206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Shore RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (562) 435-4646
CGID383

Golden Shore RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$64



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   9   10   8   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$64
Make reservations. We always read that parks want reservations but this was the first time we rolled into a place without reservations on a weekday and almost got turned away. We literally got the very last spot they had. This is a very busy park under high demand. It does indeed often fill up. After two and a half months in the Arizona desert arriving at this beautiful setting was like finding yourself in a botanical garden. Even the hedges were in bloom! The landscaping is breathtaking. The lots are level, paved or packed sand but some are really small and tight. Our 28 ft RV barely fit the last spot we got and that was after the truck was unhitched. Another reason to make a reservation. Only a few blocks north from the RV park are some really rough parts of town but this spot is safe due to lots of hotel security nearby, upscale shore side condos, and the heavy security features in the campground itself including a rolling electronic gate. There are some nice restaurants a short walk away and we felt safe walking. The pool and sauna are very nice, laundry room clean, and unusually cheap. The dog run is a lot larger than most fenced runs but bring your own bags. We were greeted by extra super friendly helpful night staff. The owners are acceptably polite but not in a great hurry to be accommodating. When we checked in we had said we wanted to stay five days for sure and possibly two more but when we went in the next morning to register we were told absolutely no weekly rate and we would have to pay the daily weekend rate of 64 to stay the two extra days. (Weekdays are $55) Besides they would have to move us as our spot was reserved for the last day (Again make reservations). One very nice feature is this campground is off the end of 710 freeway and a clearly marked sign for the campground at the exit. Easy on, easy off. We would go back again but would decide our stay and make a reservation first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Rate is a weekday rate plus Good Sams discount. This is a very nice park - probably one of the nicest we've stayed at in 2+ years of full-time RVing. Sites were raked, curbed, and have hedges between. Showers were immaculate. Pool & hot tub all functional, clean, and well-done. Location is awesome for visiting Long Beach. We would have extended another night but the spot was booked. Our Verizon 3G aircard hooked up well here. Listen for the Queen Mary's horn sounding on the hour and watch the Pelicans feeding in the bay next to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$65
Nice urban park if you need to stay in Long Beach. We had a back in site for 5 days. Everything was clean and worked perfectly. Pool was heated. An easy drive to Torrance and the beaches. Also an easy drive to the local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$44
Urban camping for sure. Great if you want to be near all that the downtown and waterfront areas of Long Beach have to offer; walk to the aquarium, restaurants, shops, etc. But the sites are tight (not a surprise), and there is some road noise. The park is clean, clean, clean. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub, nice grass, pleasant landscaping. There is a big range of people here; there was a tiny camper parked next to a custom bus. Our space was easy to level and came with a nice picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
Our site at this park was much larger than expected. For being in the "city" there was plenty of space to maneuver, and we could keep our rental car within our site with no problems. This was a good location for visiting the LA area as there is easy access to each of the main freeways from the nearby I-710. There is nice mature vegetation all about, a well-kept lawn area in the center median, and a closed security gate at night. Main trouble was getting level as each of the spaces seem to slant toward the street quite a bit. It was probably the most wheel blocking we have ever had to do. We will definitely use this place again when in LA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
This is a friendly, well maintained RV park in the center of many activities. Pool and restrooms are sparkling. Free downtown shuttle is close by and runs all the time. Call ahead for site availability. Not all sites will accommodate big rigs. We stayed here in a 40-ft rig. Rate is with Good Sam discount. Staff is very helpful. Will be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
This is a great spot. Friendly staff and excellent matinenance of the park. There is a shoreline area just outside that is perfect for dogs. Mornings and evenings we could take them off leash and let them run. Would rate it higher but all spots are back-in and internet was occasionally spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
Clean park. Back-in only. Can be difficult due to parked cars from others. Good Wi-Fi. Alas, no time for a swim; looks inviting. In spite of lots of signs NOT to walk one's dog in the park, one dog owner didn't give a d**n and let his doggy walk and do it's business on the grass in the middle. This is annoying for others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$65
We love this campground. We have been here several times and each time has been a wonderful experience. It is a great spot to allow one to explore the "OC" from. Its a short drive to dog beach both in Hungtington and Long Beach and all the other area attractions. The park has immaculate shower facilities and the pool area is always clean and tidy. The spaces are ample even for the big rigs. Many of the spaces in the "middle" of the park are very well shaded by large trees and that area is large and grassy. Almost park-like feel. We have been here on 4th of July and walk to the next door park area and watch the fireworks over the ocean. Really pretty. The park is very pet and children friendly and there are a couple rigs there that are full-timers. Office staff is always friendly and helpful. Good to book early here when there are special events in the area, as it fills up fast. We highly recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
Great base for exploring Catalina Island & Southern California. Large, immaculate showers, sparkling pool, and inexpensive laundry room. We rode the adjoining Long Beach Bicycle Trail to beach, restaurants, shops. Maintenance crew & gardeners constantly manicuring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$58
This is our second trip to Golden Shores, because our grandson lives in Long Beach, and my sister lives in Los Angeles. The park is very clean and the sites are clearly marked with a curb. There is grass and a swimming pool. Each site has a picnic table with a metal plate on the end of it, so you can put a little BBQ on it, which is very convenient. It also has a store in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Some of my review will refer to comments in the previous review. I found that review to be overly negative in content and tone. I discovered this resort fours ago. I have been coming back every year for an in and out 3-4 month stay. I have been here in all kinds of weather. There was a rain storm last week. Yes, the ground gets wet, but the drainage is excellent. The laundry room has five washers and five dryer, with wheeled baskets and long tables for sorting and folding. The bathrooms are kept clean and fresh. The Wi-Fi is very good with multiple antennas. Especially at $10 a month. Park security is good. The gate is closed at 8 pm and the entry has a coded keyboard. Both the Long Beach and Harbor police patrol. In four years I have not heard of a theft. If you like you can lock you bike on a rack in the office. In the center of the park is a large grass area. If that's your thing, take your chair or just sit on the grass and relax. This is a well manicured resort. After each departure the site is raked. The grounds are beautiful. If you are parked on the south side, you look out at a marine preserve. There is a nice little public park just outside the gate where you can walk and exercise your dog. A beautiful walk along the river takes you to multiple restaurants. The Queen Mary is just across the water. Want to go to Catalina? The Catalina Express dock is next door. I have never encountered a nicer office staff. If you need a particular retail service, and if they don't know of one, they will search the internet to find one for you. They accept your mail and shipments from Amazon or any other source. The resort is in downtown Long Beach. Many activities are available. If you're into gyms, a 24 Hour Fitness is a 8 minute walk. Anytime Fitness is a short drive. The abundance of bike paths extend for miles. If inclined, you can bike to downtown LA, Marine Del Ray, Venice Beach, or just bike on the beach for miles. The paths are well marked and maps are available. If you like to bike hills, take your bike to Palos Verdes. I lived there for years, the best biking I have encountered. Palos Verdes is the location of the Trump Golf Course. Yes, that Trump. From the RV resort, it's about a 20 minute drive and right on the ocean. I cannot imagine a more beautiful golfing experience. The club house is exactly what one would expect at a Trump facility, including three restaurants, a cliff side bar, and views beyond description. All things considered, this is a great RV resort. Worthy of the title Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
This is a decent park, and the ONLY one you will find in Long Beach. The sites are all D/G and can be muddy in the rain. There is constant freeway noise, but you are in the heart of downtown, right next to the Catalina Ferry terminal. There were some theft problems in the past but they seem to have diminished. Good place if you are exploring the South Bay area and is easy to get to. That is unless the Long Beach Grand Prix is that week, which it was just starting to be set up for. It makes a mess out of the downtown area for 7-10 days during the race. Spots for the event at the park are sold out a year in advance. I would stay here again, just not during race activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$56
My second year coming to this park and it's still a gem. Sites are generously-sized, landscaping is gorgeous, w-ifi works great, a very nice outdoor pool and spa, and a wonderful laundry room. Only downside is the particular site we've been placed at both years has been too sloped to be able to get properly leveled. Wish they would level that particular site more-- the others don't appear to be that bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$55
We made reservations for two nights and gave our trailer size of 24', when we arrived they only had a 21' site left, and said that's what the reservation was taken as 21', and that I probably gave them the wrong size when I called in! No apology or possibility they made a mistake. They put us in a overflow spot next to the gate/exit. The cable didn't work, tons of noise from the street, trains, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$44
Nice place with many endearing features ranging from the welcoming front office to the pool/spa all in a terrific location. Our only regret is booking this place as a 'final' (one) night before returning our rented RV in LA the next day. Hence, one night didn't do this RV resort justice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
Sites are plenty roomy for our 4 slides and had room to park our towed. Has a grass area at the back of each site and each site has a table. Nice fenced pet area. Quite a few long term folks but all sites are kept nice. Charge for Wi-Fi but only $1 per day with fairly decent reception. Easy off and on freeway but not much noise. (Averaged out rate includes 1 weekend day, 2 pets, a Wi-Fi fee and Good Sam discount.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$49
I full-time and have stayed 10 weeks at Golden Shore in the past year. The best thing about this park is the location. It is a snap to go to LA or Orange County, or just enjoy Long Beach. A bike/walking path runs by the park and you are just minutes from the Aquarium, Rainbow Harbour, Catalina Island Ferry. It is very easy to bicycle to Belmont Shore, Naples, or Seal Beach and enjoy the beach and ocean views. It is also the best place to stay during the Grand Prix in April. The park is older but very well-maintained and staff are friendly. There are quite a few full-time residents and the hot tub is good for socializing in the evenings. Park is quiet and secure with a keypad access entry gate activated in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
I stayed at Golden Shores for one quick night. I had just picked up our new RV in Torrance and needed a spot to crash before driving back to New Mexico. I made a hassle-free reservation by telephone the week before. They provided me with a code to get through the security gate as we were to arrive later in the evening. Spots are flat and well groomed. Grass is pretty and green. Hookups worked flawlessly and the park was pretty quiet after dark although it was pretty full. There is a pool, but we didn't use it. I never saw anybody who worked at the park, although that is not necessarily a bad thing, and, considering the hour that I came and went, it would not be unusual for no staff to be milling around. It looks like there are a few folks who have planted some serious roots at the park which kind of gives it a homey feel. The water is RIGHT HERE and the early morning was beautiful and crisp. It was a snap to get to and easy to find my way back to the freeway. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$57
We liked this park: it was a great find! Found the office staff to be very helpful. (We were tourists and they had lots of local info and directions to find things: like Home Depot or Wal-Mart, etc.). Upside: a great location in downtown Long Beach, gated park, right on the harbor/ seawall; nicely landscaped, a pool and hot tub, very good laundry (a deal compared to other parks), and everything was clean and well kept. Down side: the sites are not paved (packed dirt), the extra charge of a $1 per day per dog. We plan to stay a month next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$56
Great park with a great location in downtown Long Beach on the harbor. Park has very nice landscaping, a nice pool and hot tub, with a good c-store at the office. Laundry was great and incredibly cheap compared to the nightly rate. A large pet run is available except it's just packed dirt-- no grass. Pets charge of an extra $1 a day seems a bit ridiculous on top of the already expensive nightly rate. Only other strange thing was that each site was not paved, but only packed dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is a very clean, small RV park not far from the Queen Mary. It's adjacent to a small inlet with a wildlife sanctuary but no ocean front sites available. Restrooms/showers were very clean and the staff was very nice. There is a shuttle called "The Transport" that will take you around to areas of Long Beach and has a stop right in front of Golden Shores RV Park. We went up to the Pine Street pubs and "had a few cool ones" and took the shuttle back. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$47
We stayed at this park located within walking distance of downtown. Our site was a pull in / back out while other sites are the reverse. Sites are packed fine gravel with heavy landscaping. Their laundry has good washers and dryers but a little difficult to get your laundry to because there may not be any parking. This is a gated park. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$54
The office staff was very nice and helpful. This park was very clean and the landscape well cared for. If your exploring the city, this park is a great place to stay. We have kids and the pool was well heated for them to swim. Without the heated pool the kids would be bored at the park. If I was coming back to Long Beach I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is an good park with only a couple of detractors. The rules regarding dogs are not enforced. My site, although deep enough to park my 36' 5th wheel, was not of sufficient size to park my GMC 3500 completely within its bounds. Bottom line -- I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$51
A "cozy" little park, but a great location for seeing the attractions around downtown Long Beach. A long well developed bike path is right outside the front gate of the park and goes along the water front. The sites are tight in the park, and tough to park your tow car or truck if towing an RV. The road is paved but all the sites are dirt. Many permanent residents have covered the dirt with astro turf. The office staff was extra friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$47
Lovely landscaping. Very pretty greenbelt between the sites in the center area. Office personnel were very nice and helpful. The location is great, right off the Harbor Freeway and walking distance to a lot of attractions. Our only problem is that the sites are a bit tight for opposing slides. With slides out on both sides and the car parked beside the rig (the only place to park) we had no place to sit outside under our awning. In fact, there wasn't enough room to walk between the side of the rig and the car. Probably would have been just fine if we had slides on only one side or no slides at all. Rate paid is based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
This is a very clean RV park located across the harbor from the Queen Mary. It is within easy walking distance to the Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Convention Center and Arena. It is super quiet. The management here was very nice and also quite helpful. We definitely will return to this park on an annual basis. The spaces are generous. The Wi-Fi is free; however, you use it in the office/store area. They have 3 computer desks for your use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$47
I found this park to be comfortable because of its nicely landscaped areas, compact layout, and good facilities. Reservations person was snotty, but clerk at the desk was nice. Unlike the huge parks where everything is spread out, here everything is not too far away. Must confess that we stayed at a friend's house instead of at the park so really didn't get a chance to experience the facilities. Did get a chance to walk the dogs at the nearby park. The area is clean and pretty. Biggest complaint is the steep price but that seems to be the price one has to pay for staying in the Los Angeles metropolitan area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$49
Nice, clean park. Lots to do and see in the area. Several restaurants, shops, aquarium, and boat rides within easy walking distance. I was surprise how clean the surrounding areas were. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$55
Very clean and within walking distance of many attractions. Heated swimming pool and very clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$49
Friendly service at check-in. Very clean, nicely landscaped. Highly recommend staying if you are going to the Queen Mary or Catalina Island for the day. The Pike Place has great restaurants and shops. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
Nice campground with a view of the Long Beach skyline. Hard dirt sites but grassy area behind the site. Trees and grass give it a nice country look even though it's the closest campground to a downtown area we have ever stayed in. Night time security makes for a nice safe feel. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Park is located near all Long Beach attactions. Roads are paved but sites are dirt and when wet is a mess. Some sites face the water, an inlet for the L.A.river and are very pretty. They are sites 33 through 46. The pool and spa area very pretty. It seemed about one third of the park had "seasonal"workers living here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com