218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Double J Campground and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (217) 483-9998
CGID3815

Double J Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   10   9   9   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Clean campground, nice level sites and very nice host and hostess! Pool was clean and large! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Rate reflects Good Sam. Sites are not level. Lots of pull-through sites. Reception at check-in was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This is a great park. I had a shady pull thru site close to the laundry and showers, which were immaculate. Even dangled my feet in the pool for awhile. It is large and sparkling. Reminded me of old trips with my parents when I was young. I had booked for 2 days and extended for another day. Bought supplies in the store. WiFi was excellent and there were around 12 TV channels. The only thing keeping it from being a 10 is the road noise from the interstate. Of course, that made it easily accessible as well. Would definitely return if in the area. Very easy access to downtown Springfield historic sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Wow! This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed at. Large sites, most with shady trees to keep you cool. The campgrounds is large and very well maintained. Staff was friendly and welcoming and provided us with the park rules, directions and park services. We would definitely return and stay at this location in the future if we have the opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
This place is terrific, despite the road noise from nearby I-55. Nice level gravel sites, clean gravel interior roads, excellent WiFi, good coverage for our Verizon and T-Mobile devices, good laundry room, and a pretty good little mini-store in the office. Springfield and the Lincoln sites are 15 or 20 minutes away. We spent ten happy days here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Very nice owners. The downside is sewer taps are a little far for travel trailers. Have stayed before and will stay again. Great Italian Restaurant in town five miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Great park to us when visiting Springfield, IL. Sites level and pull thru. People friendly and park clean. Will stop again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Very nice park, easy on and off I-55. Site were a little tight but great for over night stay. Host/owner was great with info and directions to site. I just wish they were open earlier and later in the season. We will be back if open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. One of few parks open in Chicago area in winter. Clean restrooms and park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This was the most convenient park to the Lincoln attractions downtown. Easy access off an access road. The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. We were given a pull-thru site on the end, which we loved. The power, water, and cable connections were about midway up the site, but the sewer connection was way in the rear of the site. Not sure why they put them so far back, so you will need an extra sewer hose if you want to connect. Since we have a satellite dish, we did not use the cable. The Wi-Fi was OK until more people were using it and then I switched to my AT&T hotspot. They have a new pool which is larger than most campgrounds have. There is a handicapped lift to get people into and out of the water. They also have recycling so we were able to get rid of the recyclables we have been carrying around. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This location was perfect for visiting the Springfield Historical Attractions. It took about 10 minutes to drive back into Springfield. Shade was nice. Sites were close, but not too close for comfort. Restrooms and showers were nice - they are also one of the storm shelters ! I have only stayed in two campgrounds that have storm shelters - good to have if you need it. Internet worked OK and we had good cell coverage with Sprint. We would return here if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Did not see any of the negatives posted by previous reviewer. Agree with the positive reviews. As far as I could tell, all sites had either shade or partial shade. The park was quiet and friendly. Nice laundry room. Everything well maintained. Improvements are obviously constantly being made. Mini golf is in the works and new sites are being added. Park is convenient to both Chatham and Springfield. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
New owners - No published rates, they do say they give the Good Sam's Discount to members, but don't :( Their rates are unpublished, they tell you, you will get a much "better" discount by not using Good Sam's but once you are there and you talk to others, you all pay the same rate. Camp ground is okay, nicely groomed. Play ground equipment is old and not kept up. Owners were not friendly, their children help "run" the operation and were not taught manners or respect for people of age, and drive golf carts way too fast and dangerously, having almost ran over my wife on several occasions. Other employees were great to help us out when we needed something. Pool is "new", but paint is peeling. There is no putt putt golf as advertised. Internet is very week, owner is an old IT guy who regulates it and shuts it down during the evening and week-ends to save on costs - in other words, it doesn't work when most people use it. So if that's important, make sure you have your own. Camp ground sits on the interstate so if you are looking for quite evenings, this is NOT the place for you. There are state parks and other places much less expensive and much better equipped for long term campers and grandparents with little ones along. Your business is NOT appreciated here. The rules are reasonable, but only enforced upon certain people, so people don't stay long. Long story short, it seemed like a great idea to begin with, but we definitely will not be back next year which is too bad, we have been here the last 4 summers to visit family and really enjoyed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
The park was clean and our site was large enough to park both motorhome and Jeep with ease. The parking surface is crushed limestone gravel which tended to be a bit dusty at times. The site was almost completely level. All of the full hookup utilities were adequate and the cable TV was free with only a few channels available. Our DirecTV dish was able to operate fine in spite of the many large trees in the park. The Wi-Fi was free and worked fairly well. There is a good Verizon Wireless signal for MiFi or phone. The office personnel were very friendly and helpful. There is recycling in the park. The pool was great after a sweaty job hooking up. We would stay here again in spite of the high price we paid to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Spacious and level, gravel sites. Lots of shade trees, carefully limbed up so no problem maneuvering into your space and around the park. Wi-Fi works great, and there is a new pool. Everything is very well maintained and spotless. Great location for visiting Springfield, or as an overnight since it is so convenient to many interstates. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Nice park and people running it. We called late in the afternoon and they ask how long we were going to stay. I told her 4 nights, I think, but wasn't sure. She said we could talk about it when I arrived. Everything worked. The TV was a little sketchy, but we don't watch much TV anyway. I have my own Wi-Fi, so if theirs worked or not I don't know. The laundry room was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Nice, well maintained campground, but like many we encounter I think it is over priced for what you get. It is close to the Interstate, but noise was not a problem. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities are older, but well maintained and clean. TV was a problem. Cable is limited and analog and satellite was spotty because of the trees. Wi-Fi signal was weak at our site. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a very nice, clean park. It is easy access from the Interstate and an easy drive to Springfield. Most sites are pull-through,shady sites. The cable has 12 channels and the Wi-Fi worked really well. There is a large playground area for kids, a pool (didn't use), and plenty of room to walk the dog. Our site was level and had a really nice view of a soybean field. The owners are very nice, helpful, and accommodating. There is some road noise from the Interstate. It was not bothersome for us at all, but if someone is sensitive to noise, they should take heed. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Sites are not level and sewer is difficult to reach. Nice campground hosts in office, owner's are non-existent. Not much grass and bathhouses are fairly clean but old. Ok place to stay when touring Springfield. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
Here for a rally so no idea of rate. Park OK. Site was level and satellite worked. My 45 ft M had no problems. But it is an older park and just seemed a little tired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Very shady, easy, pull through sites. Bathrooms very clean. Only drawback were steps to go down to bathroom. Lovely town nearby with all needed amenities. Road noise from highway somewhat bothersome. Recommended to stay in middle to back of campground. Pool closed, due to new pool being built. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
We stayed here before during a rally for over a week. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. They even offer the use of their shop when we needed to create an art object. This campground is located near to Springfield without being in town. We did use the storm shelters one night and the owners were very attentive in letting us know when the main part of the storm had passed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Super friendly owners keep things running smoothly. This is a beautiful campground with large trees. We were assigned a premium pull through site that was long, wide, and fairly level. Electric and water hookups were near the rear of the site. The Wi-Fi was faster that we've experienced at ANY other campground, in spite of a Newmar rally and being near capacity. There is some I-39 road noise, but it didn't bother us. We only stayed overnight, but will stop here again when in the area. We recommend making a reservation. Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We stayed for 15 days while visiting our son in our old home town. Very nice staff, working all of the time. Nice pull-through sites with grass between all the sites. Pretty crowded with with a Newmar rally present . They are trying to get their new pool up and running after some construction problems. Bath house was OK, a little dated, but few people were using it. And it was clean. We will go back there when visiting the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
An adequate campsite for a couple of nights to see the Lincoln sites in Springfield. It is convenient to the city and all of the Lincoln sites. We didn't find the rules burdensome; they are working on keeping the grass nice between the sites. We have found the carpet rules in other campgrounds and can understand. We were there in some pretty bad weather with copious amounts of rain. The sites were pretty damp, but because of the grass, not too muddy. The only real downside is the road noise from I-55; it is loud. We would stay here again, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
In our 13 years of full-timing I know that all private parks have their own unique rules, but arriving at this park imparts a very negative feeling. We've stayed here before and knew there were lots of "rules" and "signs," but now with new management, it's even worse. When I said we had never had to pay extra for an extra vehicle (we have a 5th wheel, Freightliner, and I follow in a Jeep) the new owner said "we're not a parking lot." They scanned my driver's license into their computer . . . also a first. The cheapest site, other than tent camping, is $39.95, less Good Sam discount of $3.95, plus $5 extra vehicle, total $41 for one night. Not to mention that the clerk was required to READ the rules to me and verify that I understood. If not for the fact that we're here to visit family we would not be here and, we've now declared that we will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
We have stayed here several times en route. The new owner (last year) is making improvements, filling in gravel spots, etc. Nice access off the highway, and the spaces are easy for our big 40+ foot motor home and tow car. It was freezing but they had just turned the water back on. We were only overnight but if in the area longer would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This was a return visit. whenever I'm in the Springfield area I stay here. Very friendly owners and I've always enjoyed my stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Typical gravel road/sites campground right off the freeway. Ask to be in the back of the park to avoid the noise and be close to the shower house. Great owners (live on the property) and staff who are helpful, lead you to your site. Water pressure good. Sites not too close together and some very long sites in the front of the park. Pet friendly and close enough to Springfield to see the sights. We were here during some pretty bad rain and drainage was good. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We were here 3 years ago, and were pleasantly surprised by the many improvements made by the new owners. The last time there was a definite water drainage problem and that has been corrected nicely. We stayed here for 2 nights. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. The site was level and spacious with trees at each site. There were picnic tables and fire rings at all sites we saw. We liked this park for its location the last time, and liked it even more this time because of the obvious attention to maintenance from the new owners. There used to be a repair facility on site, but that is no longer as the old repair facility is now the new office and store. The new owners have chosen to live in the previous office. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Too many rules!!! First, we were told by staff member about our portable shower was on a section of grass. Then he came back and complained about our car on grass. Then the owner came later and said we could not have a mat by the entrance to our camper. Small corner section was touching the grass. He was very rude and demanding!!! Another camper next to us had a mat. We felt like our every move was being watched. Felt like a prison camp instead of recreation. I would never recommend this park to anyone, let alone come back! Also, we had family that were using a tent site. They were charged $30.00, same as our RV site, with no water or electric for them! We have never experienced anything like this in our camping outings before. Also: was too close to highway. Too much noise. Do yourself a favor and pass on this one! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The directions to the campground were very good and the signage was also good. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The campground was very well maintained. We had site 93 which was level, gravel, had grass in between the sites, had reasonable space between sites and had partial shade. It was a true pull through site with easy in and out, if you elected to stay hooked up. It is very convenient to all the local Lincoln historical sites. It was very convenient to I-55 but not close enough to be bothered by road noise. The Wi-Fi was good and there was also local stations on the cable. We were even able to use our roof mounted satellite. We would definitely return here if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30?
After getting detained by the Illinois State Troopers for over an hour while they searched our vehicle (apparently a common occurrence)...the campground was a breath of fresh air...friendly staff, nice clean campground, level spots, easy access for 32ft motorhome...would stay there again if I ever planned on going back through Illinois - but I don't! Wonder what Minnesota has to offer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
The owner of this park is very nice and helpful and committed to maintaining/improving his campground. We were there for one night on Memorial Day weekend and it was a mob scene, but that's probably true of most RV parks over a holiday weekend. Many, many kids and dogs. But the campground itself is pleasant and has level shady spots with picnic tables. Close to all the Lincoln attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
The new owner is upgrading the sites with plenty of gravel and is keeping it open year round. We have stayed here before and were pleased to find it open. Sites are level and easy drive through. We have been here off seasons when it was not filled; it is easy access off I-55 on outskirts of Springfield. Although there were some construction type workers living there, all was quiet and it is not at all dumpy. We would stay here anytime we are going to or around Springfield. It may become a family busy site in the summer months with the playground and pool and field set ups. That is not of interest to us but so long as it remains quiet we like it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Very shady campground. Level gravel sites close to Springfield; good Wi-Fi; some highway noise, but not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nice park, great shade, well maintained. Even though it is close the interstate, traffic noise was minimal. Wonderful location to park while visiting the all the sights between St. Louis and Chicago. Stayed there 6 nights while exploring IL portion of Route 66. Would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nice park, great shade. Would have given it a 10 if it had been a little further off the interstate. Not a big problem when we are closed up. Wonderful location to park while visiting the Lincoln Presidential Museum and Library. Would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is a nice clean safe park. The roads and site pads are gravel but we had no problem leveling. The highway noise was noticeable at night but this is the best place in this area so we were ok for a single night. Nearby is the Lake Pointe Grill ,which I'd highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice RV park. Friendly staff. Our site was towards the back overlooking a corn field. Site was a gravel long pull-thru with plenty of room for our motorhome and car although a little on the narrow side but OK for sitting outside. Could use some raking as there was some litter. Even though we were near the back, we still got some traffic noise, but it was bearable. We stayed here for two days visiting the historic sights in Springfield, especially the Lincoln Presidential Museum and Library. Good WI-FI and cable. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Paid $35.00 per night for full hook-up pull-through. All gravel roads and sites very well maintained. Very good Wi-Fi connection and cable TV. Utilities all worked well. Very clean and well manicured park. Very clean restrooms and showers. Present owners are making many improvements. I will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Office was helpful and friendly and location is good to Springfield. They were very clear when I called for the reservation that they do not offer discounts. Quiet overnight but freeway gets busy in the morning and there is noise early. We were able to pull into our pull through with no problem but getting out was tight. Luckily, the person in front of us pulled out earlier and we could go through their site and then there was open space on the far side. This helped with the turn. Otherwise, we probably would have backed out because the turn was too tight. I agree with a previous reviewer that motorhomes need different consideration than 5th wheels for turning and this could have been tough for our 40 ft MH and tow. Good area to walk the dog and the site was level. We would probably stay here again due to the location but would ask for an end site, so pull out would be easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Easy on/off from the interstate. Sites are level and gravel with shade. Back restrooms need some work. All utilities worked as they should and the Wi-Fi worked great. Easy short drive to all the attractions in Springfield. Had a small problem with the RV and the onsite Tech fixed it and the charge was reasonable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We are traveling in a 45' motorhome and towing a SUV, and when we reserved several weeks ago, we were told they had 80' sites, and we would be in one of those. When we arrived we were put into a site that was made for nothing bigger than a 44' and told someone else called after us that was towing a trailer. I really thought they was not fair to us and would not go back there. And will really encourage anyone driving a big rig to keep going. The site we were put on was unlevel for our unit. Owners/managers/staff need to understand that big rigs have a different wheel base than travel trailers and 5th wheels, and also we need more room to navigate through their narrow, narrow streets. It is sad when you have to ask an RV to bring their awnings in so you can get out of your site. This campground is not an RV park for the big rigs even if they say they can handle you. Ask for their 80' site and hope they don't do you like they did us. This park has been crossed off our list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
A nice park and convenient to Springfield. Sites were level and there was shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Location, good Wi-Fi, wide level sites, stately trees, cable TV, swimming, friendly staff. This park really is clean, convenient and delivers all that is promised on the website. For a park this size, it should have more than 2 washers/dryers, however, they are only $1 per machine. We especially enjoyed the up-close corn fields that border the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a very nicely laid out RV Park. The pull-through sites are long and wide making them easy in and easy out. The owner seemed genuinely interested in making sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again. The only downside I could see was there were only 2 washers and 2 dryers which seemed a little low for the number of sites. If you are looking for a campground with lots of trees and a place to have a campfire, then you need to look elsewhere. If you are looking for an RV Park for big rigs near the interstate, then this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Great Campground all around. You can tell the owners get it, and cater to their customers. Upon entry, there is a great, well stocked RV parts store and a LP fuelling station. Roads and sites are well marked and they enforce rules on parking (after you load in) to ensure the grounds stay accessible and uncluttered. The showers are without a doubt, the cleanest I've ever seen and well equipped with looks of hooks to hang towels, benches, shelves, clean mats, HOT water, soap, fans, electric outlets, mirrors, etc., etc. Again: very well thought out with all the little touches. Campground also has a recycling program which we appreciate. Our site, well practically all sites, were underneath large, trimmed trees, all were extremely level and had grass on the right hand side. Didn't check out the Wi-Fi because we were too busy with the kids playing mini golf or swimming. Big rigs and motorhomes were put more in the back, but again: nearly all the sites had shade and grass. Only downfall was a little noise at night from the freeway (there is a service road and tree line that dampens the noise), but it was just barely noticeable. We would definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very nice park - clean and well kept. No significant complaints. Only minor complaints we have was our site was relatively close to trash cans (flies) when there were several other sites available and cable was fuzzy. We would definitely stay here agsin (and request site furthwer away from trash cans). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This park has everything you would ever want from a pool, playground, miniature golf and a rec. hall. We needed a place the Friday before July 4 holiday and the owners fit us in, which we were truly thankful. New owners here and are extremely friendly and wanting to help. They even have movies on Friday nights. We also stayed here in June and the experience was as enjoyable at this last one. This is the fourth time we have stayed here and will do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is a very nice, well maintained RV park. The pool was well maintained and clean. The Putt Putt Golf was very nice. The Rec Room has free ping pong, air hockey and footie ball. The rest room and showers are clean and well maintained. There is a Pizza place that delivers to the park and the Lincoln sites in Springfield are just up the road. The Park staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
New owners have taken over this park. Much more family oriented and friendly. We enjoyed our stay here, even though it mostly rained. Convenient location and close to Abraham Lincoln sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Friendly front office staff and an escort to site. Sites are level gravel with grass and picnic table. This is my 3rd stay here and it seems that since the other Springfield CG has closed that the price here has gone up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is a very clean and well laid out park. We were escorted to our site and they "helped" us position our rig on the site. The were only 8 TV channels and the WiFi didn't work well. The Verizon signal was good for the air card. They like their park and are prideful of it. Almost too prideful. I had trouble with the TV signal and asked for help. The person who came had a bit of an attitude. Once we got the problem solved I noticed that it was grainy but we put up with it as we were leaving in the morning. Don't get us wrong, this is a nice clean park. The sites are level, long enough and well laid out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This is a very clean and strictly run campground. I did read the reviews prior to making my reservation and I was very skeptical about staying here. I have a 10 year old and a black lab. It seems to me the ones who complained must be used to either State Park camping, which I also do, or a Jellystone where kids are running amok all the time. If you are looking for a quiet and respectful campground, this is it. The sites are very close together, too close for me. The neighbor's power post was at my front door. The highway noise is very loud when you are up front. If you are just spending one night or just sleeping, it's OK. You can not bring food or drink in the enclosed pool area but there is a covered patio on the other side of the fence with tables and chairs where you can bring these items. Most of the workers seem to be retired people who can be much nicer to the guests if they wanted to. We did blow out our power converter the first night and I have to say it was a godsend to have an RV service center on site. We were diagnosed and repaired within 36 hours. Just waited for the replacement to arrive. Kudos to the service department. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
The place is clean and quiet. I found the place online while traveling and was looking forward to watching ESPN, because they have cable TV, and getting some clothes washed. We arrived after 7 PM. The kids were looking forward to maybe playing a little put-put ($1/game) or playing on the playground. Well, the whole place shuts down at 8 PM. You can't even wash clothes past 7:30, there is a sign. Speaking of signs, there are a lot of signs. The place is littered with them for every little thing. Well, I thought at least we have ESPN. Not: it says they do on the guide but it is CMT instead. You get about 8 channels. They also have WiFi, but it works poorly. Hope you have an Iphone or an aircard. Like I said, the place is quiet and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
I was VERY impressed with this place for the following reasons: friendly office staff, escorted to site & escort stayed until we were in position to park, very clean sites, overall quiet park, many activities-pool, mini golf, tennis, basketball, horseshoes, croquet, shuffleboard, playground (only fee was $1 for 9 holes of mini golf), incredibly clean shower/bathroom. Only undesirable: slight highway noise-ask for site away from front. A few park suggestions: update croquet equipment, rake dry grass lumps and level ball ruts from croquet playing area (we are serious croquet players), check pool filter (few too many little bugs in pool all day), post shuffle board rules for those who don't know them, update tennis rackets. Loved the Wi-Fi and cable included in park's nightly price. Make sure you read the list of rules when you arrive. There is quite a list, but obviously that is why this park is so well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Well maintained. Owners appear to be serious about controlling the campground environment to provide good place to stay. Lots of shady spots. Some adjacent freeway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Very nice campground. It's clean. It is right on Rt 66. Not far from Lincoln's museum. The campground has a fantastic camper repairman who is very pleasant and excellent. He fixed our broken awning, in 1 morning and was very reasonable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We happened across this campground as we were heading down to Branson, Missouri for a vacation. It was raining extremely hard and I was tired from driving in it, so we decided to overnight at the first campground we came across. Fortunately for us it was Double J. From what we saw this is a very clean, nicely run family oriented campground. The sites we observed were nicely laid out and plenty large for even the biggest coach. We very seldom go to the same campground twice, as we like to explore new things, but we would go back to Double J. Two thumbs up on Double J even though they give no discounts for Good Sam. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
Stopped halfway to home at this park. The kids immediately went out to check out the pool, tennis and mini golf. Staff was very friendly. Sites were level, wooded and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a very nice RV park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The park was clean and quiet. Cable TV selection was small, but did have the local and national news channels along with the weather channel. The park's WiFi worked and we had very good cell coverage (Sprint & AT&T). One minor problem was standing water. There had been a lot of rain and consequently were large puddles in front of the trash dumpster and also in front of the office. I would stay here again. The park is beside I-55, but there was very little freeway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Unfriendly staff, limited cable and unable to set up satellite. Too many rules, Way too expensive for what you get. Rates have really increased from 2009 rate. There is limited camping but would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We were here 4 nights with a group. There are 2 shower houses/rest rooms. One is older and requires the user to hold the handle to get water and the temperature cannot be changed. The second one is newer, is air conditioned and has faucets which can adjust the temperature. Showers in both are somewhat cramped for dressing. We got a downpour while we were gone and when we returned we had a "lake front site". I will say the management was helpful in delivering a couple of boards for us to use to get to our door. Because the group was a bunch of small travel trailers, we were placed on pull through sites back to back. That required a fair amount of work to make our electric and water hook ups, since each site had only a 50, 30, and 20 amp plug for a possible 4 trailers. Water hookups were equally scarce. While we did not mind the traffic noise, the campground does front directly on I-55. We would probably not stay here again unless it was with another group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Wow, this place is beautiful. Level pull-thrus, good interior roads, very well manicured and immaculate. Wi-Fi works great. Would love to give a 10, but only 2 washers/dryers. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
I stayed 2 months because of work in the area. The park resembles a construction zone for all the orange cones and poles making sure you don't get close to the grass. The WiFi is practically non existent and irritating if you are lucky enough to get connected. I paid for a month and was laid off 8 days later and they refused to give me any refund, I didn't check out and they re rented my space. They have a sign in the lobby that states no refunds but that is the Christian way to steal your money and think it's ok. The rules are just ridiculous and it's the highest rent I have ever paid in the 3 yrs I have been on the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This was the nicest campground we stayed in on our western trip. We made it our base camp for 3 days while visiting the sites of Springfield. Sites were level and long, good 50/30 amp service, good WI-FI and cable TV. Will stay here again on our next trip west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Just stayed one night to see the Lincoln Museum. Nice place and would stay again if I were visiting Springfield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Nicely located park just outside Springfield, Illinois. Was easy access from Interstate. Had good power, good water, good Wi-Fi. It's mostly shaded, but nicely groomed larger trees did not affect our 45' motorcoach. Has fairly long gravel sites. This is a well maintained park. We would stay here again and would recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
The park is very clean and they have plenty of sites for big rigs. If it rains heavily the park does get overflowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We kind of 'hesitated' by some of the Reviews: saying people weren't friendly and Wi-Fi didn't work. We came, and people were friendly with us, assisted us to our spot and made sure that everything was OK and working. There was comment not to park on the grass as it's been raining a lot and more rain to come (which it did, just poured and we had standing water!) you could understand they don't want their grass all torn up. The Wi-Fi worked prefect for us, and they had TV connect with a cable to your rig that offered about 10 channels (ABC, NBC, weather, CNN, etc). They have a quiet, well maintained park, clean restrooms and I would definitely stay here again! Conveniently located within a few miles to Springfield to take in all the Historical Sites of the Abe Lincoln family, any shopping you would want and restaurants. Sites are level and spaced nicely apart. Easy access from the Freeway, but yet not noisy at night and dark, good sleeping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a clean, orderly and well-maintained RV park. It is located just south of Springfield, Illinois and is fairly close to the freeway, however there is almost no freeway noise. The park is about 2 miles off the freeway on a frontage road, easy access. Streets in the park are well kept. RV site was level and all utilities worked. Property showed pride of ownership/management and the employees were all friendly. We were guided to our site by an employee in an electric cart, he also saw that we were satisfied with the site and its amenities. We stayed here two nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
I can't imagine a less friendly campground staff. The woman behind the counter was abrupt to the point of rudeness. I had to remind myself I was a paying guest; I should have reminded her! There was no Wi-Fi the entire week we stayed there. I don't think they should advertise services they don't have. The signage makes one think that you have camped in a prison yard. This is absolutely not a place to bring a family. The spaces are very, very cramped and pulling into and out of a space is a challenge. Heaven help you if a tire accidentally rolls across their precious grass! I would never stay there again and I think the $30 price is ridiculous for what they offer. I would park at a Wal-Mart overnight before I would spend my money at that place again. This place is cramped, overcrowded, over priced and the counter person needs a course in customer relations. She is horrid! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a nice place. Wi-Fi worked well. No cable, but got the main stations. There was a terrible storm, and I was glad there was a storm shelter even though we didn't need it. They have a store with some basic supplies and gift shop, tennis court, basketball, croquet, horseshoes, shuffleboard, game room, mini-golf, pretty pool. I would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Visited park for the first time. Followed host of signs to office where the staff gave an appearance of being overworked and not attentive to the information I provided. We were escorted by many signs into our site which was located in the n/w corner of the pull throughs. When I exited my coach I asked the escort how I was going to exit the park (my site was too close to the corner to make a right turn without backing up. One couldn't make a left turn out of my site as there was a "visitor parking" area, identified by a sign, that was full.) The escort stated the cars would probably still be there in the morning as the cars belonged to residents and not visitors. As a compromise he stated he would get the owners to move their cars and cone off the four spaces in front of my site although I told him it would take 8 spaces to turn out. This gave me room to go forward & back up so I could exit. Of course I had to unhook the tow vehicle that I told the staff I had at check in. The 26' rig next to me could not make the right turn to exit either without going forward & back. The roads are narrow & had mud visible as it had rained. The roads are too narrow for big rigs to swing around and you will rub the untrimmed trees. The park had a very nice pool. The park had a children playground with a very large rule sign. I don't have a pet, but thought the sign "pick up after your pet or leave them home" was a rather rude approach. For smaller rigs we felt this park was a good value. We will not revisit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is a really nice park. We stayed twice in two weeks. Some reviewers have panned their rules - I did not find any oppressive rules mostly they were along the line of the "Golden Rule". They did have a lot of signs to keep you well informed (probably a little German Heritage) but our three girls had a lot of fun with the pool, mini-golf and playground without getting called on any rule. They have a good parts store if you break something on the road (geared mostly to towables) and prices were not out of line. Our sites were plenty long and almost level enough to keep the jacks stowed. We will keep this one on our "return" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
I should have noted the previous posters note about being very strict on rules. I would not stay here again as it is not a family oriented campground: management is very strict, not friendly and overly intrusive. The highway noise is very loud all the time. They seem to go out of their way to make sure you camp exactly how they think you should camp. Here are the things we did wrong. We parked slightly crooked, required to park behind our camper which prevented me from hooking up my sewer line due to the long distance to my hookup at the front of the rig. My child played basketball 5 minutes too long and prevented a worker from leaving exactly at 8am. We were not allowed to place a door mat outside on the dry cracked mud as it may damage the ground. We were 7 minutes late removing dry clothes from the laundry and were locked out. Bottled water was not allowed in the pool area, it may contaminate the pool water. Kids cannot go to the bathroom without an adult unless you are 17 years old. No bike riding after 8pm. The office person was not much help locating a grocery or convenience store, did not seem to have one in the area. The bathrooms were somewhat clean, although we had to hold the water on for showers and sinks. It is obvious why this campground is only partially full and the others are booked. Spend your time at the KOA which has spotless bathrooms and very friendly and knowledgeable people willing to help and make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. This campground felt more like a WWII prison camp than a relaxing campground to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
I have never seen so many signs with rules on them and felt like I was being watched to see if I was breaking any of them. The campground looked "tacky" due to the extensive signage. The overall atmosphere was unfriendly and intimidating. I was afraid I, or one of my kids, would break a rule and be asked to leave. This is not a place for kids. The park was clean but more like a morgue than a vacation site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A very nice campground except for the noise from the interstate. And the rules, lots of them. Shady pull-through spots and spaced far enough from your neighbors that it isn't a problem. WI-Fi signal was adequate except the actual internet connection was pretty poor. I wound up using my phone as a tethered modem which gave me a much better internet connection. Relatively close to historic attractions and right on historic Route 66. Cable TV available with 10 channels available although 2 of them didn't work. Most of the sites don't appear to be satellite friendly, I might have been able to find a hole through the trees if I wanted to spend some time hunting. I would definitely stay here again should our travels bring us this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I would have given this campground a higher rating if not for the close proximity to expressway noise, and bathrooms are very clean but need updating. We were comfortable here with friendly organized staff; they had their act together. Good spacing between sites. Most sites are pull through and shade. Nice pool. Close to Lincoln sites with lots to do in the area. There are not a lot of choices for camping in the area, but we were here for touring so this campground fit that need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Pretty nice place. The place was clean. The lots are all level packed gravel. It is close to I-55 and you do have plenty of highway noise. They are sticklers on rules though. Also, I had to pull the camper half way through the site, disconnect my tow vehicle and pull around to the other side of my camper to park. Just seems weird. The childs playground was small and did have some damaged swings still hanging. No pets allowed in play area. I guess if people always cleaned up after their pets they wouldn't have that rule. Also had a $5 per hour early check in fee. That seems alot to ask if you have empty sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We camped here just one night on way through. Didn't even unhitch. Easy in, easy out, level, and big beautiful shade trees, nice fire-ring in ground. Good playground and swimming pool and store. Good WiFi and hookups. Spotless campground and nice long sites, if a bit close together. Downside - too many rules! We are a pretty quiet family with 2 small children. I didn't like feeling like if they did practically anything that we might be told to leave. This is definitely a campground for planning a quiet stay with no intention of kids riding or playing on their own. However, it is certainly easy to find, right by the freeway, and rates were reasonable, although the number above is just a guess. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Camp was extremely well kept, however we were not comfortable here because the owners were constantly riding around "looking" for rule infractions! You are not even allowed to carry a bottle of water into the pool area. Very uptight, not recommended for families. Retired, or those without children would probably really like it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This park is very clean. Lovely big trees. The shower stalls are pretty cramped - definitely out of the question for the handicapped person we had traveling with us. The wi-fi connection is very poor; wound up using our AT&T Mobility to get out. This is only for one night so on the whole it is fine for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
I agree that the sheer volume of signs and rules are a bit over the top, however, the park is clean and maintained. One very big issue would be the bath/showers located at the rear. Unless you are able to shower/shampoo and use soap with one hand, you'd find it difficult to use these facilities since you have to hold the handle to dispense water. Hot water does not exist at this bath location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Cleanest RV park I've seen in our 10 years of RV'ing. There are several signs but they didn't bother us and I believe that's what keeps this park so nice. We had great WI-FI connection and we parked towards the back of the RV park. Lots of areas to walk dogs and they have dogie bags available. We parked in a 38' Fifth wheel and had plenty of space. Staff very friendly and a park host guides you to your site. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Sign,Sign.Everywhere a sign, do this, don't do that. Phone etiquette was awful when I called. You take what we give you attitude. There was nothing on the website showing the layout. Must park in designated area if your total rig doesnt fit site they pick for you. Wi-Fi is spotty. Times when there are disconnects. Cameras and Audio monitoring of the game room. Seems too cramped for us. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Pros: Very clean and well kept park. Nice amenities including playground and pavilion. Unusually wide sites. Dog walk area with clean up stations at both ends. Easy access to/from the Interstate. Close to Springfield attractions. Cons: Close to I55, thus constant freeway noise. Upon entering the park, you are inundated with signs and rules to the point of amusement. Extra charge for those visiting you at your campsite. Some sites are not as long as the big-rig sites. Our long bed quad cab truck would not fit in the pull-thru site with our trailer and had to be parked in visitor parking. Overall: I recommend this park if road noise is not an issue and will stay there again. Few parks I've seen are as clean and well kept as this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
This is a private campground south of Springfield, convenient to tourist spots. It is clean, well kept, and the folks running the place are pleasant to deal with. We did not find the "Keep Off the Grass" signs, etc to be intrusive or irritating. Points off for closeness of sites (-.25) and for proximity to I-55 (-1.75). We knew the campground was close to the highway and expected the noise, but be aware that the sounds from the highway is a constant. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Got a fair amount of shade but the highway is pretty close. Lots of nice grass for pets. I have never been to a campground that has more posted rules. There is a rule against everything. It was quite comical. Guess we motor homers do a lot of stupid things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
The price stated was for full hookups. This is an exceptionally neat and attractive, well laid-out park with nicely graveled sites and mature, healthy shade trees. The office is also a gift shop, but has no RV supplies. The staff is friendly. It is quite close to the highway, and road noise may bother some folks, but not us. The laundry is somewhat small (two washers and two dryers) for this size campground, which may result in a delay in accessing its use. There is a $2 per additional visitor to the campsite charge, with a maximum of four guests. We will gladly return if again in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Very nice park, clean and quiet inside the park, but noise from I-55 right out front. That didn't bother me too much, the very nice rv park made up for it, my first time there, I will be back next year for state fair. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
This is a very nice park. Well maintained by friendly staff. Sites are average in size but large enough for bigger rigs and awnings. Rules are enforced. Easy off/easy on if you are traveling I-55. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
After researching reviews on this site, we decided to travel here as part of our vacation. The grounds were extremlely clean, the staff was extremely nice, and the location was very easy to get to. We decided to stay an extra night, as we enjoyed the campground that much. We stayed here with our 4 month old daughter, so didn't get to use the pool on this stay. The sites were large enough for the truck and fifth wheel to sit. We had enough room for a campfire and outdoor sitting. It rained when we pulled in, but the grounds quickly dried. The owner releveled the gravel each day after other rigs left. The only downside was that there wasn't a lot of room if you like to walk around the campgrounds. About 10 minutes and you were back at your starting point. All in all, it was great. We will definitely return!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This was a very nice park. Great shady sites, very clean bathrooms. We were escorted to our site all which seemed to be pull through. The registration room was nicely decorated and had cute items to purchase. They had some groceries for sale and great local information for sightseers. I recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
Very clean; easy off and on; close to Springfield Lincoln sites; gravel lots, large pull-thrus. Lots of rules! Friendly staff. A little pricey since there is no cable, and the pool was not open yet. Parts store on site helpful as we had a need for a part and they had it! Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
The owners of this park take pride in its beauty, every time we have passed through on I-55, we find the park in pristine condition, everything works and is kept up. A bit of noise from the interstate, but other than that its a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
This is a big rig friendly campground. The sites are gravel, level with grass between. The area has trees, but all are trimmed for access. This is a very clean and well maintained campground. It is right on Rt.66 and very convenient to I-55. Stayed two days and visited the President Lincoln museum, Statehouse, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
This is a very nice RV campground. It has city water with good pressure as well as good electric and sewer. The campground is well laid out and has the option of shade tree sites or open sites for satellite reception. They also offer free Wifi. This is a great location for visiting Springfield, about 10 miles from downtown. There is some noise from the highway but it wasn't objectionable. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
Very nice park with friendly and helpful staff. Clean restrooms and showers. We camped here for 2 days while visiting the new Lincoln Museum and Library. Would stay here on any visit to the Springfield area in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
This is one of the cleanest RV parks we have been in. The spaces are wide and long. Bags are provided in the pet walk are as is a waste container. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Our only complaint is the laundry area is extremely small with only 2 washers and 2 dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
All we wanted in an overnight stay on our way south, in a 42' MH with no toad. 1) close to motorway (I-55), 2) far enough from the road not to hear the traffic, 3) level site, 4) friendly staff (helped with parking), 5) WiFI, 6) very well maintained, 6) RV service shop, 7) dog friendly. Really nice place to stay: clean, safe and helpful. This will be our primary and last stop on any trips south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Except for a very spendy wifi ($12/day), the park is very nice. Lots of shade but still good satellite access, minimal highway noise, and for those concerned about weather, two designated storm shelters. The tennis courts were being resurfaced in June 06. On-site RV service and sales nearest the highway, then transient spaces, with the "seasonal" spaces at the very back of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
We stopped at Double J Campground on our way to our devastated home in Louisiana, after Hurricane Katrina wreaked her havoc on the Gulf Coast. We were worried, scared, anxious, in a hurry to get home, and not the richest folks on the planet, having been forced to leave a Workamper job early because of the hurricane. Well, the folks at Double J couldn't do enough for us. Imagine our surprise upon going into the office to pay the next morning only to be told that it had already been taken care of! One of the residents had generously paid for our site and the owner reimbursed him out of the goodness of her heart. Not only that, but Double J gave us ice, cases of Diet Cokes, bottled water and even offered us a job come next summer and offered to send me to RV tech school! They would not let us pay for anything. Talk about wonderful folks! And add all that to the fact that the campground was meticulously clean and manicured, and you could have eaten off the bathroom floors, no joking. The pull-through sites are long and very level, and all sites are nicely paved and have a lot of shade. There are some semi-permanent RVs in the back row, but their sites are kept super clean with no debris lying about. Garbage cans are emptied every day, if not more often. The owners take great pride in their RV park and it shows. I heartily recommend this campground to anyone traveling through the Chatham area as you won't be disappointed. The cleanliness alone rates a "10". We are so appreciative of Double J's kindnesses to us that we will never forget how good they made us feel, at a time when our spirits were rock-bottom. Now, THAT'S a great RV park, in my estimation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Very attractive park on a freeway frontage road. Large level sites with lots of mature trees. Any size rig will fit. Excellent 50 amp power. The small laundry is only open 9-5. They have RV service and parts/supplies on site. If it weren't for the freeway noise, it would be perfect, but at least it isn't next to railroad tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
This is a well maintained campground with large camp sites. We stayed here for three weeks. It is a few miles from Springfield, the capitol of Illinois, and Lake Springfield. Lots to see and do in the Springfield area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com