214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Cross Country Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (704) 483-5897
CGID3822

Cross Country Campground

Camp Information
Sites
450
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   1   8   7   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We have been coming here for years and still love it. They renovated the pool concrete surface. Very nice. They still don't have lounge chairs to lay in, we just bring ours from the camper. They have a brand new, much needed website w/ reservations. Very nice employees that are helpful, Wi-Fi was good. Not extremely fast, but enough for what we need. Most sites were level and graveled. Everything was really clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Clean, mixed roads of gravel and asphalt. Most of campground is down in a ravine, but big pull throughs are the weekly sites opposite the pool closer to North Carolina 150 Highway. Road noise was mostly okay except when loud motorcycles or hot cars came by (this is NASCAR country). We are HDTers and our 67' rig fit, but we had to unhitch and park the HDT next to the trailer. Site was wide enough so this was no problem. Operators are very nice and they seem to have a lot of family activities. This campground is located in Sherrills Ford, but the mailing address is Denver, NC. Easy trip over to Mooresville, NC then up or down I-77 to get to Charlotte or Statesville, respectively. Daily rate is based on weekly rate. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We chose this campground for it's proximity to the NASCAR Hall of Fame and various race shops. All are a bit of a drive but overall not bad. The campground is nice. There are a lot of seasonals but they are extremely friendly. We had a fairly decent site close to the road but road noise was not a problem. Pool was a decent size but got very crowded on those hot July days. They put on a wonderful fireworks show right in the park at their pond with music. There are lots of activities as well. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
I have always been able to rely on the ratings of this web site to guide me in the selection of quality campgrounds ... until now. I generally write up good ratings but this is a terrible campground filled with permanent weekend residents who have been allowed to maintain their sites however they wish. The park is filled with a menagerie of landscape statuary, beer can windmills and chimes and trailers and fifth wheels that have not been moved in decades. RVs are in disrepair including ripped awnings, green slime growing from the roofs and down the sides and one trailer that looks as if a tree fell on it months ago and yet here it remains with insulation strewn around and rotting wood. The lots are filled to the brim with every conceivable statuary, bric brac, 100 gallon propane tanks etc. Evidently there is nothing the management will disapprove of. The sites for overnighters are not well cared for either as there were large branches that needed to be moved just to clear a spot. They are not level - ours was off 15 degrees left to right and fore and aft. This is absolutely a campground to avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We really enjoyed this park. The sites were not too close together. They were gravel, as were most of the smaller interior roads but this doesn't bother us. We chose the park because it was equal distance for our 2 families from different states to meet and spend time together. They allowed all 8 of us to stay in the RV and just pay $5/person extra over what they normally allowed on the site. We paid $27/night with a Good Sam discount, normally it's only $30. That price is without the extra people staying. We stayed at the front of the park, near the road and carpet golf. We could hear the road noise, but it wasn't too bad, not enough to bother us while sleeping! The lights were bright from the nearby tennis/Bball courts, so we didn't even bother with our awning lights. They had a nice fishing pond, and there were things to do for the kids. There is a steep, winding road that leads through the place to reach the sites back behind the lake. You have to go over a little wooden bridge. A lot of the sites back in there were very pretty, but it was close in. I'd be afraid to get our 32ft. TT into there! I think most of those sites are seasonal. If you have kids riding bikes, make sure they wear their helmet! Our daughter wrecked her bike going down the steep hill. She hit some stones and went over the handlebars and ended up with a LOT of road rash and 10 stitches in her chin. Just a stupid accident, but hope the kiddies are careful! There's a very big public boat ramp only about 2-3 miles down the road from this place, very nice with 4 ramps and lots of parking, and it's free. I think there was supposed to be WiFi here but we could not get it to connect at our site. Maybe closer to, or inside the office area it might work. We would definitely camp here again. Bathrooms are VERY clean. Decent amount of restaurants and shopping in the area. Friendly people, pretty area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
The park was nice and pretty clean. I wish they would have had someone take us to our camp site, because without getting out of the vehicle and walking around we couldn't see any of the site markings. Lots of golf carts driving around day and night. We were all the way in the back of the campground, so it was nice and quiet. We had plenty of room for our dog to run around and not bother anyone else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Great campground! We stayed here over Labor Day and the activities were endless for young and old. The only knock that we had was the alcoholic beverages displayed and a number of empty containers alongside the roads. They kept the park very clean but some people just don't care. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
The campground has a lot of seasonal sites, but keep them separated from weekender's. The grounds are kept very clean. Bath houses are clean. Staff members are outstanding. The pool is very nice. Sites are level and have all paved roads. The security gate at the main entry is great. I would rate higher, but the amount of golf carts and traffic within the campground is extreme. Roaming staff keeps order in the park and enforce rules posted. Activities for children are always taking place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We stayed at Cross Country campground this summer and had a great time. The people were nice and friendly. Also unlike Wildlife Woods, my family and friends did not have to pay a fee to come and visit me. I would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
If you are lucky enough to get one of the 30 or so spots up front, it is a great place to stay. Other spots on a winding downhill road leading to the back are still better than the spots in the back with the hundreds of permanent campers. Nice pool and friendly staff. Was told not to be in a hurry leaving on Sunday afternoon. Stayed over for the pool. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
All the 50 amp overnight spots are at the very back of the park through very twisting, turning, weaving through narrow streets of long-term campers. This park clearly caters to the permanent campers and the overnighters are an afterthought. We were treated as such. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Nice Park in Lake Norman area. Lots of permanent campers , not many sites for weekenders. Also lots of workers that use this as their temporary homes. Nice big pool and carpet golf. Would be nice to have cable TV hookups. Not a bad place to stay if you can get a spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Sites are somewhat close together and not to level. Easy access for large rigs. Most sites are occupied by long term residents but ok for overnight. They have security provided by the local sheriffs dept.on weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
We camped here in a 39 footer. The campground is located on the westside of Lake Norman about 1 mile from the nearest marina. Our site was considered a pull through, but wasn't very big both in width and length. Site was somewhat unlevel and the hookups were misplaced in the center of the site instead of the rear causing us to have to pull through close to the front access road. Most daily sites were in the front close to RT-150. Rt-150 on the weekdays gets noisy with work traffic about 5:30 AM. Otherwise it was a nice place to stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the showers and bathrooms were nice and clean, pool was well taken care of and it was quiet. You can bring your own golf cart or rent from the office. The sites in the back of the park are shaded and are mostly for seasonal use but I was told there are some for daily rentals back there as well that can accommodate travel trailers, 5th wheels and small motorhomes. I would stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com