223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Beaver Dam Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (207) 698-2267
CGID3889

Beaver Dam Campground

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   8   8   9   1   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We really enjoyed the pool. Beware - ice, ice cold. For us, that was okay. Hot humid day, and low chlorine level made for a nice dip and good conversation. Putt-putt golf was fun, but pricey. We had a gorgeous lake site. With the good comes caution on tree roots. The fire pit was the deepest I've seen and rocks just stacked made for complicated marshmallow roasting. But I liked the artistry of it. The stock info on Beaver Dam said 60 sites, but I counted 73. Am noting this because restroom facilities are way under-designed. Three toilets and three showers. Coin showers were okay once you learned how to use them, but chances of an ice cold shower are high. Threading seems reversed for the knobs. I notice port-a-potties by the big rig section. Beaver Dam should consider putting in two of the new style solar latrines. Technically, staff cleans twice a day, but we found owners in often just sweeping and keeping things to a minimum clean. The floors take a beating. But overall, okay. Just adds to stress of the stay. Clearly, the owners work hard. I overheard a child zooming on a bike say to another," I want to live here all the time, don't you?" Not "I wish" but "I want". To be real...activities are limited during the week, and additional costs will add up. The lake looks great. Missed out on renting a boat due to structure of our trip. Neighbor boys appeared to fully enjoy fishing from shore and boats they launched. The dog park is a nice gesture, but it was empty and our dog un-interested. I'm a little dismayed at having to reserve more time at the site than neighbors who popped in and out. We also had a better experience with late check-in than others have reported. We lost 4 hours in severe traffic backup, and staff was good about allowing us entry before 9 PM. For proximity to Dover, NH, the coast and overall, Beaver Dam is a worthy choice. (I added the non-refundable reservation fee into the nightly rate) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Park is beautiful. The owners work nonstop. Office help was polite and helpful. They have a dog park that is in fair condition and gets used regularly. The majority of the sites that back up to the pond do not have sewer. But with that said they have a fantastic view. There activities are based on children and are run on the weekends. Close proximity to all of Maine's popular southern beach areas. You get one hour of free Wi-Fi each day but you can buy a daily/weekly service for a fair price. No cable TV offered. That I would have liked for an extended stay. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This is a nice little park and everyone was friendly. Site was plenty big for what we needed and all hookups were good; cable would have been nice. Planned activities as well as other things to do. Pool looked nice and people were using the beach. Owners were very involved in everything and you saw them throughout the day. Offered shelter to anyone who needed it due to storm coming up the coast. From here we found it easy to get to both York Beach and Old Orchard Beach. Site was level so side to side we were set when we pulled in which made set up a breeze. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Very relaxing and peaceful place to camp. The staff were exceptionally friendly. There are so many things to do nearby in this tourism-friendly southern Maine area that I didn't take in much that the park offered, but they certainly offer a lot (waterfront walking, boat rentals, mini-golf, pool, & scheduled activities). I would definitely return, and if I lived nearby I'd certainly consider this park for my regular get-away spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Beaver Dam was a very nice place. Clean and modern. The owners were on site and very helpful. They kept the campground very pretty with flowers and shrubs. The sites were well manicured. A nice feature was trash barrels on your site, and there was trash pick up. The store was a bit over priced, but that is to be expected. Great fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Very nice campground. Kept up very well. Very busy over a July weekend but quiet at night. Every one was friendly. Lots of activities. A word of caution. If you are coming from the west there is just a small sign hanging on the back side of the mail box. Even going slow I missed the entrance. I went about a mile and turned around at the entrance to the high school. Coming from the west heading east there is a guard rail at the entrance. My motorhome is 38 ft and I am towing an extra cab pickup. Without going into the oncoming lane of traffic I swang as wide as I could and still hit the back door, bedside and fender flare on the guard rail. Be cautious when entering this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We rented for 3 months. Had a waterfront lot and great access to the pond. Easily kayaked, lots of wildlife and flora. Clean as a whistle, not a cigarette butt or candy wrapper on the ground. Owners are hands on and run a tight ship. Services were reliable, neighbors courteous (the park is ~1/3 seasonals but no one is allowed to keep their rig on the campground so there are no unsightly structures. Is good for tenting and RVing and no one is more than 200 ft from the pond. Although it is small, it was peaceful for adults and fun for kids. There is a pool (also immaculate) and the beach. If you tire of fresh water, the ocean is 20 minutes away. Great summer stock theater can be had across the street. I can't say enough good about this place. (The price marked is based on our seasonal rate broken down by day.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We arrived a day late due to heavy downpours and lighting. I asked for a partial credit and to extend our stay Sunday night as well. "No way!" was the response. First, let me state that this facility is second to none. It is pristine, fun filled, and in a great location. However, it is run by angry (ladies) who treated myself, my wife and my kids (2, 4 and 10) with nothing but disrespect. It's such a shame that these women ruined my son's second birthday due to their nasty attitudes. Sunday morning we spent packing and cleaning the site. Gramma went to get coffee and donuts in town so we went to the beach to wait. The staff came over and asked us to vacate the premises because it was 15 minutes past checkout time. We did not have enough room to leave in one car. We were treated as though we did something very disrespectful and wrong. The big nasty lady told us "we were lucky if they did us the favor of allowing us to ever come back." Mind you we had done nothing wrong, and paid $90 for 2 days, but they are doing us a favor? I cannot believe that these staff members made my children cry. Everyone is here to get away and enjoy the relaxation. This place could be amazing, but as long as these angry (ladies) are in charge I suggest no one visit! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Beaver Dam campground is very clean and the amenities are kept in good condition. The staff however was the most unwelcomingly crew I have ever come across. They and the non-stop landscaping makes this campground a poor choice. We booked for six days and voluntarily left after four. We are a family of 5 and traveled from Southern Massachusetts with another family of 5. Upon first arrival while we were setting up, the children went to explore the campground, we gave them all money and when they entered the camp store they were immediately told that they had to leave if they were not buying anything. On day 2 @ 2PM the children were in the park's recreation center playing pay-to-play video games and were told to stop because the games were making too much noise. The other family left and went to another campground after 2 nights. The landscaping starts promptly at 8AM on Saturday morning and is non-existent on Monday. I really could go on and on about how un-friendly the staff here was. Sincerely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We are full timers and chose this campground to complete our tour of Maine based on location and what we had read here. The owners keep the grounds and facilities clean and in good working order. Sites are cleaned of any trash and pine cones, the fire rings are cleaned out, and the sites are raked as the occupants leave. Every two sites share a metal trashcan that is emptied several times each day. This is a family campground with lots of activities (swimming pool, lake with swimming area, canoes/kayaks, new miniature golf, a mining sluice, game room) and is very full on the weekends. However, it is quiet at night. For dog owners, there is an enclosed "Bark Park" where you can let your dog off leash; several toys are provided for the dogs to play with as well as "bags" for cleanup. Owners and staff are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. Only one washing machine and two dryers - could use more of both (we went to a laundromat in town). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Great place with very involved owners who obviously took great pride in their campground. Nice pool, great lake with swimming and boating. Large field for playing with decent playground. Nice recreation room and camp store. Easy drive to Wells, ME (25mins). Only negative was that sites are very close together however we found quiet hours to be enforced and had very few interruptions during our stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Sites were not level. Staff was unfriendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
We found the campground very clean. Wifi worked from our site but it was slow. There was a minimal cost. The pool was cool (not heated) but cleaned every day. It is around 20 minutes to Wells Beach but well worth the drive. The sites are much roomier than most campgrounds at the coast. There is a pond with several sites on the shore. There's a dock for jumping off. The kids swam in the pond because it was warmer than the pool. It is a small quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Very nice little campground. Plenty of room on and between sites. Nice little lake and pool. Well manicured park. Owners seem to be intent on keeping place clean and adding or improving grounds. Nice little but old rec hall. Plenty of activities for kids. We enjoyed this C/G. Close to major Maine attractions such as Kittery or Ogunquit. Definitely quiet here...nice and relaxing. A good deal and must try if you need some R/R. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
As indicated by other reviews, this park is very clean and quiet. The women who own this park take great pride in its appearance. Wifi was not working properly, however, they refunded our money without hesitation. Sites were spacious and well maintained. Would have liked to see the new playscape installed in the spring or fall instead of the middle of July, the kids were disappointed. Activities are limited to Saturday. Nice place to stay when visiting the Maine Coast, only 12 miles to beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Nice Little park. Very dog friendly. Sites are open and spacious. Installing a new playscape for the kids. Wifi available for $20 a week or $3 daily (when it works). The women that own this park are working constantly to make this a nice place (and do they work). Very Clean with garbage pick up daily in front of camper. The pictures in the web-ad are a bit deceiving. The pool is very small, but not bad when the park isn't too busy. The store is small and not a lot available. Limited activities on the weekends. The price is right, but not a lot in the park to do. Great place to stay if here to visit the Wells/Ogunquit/York area. Upgrades that I would recommend would be; to add cable and dependable wifi without the extra fees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Beaver Dam is a great small park if you are looking to get away. They have a average size game room. And a LARGE screen TV. They do have some theme weekend but I think they do need a few more activities or at least a few more workers. This park is So dog friends. They have recently open a nice dog park that is nicely fences in so your fury kids have a place to run. The campground is very clean and they have daily trash pick up in the cans that line the road with is also a plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
We have stayed here many times and the beauty and cleanlyness never cease to amaze us. Great campground. Small enough to be very quiet and personnel, but big enough to have activities for all ages. One of our favorite places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
This was our first year camping in a trailer. We searched the local area for nice quiet, clean campgrounds and found Beaver Dam for our first try at camping with our new rig. They were exactly what we were looking for in a campground. We were very impressed with the friendly, helpful owners and staff. The campground is very clean and family oriented. It has a nice clean swimming area on the pond and a very nice pool too! The sites were spacious and clean. The bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean and well maintained. There were many activities for children and the camp is pet friendly too. My wife and I can't say enough good things about Beaver Dam. If you're looking for an nice peaceful getaway then this is the place you're looking for!! We liked it so much we stayed here 3 times, June, July and August. Check it out!! It's great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Small family run campground. It is great. Extremely pet friendly, you can bring them just about everywhere if they are well behaved. They have a lake and a pool which is very nice. Big acrade with a large screen T.V. Simply a great campground if you are looking for a little bit of quite. They do have some activities, but not to many. We are planning on going back there many times We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com