223364 User submitted reviews online!!
Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (970) 249-9177
CGID3898

Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   10   10   10   10   10   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
This is a nice, clean park as others have said. However, the internet is throttled and limited to 40kB. It also blocks some services. If you are looking for a fast internet connection, don't come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
We just overnight-ed here but they set up up with an extremely level pull through, in a quiet area near the exit. It was off season but the park still showed good care. Had stable electricity. Used the showers ...and while pretty cold, they were very clean and well ordered. I would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
As a general rule, we only stay at KOA when the alternatives demand we do so. Keep On Adding has largely priced the chain away from our consideration. However, if one is in the area we intend to stay, we do compare it to what else is available. This one drew our attention due to the nightly rate. It was actually comparable, and in one case less expensive than other area parks. We took a chance and booked a reservation. Well, all we can say is what a great place! Above average site size. Well kept sites. Stable power, good water pressure, no problem septic. WiFi excellent, but at check-in, be sure to let them know how many devices you have as each device must have it's own log in. The only problem we had was with another transient (noisy west-coaster). The permanents were great. While we'll certainly use this KOA again when were in the area this place made such an impression on us, We'll look a bit closer at KOA in general as we travel. Never thought we'd say that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Can't think of any reason to give this park a lower rating. Virtually everything is first rate, and we enjoyed our stay. Sites are great for pull through and for big-rigs with plenty of room between. All utilities working as expected and hoped for, including Wi-Fi which usually is our pet-peeve. Check-in was very friendly, and help with routing to our next stop was excellent. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Friendly, easy check in. Gave consideration to our desire for a site with trees but also satellite access. Hookups were well located and in good condition. Roads and sites are gravel with easy access. Most appear to be pull-through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
We stayed here for a week in space 9 and enjoyed the park and staff very much. The RV space had green grass and shade trees and was very well kept. We will go back and stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Excellent park to stay in while in the area. The office staff was very friendly and quick. We had a pull-through with a shade tree and a large grassy area my little dog loved. The 50amp, cable and water all worked with no issues. The pool area was very nice but being summer a little crowded as expected. The dog area could use a little work as it was no more than some gravel next to a ditch. An excellent stay overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This was a beautiful park. It was well maintained and clean. I would highly recommend their facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This was one of the worst campgrounds we have ever stayed on. The tent sites are next to the campground, next to the playground for the children. No shade at all. The swimming pool is behind the bushes and did not close at 10 PM. Also, a dirt access road is directly next to the sites, not even a fence between the road and the sites. Toilets and showers clean. If you are staying in a tent, don't stay here! Also we did not find a place to do the dishes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
A very quite park (away from highways). Very neat sites with well kept grass and facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Top-notch. This is one of the nicest RV parks we have stayed at in our travels around the country. Excellent maintenance, friendly ,and roomy sites. And best of all, the WIFI works well, even on days when the park is full! The laundry is spotless with modern machines that all work. The folks here are doing it right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Clean well maintained park. Staff friendly and helpful. Sites are long enough for big rigs, "if you unhook." The sites are surrounded by wooden ties. There are fences, which makes it difficulty to maneuver. Water and electric good. Wi-fi good. This park is convent to downtown Montrose, which has new grocery stores, shopping and restaurants. Easy drive to Black Canyon and Ouray CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Level, wide sites with easy access for all size rigs. Bathrooms clean and spacious. Located close to downtown but a bit hard to find - no sign, just a trailer parked by the highway pointing to the entrance road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
We enjoyed staying at this campground. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent Laundry facility with new machines that work. Grounds landscaped beautifully. Close to town so we could walk in to a restaurant. Will definitely stay here when in the area. Sites are gravel but level. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Very nice clean quiet park. Pet area good. Nice people. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This park was nearly perfect. Quiet, large pull-through sites, shady, excellent free Wi-Fi and cable, clean pool and huge hot tub. The owners/managers gave us the KOA discount plus a 10% military discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Large sites with grass between. This campground is well run and well maintained. The owner is active in the daily operations. The third party Wi-Fi was having problems while we were there. Tengo Internet is the provider. They had a tech there working on the system the day we departed. Signage is not good but that is due to regulations of the city of Montrose, not the campground. The restrooms, showers and laundry are kept spotless by the staff. We stayed for three weeks and will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Made a reservation for 3 sites together back in January, but when we arrived, they said the sites we reserved were no longer available and they had to put us in other sites. An inconvenience for 3 families traveling together, but they compensated us for the trouble. Site was long and level pull through. The grounds were very well kept. Staff was friendly. Laundry room was very clean. Had a nice pool for the kids. Nice location for visiting Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Clean park, carefully maintained. Large pullthroughs with green grass patio. Helpful owner (we needed WD40; was not in the store; he lent his own). Friendly reception. Difficult to find due to lack of signs. Just at the last moment, we saw the KOA sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
I'm not sure how this park got all the raving reviews. It's OK, but nothing special. Receptionist seemed uninterested. Pros: level sites, not too close, good cable TV, nice new laundry. Cons: Virtually no entry signs, tough to find in a big rig -- needs a sign on the highway at least; smallest shower cubicle ever; pool and jacuzzi nonfunctional; wi-fi marginal. It was okay for a stopover, but there's got to be better parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We have stayed in about 130 RV parks in the 11 western states and 2 western provinces (I thought it was about 160 but DW corrected me!) and have walked away from a few dozen more places. Emerald Desert in Palm Desert, in its heyday, was always our standard of comparison. But this park, we just spent 5 days here, is right up there with it. The owner, is a class guy. Only downside was the jacuzzi that needed some attention, but not enough of an issue to move me off a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Great graveled level sites with some trees and a grass area between each site. The facilities were very nice and clean and the people were friendly. The biggest issue was with the Wi-Fi internet access. There was a filter on downloading files and any files but the very smallest did not make it. You were not warned so I kept waiting for them to download. I teach on-line so I needed to download small student files but the Wi-Fi would not allow it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
After 3 months on the road, this park was a welcome stop. The staff was very helpful. The sites were nice and wide and even had trees! Cable outstanding and the Wi-Fi worked well. Even the space to run the dog was above average. We had a lovely week and would definitely return to stay again. In town and convenient to everything. No downsides here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very nice place, well kept & cared for. Sites in the front part of the resort have more trees for shade than the group in the back. Had an end pull thru-very wide & deep with nice shade. Will definitely stay here again. Price was with KOA discount card. Only reason I didn't rate as a 10 was water pressure in the mornings seemed lower than later in the day, and hot tub only had one position jet working--all minor stuff.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
I just spent 2 months at this RV park. Great staff and park. I can't seem to think of any reason to even rate it at a nine! I especially liked the room service style LP tank fill. Just set it out side and it get's picked up, filled, put on your bill and returned. Just think two months without the cable TV or WiFi acting up. I will be back. The fact that I have two grand children in Montrose Colorado may also influence my travel plans back to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
This was a very nice RV park. Although we got there after hours there was a number to call staff and someone came within five minutes to register us. We only stayed one night but it was a nice park. They had extras like a swimming pool, jacuzzi, and playground and a lot of good sites. Most sites even had a grassy area with a picnic table. The cable worked really well here. It was a pretty town also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
This is a very pretty park with nice gravel roads, large level sites, grass and trees. The town of Montrose is also pretty with all the needed amenities. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The park shows pride of ownership. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Nice RV Park with grass and trees at each site, good WiFi and cable TV. They have a nice pool, hot tub and pavilion area. It is close to historic downtown and just off hwy 50 on the way to Black Canyon. The Visitors Center is just around the corner. Sites are level and park is extremely clean. A lot of work has gone into this park. We will stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Very nice campground: was well maintained, but over priced. We were charged $40 with the 10% Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Wow, a Wi-Fi that worked beautifully and consistently. Employees were friendly and very helpful. Very nice, shaded sites. Nice pool, spotless restrooms. A clean and very nicely landscaped facility. I highly recommend this RV resort. Oh yes, many happy and repeat customers all around us. Good indicator. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a beautifully maintained park. The staff is courteous and truthful. They realize that the interior roads are a bit "tight" and let you know that when you arrive. I deeply appreciate honesty. This one problem keeps me from giving them a perfect rating, but their cleanliness and attitude make up for that one small problem. I would return. The trees and vegetation which are well pruned and maintained, add to the park's attractiveness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This was the first RV park we've stayed at. We stayed in site 23 just across from the office, bathrooms,and pool. The sites had a nice grassy area and had a fair amount of space. The park was very quiet. It is pet friendly with an area to walk your pets. We found the location near shopping convenient. The restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. The pool and hot tub were also clean and nicely kept. A large pavilion with picnic tables and two large gas grills are available for everyone to use. Wi-Fi was fast and strong. Verizon cell phone service was good. Verizon air card also had a strong EVDO Rev. A signal. We stayed for 3 nights. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
It's always a pleasure to encounter an RV Park that is virtually faultless. We can usually find something annoying to use in knocking a facility. Not at Montrose RV Resort. The management is friendly and helpful, the grounds and sites are meticulously maintained, the utilities are excellent, and the restrooms are spotless. The laundry room is equipped with plenty of washer/dryer combos, and there is a pet walk where you can let your dog off leash. Every site has an expanse of grass and a mature tree, along with a picnic table. The town of Montrose itself rates very high with us. In a valley just north of the San Juan Mountains, it boasts an attractive and thriving downtown area, plus a commercial corridor on the south end of town with supermarkets and shopping centers. From here you can easily tour in your toad to all the local points of interest, of which there are many. I should note that we only give scores of 10 to facilities that are among the most outstanding in the country (LV Motorcoach Resort, Seven Feathers in Canyonville, OR for example). We'd like to give Montrose RV Resort a 9.5 if we could! We'll certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Well maintained and nicely laid out. Close to town, so handy for shopping and restaurants. All the big chains are there, Walmart, JC Penney etc. Clean restrooms and laundry. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This an very good park with FHU, cable TV, Wi-Fi and a pool. The older sites are under nice shade trees and as good as any in most parks. The newer sites are more open are a match for most high end parks. From my discussions with the staff, the park is not going the high end RVs only or the selling lots route. That's good news for us little folks. The center of town is about a mile and an half to the east but the main retail area is south of there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
We stayed 6 weeks at the monthly rate. The management, owner, and help were very helpful and friendly. This is the old Montrose KOA so there are also a few camping cabins available. Ideal location, off the highway/streets, minutes to the center of town, great medical services, and pretty much any other kinds of services and shopping you might want. Great pull-throughs for short stays. Only negative experience was a problem with sprinklers watering the RV and car with irrigation water (very bad water spotting), but the owner was working that problem. We'd do both long term and short term stays here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We were planning to stay down the road in Ouray. Unfortunately, phone calls revealed there were no sites in any of the parks there. Luckily, we found this park in nearby Montrose. After seeing the sardine-can parks during our visit to Ouray, we were very glad that we ended up at Montrose RV Resort. The sites have very nice grass areas that are well landscaped. The pool was very clean and the spa relaxing. Great place to walk the dogs and a clean laundromat. The electricity was good - could run A/C and electric water heater on 30A at the same time. Friendly staff. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
This campground has two sections. One section has nice shaded sites and adequately sized spaces. The other section is comprised mostly of permanent campers. The campground is well kept and nicely groomed. Unfortunately we had a site in the permanent camper section which was a terrible site. I would not recommend this part of the campground for a lengthy stay. It would be okay for overnight. Sites in the other section would be great for lengthy stays. The hosts/owners were friendly and helpful. My rating of 6 is based on our experience in the campground, including the site we were given. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Very nice place! We originally were only going to stay a few days - found it so pleasant and well located that we stayed 11 days. We are traveling with a lab puppy - the only thing that could have been better here would be a dog run area. The owner and workampers were a pleasure, restrooms and laundry clean and the landscaping was very nice. Our site had a big grassy area with several trees. The long-termers are located to the east side of the park, and are seldom seen from the west side. Pool is small but clean, hot tub was fine, but not particularly hot. Walking distance to Red Barn Restaurant and just a couple of blocks off Hwy 50, but no road noise to speak of. We chose this over other campgrounds near the rivers as to cut down on the mosquitoes, and we enjoyed most evenings outdoors bug-free! Great location to explore Silverton, Ouray, Telluride, Grand Mesa, and the wine and fruit country to the north. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
This park is clean with nice wide sites. We had a little trouble getting level in our site as it sloped a bit toward the left front. The park is well maintained and friendly. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This was a very nice park for a few days to see the area - Telluride, Ouray, etc. It is all gravel with grass in between and the sites were good size with smaller trees. There are a half dozen or so large pull-throughs for big rigs with trailers like ourselves. The grounds are immaculately kept. The pool was spotless. The laundry is all new front loading machines and is very clean. The size of the park is a bit misleading. Adjacent is a "permanent" park of about equal size. Didn't use their WiFi, we used our air card. Satellite was no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
A truly outstanding RV resort with caring and decicated management and workers. Long, wide, very nicely landscaped sites with plenty of green space between. Good cable and good wi-fi. Excellent water pressure and electricity. We visited all the other RV parks in Montrose and, without doubt, this is the best. We would stay here again for a day, week, month, or season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
A nice park in every way! The owner is nice and appreciates your business. Sites are pull throughs, gravel and very level. Nice table and grass next to site. Utilities were excellent and in right position. Bath and showers are spotless! Has a lot of seasonal rigs but they are clean and neat. Will stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
We found this park with no trouble as indicated in previous reviews. The problems with the sign had been fixed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site was level with a nice grassy area with picnic table. The dog walk was well kept and a bonus was an open field nearby where we could let her off-leash and play ball to give her much needed exercise. The park was convenient to everything and very quiet so we stayed here four nights and used Montrose as our base to explore Telluride, Ouray, Silverton and of course, the Black Canyon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet this park was. Bath and showers were large and spotless! The office staff wasn't very friendly at check-in, or when I went back to them to get another site. (The first site they gave us was covered in dog excrement!) When I went to office, the response was, "Oh, that cannot be." They finally gave us another site, and we enjoyed the night. We will stay here again, just for the clean bath and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Gravel roads and sites. Fairly level sites, grass plots between each site. Lots of large, mature trees and all are well trimmed, clear of units. Wi-fi was slow, but free. Friendly hosts. Very clean facilities. Big laundry available. Picnic tables, propane, well stocked store. Attractive and clean pool and children's play area. Only knock is difficulty in finding the place. The street sign for Cedar Street is easy to miss (low and covered with brush from Business 50). RV park can also be accessed from the truck route. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Nice park: the fence that was in other post, is gone. Has good quality power (on meter); level, pull through sites; friendly staff. Everything was very clean. It is easy to miss the turn off 50. Go beyond San Juan St., to Cedar St., then turn North. If you are coming to this park from south on Highway 550: TAKE YOUR TIME. That was one of the twisty-est road I have ever been on! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Limited signage to campground, one could miss the road to it if not careful. Open campground with limited signs to say where to stop and register. Owners were friendly and efficient. Access roads to site were well maintained but a little narrow on turns due to fences. Sites are gravel with grass and are all pull-throughs. The whole site was well maintained. The owners are currently putting in additional sites and slowly developing the campground into a deeded plot resort. Quiet, despite being near town center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
The new owners bought the place in May or June. We made reservations with the previous owners who did not keep their reservation system up to date too well. When we arrived, they really didn't have a full hookup site for us. They did have a site that only had water and electric, which was good enough for us, and there was a sewer dump on the way out. The new owners went out of their way to make sure our stay was good. This location appears to be a former KOA. There are LOTS of nice big shade trees and lush green grass when we were there. The swimming pool was good size. Bathrooms were clean. We would stay there again if in the area. I think once the new owners clean up the reservation mess that was left to them, they will be able to keep on top of it all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com