206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakehead Boat Basin was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (218) 722-1757
CGID3885

Lakehead Boat Basin

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   4   7   7   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We liked this park and wished we had more time to spend there. The campground is nothing more than a parking lot for RVs, but the sites have plenty of room for our RV and Jeep and we were able to put out our awnings with plenty of room to spare. The sites are paved and the utilities worked well. Water pressure is very high so put your regulator on your hose inlet. The Wi-Fi was fast most of the time. You have to drive through a tourist area and the streets were tight and busy but we didn't have any problems getting to the campground. It was great to watch the ships and the Aerial Bridge. We road our bikes to the shops and the tourist areas. The host was friendly and very helpful. We would stay her again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
Tough to rate. It's right on the harbor and fun to watch ships and boats of all types coming and going. Easy walk to the Canal Park area with shops, restaurants, maritime museum, lakeside boardwalk, beaches,etc. And the lift bridge is quite fascinating to watch. The area takes on a whole new look a night so walk in after dark too. The park however is just a parking lot with hookups. Showers/restroom is a portable thing and not very clean. Cramped quarters and tricky access and parking. Your picnic table looks right at your neighbors sewer. Some TV on the antenna. Owner friendly with tips on what to see and how to get there. I would probably stay again only because of the location, but it's not the nicest park we've used. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Back for our yearly July 4th stay. Never gets old staying here. Contruction has finally started on the Hotel, can't wait to get real bathrooms/showers and laundry back. WiFi still needs to be upgraded. 3G MiFi works fine if you have it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Location is the only thing going for this park. But the location is awesome. We will always stay here when in Duluth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This is basically a parking lot at the marina but location! location! location! Right on the water (behind the boats) and two blocks from the aerial bridge where the ore boats go in and out. Loved it. We didn't use their facilities but probably wouldn't be happy if we did since they are portable at this point. The only construction we saw was out on the main street about a block away. Will handle any size rig but I think it would be tough to get out of the water and electric only spots for a big rig. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We were here a few years ago and had to settle for a W&E site. This year, with just a few days notice, we were able to get a FHU site on a Tuesday. From our previous visit, I didn't think that would be possible. There were even a few FHU maybe a half a dozen W&E sites available when we arrived. We ended up staying 3 days and the park was almost full by Thursday night. Recent reviews have mentioned the current situation here - hotel being built, the office, bathrooms (3 temps on a trailer available), and laundry are gone, etc. The location, the convenience to the sights and attractions of Duluth, etc. have also being mentioned. In general, almost everything in the previous reviews is correct. I just can't give the RV park a great rating because of all the great things around it. Even though we got a FHU site, the Electric is on the wrong side because of the one pedestal every other site situation. All sites are back-ins on asphalt with rear hook-ups. There is Wi-Fi that worked well but no cable TV. All sites appear to be satellite friendly and there are plenty of local stations via antenna. I like the park, enjoy Duluth, and hope the park does not disappear with the completion of the new hotel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
As others have noted, the location of this park is its best feature, provided you are using it as a "base camp" to explore Duluth. Unless you're really into the feel of tailgating, it may not be a comfortable park to hang out at by your RV all day. To the east, across the lift bridge, is Canal Park and downtown Duluth with restaurants, museums, shops, and a nice bike/running/walking path along the waterfront. To the west is Park Point (a nice 3+ mile bike ride from Lakehead), which also has nice trails and a beautiful sand beach. The bathrooms/showers, temporarily located in a trailer, were dirty and had a funky smell. The unit itself looked newer and considering the interior was constructed of fiberglass/plastics, it should have been easy to keep them cleaner than what they were. This was the main reason I couldn't give them a 9 or 10. I'm sure the facilities will be nicer once the hotel is completed, but I also wonder if they'll still allow campers then or if they'll need the extra parking for hotel guests. We didn't use their Wi-Fi, but it seemed like their signal was pretty weak where we were parked (just about the end of the lot). Didn't use the dump station either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Back again for our yearly July 4th trip. Still not tired of coming here. The view makes pavement camping worth while. Chilling out on a reclining chair taking in the breeze and view is plenty enough to do. I wasn't aware of the hotel construction till shortly before I arrived. Not a bother as they haven't broke ground yet, but the temporary bathroom accommodations leave a lot to be desired in 90 degree plus weather. If they were all air conditioned my opinion of that would change a bit. So needless to say it was a stinky 5 days as none of us used the sweat box temporary showers. I enjoyed my stay though, and will be back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
The Marina is getting prepared to build a 9 story hotel, so the permanent showers and restrooms are no longer operable. The temp facilities are portable toilets and showers. Even though you are parked on blacktop, you can't beat the location. There is a boat ramp available. Wi-Fi is $2.00 per night. We used T-Mobile tethered to laptop for internet, not blazing speed, but worked. We've parked (not camped) here before and WILL return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Two Harbors. This is the parking lot for the Marina with water and electric. No trees and one patch of grass for our dog. We didn't see any bathrooms or showers. The sounds of the boats and the water are very soothing. There are lots of photo opportunities. A short walk to LOTS of activities and Canal Park. The area is locked secure at night. We would stay again. There is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This "campground" is actually a parking lot at a marina, so no trees in sight. Had a level, black-top site with hookups well placed. Had a very strong WiFi signal; efficient and pleasant office staff. The campground offers no amenities but is well located, less than half a mile from the Canal Park shopping and restaurant district so you can walk across the aerial bridge and access much of the tourist stuff, or walk into downtown Duluth. Getting in and out of sites can be difficult because of congestion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This place gets a 10 for location and convenience (in addition to friendly staff). Only a few full hook up sites, although other sites are available. Basically a concrete parking lot for the marina. Still, a great overnight stop. Also great if you are visiting downtown Duluth. A five minute walk and you are at the Aerial Lift Bridge in the heart of Canal Park. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Back for our yearly July 4th tradition. I have read many of the positive and negative comments below, and would like to chime in on some of them. These are my opinions, however strong some may think they are. Dump site: there are 2, one at the gas dock, the other at the gates with a supplied hose very much in plain sight. This is a boat marina, it is paved, and it is tight, but that doesn't stop any of us regulars, so if you are longer than 40' and aren't good backing up your rig then (a) find another place to stay or (b) downsize to something you can handle backing up. Head (bathrooms in nautical terms): this is a Boat Marina! The view is to die for. The owners (not staff) are the friendliest most accommodating people I have met. Word of this place has got out and it is true there is often no vacancies, so try to plan your stay in advance. (It used to be a well kept secret until somebody published it on Woodall's.) The bathroom and showers are a little behind times, but they work, provide hot water and get the job done! If you are the type who wants to stay in a Class 'A' only park, a park that discriminates on age of rig, a park with pristine luxury bathrooms, a park with concierge service, yuppieville park, and don't like places without pull through sites, or places that frown upon us common folk who cannot afford half million dollar coaches: then this is not the place for you. Keep going to the next place and leave room for those of us that see the beauty that completely envelopes you as you stay here. I rarely even close my solar shades here, it is that gorgeous. Now if only they could get the WiFi provider to improve their service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Nice view of the lake - $2 a day charge for the Wi-Fi. Good location. It is basically a parking lot with hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
This is a marina that has set up their operation to accommodate RVs where the boats are parked for the winter months (while they're in the water for the summer). It's right at the waters edge, convenient to the downtown and tourist areas in Duluth. The rest rooms (Head, in boat terminology) are somewhat oddly configured and a little tired, but clean at least. A little spend y for what you get, but I guess you're paying more for the location and convenience. Owners were VERY nice, helpful and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This was a unique experience for us. It is in a marina: even though we are not boat nuts, we enjoyed walking around and looking at them. Was close to downtown and the canal to watch the freighters. Bathrooms were good. There's a free washer and dryer, however the dryer did not work well, after an hour and half the clothes were still damp. Wi-Fi costs and is expensive, so did not use. A good place to camp while touring Duluth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This has been a delightful place to stay. We have enjoyed watching the big freighters come and go. The horns blowing to herald their arrival and departure is worth the trip to Duluth. The fact that it is basically a parking lot for boats in the winter, does not detract from the great view of the lake and the hillside beyond. At night the lights are beautiful and we leave our front shade open late, so that we can just sit and appreciate them. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
I rate this park highly they have the greatest host and area guide I have ever met. We planned on staying 2 days, but stayed 4. The sites are located within the marina and if you are a boat person, this is wonderful. Near downtown is a plus. No real amenities other than the great view from your site. Most sites do not have sewer as there is a dump station easily accessible on your way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
I agree with previous reviews, except the remarks about the bathrooms. They were old, but clean. Also, they were very private. Each had either a complete room (toilet, sink and shower) or a toilet. The view is spectacular - looking at the Duluth harbor and downtown and the hills beyond. My biggest gripe is how they assign spots. The 3 days I was here there wasn't much activity, but they park units next to each other. Also, and not their fault is the drawbridge horn - for that matter the drawbridge itself. Communication between ships and the bridge are very loud horn toots - at any time. Water & electric were fine, and spaces were wide enough for awnings. All in all, it was a good experience, and I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Apparently the high ratings in most of the previous reviews are due to the location. It is a good place to watch the boats arriving and departing. It is also close to all the activities at the Canal Park Entertainment District. But I feel the park itself (if you can call it an RV park) is highly overrated. It is a concrete parking lot which is used for boat storage in the winter. There is all kinds of equipment associated with the storage and marina setting around. RV sites are on a narrow parking lot with RVs backed in at an angle on one side and smaller vehicles on the other side. If there are no cars in the way, it is not too hard to get parked and exit. But if there are cars in the way, it is very difficult to get backed into your site and even more difficult to exit. Most RVs were having to back out because there is no place to turn around. The park is not big rig friendly, but there are lots of them staying there including us. It is the tightest parking area we have every been in. A lot of the boat owners spend the weekend on their boats, so all their cars filled up the parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
While I agree that this park's location offers great views and excellent access to downtown Duluth (about 1 mile one way over the bridge), the park itself has many serious flaws. I found the bathrooms to be very old and dirty. Maneuvering in and out of sites when the park is full is VERY difficult. According to the staff, the dozen or so sites that have sewers are usually booked well in advance for weeks/months at a time. If you don't have large holding tanks it is difficult to stay more than one day. Unfortunately, I did not look for the dump until after the office closed and the dump location shown on the map taped to the door appeared to be cemented over. So, I don't think there is a sewer dump in the park. If not for the location, this park would be rate a 3 at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Great view of the bridge and ship canal. Owner very helpful. I did have trouble with the main electric quality, but we were moved to a new site and connected to a boat dock electric. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
The staff sure go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is awesome. My wife always asks me for a lake view, well you can't get any closer to a major body of water than this. Spectacular views; walking distance to the best Duluth has to offer, etc... It is true this is a boat marina, fully paved, no playground, but my 3 kids ages 7-13 had a great time over our 9 day stay. The public beaches and playgrounds are walking distance, as well as the Duluth Waterfront Shops. The canal and the 1000 foot long Ore Ships amazed the kids every time they passed by. Oh, and if you're fortunate enough to get in during the July fourth holiday, the fireworks are launched a few hundred yards off the breakwater, and they are very well done. I have made this a yearly stop for us. Family tradition to begin now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
We love this RV park and return at least once every year. The accommodations are clean and the owners are friendly. You cannot beat the spectacular view of the city on the hill and the lift bridge. The park is convenient to all area attractions, as well as shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
This park is nothing but a parking lot in a marina with sites lined up next to each other. They are wide sites with picnic tables provided. In the electric/water sites there is an awesome view past the marina across the bay toward the city of Duluth and its trademark lift bridge. If your view is out your back window you will look toward the other direction of Superior, WI. There is a dump station on site. The full hookup sites are in front of the facility near the office and have a view out the front only, though not as good as the partial hookup sites. It is less than 10 minutes walk to the Lift Bridge, across which is the main tourist area of Duluth with Grandma's restaurants and the free Corps of Engineers visitors center/museum. The coming and going of the huge lake ships are a big deal here, and the Lift Bridge raises all the way up for them, with visitors lining the shore to watch the event. Ride your bike right from the campground across the bridge to the fabulous Lake shore trail and ride for 5 miles along the beautiful lake. At $32/$37 it is pricey but the location/view makes it worth it - BUT be warned that wifi costs $9/day $28/week which drops its rating from a 9 to an 8 in my book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
A great place to park and see the sights around Duluth. The aerial bridge is just three blocks away, and seeing (and hearing) the big ships come in and out of the harbor is awesome. Owner and his daughter are very personable and go out of their way to help. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
The location of this campground gets it an 8 from me - wow. The campground is not much, it really is a marina and a parking lot. I don't think they have bathrooms and showers and no other facilities. They do have full hookups, the spaces are tight but not so bad, plenty of room for our 4 slides and still an outside space. You don't come here for the campground you come for the location. You can walk to everything and there is a great lakeside path for jogging walking and bikes. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Be aware that this is a “sea-worthy” camping experience; in other words, not the usual stuff but well worth it. This is a paved parking lot, on the waterfront with easy and convenient access to the city. Be prepared to attach your pressure regulator to the site’s water faucet. TV reception is weak. What a great experience to park with the big boats. We “camped” for three nights and would do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Great location for tourists. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Unique campground since it's really a marina. The water pressure is 110 psi, so bring a regulator. Free washer and dryer in the harbor house. Dump station requires that you use their hose and it's right at the entrance gate. I was little surprised when I asked if I could stay an hour longer and was told no...there was only about 3 other RVs in the RV area and lots of spaces for newcomers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Excellent location on park point just over the scenic lift bridge. The Duluth aquarium, sandy beach on Lake Superior and 2 maritime museums as well as several top notch restaurants are in walking/biking distance. We spent a week there. Owner is somewhat indifferent to the campers as he is really a boat basin and dock for yachts. Spaces are adequate and paved-no grass. Back in only. Hookups are all top notch 50 amp, sewer etc. WiFi is $8 a day-Ouch! Would stay again just for the location-services are adequate but not exceptional. It is fenced in with card access through a gate so security is good. Showers are free and fairly clean. No swimming or recreation in the park really. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
It is not a fancy Campground but it is right close to the Downtown area. We enjoyed watching the boat traffic coming off the lake and meeting a few of the people who dock their boats at the Marina who were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
What a great place to park your RV. Welcome change from the normal parks. Right on the waterfront of a busy harbour and a short walk to the city centre. Somebody had a bright idea to use the space used for winter boat parking. Sure, it does not have everything that an RV Park normally has but the benefits more than make up for that. Would definitely call in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Great area to see the lake, shipping traffic, lift bridge and the local attractions. At night, overlooking the Duluth harbor, it is beautiful! We are returning this year in July. The weather in Duluth in September is very cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Despite the full hookup sites, RVers need to know that this is not a "campground" per se, but a marina in which the owner rents empty boat storage lots to RVers during the summer (when the boats are all in the water). While the owner (Joel) is a very nice man who is very accommodating to his guests, RVers should not expect a campground atmosphere (i.e., showers, bath houses, pet walk areas, etc.). That having been said, this place DEFINITELY has it's advantages (and disadvantages, as well). THE ADVANTAGES ARE: 1) The view! As this is a marina, many of the sites are directly on the water (like 60 feet away), 2) It is very close (less than 5 blocks) to downtown Duluth, and Duluth's famous aerial bridge is only 2 blocks away, 3) It's proximity to restaurants, downtown, shopping, etc. means that you don't have to use your toad if you don't mind walking a few blocks. THE DISADVANTAGES ARE: 1) The water pressure is HIGH (like around 100 psi), so PLEASE BE SURE to use your regulator, 2) As this place is located on a marina adjacent to an active harbor, you may hear the fog horns and/or ship heralding horns (which are VERY loud) at any hour of the day or night (but we were there for 2 nights and heard only 1 such horn), 3) There is very little grass here for walking your pets (as it's a marina), but there is a small patch of grass (about 40' x 10') near the office. All in all, it is a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$38
There are 12 full hook up sites and 18 E+W with dump. Wi-fi is $6.95/day and $15.95/week. Very convenient RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
We really enjoyed this park, because of its location. It is right by a boat dock, with the Duluth harbor in full view. We watched ships come through the channel, and the aerial bridge raise to let them in or out of the harbor. It is somewhat tight for big rigs, but the view is worth the maneuvers to get parked. We had a front row seat for the awesome fireworks on the 4th of July! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com