214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Rocks Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (610) 756-6366
CGID3844

Blue Rocks Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   6   9   8   8   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
The campground is farther off the main roads than you would expect after reading their brochure. No discounts for anything. Narrow entry and exit pasted the office. VERY hilly with huge drop off ditches on each side of the road. Steep road up the hill. Sites are no where near level. The bathhouse is old and outdated with no a/c or heat. The check-in clerk had no idea if the campground could fill propane in a motorhome. I did see the propane station but it was not reachable by a motorhome. I should have but did not read the reviews. Do not even think of going here in a motorhome. I will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
We enjoyed our stay here. They have an on-staff security officer who drove around the campground. Although, there didn't seem to be a need for him to drive around, it was comforting to see him. The campground was well maintained and the owners take pride in it. We especially enjoyed the ice cream shop. The couple that worked there was very friendly. We took a hike to the top of the mountain. The view was amazing, but we were not prepared for how hard it was. I think that there should have been more information on how difficult the trails were. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Just returned from 3 nights at Blue Rocks. First impressions were not good. Arrived at 2 pm and lights not on inside office and employee not very helpful. I am one of those campers who likes to have a magnet from every campground we visit. I asked if there were any as I only saw stickers and patches and was told " I don't know, if we did they would be in there." Camp store very not very well equipped and one camper came out annoyed they didn't even have milk. We had site 146 and my parents had 147. Site 146 was on the creek, but small site and steep going into creek. I was leary with a 2 and 4 year old so we switched with the parents for 147. Much bigger site but both sites along the main road in the campground. Sites were rustic, rocky and nice tree coverage. Pond was small, but well stocked with bass, carp, sunnies and catfish. Pool looked clean but did not go in. Restrooms were old, but clean. Larger restroom and showers up by the glacier rocks. Electric was spotty as our breaker blew several times just running the AC on low and nothing else. Blue glacier rocks were just so so beautiful. Nice trails from the top sites, but did not hike with the little ones. Park ranger drives through campground which is nice but, only on the weekend it seemed. Lots of employee traffic in trucks and on loaders, but they were setting up for 3 days for a music festival up by the rocks. All in all, the campground really grew on us. A nice rustic campground with beautiful sites and not too much fuss. Site 156 along the rocks looked really pretty, but not near the creek. The creek kept my 4 yr old busy catching craw dads and bullfrogs. Deepest part was only up to his waist(bring water shoes). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
We stayed Memorial weekend. Check in was a breeze. Ladies in office very efficient and nice. Received an extra discount by liking on facebook. We were in site 11-3. It was nice size but kind of in the way of the dump station. We stayed here because it was so close to Cabelas and here to hike the Appalachian trail. There are side trails to the main trail. Nice views on of this section of the trail. Everyone very friendly. Have a large volleyball court that it looked like everyone had fun playing. Everyone very friendly. Definitely would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
The best part about this campground is, hands down, the hiking trails. Totaling around 4.5 miles, the trail takes you up around 600 feet to the Appalachian Trail. There are 2 trailheads, one being pretty steep (or I am out of shape). The view at the top makes the climb VERY worth it. We did not take the other trail, but I heard it was VERY steep, but I plan to tackle it on my next trip anyway. Staff was not super friendly and there were only two bathhouses with showers. The walk to these houses from our site (61) was rough so plan to drive it. The rock river is awesome as well. Primitive bathrooms were gross, not real dirty but STINKY! We'll DEFINITELY be camping here again (likely very soon). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Great campground. Clean, friendly service. Gated entrance provides extra park security. Beautiful facilities, pool was not yet open but area kept clean. Showers and bathrooms exceptional. Store well stocked and clean. Difficult maneuvering up some of the hills, but we had a great time, beautiful campground, clean sites. Definitely would recommend to tent campers. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We just returned from our first trip to Blue Rocks. This is a nice family campground with a nice pool, good playground and the stream was fun. The Blue Rock glacial boulder field was really cool to see. A new snack bar has been added this year. Great prices. Most of the park seems to be seasonal: not too many camper sites for weekenders. There were a lot of tent campers. Great people here. There was a small store and game room. We were in site 146 (W&E) on the stream, nearby all activities. Our site was level and shaded but our camper was right along the main road. We did open up to the stream which was beautiful. Bath houses are few and far between. The bathhouse near the store saw a lot of traffic and was muddy due to the light rain we had day before. Great hiking and nearby attractions: Crystal Cave, Mid Atlantic Air Museum. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
I love Blue Rocks Campground! It's a nice place to stay with the kids especially with that swimming pool. It's nice to have a place to stay that's so close to the Pinnacle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This campground has a lot going for it, especially the glacial boulder field that is in the upper part of the campground and the access to the Appalachian Trail. The primitive sites at Blue Rocks are larger and more private than most state park sites. Many of the modern sites are cramped and small, although there are some that are worthwhile. Some modern sites have stream-side access. The most desirable modern sites are taken up by seasonals. Some seasonal sites are pretty well run down while others take a lot of pride in the appearance. The roads in the campground are graded dirt/gravel as are the sites. It was very dusty from camp traffic and constant golf cart traffic. Many modern sites require some creative leveling. Bathrooms and shower houses are definitely dated and cramped but were clean when we stayed there. The upper shower house is a converted trailer and has smaller showers. We were there for the camp's annual pig roast/Hawaiian Luau weekend. The pork was good, but cold, and everything else was canned/prepackaged. The schedule showed a DJ playing for a pool party starting at 7 pm. Instead, he started at 2:30 and played till 10 pm. The music was too loud, especially considering that there were a number of sites very close to the pavilion where he was set up, and, he was a poor excuse for a DJ. We would go back to Blue Rocks, but only if we could get a site at the upper end of the campground and only on a weekend when there is no DJ or other entertainment scheduled. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Other reviewers are deriding Blue Rocks for being poor for the RVer. As a tent camper, things are a lot different. This privately-run campground has qualities that make it seem like a state park in many ways. I would have to agree that the narrow dirt (rocky) roads through the campground are not at all appropriate for any kind of RV. I saw several people with pop-up trailers that were going through okay, but I wouldn't want to do it with anything larger. The web site of the campground clearly states that it is geared for the tent camper, so large RVers should not be surprised that it is not a paved parking lot with pull-through sites and poles to hang Christmas lights. Most sites don't have any hookups and there are very few common water spigots. If you are in a tent, pickup, or van, then the place is great. It is very wooded, with a lot of secluded sites and a natural ambiance. Then there is the excellent hike up to the Appalachian Trail, which goes past the impressive glacial boulder field. When you hit the Appalachian Trail (about a mile of fairly strenuous hiking), turn right and you will soon come to Pulpit rock overlook which is very impressive and worth the hike. You can actually see the glacier field and campground road that crosses it below. (Remember to turn right, the campground's map doesn't make this clear.) Not so nice was the availability of the shower houses. If you are in one of the secluded areas, you are far from a shower (literally a 15 minute walk). There is some parking for the shower house near the entrance, so you can drive there... but driving around on the narrow campground roads is not something you want to do often... plus it ruins the experience. The shower houses are okay, not great, but reasonably clean. The one farther out toward the glacier is just a converted trailer with push-button showers that are way too small, so stick with the one near the entrance. There are some pit toilets scattered throughout for when you need to go in the middle of the night. A lot of the campers seem to own or rent little golf carts and drive them around for reasons I couldn't figure out. If it weren't for the little carts riding by every 10 minutes, there would have been hardly any traffic. There is a playground, pool, and store near the entrance... but the best part of this campground is the seclusion and natural beauty. If you are only interested in activities, other privately run campgrounds will do just as well... and those are a dime a dozen. This one is unique for its excellent hike and natural beauty. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
Great for hiking and enjoying the great outdoors. Have used the pool on previous visits and it was very nice as well. Campground is a tent campers dream as allot of those sites are mountain top and nicely secluded. For a RV the full hook up sites are extremely tight, and built around the dump station making harder to pack up Sunday) as those without sewer were lined up in front waiting to dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
I was so disappointed to read other negative reviews about this campground. This is the campground that my family compares all others to. We are tent campers (hopefully moving up to folding travel trailer campers soon). The tent sites are great. The majority of them are rather spacious. Another HUGE plus is that it is an extremely wooded setting, where once in your tent site, you have a pretty good deal of privacy. They offer fire rings and pic nic tables at the sites, however I wish maybe 2 picnic tables were provided per site (personal preference). There are also a few tent sites that have creeks that run alongside the sites, and I just think that is perfect. It's absolutely ideal for us, we love that type of setting. We have never partaken in the arranged activities, however they always have something on their activity calendar. The huge plus for us is the location. First off, the mountain that it is on is awesome. The rock formation that is on the grounds is an amazing work of mother nature. The pinnacle trail is not that bad except for the one part where it gets pretty hard right near the top. As someone previously stated, the views on the cliff up top are breath taking. If you want to venture away from the mountain you have the Cabelas superstore (apparantly its unreal), you have Crystal Cave in Kutztown, and you have Dorney Park nearby. The camp store is more than sufficient. The bathrooms are what we come to know and expect from a campground. Nothing fancy, as clean as they can get. They are old, but personally we haven't been to a campground with modern day shower facilities that seem more like a locker room than a campground. To us we are roughing it, and thats fine. It's more about the experience, the ambiance, the privacy, and the scenery. If anyone else knows of private wooded sites, maybe with some streams and creeks nearby, close to interesting attractions, by all means, let us know! I have been going to Blue Rocks since I was a kid, and I continue to go there with my family. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
There were plenty of activities here, such as hiking, swimming, playground, the blue rocks of course. But the other campground issues were so bad that nothing could make up for it. Dirty restrooms. Very small site with horrible sewer hook-upon our site. We smelled sewage most of the weekend. We were so close to the dump station that we had to put our awning down to accommodate a Class C that needed to dump. One night the water went off just as we were getting the kids ready for bed! So many unkempt permanent sites. Would not go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
We will never return. Yes,the hiking is nice and rock formation is interesting. I'm sure it is a good location for tenters and hikers, but for all other means of camping, the sites are small. There was a nice craft for the children Saturday morning. Our site was terrible. We had to parallel park our camper next to the main campground road. It was a dirt site. When we opened our awning there was only enough room for the fire ring and then the ground dropped off to the stream that was next to our site. A lot of the seasonal sites appear very rundown. The seasonal campers were not very friendly and were more interested in driving their golf carts than anything else. During the night on Saturday it began to rain very heavily. By the time we left on Sunday the bridge below our site was under several inches of water. The other road that leads out of the campground was practically washed away. The dump station is in the middle of small circle of sites. One camper had to unhook his tow vehicle so we could dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
This campground caters more to the tenter. The RV sites are small and difficult to get in and out of. The interior roads are horrible. I checked out the bathrooms and they were old and not very clean. They had activities for the whole family though and a nice little pond for fishing. Some of the seasonals or regulars were a little undesirable too. There were some kids on the playground using foul language, throwing things and even punching one of my kids, and that was a 5 year old! The thing that makes this place wonderful is the blue rock formation. The kids had a ball climbing on them. Also the hiking up the the top on the mountain was great. The hike was a little rough at times, but the view from the top was incredible. I suggest if you like to hike, stay at another nearby campground and go to Blue Rocks for the day. Day use is 3.00 for adults and 1.50 for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com