219099 User submitted reviews online!!
American Creek Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (605) 234-5151
CGID3878

American Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   8   8   8   9   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
This camping ground is on the river, beautiful view, next to a public park, the price we paid was CASH rate, the Wi-Fi speed was good, no problem, the dump station was very tight, not easy to access, if you have a big rig make sure you have a full hookup site, so you don't have to use the dump station, overall this is a nice CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
We chose this campground for an overnight stay. You have to drive into the town so it is a few miles off the interstate which may be an issue for some overnighters. We had site #25 by the river but were not able to get sewer hookup as they have very few full hookup sites. The sewer dump is very inconveniently located as you have to circle behind the office to access it. The Internet was adequate although it wavered from time to time. The site had an amazing view of the river, which we enjoyed. The bathrooms were large and clean. The owners were not overly enthusiastic but we were checked in quickly and efficiently by a teenager. The roads are paved and the sites gravel. It was quiet at night which we appreciated. We had a nice stay at this campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Campground is located on the Missouri River alongside a park. Great location. Wi-Fi was terrific. Campground was clean and well kept. Although located close to the campground entrance, we had a view of the Missouri River and beautiful bluffs. We stayed here as a stop over to the Black Hills. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
We camped for one night while travelling. This park is located on the Missouri River and is very scenic. We arrived on a Friday and the park looked to be about 35% occupied. It has a nice swimming beach, floating dock, and boat ramp. The nearby town has several antique stores, and the Akta Lakota Museum, which is only 1/2 mile away, was very enjoyable. We'd definitely stay again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Good Sam rate. The Missouri River is very wide just below this campground, which means lots of watercraft launch from there and things stay busy. Plenty of families on the weekend. Dated but clean bathrooms. No cable, but got a few antenna channels. Shady, picnic table and grill at each site along with pesky flies that drove me indoors. Lewis & Clark camped near here in 1804. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
This is one of the pretties campgrounds we've stayed in over three months of traveling. However, Big Rigs beware. This is an older campground with many established trees. If you are towing, highly recommend disconnecting toad and exploring the route ahead of pulling in. This is a very doable campground for Big Rigs, but the route you take to your distention should be navigated first. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Ten plus miles off Interstate, but that did not dampen our rating for this place right on the Missouri River. Spacious, comfortable, plenty of room for walks. Can fish off a small pier. Boat launch nearby. Good for a couple of days stay if you want to relax before going where you're going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We were passing through and stayed only one night. Lady at the desk was helpful and the site was adequate. This park has a lot to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This campground sits directly on the banks of the Missouri River. There is a boat ramp available and the park seems to attract a lot of fishermen. Gravel sites and roads. No off-leash area. Rate is with Good Sam's discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Nice park, looks like it use to be a COE park. Wi-Fi didn't work at our site (#25, 50 amp W&E) and Sprint hotspot (roaming) worked but is slow. Sprint cell works OK, in roaming mode. Our site had trees that blocked our rooftop dish, we could not position the 5W to get a signal. First site we were assigned to had 2 trees right on the edge of the blacktop back in site so we didn't even attempt to get in as the slides would have hit the trees. We were moved to a short pull through site which allowed a great view on the Missouri River. Parked the truck in the grass. Roads & sites are blacktop. Park allows you to wash your rig, no charge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
Location is the top amenity at this campground, located on the shores of the Missouri river. Our site was right on the river. The utility hookups were positioned so that we were able to enjoy the view from the rear window of our fifth wheel. What a treat to see the sunset at night. The campground has its own boat launch, and the adjacent public park includes a beach. This is a nice, small, clean campground. Only complaint: the WiFi didn’t work. Verizon 3G service was very good. It was very quiet during our mid-week stay. The shower facilities were basic and clean. Rate reflects 10% Good Sam discount. We’d recommend this park for a short or long stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This is not a park for big rigs. Numerous sites have only 30 amp and most have big time tree issues. This would be a good park for 5ers and trailers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a unique campground. There appear to be a few permanent rigs here but they are away from the rest of the sites. The sites are laid out in a very strange pattern and our site was challenging to get in but we managed. Our site only had water/electric, but it was fine for a couple of nights. Thank goodness for 50amp service as it was very hot while we were here. Lots of noisy activity on the river but not at night so it wasn't a problem. We had a nice view of the river and we enjoyed walking around the park. The owner was not very friendly but he seemed to be doing all the work so maybe that was why! We might stay here again if ever in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Rate reflects Good Sam membership. Very nice campground along the banks of the Missouri River. Sites were level and paved and hosts were very friendly. Park was clean with no trash and looked decent. Hosts friendly and helpful. Had difficulty with electric post but able to move to another site. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Very nice campground along the banks of the Missouri River. Had a site that backed up right to the river with beautiful sunset views. Sites were level and paved and hosts were very friendly. Park was clean with no trash and looked decent, not your Ritz Carlton, but pleasant. Stayed for an overnighter, but would come back for 2-3 days easy for us. Rate reflects Good Sam/AAA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Great little park. Owners very friendly. We loved the view of the river that we had. Would have given it a 10 if the sites were easier to enter, but the park was designed years ago so owners are doing the best with what they have. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Good access. Friendly staff. Level sites. Pleasant atmosphere. Right on Missouri River. Stayed both going and coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
We stayed here one night passing through. We used CC USA for a Friday night and got a pull-through with sewer but the internet was bad, with a very, very weak signal. They have a problem but are unwilling to admit it, so the problem will persist to exist. Very nice area and quiet. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We only stayed here for one night. It is a city owned park. The park itself is not very kept up. Nice location, right along the Missouri River. Very nice Tourist Information Center on a bluff overlooking the I-90 bridge across the river. It had a lot of Lewis and Clark info because they stopped here coming and going. We had a pull thru site with sufficient space but the entire park was plagued with flying ant-like insects during our stay. The park just seemed to be neglected but it was suitable for our one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Chamberlain has nice Lewis and Clark and native museums. Lots of trees. High water from lots of rain, not a problem, but some sand bags still in place. Used to be a Corp of Engineers park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Beautiful view of the Missouri river.Nice neat campground with no highway noise.We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This campground was clean and quiet. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
The campground bathrooms are shared with a day use park and are sometimes very crowded. The sites are not very level and only three or four are on the water. The park is not very well maintained. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Nice shady sites on the Missouri River. Restrooms and showers were not very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We arrived at about 2 PM and got our site. It was full hookup, but only 30 AMP which would be all right since it was to be just a 1 night stopover. The first thing I noticed was the receptacle was upside down. I plugged in my surge protector and it said 'reverse polarity'. So I checked the site next door and it was OK so we moved to that site. We got all hooked up and about 7 PM the AC shut off but I didn't think much about that. Then a minute later I looked at the refrigerator and it was running on gas. I went out and had a 'ground fault' error and Line 1 voltage was 134 and Line 2 voltage was 135. The surge protector shut down the electrcity just like it should. I unplugged it and told my wife we were leaving. Stay away from this place because the managers say everything is OK and just turn your plug over if the receptacle is upside down. That don't fly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Nice stop, no noise, most hookups seemed to be on the wrong side. Several sites overlooking the river, and looked like a good place to fish too. The kids liked the playground and we would stop there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We had a beautiful back-in site, right on the river front. Lots of shade trees made it a great place to be. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. We stayed 2 nights and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had no trouble getting in or out with the motorhome. There are some parts of the campground that had trees that needed to be trimmed. The campground is on the river, and there is a swimming area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Very nicely kept, on Missouri River, quiet and very relaxing. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Nice riverside park with limited amenities. Very quiet and distant from any traffic. Attendants friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay in this park when we return to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Convenient I-90 access. We stayed several days as mini-base camp: touring area in tow-car. Great tree sites, but we opted for tree-less (sites 61 - 64) for satellite TV reception. Popular weekend campground; multiple boat ramps accessing this magnificent river. Cleared out nicely during the week. Typical old river town: this older campground is surrounded by low-rent neighborhood. Felt out-of-place in new model RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Great overnight stop on our way west. Close to I-90 and right on the Missouri River. Our pull thru spot was 50 feet from the river bank. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
We really enjoyed this campground. The sites were well spaced, mostly shaded, some were lakeside. This campground had a very scenic view of the bluffs on the Missouri River! On the far end of the campground is the city park with a nice sandy beach area for swimming, a nice playground, fishing and boat launch, and more nice views. There was also a bike trail/walking trail that went along the riverside and to the uptown which was only about 4 blocks away. I enjoyed this campground so much, I would go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com