214654 User submitted reviews online!!
Sparrow Pond Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (814) 796-6777
CGID3858

Sparrow Pond Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   4   8   8   7   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Campground is about 4 miles from freeway and town of Erie, which has many restaurants and shopping opportunities. Park is quite with many seasonal campers. Roads are paved and gravel, sites are gravel and close together. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We stayed one week. Out spot was on the shady side. This also translates into the "older" and less level side. #14 needed 3 or more leveler blocks to get close to level and the sewer was uphill, period. Other than that, it was a pleasant spot. Little noise. Nice looking pool and huge game and activity hall. They cater to weekend families and seem to do a good job. There are some very nice areas and some open sunny parking lot kind of areas. We may stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Overpriced for what we got. Gravel site with about 10' of space on patio side. Generally quiet as far from trains and highways, but all roads are gravel so we always heard the sound of tires crunching through it as folks raced by in front and behind our unit at all hours of the day. Wi-Fi is painfully slow most of the time. Maybe 20 TV channels over antenna. Water quality good (150 PPM) for well water. Good walking areas in forests around the perimeter. Many sites are rented for the season and are not available even if empty. One garbage dumpster (nearly always full) but the park needs 2 or 3. There are a lot more sites than the 56 noted, but these are occupied by permanent RVs and rental cabins. And they are by far the best sites on the property. Larger and nestled in trees on the perimeter of the park. Therefore the "people load" is a lot more than we imagined reading their website. There is only one laundry room with 2 washers and two dryers. Grossly inadequate for a park this size. Washing of vehicles is prohibited, so we had to pay for that in town. The T/A at 4050 Depot Rd. charged 35.00 for the coach. The "security gate" was broken and left in the open position thus negating its benefit. Honestly, this park could be so much better if its revenue was directed toward improving it instead of paying for all the very expensive ads we saw on TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Very nicely maintained, excellent grass. The only quibble was the price of firewood ($6 per very small bundle -- find some on your own on Craigslist.com). Swimming pool looked very nice; a good mix of cabins and campsites, lots of places to walk (roads & trails). We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We just returned from a 5 night stay @ this CG. Its a work in progress. Every day there were several workers keeping busy throughout the grounds. The grass is cut frequently and the grounds themselves are pristine. They had several weekened activites planned, but everything was a bit unorganized. If one thing was planned, it was usually cancelled or the time changed or a whole different activity took place. There are unsupervised children on bikes and golf carts EVERYWHERE once Friday hits. None of the sites are run down, all of the campers are newer models including the seasonals. They say there is only WiFi in the office, but I had 3 bars by the lake. Lots of fish in the lake and bring extra bread for the resident ducks. No one bothers you. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
The owners are personal and professional. However they do not train their staff well at all. We met three different young people who didn't know anything about, well, anything related to camping. When we expressed our concerns to the owners however, they were very receptive and apologetic. That aside, the campground is nice and accessible, nice laundry and pool, game room, etc. We did have problems getting enough voltage because they are putting in a new section, plus we were here in the hottest part of summer. Price reflects the monthly rate, which was slightly cheaper than three weeks' weekly rate. (I had to do my own math.) We will probably camp here again, given that it's more convenient to shopping, etc., than our other options; reasonably priced, and those "helpers" will probably not last. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
This cg had a very nice feel to it. While surrounded by forest (and city on the outskirts of Erie proper), it was very open and each site had a fair amount of space. We didn't get a site near the pond, but we were here over the July 4th weekend, and I soon knew why! This place is very popular!! There are many people who live locally and just leave their trailers and fifth wheels here for weekend get-aways. I'd say they picked a good spot! And those folks are generally very tidy and friendly. Also, I think they ended up giving us a pretty good rate (if I understood the total charges correctly: won't know for sure till the next credit card statement). They, like everyone else, charge a lot for the holidays ($55/day I believe), but we were staying a whole week and were Good Sam members, and they did discount a lot for those things. So it came out being a bit more than we like to pay for so many nights, but much better than many other cgs in the general area. The little pond they have is nice to walk around (with our dogs). The pond is for fishing only, they have a pool for swimming. They're not a 10 because: 1) The WiFi only works at or near the office (although fortunately our Verizon aircard worked well enough.) 2) They only have two washers and dryers (I did my wash on the 4th of July so didn't have to worry about waiting on other folks), and if you're in the main section of the cg (like we were), you have to go through the bar-gate everytime you go to or from the laundry area. 3) We had to use our leveling blocks in the back because it had rained beforehand, and our jacks must've pushed the thin layer of rocks right into the mud below (so we were a little rickety the whole time). Would help if they had a second laundry room where they have the bathrooms for our section. And maybe a thicker layer of rocks on the sites? Or something else to create a sturdier substrate. Our satellite worked fine, and we have a 40' motorhome. If you want to check out an incredible, has-everything grocery store, go to Wegman's! And there's a yummy frozen custard place right across the street from the cg! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Nice campground. It was too cool and rain to use the pool but it looked very nice. The park was easy to navigate and I was able to back into my site with no trouble. They had a nice store and all staff were very friendly. I would have rated it higher except one group of campers partied hard until after 1am. The park advertises a 24 hour patrol but we never saw them. My daughter is attending Edinboro University and this made a good base camp. It is also close to all Erie attractions as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Nice campsites, wooded, and well spaced. The campsites were not level which required us to change to a different site. The restrooms were clean but far away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Nothing but praise for this terrific campground!! It was beautiful!! Very good security. The girl at the front desk was very pleasant when we checked in. They had just reopened for the season so the store was not yet stocked, but I would think it would be great when fully operational. The pool looked beautiful! The grounds were fantastic and it looks like the owners take a lot of pride in keeping the place clean and well managed. Plenty of room to walk the dogs. Our WIFI worked great at our site. It was just a very pleasant experience and we would like to stay longer next time. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone! GREAT Campground!! Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
The campground is conveniently located 6 miles south of I-90, with easy access for any size RV. The facility is only 5 years old and was designed to handle the largest of rigs. The spots are large and easy to access. We camped in the late fall so the large swimming pool was closed for the season. The sites vary from full sun to partial shade. It was a little pricey for a late season rental, but overall a good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Our site was one of only a few pull thru sites with little or no shade but right on edge of the pond. The pond is nice for fishing (catch and release) and there is also a nice swimming pool, basketball court, and volleyball area. Rest rooms and showers are impeccably clean. However, I would definitely advise calling for reservations since the park often fills up on weekends or whenever there are special rallies. While many sites are occupied by seasonal campers some of the nicer sites are those that border one side of the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Very nice campground. Everything was very clean. Employees were very helpful, they held the laundry room open for me for an extra 90 min. one night. Nice big sites with shade trees, other sites clear for those who prefer that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
This is a new park on the outskirts of Erie, PA. It has the makings of a great resort. The facilities are clean and modern and growing over the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com