214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Brownwood State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (325) 784-5223
CGID3841

Lake Brownwood State Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   9   9   7   7   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We used to come here yearly when our kids were at home but haven't been here in several years. Lots of good memories. Anyway, the park is pretty much as we remember. The full hook ups are on the hill over looking the lake (which is very low right now). The sites are not very level but are plenty big. We stayed in # 75, which has a large oak tree and the living side of the trailer faces a beautiful meadow of wild flowers. All utilities worked fine. They have awesome boat ramp facilities but with the lake so low only one ramp was open. Restrooms are fine and clean. The office staff was awesome, very friendly folks. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Rate was for full hook up. A nice campground, facilities a little old. Some sites with shade trees. We didn't look around the several camping loops to see their condition. We were in the first loop and the sites tended to slope a little but not bad. We will definitely return. As a note, Texas State Parks are getting a little expensive for what they offer, IMHO. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
The campsites are not very level and could use some work ,but we could see the lake from our site #84. The water level is down due to the drought. There are places to bike and hike, but the weather wasn't very good, so we didn't check out the trails. The nearby town of Early, TX, was very friendly. We had a good lunch at Humphries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We stayed in the electric/water section (full hookups are $5 more per night) - very nice, large sites with water views. Bathrooms needed renovation. Park staff very nice. Nice places to walk and Lake Brownwood is huge - great for water activities. No Verizon coverage at all. No Wi-Fi in park. Nightly rate does not include the $4 per person per day additional charge. No fishing license needed in Texas State Parks, so that's nice to know as well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
The sites are large and well spaced. The restrooms and showers were clean, but really need to be modernized. The lake level was low due to the continuing drought. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We stayed in the Willow Point area. Sites are well spaced, each with a picnic table. All are back in, lots of room. Ours was long enough not to unhook our 30-ft travel trailer, it required a few leveling blocks on the side. Most sites are not real level, slightly sloped. There are some shade trees, and lots of grass. The restrooms and showers were nice and clean. The turnoff from Hwy 279 is 15 miles from Brownwood, then another 7 miles down a park road. No services nearby. No Verizon cell signal. No Wifi. The water/electric site cost $20 per night, and there is a $4 per person per day, additional fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
The sites in the full hookup area were very spacious and easy to back into. They weren't even close to level and some trailers literally looked like the tongue was sitting on the ground. The park is pretty remote, so if you need to go into town for anything, be prepared for a drive. The restrooms were OK, but but the standards of the other State Parks we have stayed in, they could use some updating (and cleaning). We are currently exploring the Texas State Parks, and this one had an opening so that's where we went. We'll probably stay closer to home while we are weekending. Sorry to sound so negative about this particular park, but it's not the nicest State Park we've stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We spent two nights here. Most of the sites have a view of the lake and are very close to the fishing pier and beach. The park had very updated and clean bathrooms in the camping area. There was a separate shower area where you could have your own shower room, which was nice for privacy. The bathrooms in the beach/picnic area were older and dirtier, but still acceptable. We camped in the Willow Creek area, which had partial shade from mesquite trees at most sites. Some sites had full shade from oak trees, but they are rare. Get there early if you want one of those. There was a very nice lighted fishing pier where several people caught good sized perch and a catfish, so they're in there. We just couldn't catch any! Fishing in Texas state parks is free (no fishing license required) when you pay the daily entrance fee. The beach area is very nice with shaded picnic areas, a volleyball net, bathrooms/showers, and a nice sandy beach. This is great lake for boating. Park staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We plan on returning to this great park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Stayed in the Council Bluff area. Took forever to back in to our site with assistance from about 3 other campers. Sites are narrow and at difficult angles for backing big rigs. A few are much easier, but sites are first come - first serve. The bath house is very old but we drove to another park area for newer and cleaner facilities. We would stay again, if we could verify that the few big rig friendly sites were not occupied. The rate we paid was for camping only, we have an annual pass for individual admission fees. No laundry facilities within 20 miles or so. A couple of convenience stores are on the park road with a few basic food items/supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
We only camped for one night, on our way home from Caprock Canyons. However, we liked the park so much we intend to spend spring break there and bring our boat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
I love this park and have camped here all my life. It needs an update, the big restroom/shower at Willow Point is being remodeled this year. But if you want full hookup, you need to stay at Council Bluff. There is not a walking trail to get to the water, you have to drive. The only trail from the Bluff is a trail that only a goat can traverse. The need for a proper trail has never been greater. Or you can ride your bike. This park is very nice with great water and fishing, no license required in State Parks. Give it a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
This is a state park @ Lake Brownwood. Wide roads, sites are large and spaced out, asphalt and level. There are trees for shade. This state park has two camping areas, one with full hookups not on the water. The other camping ground area is on the water with elec. and water only. No WiFi, no cable for television @ either site. Television reception is poor. All sites are backins. Restrooms are clean and modern. Brownwood lake is large and beautiful,state park has nice lighted fishing pier.The deer are plentiful and it is not unusual to have deer come into your campsite in the evening and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
The nightly rate include $25 per night campsite plus $3 per person per day entrance fee into the State Park. If you purchase the Yearly Park Pass, you get into all State Parks in Texas without having to pay the entrance fee per person. You still have to pay for the nightly camp site. Our site include full hook-ups. There are other sites that just have electric and water. Tents are allowed at RV sites, as long as there are no more than 8 people per site. Each site has a BBQ grill and a ringed fire pit, which is great for roasting marshmallows!! All sites are asphalt drives, with a concrete pad for the picnic table. I observed that most of the sites sloped to the rear, including ours. The showers are typical of Texas State Parks. They could use a good cleaning, but were not filthy. We have stayed at Lake Brownwood State Park in the past, but it has been over eight years since our last visit. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
The park is near the city of Brownwood in the edge of the Texas Hill Country. Sites are typical of Texas State Parks. We found the sites difficult to maneuver our 30ft trailer into. Out site had a lake view and many of the smaller sites were right on the water. I'd reccomend the park as a stopover while traveling through the area but would not stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com