweighed the positives. We stayed in a beach site that had a great view, but the pad was all soft sand that made getting the rig level and stable a real challenge. The wind was punishing, and according to the ranger, was pretty normal most of the year. Several campers left after one day do to the wind and blowing sand. This is also a black hole as far as cell signal is concerned. The only communication available are 2 pay phones by the check in station. The views are nice, but add in the lengthy drive to this park, and the negatives, I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This is roughing it in the millennium!!! The entire park has less than 100 sites. No Full hook-ups. Power only; water is never far away though with a long hose. There is a dump station that has easy access from either side. We have a 36ft coach, and it was a tight turn to get into top row space (the best place) but worth the effort. You head in and the view out of your front window (day or night) is the very best with great sunsets. We had 4 days/nights of great weather, rained one night but was sunny and warm every day. Surfers seem to love it as do the beach fishing crowd. They now accept reservations via their web site. The park is 20 miles from Lompoc, so make sure you either bring it all with you or a small car to drive to Lompoc to buy it. The rest rooms are older but clean and functional; the showers need quarters (usually 2 does it). There are a few new cabins with great views. All the tent camp sites are on the lowest level along with all the trailer sites. There are a few sites that are actually on the beach. On the top row is where most of the coaches go and is the pick of the place. There is a very small café inside the small store that makes good burgers, etc. Watch out; the portions are huge. We ordered fries and couldn't come close to eating half between us! CONCLUSION: Great fun for all. Everyone was very friendly, park workers and other guests. Jalama Burger didn't live up to bragging but still good. Basics only. Good surfing & beach fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
I stayed once about ten years ago, before it became "known." It was nice back then. This time, I drove to it, over a torturous fourteen mile steep, winding rough patched road that will test your rig's suspension and how well you have everything secured inside. When I got here, the place was packed! Kids were running around all over. (Nothing against kids, I'm just saying what I saw.) The sites are extremely close to one other and the place was very noisy. Maneuvering room is limited and you can be sure you'll be the entertainment while you try to back your rig in. Unless you're one of the many tent campers set up next to the RV's. After my drive through, I changed my mind and decided not to stay here. I was very disappointed in how this place has changed and also considering the poor road condition, won't be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
This is a county campground right on the beach, but be forewarned. There is a perilously long (15 miles) winding road that must be travelled to get there, which is not for the faint of heart. We are talking sheer cliffs, hairpin turns, a recipe for disaster. It's 15 miles in and 15 miles out on the same road. Had I known this I would not have tried to get there. There are no turnarounds if you have a change of heart either. That said, we arrived to find one of the "first come first served" sites ourselves. The ranger apparently had no idea what was taken and what wasn't, just telling us that there were electrical sites (no sewer, no water) on the top and lower levels. I couldn't believe how blah-zay that ranger was. So we went up to the top level, with our trailer in tow, trusting him to have given us good information. The third level turned out to be a dead end, plus all the sites were taken. We laughed until we cried as another 20 minutes later (after we painstakingly managed to turn around our rig and trailer on a crowded vacancy-free level) we drove to a site on a lower level, which was a tight squeeze with all the other rigs parked close by and sticking out into the drive. We found a site there without a view, sandwiched between two other rigs. At 4 PM we were finally parked and went down to pay the ranger, who had left the building for the day. It was just a perfect end to the nerve-wracking ride in. There is a bathroom on the lower level, which was pretty rough and weathered - a glorified outhouse with flush toilet. There were pay showers on the beach level, which were clean. There is a store with hot food and sundries open until 5:30 or 6:00 pm. There was no Wi-Fi, no cable TV, no cellphone service. On a positive note, the beach is nice and was full of windsurfers. This site is for those who want to get away, and I mean away from everything. Just make sure to watch yourself on the way out on Jalama road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Rate shown for basic site. Site was a gravel pull-through, fairly level, and included a table and a BBQ grill. Most campsite tables were overrun by sea gulls and needed a good clean. An onsite store/cafe makes a good hamburger. The best reason to stay here though is the beach. Miles from anywhere else adds to the charm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We just left and I can't wait to go back! This campground is remote with no cell phone service, so bring calling cards for the pay phones. Beach is amazing with off-leash areas to the right and left of the main beach area. You must fill up your water tank upon entry and dump black tank upon exit. The park is easily accessible for a 40' rig. Oceanfront sites do not have electricity and are best for tents and small campers. However, we had slot 88 with electric and the most amazing ocean view. There is also a restaurant with "to die for" hamburgers and a store with anything you forgot. I rated this a nine because of the location, views and friendliness of staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Scenic family camping, which is pet friendly. Forget about cell phone service, however there is a pay phone at the location. Everyone was very friendly here.The Jalama beach store serves up a great burger. The campsites were a little bit cramped; and my 2 year-old kept finding cigarette butts and beer tops all over the campground. I would definitely arrive early as the locals come up on Thursdays and set up empty tents to hold places. Overall a very nice place and we would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
I feel reluctant to brag about this CG only because it'll let more people know about this gem on the coast. It could be hard to get a site in the summer because they don't accept resevations. We dry camped here in our 5th wheel so we could have a beach front site but there are hook ups in other parts of the CG. Weather was fantastic and the staff was great. If you make it here, don't forget to try a Jalama Burger at the Jalama Grill. We can't wait to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Second time here. Arrived on Monday the 30th of March, and the cg was not quite half full. Had choice of either electric or dry camping and elected to go dry again this time. Had site #33, which is one of the pull throughs, and down in the main level of the cg. Great spot. It was windy both nights, but Tuesday night was REALLY windy. I was happy we weren't in one of the upper sites. We'll definitely go back. Nightly rate included a AAA discount and 9 per night for the three dogs. It's a VERY dog friendly campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We stayed at this campground in March, so it was not full. We even managed to get an oceanfront site. As we are not in the season right now, the campground was pretty quiet and calm. The restrooms were clean. They have hot showers for $0.25 for 1 minute, the only back draw is that there is no electric outlet for a hairdryer or anything. The oceanfront sites are double sites, there is nothing between you and your neighbor, although you can park your vehicle so you create a barrier. We stayed in our Volkswagen Vanagon Weekender and our neighbor was one of those "Lompoc locals" mentioned in a previous post that come down, pay for the whole week and leave the fifth wheeler on the oceanfront site from Monday through Friday and come down for the weekend. It was okay for us, as we did not have anybody on the site. (We stayed Monday - Wednesday.) But I admit: it is annoying that the owners/campground hosts let people take the oceanfront sites from campers who actually are here and would love to enjoy the beach access lots. This is the only reason I give this campground a 7. We really liked camping here and we will be back but definitely not in the season. It must be busy that time of the year and we loved the quietness and peacefulness of the place. It has a fantastic feeling to it. Just walk to the beach right from your campsite. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$28
This is one of my favorite places to RV camp anywhere. I just love the feeling here, it's like going back in time to a stretch of California coast before it was developed. You can walk for miles along a beautiful beach. (And dogs are allowed on the beach but PLEASE pick up after them!!) Not to mention a hamburger stand with pretty good food and a general store in the middle of nowhere! The highest-tier hookup sites (electric only with water spigots nearby to fill up) where I always stay have awesome views up and down the coast. They are close together but who cares with such a view out the front, and a picnic table at the edge of view cliff! I am a writer and get really great ideas while staying here. It's always hard to leave. I'm just grateful for the privilege to camp here, and I overlook the shortcomings of some of the other reviewers, which, unfortunately are still true. The 15-mile road to get here should only be attempted by skilled RV drivers. It is hilly, windy, and usually in disrepair, though at least there is not much traffic. Since there are no reservations, you may be making that drive for nothing. You may want to stay instead at Flying Flags in Buellton and visit Jalama as a day trip. For us, since we are a 34-ft motorhome, there are only a few hookup sites that we fit into, which increases the risk for us since we make the long trip to get here for our panoramic view. We will only go on a winter weekday, and still call the park's daily recording first to get an idea of how crowded it is. If you are very lucky a ranger will answer the phone to give you a better idea. The campground did seem fairly poorly maintained, although the rangers were very friendly when we were here. Also, active train tracks run adjacent to the campground, although the wonderful sound of the surf screens it out fairly well. The fees have gone up in recent years, now up to (for hookups) $30/$28 senior or travel club plus $3 per dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
I see it's been awhile since anyone rated this site. We elected to dry camp, as we felt that an extra $10.00 per night was too expensive. Besides, we have 3 dogs, and at $3.00 per dog per night, we decided dry camping was the better choice. There is a bi-directional dump station and a separate potable water source away from the dump station (I like that idea). We selected site number 104 which is on the middle tier of this three tier, and is parallel to the beach line, so the view was terrific. One end of this tier has hook-ups, and the upper tier has hook-ups as well. Those sites are pretty close together and that was another reason we chose to dry camp. We wished we could have stayed another night, and are making plans to return as soon as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
Nice beach, but the campground is a bit problematic. Campsites are EXTREMELY close together. In most cases, the campsites are actually side by side (no space in between). It's a little unnerving sleeping in a tent less then 5 feet from strangers in the next campsite. This closeness was the cause of an altercation with our neighbors the nearly turned physical and ultimately ruined our family camping trip. Security in the park was ineffective. Also, the best sites are taken well in advance by Lompoc locals who drive up on Monday morning and purchase these sites (sometimes many at a time) for the entire week, then show up Friday evening for the weekend. Very unfair. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2005
$18
This facility suffers from severe overuse. The place is dirty, people walk their dogs and don't clean up after them. We took a 'nature' walk on a trail in the Wetlands area and were rewarded by a steady stream of hot, soapy water flowing down from the Ranger's residence. From the looks of it, this happens all the time. The days we were here, 16 sites were not available due to construction. There are only 16 electrical hook up sites. To get one of these campsites and also one of the non-electric oceanview sites, campers in the know send a scout vehicle to the park at 6am. As soon as a site is scored, the call goes out via cell phone. Also the ranger is notified that the site has been taken. Most of the campsites are small and are surrounded by solid fences. The obligatory picnic table and benches are anchored in concrete and can't be moved. Small trailers without slide outs will do well here. Towing in with a trailer or 5er over 30' is not for the faint hearted. You can walk for miles on the beach and there are spectacular sunsets, but these can also be had elsewhere with a lot less hassle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$26
Jalama Beach Park is a special place. Only distance, high fuel prices, and summer crowding keep us from visiting more often. The store/cafe has excellent food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Jalama Beach campground is run by the County of Santa Barbara. The road to the campground is extremely twisty and windy (some 10 MPH curves!) but it is worth it! There are sites on the beach and then on up the hills of the campground, ending with bluff campsites with incredible views of an unobstructed coastline. It has a camp store and showers, bathrooms with flush toilets. But the one reason to go is the beach. You can walk for miles in either direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com