219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (505) 753-6608
CGID3892

Cottonwood RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   6   4   6   6   8   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
This campground seems to be closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Upon arrival I produced my Good Sam card and the three woman on duty at the day spa didn't know what to do with it, therefore we did not get the discount. No cable, and no stations available with antenna. Verizon data and phone worked fine. 50% long term old trailers, dirt roads on upper and lower levels are rutted from previous rains. Address is incorrect on their website: correct address is 1318 Riverside Road. Run down, but not much else close by. We'd stay again, but just overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Park is narrow and slopes downward from the highway which makes this park quieter than most that close to a highway. Good wifi, modern showers with plenty of hot water and average pressure. Pathways are dirt/gravel mix which can be dusty. Overall a nice place to stay as long as you are not looking for a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Price is now $27, Good Sam brought it $24. No Good Sam rate for weekly booking. Some sites very close together. Almost all the water bibs leaked to some degree. Some units used by working people (not a problem though). Nice Coffee House at entrance. Although it is close to the road it is not noisy. Very convenient for Espanola. Good site to use as a base for touring Santa Fe, Los Alamos and Taos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$11
This is indeed a basic park, thus the average rating. There really isn't much to inspire the "wow" factor. I was able to maneuver my 35' MH with dolly (toad removed) easily enough but a true big rig might be a little tight. It is quiet and the office staff is very friendly. There are several Native American casinos within about 10 miles. This is really not a place where I'd sit outside in my camp chair to read and enjoy the sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Not very much to add to previous reviews. The park is pretty basic...three levels on a sloped site, but all sites are more or less level and graveled. We were in level 2 and the Wi-Fi worked very well and was free. Lots of locals or semi-permanent set-ups; bathrooms and showers and laundry very clean The young lady at the desk (Red Door Cafe) was new, but very friendly and helpful...good coffee and pastries! After seeing the rest of Espanola, I think this is as good as it gets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
This little park was clean and quiet. You register inside of the coffee shop at the entrance of the park. The young lady was friendly and helpful. She gave us plenty of information about the area and suggested some points of interest. It was easy to park our rig and the WiFi had a strong signal. There is no cable TV, but we watched from the coffee shop. They serve a great cup of coffee/espresso and have some lunch selections. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$11
This is a fairly clean park, set back far enough from the highway to offer some privacy. I found the owners friendly and easy to contact by phone and email. The office is in the cafe at the park entrance. Sites are pull through, and trees offer shade, but do not interfere with your RV. My site was level and offered more side space than most private parks. There is free Wi-Fi. It worked fine, but I mostly used my Sprint Broadband which was faster. The bath house is modern. Rate reflects Passport America discount. Regular daily rate and monthly rates are quite a bit cheaper than in Santa Fe, so I may camp here and commute next time I'm in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
We stayed in this park from April through Sept 2010. This is a very basic park. Sites mostly level, dirt and gravel, most are small and short. There is no on site management or security in this park. The owners are seldom available or on site. There is a lot of local traffic with no business there driving through this park, some late at night. Espanola is the drug capital of NM and this park is close to the bad part of town. There are mostly long term renters staying here, mostly construction workers, which is fine, they are quiet and clean. There are seldom more than two sites open any given day. This is a self serve, self maintenance, self policing park. The nightly rate is about right for the area, but the monthly rate is kind of high for the area. The full time construction workers allow the owners to charge a Santa Fe area rate in Espanola. There are much better options within 30 miles of Espanola. Verizon air card reception is very poor in the park. The park Wi-Fi is iffy doesn't work all the time. You can sometimes get three TV stations, one of them is Spanish. If I had to stay in Espanola, I guess this would be the place I'd stay, the only RV park in town. But if I could, I'd go up the road 25 miles and stay someplace better for less money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Stayed overnight. It was the only campground in the area. The sign in was at a coffee shop near the entrance and the person there was indifferent to the campground. Just a money taker. "Oh, just chose any place you can find." The Passport America discount was for winter only. The campground is down a long shallow ravine with at the end a berm carrying a water canal on top. Dirt road with dust thrown up with close set workers trailers mostly along the sides. Lots of cars moving through the campground during the night. (Lots of highway construction going on just outside the campground). Sites unlevel. Had water and 30 amp electrify O.K. The good news; they had a new nicely setup and clean bathhouse. For the nice bathhouse I give a five rating. I would not like to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
I'm not sure why some people gave this park a bad review. It was neat and clean. Yes, there are a lot of monthly RVers here but they all have nice, well maintained rigs. The Wifi signal was great at the bottom of the hill. We could not pick up any TV channels down here but see that other people had their antennae up. Everything was in good repair. It has a great central location. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Park was well kept and very clean. Park host helped us find our space and guided us as we parked. There is plenty to do in this area and the views around us were just beautiful. You must register at the coffee shop at the entrance of the park. They open early and the coffee is great. Give this park a shot, it was a quiet place to rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Dirty, not an RV park, nothing but a place to park. Would have been better staying in the Walmart parking lot and having used my battery. Visit the campground before you sign on the line or commit to staying. The view will speak for itself. Management was disorganized, no site maps. Sorry not coming back, the location is accessible, that is about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
This is a miserable little campground. The place is a wreck with dog waste everywhere, and seems to cater more to long term stay rather than an RV park atmosphere. I got looks from some of the residents that seemed to say "why are you here in MY place?" No cable, very slow Wi-Fi. Not a good place and I WON'T be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
This park is quiet and the owners and park hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our rate reflects a Passport America discount. The sites are a little tight and the park could use a little sprucing up. It is conveniently located for exploring the Jemez Mountains area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
Park was very tight, and the owners are not on site. The park is mostly permanents. Wi-Fi worked fine. Sites are just barely big enough for a 40 footer. We would not have been able to even pull out unless the next door 5th wheel tow vehicle was gone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
I agree with everything the previous reviewer said. It's a small park, but well located for sightseeing the area. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Very poor park, dusty, small sites, difficult to get a 40' in, wifi non-existant, look for a better place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We have been in this park for several months. Good location just south of Espanola. Convenient for visiting northern New Mexico tourist sites. Park owners friendly and doing their best, but are not often around due to other obligations. Big rig sites are available, and trees, wires and other obstacles are not a problem. Layout of park does suggest most will have to unhook to spend the night. No cable TV. Some sites have phone hookup if you are staying for extended term. Park layout below highway makes for a quiet place to camp and park has a "country feel" even though it is near town. Roads and campsites of park are dirt and gravel so expect dusty conditions. We were not able to connect to Wi-fi but Verizon aircard works in the park. All things considered, we like this park and it is much nicer than others in the area. We can recommend it to others, including those with big-rig motorhomes like ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This is a simple campground with mostly pull-thru sites. The roads are dirt. The level gravel sites are long enough for 40' rigs with adequate width for opposing slides and awnings. There was good water pressure and stable electricity. This is not a resort destination, but a great central location for day trips to Taos, Santa Fe, Bandelier National Monument, Los Alamos and surrounding pueblos. Plus the price is reasonable. There are some large shade trees but not so dense as to interfere with roof-top internet satellite dishes. We found the hosts/owners, a young couple with day jobs, to be friendly and customer oriented. We are full-time RVers and lived here for two weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Owner charges for use of electricity on a week stay. No big rig pull thru we had to disconnect and pay for storage of our trailer. Small park roads easy to get stuck. Owner not professional and no attention to customer service. No mail service to the park and if so it would get lost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Overall we enjoyed our stay here (last week of April 2008) in our 30' 5th Wheel. The campground is centrally located for many of the activities in northern New Mexico, and we chose it because of this fact (our other choices were in Santa Fe which were generally at the southern end of the city). The showers and bathrooms were very clean, and so was the overall campground. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The campground is one single row of sites, which are arranged side-by-side, and slope down from the highway so the noise level is acceptable. Shade is limited. They will take large rigs, although it is just a little tight for some. As noted, there is no TV service, so you will need your own dish. The wireless service is through a 3rd party company, which charges your credit card once you connect via your web browser -- $3 per day. It is weak and drops out frequently. Our Verizon cell phone service was good. All things considered, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
The owners, Art & Ramona are very nice. When we arrived we discovered our refrigerator was broken. They took our frozen food and stored it in their home freezer for over three weeks while we went to Albuquerque to have a new refrigerator shipped in and installed. The RV park is nice and the office and restrooms are very new and nice, including good handicapped showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
This park appears to be under new ownership and they are doing a great job in making this a nice park. The roads are all dirt, and unfortunately it was one of the rainiest March's that NM has seen in a while. Everywhere you looked was mud, but they were doing everything they could to make it as pleasant a stay as possible. They assisted me with backing in to the site, setup and even in maneuvering to leave. I was unable to get the site that would accommodate my rig due to the rain, so in order to get out, it took so extra maneuvering on my part. I would recommend for an overnight stay or few days if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
Had a nice visit in the area. This campground is very clean and quiet. It is in town, yet very secluded. The restrooms were very new and the service was friendly and helpful. There is an on-site day spa with a deli. It is a bit tricky to locate off of the highway, so keep your eye out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Got stranded in Espanola while pickup was being fixed and pulled into Cottonwood. This is a good place to spend the night. Clean and friendly. Like the review before, you can get some goodies at the restaurant and no one bothers you in this quiet park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Quiet, friendly campground. Pet friendly. Excellent onsite restaurant provides complimentary Margueritas (with dinner) to park guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com