206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Lost Hills RV Park (formerly Lost Hills Campground) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (661) 797-2719
CGID386

Lost Hills RV Park (formerly Lost Hills Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   6   7   8   9   1   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We stopped here as a quick one night stay before heading to our final destination. Place isn't really a destination spot. More of a stopover RV park or maybe a spot for a local. Park was pretty empty. Looked like a few people stayed there. We had full hook ups and everything worked fine. Spaces are basically dirt, but ours was pretty level. Pool was covered and has a grass dog park fenced in with tunnels that was actually nice. The staff was friendly and the store stockings were pretty sparse. Propane is on site, too. Bathroom and showers were basic but functional and clean. It is right off highway 5 around a bunch of gas stations and fast food places so not a bad stopping point after a long drive. I'd stay there again if need be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
Awesome place! Found it by accident, actually. Just needed to get off the road! Stopped at Loves truck stop and found this place in our big book from Camping World. Staff is incredible and so helpful. Traveling with Great Dane show dog. Dog area is great! Easy easy in and out! Will definitely stay here again if in the area! Love the one stop staying and shopping aspect. Was able to get propane also. So convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
We stop here going and coming to and from southern California. Very convenient and easy to negotiate big rigs in the park. Quiet with friendly and helpful staff. This park was closed for several months and has now reopened. Many improvements and many more coming (like big walk-in fridge/freezer in office). Will eventually have grassy areas next to sites. We will continue to use this park as our first choice in this area. "Good Job" to the new ownership! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Sandy, dirt park. Clean, but fine blowing sand with a very few small trees. Very friendly office. Pilot and other fuel and fast foods within walking distance. Wi-Fi available in office building only. We stopped here for the night, it will do just fine. There are a few rigs with extend a while propane, but all sites are presentable, good water pressure and 50 amps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
One of a few RV parks along this portion of I-5. All dirt ..mostly level..good 50 amp ...good for tired travelers wishing to rest before a north or south trip on the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Price rate reflects Good Sam price. Separate showers from restrooms - Separate shower stalls with no ventilation were on a wall on one side of hallway and restrooms with motion sensor lighting on other (heaven help you if you have to be occupied on toilet and lights go out at night). Pool was closed due to dust storms. Nice easy access to freeways (at an interchange). Good place to stay if passing thru. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This park has recently re-opened and the new owners have done an excellent job fixing it up. Everything is clean and fresh. It is so close to the Interstate 5 and Highway 46 interchange that it made our stay really easy. We would stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$0
The rv park is closed, fenced off, with no signage to explain or indicate if it will re-open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
Park was CLOSED when we arrived January 26th, 2012. Google said there is a sale pending from a recent auction. We overnighted on the side street bordering the park. Next morning I talked with the caretaker who was very evasive about what was going on so I'd call first before staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
This was our second stay here because of the easy on/off to I-5. The sites were level and easy pull throughs. This time we had to deal with an overhanging limb next to our antenna, but being careful we had no issue. The restrooms were very clean and relatively new. It is within walking distance to a truck stop that has all the typical restaurants, so you can stay hooked up and easily get something to eat. We would stay here again for one night, but probably not for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
Good for an overnight on I-5. Our first time here, we usually stay at the place in Kettleman City but it's closed right now. Our pull through site did not have 50 amp, not that it matters in winter but that might be an issue in summer. Previous reviews point out distances to the sewer - believe them. Plumbing layout must have been done by trailer folks. Had to use three hoses - ugh. Rather do that than unhitch, tho', and it's my last stop before home so I need to dump. Staff was very accommodating when I requested a move from a too-many-shade-trees site which interfered with DTV. Be aware some of the trees are in need of pruning and some branches will hit your sides and top. Ground is very sandy, so keep a broom handy at the door. Several typical food outfits within easy walking distance as well as a couple of truck stops and gas stations - which are surprisingly quiet being so close, however, as there are no sound breaks from nearby 46 on the way to Paso Robles its traffic noise is very apparent outside. Signed pet walk area really isn't, but there are plenty of alternatives for Rover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
I agree with the other review. OK for a overnight stay. Sites are pretty level, wide, and long enough. The park is desert sand. Many ruts on the roads due to past rains. Pool was dirty and locked; looked like it had not been useful for a long time. Even though it was near 90 during my visit. Surprisingly quiet even though located behind a major truck stop. I would stay here for a night again. It's the only game in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Perfect overnight stop very close to the freeway, little to no noise and well kept although campground is all dirt. Fast food and gas in the same area. Would stay again if going through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
We stayed one night. The park has easy access to the freeway. There is some noise from State Route 46, but it wasn't bothersome. The spots are long enough to accommodate a large motorhome. We were towing a car and it did protrude into the roadway, others had the same problem. Sewer connection wasn't situated with the hook-up island, would require a very long hose. This posed no problem for our stay. The $33 rate is for 20amp, for 30/50amp there is a $3 surcharge. The restrooms/showers were very nice. The park personnel are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Like many have said great park for an overnight stay as it is close to the Freeway but you do not hear the traffic. Sites very easy to pull in and out, clean and everything worked. Some sites have shade. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
We stayed here one night while traveling. Very easy off/on I-5. They are right next to several places to eat and fuel (pilot). The sites were large, gravel and level. The roads were very wide and easy to get around. The rest rooms/showers were recently redone with tile and were very clean. This may not work for someone staying a few days, but for an overnight or two it worked out great for us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
As others have stated this a fine overnight stop. I found the sites to be long, wide and easy to move in and out. There are several pot holes and ruts throughout the park, however attempts have been made to fill in most. I found the noise from the truck plaza not a problem. The pool was filthy, but I believe it was too early in the season to be open. Tile, clean, private and roomy showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Wide pull-through sandy sites. Behind big truck plaza, off I-5. A little noise from truckers refueling. You can walk to nearby Denny's or fast food restaurants. Fine for an over night stop. Evidence of holes and dips in sites from recent rains, making site edges soft. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
Had a pull through site. The sites were sand, plenty wide. Friendly staff. Have stayed here before on the way back from AZ, and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
The rate shown is for 30 amp. 50 amp is available for an additional $3. This is definitely just an overnight park; however it is close to I-5 with easy access and pull-through spaces. Although we could hear a little traffic noise from I-5 and the nearby truck stop, we didn't find it loud enough to be a problem. Unfortunately this park is not well maintained. The roads and spaces are dirt and there are potholes everywhere. It was dry when we were here, but there were ruts in the roads and spaces where RV's had been when it was raining. We would probably stay here again, but only if it hadn't rained and the ground was dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$36
As said before this is definitely an over nighter only park. Easy for I-5 but not much else. Does have 50Amp. Dirt roads with dirt pads and quite a few potholes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Yep: this park seems nothing but a sand trap. However we slept well and that was all we were asking for. It's not easy to find: the signage was poor once you are off the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2009
$33
Price shown is nightly rate. We were going to stay in Bakersfield but found it smokey due to the fire in Orange Co. so we put on a few more miles. Only game in the area when deciding to call it a day. We feel the price is way to high considering that this is a very basic RV park with no amenities. Entire park is dirt/sand. Drive ways are wide but are pot holed. Easy on and off of I-5 along with lots of fueling choices. Not sure if we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
There's nothing really wrong with this park, except that it is a giant parking lot next to a truck stop on Highway 5. The noise all night from the diesel trucks and the $28 fee just can't turn this park into a pleasant I-5 RV stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
I hate parks that take advantage of weary travelers and this is one of them. Even at 9 o'clock at night I could tell this place was nothing to look at. What's worse is the first thing you read on the sign is "There is NO "No hookup" or tent camping rate". The rate is $33 for 1-2 persons and $3 each for anyone over 3 years old. THAT is why I put it is not kid friendly. There's not much else to say except it's the only game in town and they seem to know it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
This campground was nothing more than a large parking lot with little ambiance. Pull-through sites were easily accessible and were level. As soon as we were hooked up, we discovered a very foul offensive odor and surmised that the campground was apparently located next to a sewage treatment facility. Rates of $36 per night with no discount were the highest we paid on our entire two-month trip and were definitely not justified for a campground of this caliber. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
The other reviews here are right on. This place is fine for an overnight, or if you need to be in that immediate area in an RV. There isn't much else around. I was driving from Quartzsite, AZ to San Francisco, CA and got tired at Barstow. It was a convenient place to pull into for the night. The hookups worked, that's all I can say. The desk man was friendly enough to tell us not to worry about disconnecting the car as long as people could get past us. But, I do think he overcharged me because I probably looked as tired as I was and clearly didn't want to continue down the road. I disagree with the truck stop comment in the other review. It's better than a truck stop. How's that for a slogan? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
We have now stayed here, in this dark and spooky place about 6 times. We would rather not. But it is not so bad once you get used to it. Yes, the Park is nothing but dirt. And yes, it IS very dark and creepy at night. But our two Black Lab dogs love it and we have even gotten to know the strange Guy at the front desk. No, we do not even try the bathrooms OR the laundry, leaving well enough alone. My DW is more relaxed while staying there now. She just makes sure the deadbolt and door lock are fastened at dusk. I have raised our rating to a solid *7* based on the fact that all this RV Park needs is a healthy shot of Bill Gates' Money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
For an easy in and out from the I-5 freeway, this would be a good choice for overnighting. The price is kind of steep for what you get, but there isn't much else out here. Sites were nice and level, plenty of them, and there wasn't a lot of noise from the freeway. Also truck stops for refueling and several restuarants (fast food and franchise) within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Oh my goodness ! Well, i guess i'll learn to pay attention to this service. What a dump ! Everything you say about this place is true in spades. You would be better served to just pull into the many truck spots and take your chances with the truckers. I can see why KOA pulled its name off this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Like someone else said, this is a spooky place. It's very dark. We were one of about 4 RVs on the lot. The restrooms were not secure. It's clear that the truckers who park right outside the park also use the restrooms, which as a woman, I find really creepy and scary --not because they're truckers but because anyone can approach the restrooms at any time. Because the park was so empty, it did give us ample opportunity to let our dogs run for a bit before we left in the morning, without bothering any other campers. That's about the only good thing I can say for this place. BTW, the AAA guide says that this park is shady with gravel. There are scrawny trees and it's a dirt lot. There is no shade. In Central Valley heat, this place would be unbearable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
Only reason to stay here over night is if you absolutely can not drive any further. I can't believe they even charge a fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$31
We rated this a 5 out of 10 because of the overall condition of the campground. But, as a previous poster said, it is about the only game in town on the North/South 1-5 Run. There are people living in the campground as permanent residents and they come and go at all hours. We pulled in from Phoenix, dog-tired, and locked everything up, and crashed out. After dark the place is kind of spooky and reminds one of the movie: "The Hills Have Eyes." There IS Wi-Fi Internet access through the truck stop, if you are willing to pay for it. We will over-night here again as it is a one day run from Redding and another one day run to Las Vegas from Lost Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Don't pull into this park after dark as the roads are deeply rutted and unmarked. It took some doing to find a site to get into and the help of one of the park guests. Lot of electrical problems with wiring being out of phase. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This park is meant for one purpose only, to stop on the I-5. The park was clean, but the sites are dirt (dust). They have a little playground that is old, but nothing was in disrepair. I couldn't tell if the pool could be used - we just wanted to spend the night. The person at the front desk was nice. Fast food restaurants are walking distance. You can definitely hear the highway. Expensive for what it is, but there are little other options when traveling from No. to So. Calif. We would stay here again if the need arose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
We travel all over the country and this is by far the worse campground we have ever stayed at. I would recommend staying as far away from this campground as possible. The people are so rude at the office. We were unable to use the swimming pool because, they refused to clean it out. The bathrooms and showers were so disgusting. And when we washed our laundry there were a million bugs in our clothes. I can't believe that this park is even aloud to be open. Also you are so cramped next to the other trailers. With other peoples vehicles in the middle of the road. All dirt roads with a lot of pot holes. I would much rather sleep at a rest area then ever stay here again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$28
This is a very utilitarian park. All dirt, can be dusty if windy. It lacks quality amenities, but I use it frequently on my trips from Northern California to Southern California. It helps to break up a long boring drive on I-5 into two more restful segments. I use the full hookups and pull throughs, period. It's easy to walk my dogs. My experiences with the office person has been pleasant over the last 2 years. It is far better than the rest stops on I-5 because there are no trucks running their motors all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Traveling from South of Los Angeles going North to the Bay area is a long drive without many options for RV parks. I checked in the Woodalls and the other travel directory I carry, and found this park. The ad said it had all the things I wanted for an overnight stay but noted reservations were required. When I called to make the reservation I had to give my Visa information. (That has never been the norm at other parks I've reserved a space in). When I finally found the place, as it is off the road and behind a restaurant area, with no signs to direct you, I was met with a very rude clerk. But being tired I shrugged it off and drove to the spot he assigned me. The park was almost completely empty except for a few weathered and old looking trailers. I hooked everything up and found the electric didn't work. Called the office and asked him to come out and check the hook up, he refused. Told me to move to another spot, or I could leave. When I asked about TV hook-ups, he said there were none, but he'd credit me $4.00 for no electric if I didn't want to move. The park was dirty, windy, dust everywhere, litter (liquor bottles), lots of bugs, semi trucks right outside the park and road noise, plus it smelled really bad. I was shocked as it was advertised as a KOA Park. I thought it'd be at least half way decent. When I got home, I posted an e-mail to KOA with my complaint. They responded about 3 days later, that Lost Hills RV Park was no longer a KOA park and they could take no responsibility for the situation I encountered. I've just found this website (thankfully) and will now check here before I travel. The books that probably most of us carry, which reference available RV parks are not always current, even if you have the latest edition. It's a hard lesson to learn when you've made reservations and find you'd have been better off staying in a Rest Area along the highway. But when you're tired and have to stop, there's not much you can do except alert others and never go back. Lost Hills RV Park will never see another $ of mine!! Thanks for the website: at least I got to vent, and may save someone else from getting 'taken'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2005
$31
Pretty bad. Dirt sites -- until it rained when everything became a huge sucking mud hole. Poorly maintained roads with huge potholes and mud puddles. The ONLY good thing about it is it's far enough off I-5 that road noise wasn't an issue. Way too expensive for such a lousy place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$31
While I think KOA's have not been the top notch sites in the last few years, this one hit a new bottom. All dirt (with a very entertaining sign to not drive on the grass), exceptionally poor odor, noise level, and view (of a truck stop). The new motel across the street was cheaper than the all dirt spot here. The pool was filthy and lots of strangers using the facilities. Will certainly not do this one again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$30
What a depressing place. No paving, dirt and dust everywhere. Thank goodness the wind didn't blow. Some type of industrial plant (fertilizer or something) next door which put a stench in the air. No security at entrance or on bathrooms so you get to share bathrooms with truckers parked next door at the truck stop. Not much campground choice in this stretch of I-5 however. Why don't the owners fix up places like this? Could be a money maker. Not recommended as is. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com