223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Malibu Beach RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 102 user reviews. Phone: (310) 456-6052
CGID388

Malibu Beach RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
177
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$105



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   2   5   7   9   8   6   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$105
Aside from the location, this park doesn't offer anything worth the cost. We had a very tight and short pull-through site that was not level either side to side or back to front. We were within a couple feet of our neighbors and the outside was not usable for our space as it was taken up by our slides. The staff was friendly and helpful. They charge for guests to visit which is unnecessary. I wouldn't stay here again as the price was just not justifiable. Access from PCH was easy except for the very steep driveway entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$140
The view was beautiful, as it should have been for $140/night. We were able to walk to the ocean to let our kids get in the Pacific for a bit. There is also a seafood restaurant right next door that was very good. The laundry room was great. Wi-Fi worked ok for us. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$145
We have stayed at this park a couple of times a year for the last 5 years, and this year will be the last. The views are spectacular, but the staff is not friendly at all. First off they squeezed us into a site we barely fit and the odor of sewer was unbearable. At check in the staff greeted us with a crappy attitude almost like we were bothering them. This campground has turned into a real life wrinkle ranch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$121
This park is one of the few parks in the LA region and hence it charges very very high prices. We booked last January, prices went up in May (no warning email sent), and they made us pay the extra when we arrived. At about $120 a night, it is expensive. It offers lovely views overlooking the sea from up high and you can hear the waves breaking down on the shore above the sound of the traffic on the Pacific Coast Highway which separates the camp site from the beach. There is fast Wi-Fi but they turn it off when the office closes in the evening at 7 pm. The camp site toilets and showers are not in the best of condition but we have seen much much worse elsewhere. Camp staff are friendly enough, particularly to the long time regular clients. Other than the price, there is nothing wrong with this camp site and we would have stayed longer if we could have afforded it We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$61
We had a site with a beautiful view of the ocean, but you should know we had to go head in to the site and use very long hookups routed under our motorhome to get the view. The park is not on the beach side of the highway so you have to do a bit of maneuvering to get to the ocean from here. The biggest issue I have with the park is that my daughter who was graduating from college (this was the purpose of our visit) was charged $10 by the office to visit us for a couple of hours, even though her car fit in our space. I suppose I would stay here again as L.A. area does not have a lot of options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$95
I read so many reviews about this campground being unfriendly etc. Not the case. They do have strict rules but nothing unfair. We set up a tent for 2 of the 8 nights we were there and no one said a word about it. The views are just amazing. The campground is tiered so almost everyone can see the ocean. We had site 91. Sites 90-91-92 are all by themselves on a separate perch - amazing. It's expensive, but the only show in town. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We have "motorcycle tent camped" here a number of times over the years. Tent sites are on the highest level and have fantastic views. You cannot park your vehicle at the tent sites, but carts are provided to move your gear the few feet necessary, An inconvenience, but the ocean view makes up for it a thousand times over. Every time we have camped here (Winter usually) we've had the entire tent camping area to ourselves. A little expensive (can't remember the exact amount) , but what the heck, not too many "ocean view" options in Malibu. Our experience was that the staff was very nice and friendly, no issues whatsoever for us. Security wandered around a few times which is great. We hoped to walk to a restaurant, but nothing was too close....ended up walking along Highway 1 taking our lives into our own hands to get to a convenience store. We also own a large motor home and I wouldn't want to bring it in here as it is pretty tight quarters. I rated them an "8" due to the cost for a tent space and poor location to other services. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$99
If you're in spots 6-17 you run the risk of horrible sewage smell. You also get a lot of traffic noise from the PCH. The sewage tanks are right by spot 10. We couldn't even sit outside. These spots are for back in and not Class A if you want a view. If you pull in the hook ups are on the wrong side. Pull through sites are VERY tight with almost no room to set up a table and chairs. If you've got a Class A go up top. They're quieter and more elbow room. Clean park, mostly great views of ocean but site definitely matters here and for the price you need to do your homework. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$70
I rated this park an 8 in October, but sites matter. The park is great, but back-in requirement this trip resulted in a less than hoped for view of the ocean. Nice, but not as nice. However, I will return as the park is well maintained and has a lot going for it. See my earlier review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$90
This has been, by far, our favorite park to be in this month! The view here is beautiful! We stayed here a week and a half. It is quiet, safe, and beautiful! Nice grocery store just down the street. The grounds are beautiful, the ocean is beautiful, and you can watch dolphins from your camp spot! We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$54
We stayed here for a week and then extended another day going to an ocean view site on the hill as we really enjoyed the place. The views were amazing; humming birds and wildlife in park added to the experience. We used this as our base for having to visit LA to meet family and found it great. It easy to get around, and we went for long walks down the beach when we could. Friendly, clean, and relaxed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
We had a wonderful stay here and can't wait to return. I felt very secure. The sites are relatively level. It's quiet at night. Staff are very nice and helpful. The views are magnificent. You might need an additional 25' power cord and 25' septic line if you are facing the ocean. The laundromat is small but clean. The dryers really do their job the first time around. Dog walk is on a hill and adequately laid out with wastebaskets and doggie bags in case you forget one. A great place. We will camp here again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
Great ocean views, convenient location to hikes, beaches, stores. Rate reflects winter, weekly. Restrooms were cleaned daily, but old and less than ideal. Sites are tight and dirt, with some more level than others. A lot of Europeans with rentals, which is not bad, but just an observation. Good dog walks. No problems with utilities. Park rules are enforced as you would hope without a heavy hand. Nothing wrong with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
This place is real good for us -- pet friendly, great showers and close to our friends in LA. The ocean view sites are wonderful! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$100
This is a beautiful park, but not really suitable for a stay of any length unless you are a family with kids. Not all that much to do in the Malibu area for grown ups except to relax and enjoy the view. We changed sites 3 times and the hosts were very accommodating. We finally slected an Ocean view because we fet the extra cost was worth the unobstructed ocean breezes. Very different prices depending on location and whether you have electric and water, or full hookup services and those prices rise considerably on weekends. Internet was best experienced in any RV park, and channel selection and reception were decent for cable TV. Our son visited us for a few hours and was charged an additional $10 for parking. The security seems extra tight to the point of being disconcerting. Husband had to wait in line for a shower on a Saturday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$80
We were wary of making a booking based on earlier reviews, however park seems to have improved. Politely and pleasantly welcomed, great view of ocean. Some traffic noise from highway, but we could hear the ocean overnight which was awesome. Showers could do with some work, but clean. Fish and chips at base of park really great and even better for the 10 percent discount for staying at the park. Would recommend it. Well kept grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$95
Beautiful setting on the side of a mountain. Almost all sites have view of the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$132
If you are looking for an unique experience come here. If you are into having a decent vacation, drive further to one of the many state park camp sites starting 30 miles further down the road. This camp is unique for several reasons. 1. It has a unique price. $132 for a family of five. 2. You are treated in a unique way by the managing ‘landlord’ who feels that guests are employees. 3. You will learn how to wave away all the complaints by referring to disclaimers without solving them: unique. 4. Your will experience a unique shower with vomit on the floor in the evening and still there in the morning. 5. You will experience how it feels to be a sardine in a can. 6. The positive thing is the magnificent view on the ocean. Some explanation. We arrived here around 20 hours. We made a reservation. We picked up a meal from the downstairs fish shop. During the meal the manager came up to us. He commanded us to move the picnic table to the back of the site and to drive our RV to the back as one of our wheels was on the pavement. We told him we didn’t touch the table but I do not belief he really cared. We wanted to wait to after the meal but the ‘landlord’ was not amused. He forced us to move the table to the edge of the rim. The total space left for a family of five was two feet. Unacceptable (we felt like sardines). We complained that the internet was down. Without a glimpse the ‘landlord’ said there is a disclaimer in the contract we just signed (?). My daughter took a shower and came back with a sweater contaminated with vomit. She told me somebody vomited in the shower. We went up there and it was really bad. The ‘landlord’ only cleans the bathrooms between 10.30 and 12.00 hours in the morning. It seems that there is no checkup during other moments. Simply believe the reviews. I even feel bad to give them a rating where they earn one point. It is a horrible place. You may expect much more for the amount of money they charge. For $132 you can camp several days in a much better fashion, 30 miles down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$110
Love this park and the close proximity to Los Angeles. People at the front desk were extremely helpful and there is a little store for those forgotten items. Beautiful views of the ocean. Walking distance to the beach and a seafood restaurant. Sites were all raked and clean. Beautiful vegetation and trails through the park. We would definitely stay here again for a longer time. Overall a wonderful experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$110
Nice view, nice people, good spot. Although the zone is pretty crowded, we felt we had still some space and privacy. Nice place to discover Malibu and the beaches. We visited the beaches by car, too far to walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$136
We were very nervous about staying here, having read some of the reviews but decided...location, location, location, and booked. We had a full ocean view site which was spacious, level, and with a BBQ, parking area, table, and a spectacular view. The office staff were friendly and very helpful, even rescuing us out of a very embarrassing and stupid situation when we got our hire car stuck on a wall! The night porter was a little officious about having the right permits, etc., but really I thought this place was exceptional and wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
This is a nice park. The views are outstanding. The office staff was very pleasant. The restrooms are clean although sometimes out of paper. Also, they clean the restrooms between 9 am and 10 am. Seems like an odd time to clean as they are busy at these times. The ocean front sites have the hookups arranged so you have to back in unless you have extra long hoses, etc. Seems like a waste of view to me. They have a nice pet walk and our site was very level. We would stay here again if we are traveling up the coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
This was our second time back at this park. I have mixed feelings regarding this park. If it wasn't for the view I don't think we would have returned. The staff really are sticklers for rules. Whether you break them or not, they put fear into you for what might be. Immediate eviction we were told several times when checking in by the camp host if you speed over 5 miles/hour. Immediate eviction if your dog is off leash. I don't mind rules and feel all parks need them but there is a polite way of enforcing them. Aside from the really pricey sites, it was really hard to swallow being charged $5.00 a night for my 6 year old. The view brought me back and would bring me back again but not the people. They were OK but certainly not the type of customer service you expect. They have prime real estate and know that most of their guests probably won't return as they are passersby. Oh and the hill to the top is really steep and a sharp turn heading north on PCH into their drive. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$125
Campground is nice, small sites, great views. Majority of the staff is unfriendly and unwelcoming. The high rates and rude camp hostess may be the reasons that there were sites available on a summer weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$158
Their season is from May 25 to September 30. The rates are about $30 per night more during this time. Plus $25 extra per night on holidays. Our rate was $158 per night (including tax, pet fee and holiday fee). Pets are welcome but checked to make sure they are not on their "black list". There is a nice pet/walking trail along the front of the park. RV Spaces are some of the smallest we have seen in a long time. Parking also tight and limited. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The park is nice and will return if ever back in the area. Park is clean and well kept, but I do feel at $158 per night for RV is a little pricey.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$90
This is a tough one to rate, our 80th park this year on our tour of the USA. On one hand it overlooks the Pacific, views are magnificent. The showers, hook ups, and sites are certainly good. On the other hand, as many others have noted, it is not a friendly camp, the staff are rigid, as if you are lucky to be allowed in. The entire row we spend two weeks in was mostly empty; yet, when we had a dinner visitor, they insisted in charging him $10 to park at our site. The park is across a very busy highway from a not particularly attractive narrow beach. No pool, no spa. Many transient Europeans and some tenters so it is not a place to get to know anyone. The only reason to stay here is it's in Malibu, otherwise move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
We were placed in a very out of level site with small children on one side and teens on the other. When we complained about the loud music, the operators could have cared less. Their only offer was to move one site over to an even smaller site. The view is spectacular. But, the attitude displayed really detracted from the overall experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
We had a top of the line ocean view site with full hookups. Weekday was $55 and weekends $60. This was hands down the most beautiful location we have ever experienced. The 180-degree view of the Malibu coast below, perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, was stupendous. The site was level and there was plenty of space between sites. Our electricity, water, cable TV and sewer outlets worked beautifully. The bathrooms and showers were clean, the water hot. The front office was friendly and accommodating. There were only a couple of drawbacks, which is why I will give it a 9 and not a 10. First, Wi-Fi was cutting in and out for the first week we were there, but it improved somehow for the last few days. No idea why. Secondly, ATT cellphone service is poor to nonexistent - but that is not the campground's problem, it's ATT's. We will definitely return in the off-season, as peak season rates are, well, priced like you would expect in Malibu. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
Rate shown for mountain view water and electric site. Site a gravel back-in and not level. I had some difficulty setting up as site was only 25 feet long. Extensive cable TV channel selection. Wi-Fi signal strong, but slow at times due to limited bandwidth. Magnificent view of the sun setting over the ocean. Friendly staff in the office. If I ever come back here I would make sure site was bigger than my rig; otherwise I am satisfied with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$50
The beautiful view and location is the reason my husband & I return here every year. It may not be new or spacious but the staff is friendly and it's close to the water. That's all we need! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$67
We had very mixed feelings about staying in this park after reading some of the reviews that this park had been given. We had reserved a week stay in an ocean view motorhome spot and nearly canceled them. But we took a chance and showed up for our reservation as planned. I was ultra sensitive due to all of the comments I had read prior to our arrival. We were greeted happily at the office by an older female. She described the amenities to the wife as I chatted with a middle age male behind the desk. Nothing seemed amiss as we were informed about the campground rules. Most of which I have seen a hundred times before at other campgrounds. We had a back in site that was on the bluff overlooking the ocean, #89. We were given the option of heading in if we didn't mind running our utilities under the rig. We chose to do so since we were there for a week and the views were awesome out of the front of the rig. I did note that all of the complaints that many others posted about are all specifically described in their rules section of the campground flier. i.e. the check out time is 12 noon, no exceptions. Probably the biggest issue I did note was that some of the sites were more off level than others, but it was not a huge factor unless a rig that was far too big for the site was squeezed into it. This was the case for one Class A rig that was probably 40' long in a back in site that looked like a 30' rig would have fit comfortably. Because of the extra length, the front tires of the motor home were at least a foot off of the ground due to the road sloping more sharply as the lot dropped to meet the road. I don't know if that site was the choice of the RVer or the park. Other sites were available. In our week stay we never saw or spoke to anyone in the office. We saw employees going by checking vacant sites twice in the 7 days we were there. No unusual conduct by park management or guests was ever seen. I gave this park an 8 due to the sites being gravel instead of paved, and with a minimal investment many of the sites could be adapted to have hook ups on either side thus allowing pull ins or back ins. It appeared to me that this park gets dinged often for enforcing their rules. I have been in many parks that have had complaints for just the opposite, not enforcing their rules. I, as a general rule, am one to follow the rules, so maybe that is why I didn't have any of the negative experiences that others had. I spread out in my site, enjoyed the outdoors and kept my dog from annoying the neighbors. The other biggest negative for this park was the limited space to walk the dog. There is a dirt walking trail on the front edge of the park that looks directly out on the ocean and is stocked with waste bags, trash cans, and benches, but during a long stay it is not a long enough distance to give the dog a good workout. This park is in a great location with outstanding views. It is well worth the trip if you are one to follow the rules, otherwise keep going up the coast. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$95
We've stayed here before for extended periods, including 3 months straight one year when we had to have some serious medical attention in LA, and then each year while on my way for chemotherapy, but found this place has gone seriously down hill. The facilities are dirty, the laundry is way below par (3 of the 5 washers were broken) but the worst part is the staff. There has been a management change since our last visit and the newcomers are even less friendly than before, which is saying something. Their adherence to rules is ridiculous. After we decided to choose a less expensive site they wanted to charge us the higher rate anyway, and after moving into the lesser site it was uneven enough that our windshield broke! It truly was just an accident (trying to adjust jacks manually for the surface) which we didn't complain about, but when we asked if we could stay a couple hours over the checkout to have the windshield replaced they insisted they'd have to charge us another full day! We were business owners ourselves in better days, and must say these people have the worst customer service we've ever encountered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$95
As other reviewers have stated, management and staff have absolutely no customer service skills. In all of my travels, this is by far the rudest I have encountered. Surly attitudes and constant patrols to look for rule breakers are the norm. We even got a parking ticket when they found my truck tire touching the main drive and not all the way in my site. One of their staff drove their patrol golf cart through my site directly over my rug. Later when I confronted him, he flatly denied it to my face. The manager never returned my phone call. I was in a pull through spot and could literally touch the coach beside me while standing on my steps. Every available space has been used to cram in as many RVs as a possible. We planned on staying 2 weeks but left after 1. We would have left sooner but, as were rudely told, NO REFUNDS! The ocean view is phenomenal and worth it, if you can stand the overbearing staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$100
The spots are small and very few parking spots are available outside of your spot. We have a dually truck and even though our trailer is not very big, we had a hard time putting both of them on our site. The spots have either full hook-ups or partial. This park has great ocean views but the staff is not friendly. Our daughter visited us and was even at our site long enough to say hello, when the park patrol came over and told her to pay $10.00. The view might be good but I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$95
We loved our stay here at the park. There are great ocean view spots. There was lots of room for our trailer. There is friendly, helpful staff. Yes, there are rules but that makes the park run efficiently but we did not think any of their rules were unreasonable. We extended our stay because we enjoyed the area and park so much. The Wifi was unreliable but with the ocean at your door, not such a great worry. We did find ants and advise putting out powder to avoid a problem. We would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$110
Most expensive park we have ever stayed in, but you are paying for the view. I had a premium site with a view, and it had enough space to park my toad. Site was level with good electric and water. Cable was available and OK. Waves breaking against beach were noisy, but relaxing. I moved the car over to another site while I washed the windshield of my RV and the staff was on me immediately. I probably would stay again, but it is just location of the park and not the park itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$95
Was not hard to reserve an ocean view site as stated on the web-site (made reservation in May). We arrived at 12:35 p.m. and were promptly notified that check-in is not until 1:00 p.m, but as a courtesy they would let us go ahead and check in, but in the future they would not. Most back in sites are small, and if you're not a skilled driver you may have a hard time maneuvering your rig. The premium pull through sites are very close together, just enough room to walk between rigs. As previous post states: there's too many rules that are strictly enforced and they do watch you like the TSA. There is a $10.00 parking fee that they make sure to collect promptly. A vehicle dropping my daughter off was charged $10.00 and was here for less than 45 minutes. The staff was obnoxious in regards to collecting the $10.00 fee (came to our trailer 3 times within that 45 minutes and demanded payment immediately). There's very bright flood lights that stay on all night and light up the inside of your trailer. We had to put towels over windows in order to sleep. (Would not want to be in a tent or tent trailer at night). The scenery is beautiful but not worth the hassle dealing with the staff, will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
I stayed here in 1998 and again this year. This RV park was the only reason that I stayed in this area. It is a fabulous place with many different site types and the views are to die for. The laundry is smallish, but there was never a problem getting the chore done.There are 3 elevations to this park, and this affords many sites an ocean view. The office/store is adequately supplied, and the staff really knows the area. For sure I will stop here again. Impressive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$57
Expensive mistake. Campground goes up the side of a steep hill. Sites very tight, pull throughs don't have space for slides or tow vehicle. If pulling a trailer for car, you may be required to pay an extra $10 a day to park your trailer, if you can't squeeze it into your site under your rig. Very Rocky beach, littered with garbage across very busy road. Staff friendly, but watch you like the TSA. All rules strictly enforced. Do not park your car one inch over the line of your site, even when the campground is half full. $10 fee for guest vehicles, even if you remove your car from the campground. Campground is clean and well maintained, nice sunsets, but definitely not worth the hassle or price. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$80
View is wonderful. Remember, you on across the highway from the beach on a cliff. Yes, you hear the traffic during the day. Heard waves at night. Bathrooms and showers badly in need of upgrading. No fires allowed due to high fire danger area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$81
I was a little apprehensive after reading the previous negative posts but I wanted to try the park out. One problem is that I was immediately informed that there was a 72 hr. no refund policy. Since I was making my reservation a day before my arrival, I would not get a refund if I was delayed for some reason. If I owned a park, I would not hit a customer with that as it sets the tone of being unfriendly and negative. I thought the park was nice although the spots are tight. Another problem is that the ocean front sites have the utilities on the wrong side of the coach for a class-A. I was not able to connect my sewer but managed the electric and water. For the cost of the daily rate, you would think they would offer services on both sides to accommodate class-A's. I'm sure the park was built when most people had trailers to back in. But, with a class-A, you don't want to loose the view! I was able to use the dump station on the way out so all was good with the world. I would stay there again as you can't beat the view but a little more friendly staff would be icing on the cake. Also, as you drive in, there are several old class-A's that look like they have been there a while, it's not the best impression. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$72
Definitely pricey but the location and views are absolutely beautiful. Unobstructed ocean views from our site. Adjacent to Solstice State Park which offers lots of canyon hiking & biking. Friendly staff. Beach access nearby. Santa Monica Pier and bike paths 15mi. Great spot. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
We are shocked by the behavior of the staff at Malibu Beach RV Park. We are currently staying in Newport Coast at the beautiful Marriott Newport Coast Villas. Today, we decided to drive up to Malibu Beach RV Park to have a look at the campground, pick an ocean view site and pay our deposit. We are retired teachers from Canada, planning to stay at Malibu Beach RV Park for the month of February with the intention of returning biannually. We called ahead to ask a few questions and to let them know we were coming to have a look see. When we pulled into the campground, we turned to the right where we thought there would be parking for the office. There were 3 spaces, all occupied. As we were turning back around, before we even had the chance to park and get out of our vehicle, a man was at the driver's side window of our van looking at us sternly and in a very condescending tone told us we had to check in at the office. Well, that's why we were parking! We completely understand the need for security, but there is no point in chastising potential customers. Shouldn't the default behavior be to greet people with a friendly smile and if necessary, offer welcoming direction with a dose of courtesy and respect? Perhaps the point is to keep campers at a minimum, much less work for the staff I suppose. My husband went into the office for a visitor's pass. He was told we were not allowed to take photographs or get out of our vehicle. It was 5:45pm, it was already dark and we were not there to take pictures, we were there to see the park and facilities. We had a giggle about the "no photography until you're a bola fife camper" policy and thought it was strange, especially on the heels of our cantankerous "welcome." So far, not so good. We drove around the lower part of the park (ocean view) and back to the three empty sites beside the office and washrooms. We got out of the van to measure if our 25' Airstream would fit on site 8. We also wanted to see the washrooms and walked up to the doors, but they were locked and required a combination. A man walked up to the men washroom as we were walking away and my husband ran back and walked in with him. As I was waiting by the van for my husband, I saw our "welcome" lurking around. He must have reported our "shenanigans" to someone because as my husband was walking back from the washroom, a second man came around the corner and told us that we could not park on the empty campsite, that our pass was for a "5 minute drive around the park," that we were past the allotted time of the pass and he continued that my husband was told we were not allowed to get out of our vehicle. His tone was not courteous, it was accusatory and downright mean spirited. Just to keep things in perspective, by this time we had been in the park for a total of approximately 10-12 minutes, including our drive down one lane of the park. Now. The only place we got out of our vehicle was directly beside the office where they could obviously keep tabs on us. If we were up to no good, we certainly wouldn't keep parking beside the office! Never did we think it would be wrong to get out of the van to pace a site or look at the washrooms. We called ahead and drove 3 hours to see the campground. We simply needed to pick a site and pace it to make sure our Airstream would fit. We also wanted to look at the washrooms, they are a great indicator of how well maintained (or not) a campground is. We were completely put off by our visit and have decided there is no way we would vacation at such an unwelcoming place. We were unknowingly guilty of a multitude of offenses the moment we passed through the gate. Malibu Beach RV Park has an unwelcoming staff of busybodies who are not interested in serving customers. No wonder there were so many empty sites. What a shame. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$58
There is a nice trail for walking your dogs, benches overlooking the ocean. A very busy Pacific Coast Highway is all the blocks you from the beach. Very kid friendly with the beach to keep them happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
The view here is incredible. The sound of the surf is incredible. Everyone we dealt with in the office was very friendly and helpful. This park would be a 10 if the sites were more level and they were not so crammed together. We were in the ocean view electric/water sites and they were tight for our truck camper. There is no need for this park to cram as many sites as they do in a given area. Even so, we will be back for the sound of waves all night and the view. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$75
This is a gorgeous RV park overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Very clean, beautiful place with a nice dog walk area. You are not right on the beach but just north of Pepperdine University on a bluff above P.C.H. and the view is awesome! This was the first place I took my RV in 2006 and my wife and I just love it. It is a little pricier than some RV parks, but if you go in the off season it is fairly comparable. We woke up one morning and there was a deer eating vegetation right next to our trailer. We also saw several pods of dolphins swimming in the ocean while having dinner outside. We walked down the trail to PCH and had fish tacos and an ice cold beer then went shell hunting on the beach. Very nice RV resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$68
I found only one positive aspect about this campground: the view. The staff was not friendly at all. While I had a pull through, the sites were so close together that I had to drop my tow dolly in order to get out. As an example of my assessment of the staff: one of them came over to tell me to move my car that was in an empty site, while I was in the process of moving around the dolly and the motorhome. I ignored him, and asked if he would prefer that I hit the other campers. They charged my sister $10 to come into the park to see me off. (This was for a total of about 15 minutes). The site was sloped such that getting it level was virtually impossible. All sites sit on sand, and it was difficult to keep anything clean. While here, someone drove their unit off the side of the cliff so I wouldn’t say that it was safe either. If you want to walk along the beach, getting to and from the beach is dangerous as it is on the opposite side of the PCH. You can’t turn left out of the main entrance and there are vehicle restrictions if you turn right, so you must use the exit at the top of the hill. This exit is only open at certain times of the day and is treacherous with limited visibility when you exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
I agree, its pricey but its great staying here and hearing/seeing the ocean. I liked watching the dolphins and the huge tankers on the horizon. Its a nice park, small tight sites for a 40 footer. The staff are very nice and we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$72
Great scenery, great site, great people. Only letdown was that the staff apparently weren't allowed to call ahead to the next site we were heading to check for free spots. Not comfortable for foreigners lacking US cell phones or a computer. Otherwise really perfect and just a 5-min-walk down the hill to that famous fish place you have to check out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$67
First off, the view was spectacular! We had an ocean view full hook-up site. We could hear the sound of the ocean at night, which was so loud you couldn't hear the traffic on PCH most of the time. The sites were close together, and there was little room to hitch and unhitch without blocking the road. Also, the rules are very strict (no early arrival or late checkout, no cancellations, etc.). However, the people were very nice. The night host even let us look inside their new 5th wheel. The showers and bathrooms were clean, and the park is beautifully landscaped with flowers and plants. The site was clean and well maintained. Ah, but the ocean view and sound were the best features. The levels of the park are tiered and you can see the ocean from almost every spot (even mountain view spots). We will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$57
Location, location, location. Nice park. Ask for an ocean view (west) site. View is spectacular! Staff was very nice. There is an adults only hot tub. (Bonus!) Great location for exploring this beautiful stretch of coast. A little pricey, but hey. You're in Malibu. What do you expect for a location view like this?? On our re-visit list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$76
This is a very nice park, well run, well maintained. It is easy to get your RV into the camp site. The Wi-Fi and cable TV work well. Facilities are well kept, and we really appreciated the dog walk. The park even furnishes the clean-up bags. My only negative comment is the sites are a bit small. Towables are parked between the RV and the property line, not in front of the RV. Some sites are too small and the towable must be parked in some available spots that may not be close to your RV spot. Also, some are not level and your step into your RV may be a bit high up. Note: On the ocean view spots, the RV faces toward the mountains; but your picnic area overlooks the ocean. On the mountain view spots, the RV is across the street from the ocean view spots but it faces toward the ocean and your picnic area faces the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$65
This a lovely site if you enjoy the ocean. It is not directly on the ocean, but on a bluff (the Pacific Coast Highway is below) and across the road from the water. Nicely manicured gravel sites and a good place to just kick back. 50 amp service not in all sites and they will charge more for it if you want it. The only disappointment was that when I inquired about returning and picking a particular site I liked, they would not guarantee it even for a multiple day advance reservation. They will reserve a "comparable site" only. It is too remote to not have a confirmed site and get the luck of the draw. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$76
Excellent beach access and dog friendly. Loved it. We'll be back if we can get a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$80
You would think that $80/night (off season rate!) would keep out the riff-raff, but when five policemen hid behind our RV as they prepared to rush a suspect, it was obvious that the price was no deterrent. On the up side, the office refunded us one night’s fees to compensate for the drama. Still, we found ourselves wondering the whole time we were there, “We paid $80 for this???” Sure, they had a gorgeous view of the ocean, and we were close to the beach, but you had to cross busy Highway 1 to get there and then scramble down a steep hillside. I actually scraped my leg on the way back up the hill. The park had a staff of full-time gardeners raking the dirt, but why they didn’t put a little rustoleum on the rusty bathroom doors was a mystery to me. For the price, I expected this to be the fanciest RV park ever, but it was just dirt parking strips, so far from level that we used every scrap of wood we brought. Even in their longest pull-through, there was no room for our truck. We had to park our tow vehicle elsewhere. They charged us $5 extra per day for each child, but the park had little for our children. The playground, for example, was suitable only for toddlers. They have several Wi-Fi repeaters—good thing because the Wi-Fi was likely to drop you unexpectedly. The laundromat was clean and the equipment in good repair but small for the number of people who wanted to use it. Sure, the view was great, but on the Oregon coast, you can park near the coast for $16. Even in Alaska (which can be quite expensive), we camped on Resurrection Bay with an ocean view (maybe 10 feet from the water) for $30. We would not camp here again. There seemed to be great camping near the ocean along Highway 1 (north of Malibu), so we’d probably try that next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$61
Nice RV park overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Pacific Coast Highway. Sites very close together but friendly staff in the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$73
Very well run campground. Our view of the ocean was breathtaking. This was the second time we stayed here and we will definitely come back again. It is a bit pricey but well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$80
I was a little nervous after some of the reviews here. Every single person we dealt with at the park was friendly and courteous. One of the employees even walked out to our site to make sure everything was OK as we had commented this was our very first trip in our new RV. Sites are practically right on top of each other, but there was plenty of room for our two slideouts and awning. It was a bit of a hike to get to the beach, and unless you want to jay walk, you have to walk along busy PCH to get to the crosswalk: yikes. Next time we'll bring our car; and there will be a next time. We saw a sea lion at the beach, the kids loved it! The mini-mart had everything we needed, including the replacement for our broken cable. Cable TV was included in the price. Overall, we had a great experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
This is an excellent campground overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that our stay was pleasant. This site has ample room to fit the trailer, awning and the picnic table. Great hiking trails all around. Even though the site was next to Pacific Coast Highway, it was high enough above the road that we didn't hear any road noise. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking! We will be back. It's worth the price! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$95
We didn't know what to expect when we first made our reservations but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Our site had a wonderful ocean view and we were within walking distance to food. We liked the place so much we decided to stay an extra night and spent a day in Malibu. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$95
This is our first time here. We drew space 29, with ocean view. I didn’t want to waste the view by backing in. After pulling in my electric cord and sewer hose were about 3 feet short. I fixed that with a short piece of grey water hose and purchased a 30 amp extension cord at the park store. It would be nice if these sites had hookups on both sides. I had read with interest previous reviews. I found the park personnel that I came in contact with to be very helpful and friendly. The par was clean, down to the site being raked since the last user. The ocean view is great. The noise from the PCH didn’t bother us and died down by 10 PM, after that the muted sound of the surf was very soothing. We have only stayed at a few parks this pricey, but the view and the fact this is the area where we wanted to be made the rates tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$90
We love this park, we have stayed here many times. We love the view, breathtaking! We have been able to ask for specific spots several times. This is a privately owned park and they are very nice and helpful. This is more an adult park or for young people, not kids. Besides staying in your RV they have a great tent area. We make an event of walking to the end of the park and going down the hill to the Seafood Patio Grill and Market. We get whole lobster every time it is like being on the east coast. It is not the easiest beach access but we get there, even with our grandson in a stroller once. We love staying in the cul-de-sac area, very private with a great deck overlooking the small canyon to the ocean. I would recommend this to all at least for one stay it is worth it. Also if you have an additional vehicle, there is great tourist places to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
This is a great RV park with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. We had an ocean view site and sat outside and watched the sunset almost every day. The management and staff were very friendly and I did not find any of the concerns of previous reviewers. Although we do not have a dog, we ended up taking our daughter's small dog with us, and the management had no problems with this. The areas where pets may relieve themselves is limited, but it is not restrictive or a problem. Check out the Getty Villa which is nearby. We also ate in a few restaurants in the Malibu area, and were very satisfied. This is a beautiful, but expensive area, and if you go here, you should not expect an economy vacation. We loved it here, and will return when in the LA area. Travel time to LA depends on traffic and time of day, but we found it to be 35 - 50 minutes on average. One last point, the ocean view will be at the back of the site, and you need a sewer, electrical and water extension to pull in and enjoy the view out the front windshield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$99
This RV park has an outstanding view and it is clean. We had a 4 to 5 hour drive depending on the Los Angeles traffic. We arrived at noon and check in time was 1:00 p.m. I was told to come back at 1:00 & I asked if I could pay extra to come in an hour early and was told it would be a full days rate for the one hour. We drove around and finally parked at a grocery store (pulling a trailer) to eat up the time. When we came back & checked in I told them I had 2 little dogs. They were informed of this when I made the reservation & I don't remember anything being said of the rules. We always pick up after our dogs. We were told they could only go to the bathroom in the doggie run and not in our camping site. If they were seen going to the bathroom anyplace except the designated area we would be asked to leave immediately. This was after they took our money at $130.60 per day for ocean view, 2 dogs tax and everything. For 4 days we carried our dogs to the doggie run and let them walk back when we knew they wouldn't do anything on the driveway or next to our trailer. There were signs all around the office and grass no dogs allowed. The front camp sites with the beautiful view have a lot of vehicle noise from a 4 lane road. I would not stay here again under this management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Although the park was lovely, the attitude of the staff made the visit miserable. They were rude when our group of 4 people arrived. At 10pm the night worker came by and said we should use "library voices" as we were too loud. Our neighbors said the same thing happened to their group the previous day. Later, the same man shook our tent and told us to talk lower, even though we were not loud, and there were no complaints from our neighbors. I certainly would not recommend this park to groups of any size, family outings, or to anyone who wishes to have a good time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
The big draw here is the ocean view, which is truly incredible, especially if you are camped in one of the front sites. All of the facilities are well maintained. However, if you are a pet owner, you should know that dogs are allowed to walk in the “dog walk” area only, which is down a steep incline with many steps. We were told about the dog walk restrictions, but we were not told about the steep access to get to it. Also, when we made the reservation we were not told that they charge $3 per night for each dog. That is the highest we have ever paid for our dog. We specifically asked for an ocean view site when we made our one-week reservation over six months prior to arrival. When we arrived we were told they had assigned us to a spot which did not have an ocean view. It took some talking, but they finally managed to rearrange the sites to give us the ocean view we had requested. I got the feeling they do this to everyone initially and you get an ocean view site only if you complain. We were also told that if we had to leave early, no matter the reason, there would be no refunds. As an earlier poster said, there are signs everywhere telling you what you can’t do, which did not impart a friendly feeling overall. I would not go back unless I had no other choice of a place to stay in the area. The ocean views are great, but you really do pay for them with the high nightly rate. We paid $65 per night, which is the “off season” rate for a full hookup site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$54
Ocean views are the main draw here. But getting to the beach is scary crossing busy PCH. Some sites are tight. Staff was nice but very strict on park rules. No parking on empty neigbors site, even for a minute, even though park about half full. Even a friendly 30 minute warning to vacate or risk being charged another full night. $5 extra cover charge for more than 2 people, I think is unnecessary, plus $3 for dogs. Spa not working, new one is on order. Flood lights are a bit too bright. It's a clean well kept park. I would camp here again but probly not in summer, too cramped and pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$70
It’s with mixed emotions that I write this review because the good points pretty much equal out the bad points. The good points include easy access on Pacific Coast Highway, close to Santa Monica, clean well maintained rest rooms and laundry, fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean in an exclusive affordable RV setting in an exclusive area of California’s coast line. The not so good points have to do with the attitudes of some of the people who manage the park. While always courteous and respectful, I often got the feeling that they would rather be somewhere else. For instance when we checked in we were told in a cold matter of fact manner that there was only one space assigned to us. That’s it, take it or leave it. We had never been there before and planned to stay for 2 weeks. I wanted to inspect the space as a standard procedure. We were then told that we would also have to pay for the entire 2 week stay then and there and that there were no refunds if we left early. Certainly not the kind of welcome or hospitality I appreciated or ever experienced before. Additionally, there are signs everywhere telling you what you can’t do which only adds to the flavor that they would rather not have to deal with any kind of guest issues and just want to collect your money and have you go away somewhere and not bother them. I would not go back; however, it’s going to take some effort to get the tremendous views, sounds, and salty smells of the Pacific Ocean and Malibu coast line out of my mind before I’ll be able to make that final decision. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
What a lovely campsite! We paid the cheapest rate - $35 for elec/water hookup only, with a "mountain view". What we actually got was an ocean view as the space opposite was empty! Plus the dump station is free to use. Laundromat, showers and restrooms were all extremely clean. Wi-fi internet access is free of charge and works well. Staff were a little strict but they clearly do a good job of maintaining the camp. They will give you a list of rules to follow when you enter but to be fair most of them are just common sense. The spaces were all very flat which is great considering the camp is on a steep hill! Spaces were tight however and you must back in. For the price, facilities, and location, this has to get a 10/10. I had the best 2 nights sleep of my whole trip in this campground, and woke up each morning to a beautiful view of Malibu and the blue Pacific Ocean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$58
We loved this park. It is the only RV park in Malibu and frankly the rates are very reasonable, it's Malibu for pete's sake! We will be back again and again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
We stayed here for one night only on a trip across the state. It was relatively easy to access right off Highway 1 and the staff was accommodating to give me a pull through site, considering it was an overnight only stay. The setting was nice with dog walk areas and some nature trails accessible from the campground. However, the sites were really tight with no privacy from your neighbors. Additionally, they do have the outstanding views of the ocean but are across the street on the opposite side of the highway. There is no cross walk in the immediate area so no way to cross safely to access the ocean. Overall, we didn't think the park was worth the expense and are unlikely to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$70
Malibu RV park is right off Highway 1 on the opposite side of the road from the beach. It has great ocean views, but it is difficult to access the beach from the campground on foot as there are no crosswalks and most of the time traffic is quite brisk. This sites were cramped and not very private. I am not aware of any amenities they offer beyond cable TV to really justify their high cost. There are some decent dog walk areas and ability to access trails from the campground, which is a plus, but otherwise there is nothing here that would entice us to ever return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
Wow, we had uncompromising, expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. The staff was really friendly. The hiking trails almost summon you to sing out loud, "The hills are alive, with the sound of music." Seriously. We were on the second level which in my opinion is the best spot to be because we were not right up against another RV. We stayed a week and they have dog "areas" and are understanding that we do our best to get our dog to the designated areas before relieving themselves. You are 20 min drive to Beverly Hills and close to many tourists attractions. We had a lovely brunch at Beau Rivage which is walking distance from the park. You must visit Dukes, Gladstones and Moonshadows all great restaurants on PCH. Definitely, will come again to live even for only a week, like the rich and famous do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$56
This is a fantastic campground. We paid extra for an ocean view and were able to lie in bed watching the dolphins play in the ocean below. The only criticism we had was the lack of knowledge by the staff of the local public transport. We were not towing a car and wanted to visit LA for the day. They couldn't help with the journey details which was surprising and disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
We loved this RV park. The location and views from the campground are both fantastic as you are on a bluff, above the PCH, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The spaces are good size (especially for California where spaces can tend to be very close together) and have a picnic table. However, the spaces are not flat. We had to spend a considerable amount of time leveling our trailer and even then it was not perfect. The bathrooms were very clean, never crowded, had hot water (except one morning where I could only get lukewarm water), and the shower pressure was very strong. The laundry room was small but adequate. The washers were small and cost $2.00, while the dryers were large and cost $1.00. The laundry room was a bit crowded, but I was still able to get my laundry done over a several hour period of time. The WiFi was very weak and unusable so do not plan on using that at your sight. The people in the office were very friendly and helpful. I had read some reviews of this campground that said they were "Nazi" like in their enforcement of the rules, but we did not find this to be true at all. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
The price was an average - I stayed Friday through Tuesday and it's more expensive on weekends. They charge a ridiculous amount for pets, but they do have an area for the dogs to be walked. The view from there is beautiful and I spent several hours there with my dogs enjoying the view. It's a nice park with not much to do except walk down to the beach. I would stay there again though despite the high price for pets. Staff is fairly friendly and one lady is very helpful when it comes to knowing the area, I think her name was Eva. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
What a memorable visit! Terrific Pacific Ocean sunsets! There was a great fish market next door which provided us with the best Chilean sea bass we have ever tasted. We were indulged with a very famous actor staying next to us to boot. If you are next door to a celebrity, give that person privacy as there are paparazzi waiting at the gate to harass him. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$45
The last review pretty much says it all. I just wanted to add the fact that this park, while high on a bluff overlooking Malibu Beach, is within an easy walk of two decent restaurants. One of them, Malibu Seafood has everything from phenomenal fish and chips to freshly caught sea bass, and it's as casual as you can get. Beachwear is fine. I love Malibu RV Park because it is so improbably located on one of the highest value pieces of real estate in the world. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$58
The work campers working here are real nice people and they treated us very well. The park has a few spots for big motorhomes with beautiful views of the ocean. We were high on a bluff overlooking Pacific Coast Highway. The crashing of the surf was very loud at times and made you feel like you were camped right on the beach. The park is absolutely beautiful with flowers everywhere. We deployed our bird feeders and had numerous humming birds and seed eating birds visit. The few full time people living in the park were a whole lot of fun to be with. The overall experience at the park was wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
The park has incredible views of the pacific ocean. I'm not sure of it's status since the fires. I was here right before this happened. The on site staff were very helpful to this new RV'er who had lots of questions. The college students hired to work in the office were less friendly. The bathrooms were okay. They could have been cleaner, but were acceptable. Plenty of space between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$83
If only rating the view, I would give this park a "10", as you could not beat the view from our ocean view site. However, due to the extreme cost of beach front property in California, this park is small, very tightly configured, and quite pricey. Large rigs should not even consider coming here without a reservation as there are only a couple sites that could handle our 39' Fifth Wheel, and we parked our crew cab truck separately. We had to wait at check-in as several other rigs were still hooking up and leaving, thus blocking the narrow one way access. The restrooms and showers were satisfactory but certainly not spotless or up to date. Sitting on a bluff above the Pacific Coast Highway was beautiful but also comes with the noise of the very busy highway. Note this park is not waterfront, so you cannot easily walk to the beach from your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$70
This park is wonderful. It is located right on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you think of California, you think of this type of park. The views are spectacular. Some sites site right on the bluff with a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. Security is tight at night. Sites are small depending on which site you are assigned. The staff is extremely rude but worth putting up with for the views. You can actually hear the surf break. We stayed here for 9 days before heading up the coast of California. We liked it so much, we stayed here again on the way back home. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$77
Having been on the road since September, we have stayed at a huge number of parks across the country. This is the only repeat we've had in eight months and deserved a re-review. The park is in a great location, with views of the ocean. Ocean view sites are not very long, with the tail of our 33' rig hanging over the hillside. We haven't seen any ants this time, but used comet anyway, just in case. The staff were a bit rude when we first came in, telling us we needed to move our car out of the site next to us as people were coming in for that site (she wasn't very nice in the way she asked and we were only parked there to unload some stuff from the car. The kicker is, no one moved into that spot for two more days!) The laundry doesn't open until 8 a.m., which seems rather late, since I am up and ready to do wash by 6 a.m. When I called to let them know that some packages would be showing up on Friday, the day before we arrived, the office told me they would refuse any package if we weren't already in the park (as it turned out, we showed up on Thursday, ahead of schedule.) Overall, the customer service in the park is well below par, but it is the best location in the LA area and still worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$48
Had a pull-through site "very tight." Three large rigs side by side with slides out. We had to step sideways to get out of the rig as to not run into our neighbors RV. A lot of traffic noise and long term residents. Was surprised with all the "stuff" allowed in front of campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$77
This is a nice RV park with a great location. Our site faced the ocean and the sound of the waves drowned out most of the traffic noise from the highway. The big thing to watch out for here are the ants. By day three, we had a full blown ant invasion. They have a sign in the office warning about them, but the staff failed to point out the little sign when we checked in. Be sure to grab some Comet cleanser from the store to put around anything from the RV that touches the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$99
This is one of those otherwise so-so (and that's being gracious) RV parks in a great location. The staff and management know it's a great location, so the staff/management can be rude because they know you'll be back anyway (and if not who cares, there's a lot more RVers where you came from). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
The View was absolutely awesome but the sites were very tight (even for a Pop-up.) Our neighbors were very friendly and a bit close (in the geographical sense) The Staff was absolutely RUDE and obnoxious and lacked the hospitality any host would need. The staff were yelling at children playing outside saying ridiculous things to them. However, My time visiting Los Angeles was great and far overshadowed this campground. I would never return to this campground and I am sorry to say that after camping in 20 states so far, this was the only negative place that I have been too. I hope the last! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$77
We love the location and the views of this campground and we have now been here 3 times with a group. The major problem this year is the management. They are the rudest people we have ever encountered in 20 years of Rv'ing. In past years the management has been great, friendly people who would come to your site and actually talk. This group, who knows where they came from, never talked, only demanded things from campers. I talked to over 20 different campers who all stated the same thing. We were bothered by these people from the time we check in to the moment we checked out. We are an older group, no children running around and a few small dogs who we ALWAYS pick up after. It appeared that they would just drive by and look for something to complain about. We love the location of the campground and all that is available in the Malibu area, but with the current management team in place, we will not be returning anytime soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$70
By far the nicest campground I've experienced thus far. The staff were cordial and there to help. I lost my leveling blocks and they cut me new ones. The sites are packed dirt which wasn't quite as nice as concrete, but we made do. The view is spectacular and they had an excellent area for us to take the dogs out. WiFi worked fine as did the cable, but there were only 80 channels available. Guess I've been spoiled by satellite. Will return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
The place is located in a great place. Management is a major problem here. You are not allowed to have guest after 10 pm. so it really creates a problem if you have friends or family wanting to visit. The rule is undesirable, but is the manner in which it is enforced that is rather foolish. You are treated pretty poorly by the staff I encountered. Each time I got a pass for a visitor I was treated as if it was a problem and that at 10pm the visitor was being kicked out. Almost like I was a teenager or something. It was really foolish. If you stay there any amount of time it gets old having to have friends leave at 10pm. I have been coming to this park for years and I figure management must have changed. They are also hard on kids. I don't have any children but they sure made parents stop their kids from being kids. I will not return, it is being managed by the wrong folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$95
Not much to this campground. Small store, adults only spa (no pool) and the beach that the CG has a view of. Registration gives you a list of pet rules when you first register to include using ONLY the pet walk area for the dogs. In my opinion, its unreasonable if you have an older dog. If you are far away from the pet area, you need to drive your dog to the pet area. Sites were not level. They were slanted downhill. I have a 36 foot RV and they would not let me park in the larger sites. Instead, my RV had to hang over the cliff. When I wanted to dump my tanks, I had to walk on my neighbors site to dump because the sites were so narrow. No scooters or golf carts allowed in park. The park is constantly patrolled and watched to ensure that all rules are followed. Park has a great view of the ocean. This was not a park for me with 2 older kids who were completely bored out of their mind after the first day. If I was older without kids, I think that I would have enjoyed it better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$60
OK, the sites are pretty tight but with a view like this, who cares? We were in a cliffside ocean view site and sat out there and watched the dolphins and whales. Doesn't get any better than that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$65
I was a little disappointed in this park. Sites so close together. Not what we like anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$47
This is a rustic campground. Sites vary in size. The view is nice. Access to Seafood restaurant is easy, even saw a few actors. Wireless internet worked well. Check in was easy. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
Rude, rude, rude people in the office. Told office I'd reserved mtn. w/e site, but was on a ocean w/e. After disappearing into the small office for 10 minutes, I was told I was "lucky it was their fault" and given a credit for the extra $10/night I'd paid. I was lucky? Then the internet NEVER worked at my site (V-13). When I asked if it was working, the lady said, "Well it's working for me." I said that it hasn't worked for me in the 5 days I've been here unless I walked down the hill to the sheltered picnic tables. To which I got, "Well I guess that's what you'll have to do then." View was great and access is easy, but you can't turn south out of the park (we did anyway), and the place is pricey. I won't stay here again. Should have asked for a partial refund since I was essentially paying for internet that I didn't have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$75
Very expensive for what was on offer, though the view and staff were good. We were parked between 2 permanent residents, though one was friendly and nice. Compared to the other sites we had visited this was a disappointment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$62
This park is the only one in Malibu and commands a hefty rate as well as a spectacular view of the ocean. Campsites are narrow and your neighbor could become your best friend if you're not careful. There are no pull-throughs and backing into some cliff-side sites is scary! Wi-Fi access is sporatic. The managers are efficient and cordial. When we were here, the hot water was on again-off again for the showers, but the management tried to get it right. Overall it was a good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$79
Amazing views and great trails for the pets and kids. You can hear the ocean. The Wi-Fi connection is too unstable to even say they offer it. The staff is very nice. We will definitely return again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$60
I did not like this campground. Very expensive for the horrible sites. The lots are so inclined and small that your jacks cannot level the rig and the nose of the rv sticks out on the road. Do yourelf a favor and go to the dockweiler renovated rv park in playa del rey. Maliibu has no beach but dockwieler sits right on the beach and is half the price. I felt robbed at the malibu park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$48
Nice west coast park. Paved streets, sand pad and site. Great view of the Pacific ocean from our site. Sites are somewhat narrow and stacked on each other. The shower and restroom facilities were older but well kept. The entrance to the resort is very steep, be prepared as it is approximately a 12% grade. We were in a 45,000 pound class A and did not have trouble, although we were intimidated. The resort is on the land side of Highway 1, with the ocean then being across Hwy 1 from the resort. When it is in the peak summer season, make sure you bring plenty of Comet to sprinkle around your rig as the ants will try to join you. With the Comet, there was no problem with the ants. Very well kept and secure. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$50
Wow, what can I say about the view? Incredible!! We had pre-selected a site on the hill directly overlooking the ocean. I really hated to give this park a 7, but did due to the muddy condition we encountered when it rained while we were there. There is no gravel and only bare ground that turns into a real mess when it rains. The full time residents have grass carpet over the ground to keep the mess down. Go in the dry season and you will be fine. I will say though, we will be return visitors the next time business takes us to the 'left' coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$50
Location and view are the highlights of this park. Sites are close together, but you can open awning. Some sites are cliffside with nice view of ocean. You can walk downhill to get to the beach. There's a tunnel under PCH so you can cross safely. Access roads are narrow, requiring sharp turns when backing in. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com