220808 User submitted reviews online!!
Chatfield State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 79 user reviews. Phone: (303) 791-7275
CGID3905

Chatfield State Park

Camp Information
Sites
197
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   9   10   10   6   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Very nice campground and state park. Had a full hookup site with a concrete pad and paved roads. Site had a gravel area for picnic table lawn chairs. Sites were very spacious and spread out. We stayed in site 72 for a week. Nice views. Hot air balloons taking off each morning by lake was nice to see. Restrooms are clean with pay showers. Used laundry facilities which were clean with good washers and dryers. Drive in and out of campground is 3.5 miles. You have to pay $8 entrance fee each day in addition to campsite costs but still very reasonable. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
We stayed here 6 nights. Choose a full hookup site if you can. If you choose to be in a non-full hookup site, you can fill up with water at an empty site and there is a dump station available or again you can use an empty site. The sites are very spacious and far apart. There is lots of privacy. There is a shower house in each loop and multiple bathroom houses which includes a laundry ($1.75 wash, $1.25 dry for 80 minutes). It seems to be busy on the weekends, but is very quiet during the week. There is a beautiful beach and bike trail. They have horseback riding and a boat ramp. You have to pay $8/day to enter the park and then an additional $22-28 for camping depending on the day of the week. There is a grocery store and other services nearby. It has a beautiful setting in the foothills and convenient to get into the mountains for whatever you want to do. This is a beautiful park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
We were fortunate to get a full hook-up site here within a week of our arrival date. It's best to book the state campgrounds well ahead of time due to their popularity. We really wanted to go camping this weekend and kept looking for cancellations. In addition to the nightly rate, there is a $10 reservation fee. We were extremely happy with this campground. Paved roads throughout the campground including paved sites with a concrete pad for the trailer. I did notice some sites had concrete pads for the picnic tables as well. Our site was a massive pull-through; extremely clean with the gravel area freshly raked and the fire pit thoroughly cleaned. Unlike so many of the other pull through sites in privately owned campgrounds, these were staggered so you weren't on top of your neighbor. The way the sites were set up, your door faced away from the road as well as other campers. So far this is our favorite campground in Colorado. Location is great, minutes away from the city and less than a 20 minute drive to the Outlets of Castle Rock (great shopping area), but you really feel you are away from it all, so relaxing. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Park itself is great. It is very large with lots of recreation, but..... $38 per night plus an $8 per vehicle, rv and tow, entrance charge for a total of $54 per night makes this a very expensive campground. But that's not all of it. Wifi is non-existent and water pressure was so low I switched on my pump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This is a nice clean and spacious campground. Most sites are pull-through and parallel to the road. We reserved our site in the A Loop on line. When we arrived, we were surprised to discover small trees so close to the site entrance and exit that it made it very difficult to pull our 34' fifth wheel on to the site without hitting the curb on the left side of the pad. Not all sites have trees this close. Restrooms were clean. Wi-Fi worked well. Good TV reception with roof antenna. Rate was $24.00 per night + $8.00 daily pass. We also paid a $10.00 reservation fee for reserving on line. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
What a wonderful place!! We stopped here on the way out and on the way back, I almost don't want to review it so to try and keep it a secret! Huge park and the grounds are way away from any noise from roads, trains, etc. Lots of space between sites and lots of open land around the general area. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the laundry was spacious and clean too. Even saw a hot air balloon down valley in the morning! With fees and park passes it's little on the pricey side but heck, it's lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We stayed our 2 week limit here. What a great park! Huge beyond belief. Reservoir for boating - we had our kayaks. Running, walking and biking trails galore. Also have a RC airplane "air strip". Fun to watch. Sites are large and most are pull thrus. One word to campers who might want to stretch the rules or not comply to the 25 mph speed limit - the park rangers are everywhere and they enforce all the rules. Made us feel safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a good State Park. Most sites are pull through in Loop A and we had a 50 amp full hook-up. The rate includes the $8 park fee that is added. No cable but local TV reception was good. Wi-Fi worked OK, but depends where your site is in relation to the signal source. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This was our second stay in this beautiful state park and in the same site. Huge sites with concrete pads, new tables, and fire pits. No crowding. Clean restroom/laundry/shower facilities. You have to stand right next to the wall in the pay showers. Wi-Fi was iffy at best. TV reception was great considering they don't offer cable. Great wildlife watching and very peaceful. Will definitely stay there again because we have family in the area We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Rate is for full-hook up 50 amp site. We stayed here in our 35' rig in D Loop, which is the newest. There is good space and also trees between most sites. The restroom/showers/laundry building is new and very clean. A-C Loops are older, but also clean. Showers cost at least $0.50 for 3 minutes and more if you take longer. Also, you need a daily $8 park pass or an annual Colorado State park pass. Paved roads, level concrete pads. This is a wonderful state park with lots to do: swimming, boating, horseback riding (stables on site), birding, bicycling, and hiking. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Chatfield State Park is always a favorite! We usually stay in A-Loop, but this time we decided to stay in the newest loop, D-Loop, site #170. The trees in this area are beginning to grow up, so there is some privacy, but no real shade yet, maybe a few more years! Full hookups worked well and site was level and very clean! Number 170 is a back-in with lots of room and there was enough room for our truck, trailer plus the small SUV with the jetski. Personally, I like A-Loop best due to the proximity to the marina and you get a cool breeze from the lake, but D is a good second choice. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
A clean, well maintained park in the outskirts of Denver. The sites are very large with level cement slabs. There are only small trees on the sites. DTV signal from any site is no problem. Our Version cell signal was 3 bars (4G). The restrooms and showers were modern and clean. No soap provided in the restrooms. This is my second Colorado State Park, both were well above average for state parks, but they do nickel and dime you: Transaction/Reservation Fee $10 - $8/day Park Pass – shower water 50 cents per 3 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is a convenient park for us to get ready for the season or just to relax. Colorado State Parks are very nice with large sites, well spaced, big rig friendly, and upgraded electric on almost all sites. Great views from most campsites. D-Loop is the newest, but most other loops have been upgraded. This is a great, pet friendly park with numerous trails. There is boating, and fishing, and it is next to a model airplane area which is fun to watch. Also on the weekends you will see hot air balloons over the lake area. This is one of our favorites! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is our campground of choice when in the Denver area. The park is beautiful with lots to do: lake activities, model airplanes, bike trails, beach. Be sure to reserve a site with mountain views and trees otherwise you will just have prairie grass. You need to have have a daily park pass ($8/day) or annual pass ($70) in addition to camping fees. This makes camping a bit pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We stayed here 8 days. Easy pull in sites, all with paved surfaces. The sites were also far apart, which was nice. We were pleased to have very good Wi-Fi, which wasn't advertised. Lots of activities available, including the lake, nature trails, model airplane airport, etc. Our only complaint was how they handled the additional $8 per day park admission fee. Rather than including the fee into the camping rate, we had to pay for it separately. This was another $64 expense that we had to pay separately due to their unwillingness to lump the charges together. We would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
The park was beautiful. Spacious camp spots so lots of privacy. We had full hooks ups and everything worked well. The park Wi-Fi was spotty. When it worked, it was fast, but could not connect all the time. The laundry room in the “D” loop is really nice, we used it. Just remember that they have change machines in the men’s and women’s bathrooms as well as the one in the hallway. The reason I mention this is because the hallway change machine was out of coins and I went to another place to get change, then found out about the ones in the restrooms. The only complaint I have about this state park is the price, I paid $26 dollars a night for camping, PLUS we had to pay another $8 for a day pass for each day. We spent 4 days here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Rate is RV plus required daily pass. Pros: Easy access from C-470. Level sites. Excellent full hooks ups. Many cycle/walk trails. Restrooms/showers/laundry mint condition. No sense of overcrowding. Very visible ranger staff. Cons: Wi-Fi worked only outside the rig. Swim beach is a 3 mile drive via car. Very limited, shady sites: brutal for record heat during our stay. 25mph speed limit through open range areas was ridiculous. Arrived on Sunday noon, we were #14 in line. $34 is a bit high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Very nice COE campground, but controlled by the State so no discounts. Close enough to Denver yet far enough to be away from the crowds. Large, off leash dog park with two lakes for them to play in. Only negative is it is too far from the camping to be able to walk. Same with the swim beach. Lots of room between sites and easy for Big Rigs. R/C airport on site, and lots of space to ride bicycles. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
A beautiful CG. We are from out of state and came to visit our son. This state park is one of the best if not the best we have stayed in. Sites are spacious and lots of room between sites. Utilities worked fine. Only reason for a 9 instead of 10 was a model airplane field that started flying early on Sat. morning. Would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
The nicest of any state park we have visited in Colorado. This is especially true for "D" loop. Beautiful bath house and laundry facility. Sites are spaced very far apart with full hook-up, paved and nice views of the foothills or reservoir. The only down side is there is a limit of 14 days per 45 day period. Highly recommend it, but make sure you get reservations in advance as the park sells out quickly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Park is located southwest of Denver. Many paved trails throughout the park. Sites are large, and concrete pads for your RV is really nice. Onsite laundry is a plus. We camped in D Loop which is full hookups and is the newest addition to the campground. You have to pay $8/day for entry. Since the yearly pass is $70 and we will be using multiple state parks as we travel through the state, we opted for that option. We definitely will be back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
We arrived here on a Monday night without a reservation & were able to get a FHU site for a night. This campground is in a beautiful very large park & it takes a while to get in & out of the park but it is a nice place to stay. We would not return though because even though the nightly rate was only $26, they charged $8 per car (our motor-home and tow vehicle) which brought the rate up to $42 which is too much to pay. They do charge this $8/per vehicle rate for every night you stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Quiet, friendly, well ran campground. View of lake site. Lots of open space sites. Very good cell phone and air card reception (Verizon). Really nice laundry room. Very clean bathroom and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Nice quiet campground far away from highways. We stayed in D Loop, site 191 (pull through) and enjoyed the views and the total privacy it afforded. Site was level, water pressure was between 40 to 50 psi , power was at 120 VAC and we didn’t have any problems with the sewer. Verizon cell and air card had a good signal and there were no tall trees to block our dome satellite. Site had a nice cement pad with plenty of room to park the car. The only sound we heard at night was the train that was off in the distance and the coyotes howling at night. We enjoyed this park and would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Beautiful park to stay in if you're looking for lots of water fun and great paved trails for biking, rollerblading, etc. We love this park, but don't like that you can only stay here two weeks. We were in loop D which is the newest loop so the spots are level concrete with great picnic tables and fire pits. The bathrooms and laundry areas are excellent. Only downside is the proximity to the air park. Every morning really early we were awakened by an aircraft buzzing up above. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This is a state park and it is very nicely set up. Had a clear view of the mountains and the reservoir. We had a full hookup pull through that was parallel to the road in 3 concentric loops. Level concrete sites with large attached areas for picnicking and setting up areas for pets. A nice walk to the beach by the boat ramp and marina. Quiet, friendly people. If you want to use the "dog off leash area" and your dogs don't come when called, forget it. It isn't fenced and it appears that more people than less don't clean up after their animals so the trails were littered with dog messes. It is not a fenced area but more a space for training dogs to retrieve items from the water. No use to my dogs. I had to keep them leashed. There is a $10 extra fee in addition to the daily fee of $8 and the camping fee made this one of the more expensive campgrounds I have stayed in but it was a peaceful site so I didn't mind the expense. Oh- BTW- guests have to pay the daily park admission fee to get in to visit you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Nice state park near metro Denver. Full hookups, concrete pads, clean bath house, hiking trails, swim beach, plenty to do. We would staty here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Great place to stay near the south metro area! Even though we live fairly close, we enjoy coming here at least once a year to camp, and even multiple times a year to have fun! We usually stay in "A" Loop (FHU), but "D" Loop looks great too! (Also FHU). Double-check your sites before reserving, not all sites are full hookups. " A" loop is closest to the marina and within easy walking distance. Sites are quite long and nicely laid out. Wi-Fi was pretty week, but usable. A super plus of Chatfield is the off-leash dog park located on the east side of the dam. Great area to let the dogs play and even has several ponds for them to swim. (A dog pass is required, and rangers will check). A+ ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
When making reservations at this campground be aware there are sites that have only electric. The web site on which reservations is confusing (or was to me) thus we ended up with an electric only site on Loop C. Night staff told us to check the board and we could change to an available full service site which we did, then formally changed with the park office the next day. All sites are concrete pads with gravel area for the picnic table. Privacy is good, Restrooms and showers as clean as can be expected with a state park facility. However there was no soap at the sinks or towels to dry hands in the restrooms we visited. Laundry facilities were good, Wi-Fi available most of the two days we were there. The grounds are fairly well kept, mostly scrub grasses with lots of bare spots. Be forewarned there are scores of ant hills over the whole campground, some as much as two foot across, not sure what kind but be aware. Nice enough for a couple of overnights and good for family camp outs and lake-type vacations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
We stayed in D Loop which is big rig friendly. Our site was paved and fairly level, a long pull-thru with 50 amp and full hook-ups. This park is great for the following reasons: Sites are really far apart and offer great privacy, spotless restrooms and laundry facilities, wonderful trails for walking, running or biking, beautiful mountain views, and great security patrol by park rangers to name a few. Convenient to shopping and amenities is also a plus. The only bad thing is that there is a 14 day camping limit within a 45 day period. We highly recommend and will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Chatfield State Park is a well maintained park. The sites on the A loop are fairly level (putting your rig to the passenger side of the pad will prevent the need of wheel levels). The hookup's are well placed and are in great condition. Each site appears to have a picnic table and a fire-pit/grill that is also very professionally built. Park offers tons of things to do for kids, from playgrounds to the marina (way too late in the year to challenge the beach and water). The campground is also close to the remote control aircraft site. Unless you have an annual pass, $6 is required at the gate to enter. Also if you have a rig over 12'6" take the Roxbourgh Park Road entrance; the Wadsworth entrance will prevent you from clearing ,and there is not much room to turn around. Great place to spend a fall weekend, or weekday if schedule allows. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
This state park has large, level sites, private, good electricity. Wi-Fi is good. Restrooms were spotless and park is clean. Lots of space to bike, walk, etc. We always enjoy staying here. Park is full on weekends, lots of sites available without reservations during the week in September. Rate reflects senior pass (Aspen Leaf) rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We stayed here 3 nights. One night we went into downtown Denver on their metro. It's only a 10 minute drive to the nearest station. From here we also drove down to Pikes Peak. Only took about an hour or so to get there. Very nice campground. Lots of space between sites. Our loop had Wi-Fi and electric. We also placed a small tent on our site. Fantastic views of the mountains and lake. The bathrooms were incredibly clean. Showers use quarters which was new to us. The nightly rate seems like a good deal, but you have to pay a park fee of $7 per day if you come and go through the park entrance. That, plus the cost of showers increased the price to more along the lines of $30 per day. It's hard to complain though, great views, great location, clean bathrooms, and lots of room! We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
I really liked this state park! We stayed in Loop D #168 & 166. We initially booked in for 3 nights and stayed in #168. When we added another night we had to move to #166 because 168 had been reserved already. Both sites were very large with a concrete pad big enough to park our total length of 62ft and then some. There was a large picnic area with a table and a fire pit. The best thing was that we weren't parked on top of any neighbors so plenty of privacy if you want it. Be aware that in addition to the daily rate there is an extra fee for a daily 'parking permit'. Check the website for details. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet and will be coming back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A great State Park! We stayed in "A" Loop, site #8, a great spot! Had full hookups, Wi-Fi, and awesome views of the lake! Spaces are nice and large with plenty of room between neighbors. Some spots are better than others, but "A" loop is the oldest with the most mature trees. Our spot was within easy walking distance to the marina and beaches. There is an off-leash dog park (called a "Dog Training Area") on the far side of the dam, it was wonderful to let the pups go and play! Ranger presence was high, but kept things under control especially with a busy lake. We keep coming here at least once a year, and we will be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Very nice staff!! Beautiful state park! We had a lot of space at our campsite. Very quiet and peaceful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
My family is pretty new to camping and Chatfield was a great experience close to home. The spots were spacious and very close to water activities. All services were good and showers were clean. Got marks down due to staff being quite rude and the Park Rangers were a bit of a pain in the rear. If you camp in state parks in Colorado, you are better off buying a park pass rather than paying the $7/day park fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
As stated before, a great park. The WiFi service was an unexpected bonus. We were in the loop B: a power only site. Every site is somewhat exposed to the wind. There are trees, but time is needed for them to mature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
We stayed in loop A, site #11. The sites are very well-spaced and well-situated for privacy and views. It has a very large off-leash dog training area, a rare treat for anyone with an energetic dog. This makes Chatfield the most dog-friendly place I’ve ever been, by far. Chatfield has many miles of paved trails and scenic roads perfect for bicycling. There’s no pool, but the reservoir is great. The large beach near the marina is made of a large-grain sand that slopes gently into the water. The water was cold in early June, but pleasant once you’re in. Our site had very little shade, so it got pretty hot, but the wide-open views of the sky and reservoir more than made up for it. We were within a short walk to the marina and restaurant. Chatfield is also close to Mueller and Roxborough state parks, where unfortunately you can’t take a dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Nice spacing between campsites, so we didn’t feel crowded at all. Level pull-thru concrete pad. Well-functioning full hook up site: no leaky faucets here, good water pressure, steady electric, non-stinky sewer. We camped in B Loop. We really enjoyed the hummingbirds (bring your feeder!) and other birds, spectacular sunsets, miles of biking trails. Family atmosphere but no rowdy parties this weekend that I could hear. A complete spectrum of all kinds of campers including Class A, B, C, 5th wheels, trailers, pop ups and tent campers. Not much shade from the smaller native trees in our site and we were glad we were oriented curbside to the west to use the canopy for shade in the afternoons. Great Verizon signal, Wi-Fi easy to access but rather slow. Easily picked up many on the air TV channels. It’s a bit far to the nearest grocery, so come stocked. Appeared to be a very clean campground. Campground hosts often observed busily raking and ensuring a tidy park. We did not utilize the restrooms or laundry, but the trash was well taken care of even on Sunday afternoon when many were leaving (not overflowing). Polite ranger reminded us to move visiting daughter’s sedan which had edged 2 tires off onto native grass. $24/nite + ($10 Reserve America fee = $5/nite) + $7 State of Colorado fee/nite = $36/nite. We were charged the $7 fee only 1x/nite for the motorhome toad combo, not for each separately. Toad got a non-charge hang tag so we could drive the park. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a great state park south of Denver. There is a central dump station as well as full hook up sites. They offer water/electric sites as well. The camping cost is in addition to a daily entry fee. If you expect to stay here a lot during a year, consider buying an annual pass which will cover your day use fee. There is a dog park on the north side of the park, but we did not take advantage of it. We camped here twice in the spring, once in loop B and once in loop C. Loop D is new and the facilities are nicer. Both loop B and loop C have clean restrooms and have centrally located trash dumpsters. It can get a bit windy as the camping is on a hill overlooking the reservoir. If your total height is greater that 12 feet, you must use the entrance accessed from Roxborough Park Road. Otherwise use the entrance off Wadsworth. There is plenty of hiking trails to take the dogs for a walk. Road biking is a popular activity within the park as are many water activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
Would be a 10 if the park was managed appropriately; read other reviews on the reservation process and make sure to reserve a spot ahead of time and don't rely upon park rangers to enforce the park rules. (Another camper left a beagle alone at camp while he went fishing for 4 hours; the dog barked the entire time. Park rangers did nothing. Luckily the guy was only there for two nights). Outside of the above this place was amazing. Remote camping feel with the comforts of a big city 10 minutes away. Do note that camping fees are increasing in January to cover a state budget shortage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
The campground fee included a $7. State of Colorado Park entrance fee. The grounds of the state park included miles of walking/biking trails, a large lake for boating, horse stable and swimming beach. The campground is very large, but divided into sections, so that each section is a small campground unto itself. Each has bathrooms, showers and laundry. The grounds were well kept by workcamper hosts, who had double duty on two sections. The laundry was clean and more than adequate, with regular sized washers and dryers and one over sized washer and dryer. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The showers had no water pressure and the shower head afforded a small stream of water, enough to only wash one side of your body while hugging the shower wall. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Another beautiful Colorado state park. In Littleton, on the south side of Denver. Nightly rate is $22 for a full hook-up site, plus a $7 per vehicle per day charge. We did not use or check out the showers as they are coin-operated. Sites are not necessarily perfectly level even though there are cement pads. Sites are large, and arranged for privacy. In addition to the cement pads, there is a gravel area with a picnic table and fire ring. Some sites have a lake view at a distance. Shade trees are few, so it's pretty much full sun everywhere in the park. Would definitely camp here again if in the Denver area. Traffic noise is minimal, and we heard some coyotes early one morning. It's hard to believe this place is so close to Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We stayed in the A-Loop, site #8: what a great spot! We had a great view of the lake and quite a few trees. Chatfield has "grown up" a lot over the past few years and the trees are getting to good size. We scouted the entire campground prior to reserving our spot, and found the full hookup A-loop near the lake to be very prime spots. There are a wide variety of sites to be had, so make your choice. Wi-Fi worked pretty good and had no problems. The showers needed to be worked on and had very, very low water pressure. All the roads are in great shape and moving the trailer through the campground was no problem. A great State Park. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We camped here for almost a week while we visited relatives. This was a great park. Very nice grounds good for satellite reception as well as over the air. Very nice for an urban state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Very nice state park close to Denver. Sites are well spaced, nicely paved and all have great views of the mountains. Great location for exploring Denver and surrounding cities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
All RV sites should be like this one. Lovely spacious sites, neighbors a good distance away, all pull throughs with level concrete base, fabulous views of the lake, nice quality table & fire pit provided on graveled area. There is a marina, cycle/walking trails, swimming beach, Wi-Fi. Only lacks cable & a swimming pool. We planned to stay 3 nights, stayed for 5 & wished we had booked the maximum 2 weeks. If you want to stay here I'd recommend you book online (3 days before arrival), even though they levy an $8 booking fee. We left it too late to book on-line, but as they had walk up sites available just turned up. The system appeared to us a bit chaotic - you have to drive around the sites looking for free pitches, decide which ones you'd like, & then rush back to the office & hope no-one else has bagged your choice in the meantime! On-line & $8 eliminates a whole lot of stress. If you stay here, make time to visit the Red Rocks Amphitheater while you do the 'Lariat Loop' scenic drive. Us Brits were blown away - we have nothing like this in the UK! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is an excellent campground with plenty of room for large rigs and for tents. Some sites are full hookup, others lack sewer. Sites in D loop, especially, are large and private. Restrooms and showers are very nice. Laundry room is nice. We will return here often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is one of my favorite parks. You need reservations if you want to stay on a weekend as it is popular with the locals as well. The sites (loop D) are very large. The roads and pads are paved and level. There is excellent dog walking areas throughout the park. Boating, horse back riding are also available. Note there is a $7 day use fee on top of the camp fee. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
A fantastic place to stay while visiting in the Denver area. Easy access to I-470 but we felt like we were away from the city at our campsite. Sites are spaced so that your nearest camper is about 50 feet from you. Lots of open space to enjoy. Boating, hiking, horseback riding are available. Cost does not include the $6 entrance fee for each motor vehicle. We stayed a full 2 weeks so purchased annual pass for $60 for motorhome and $25 for the car we towed. We will stay at more Colorado state parks so will be a savings for us. It is advised to get reservations. The park is very busy on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
This is our second visit of the "Group" area. Our party had 10 rigs in sites C & D over the Memorial Day weekend. We had a good visit despite some poor weather in the evenings. The group area is spacious, but was electric only. There is water available at spigots nearby if needed. Bathrooms were fairly clean, but the showers were in need of repair and had VERY low pressure! (A trickle of water running down the wall!) Price for showers is 50 cents for 3 minutes. Most Park Rangers were very helpful and nice, but they seem to enforce park regulations inconsistently. (i.e. dogs running loose, speed limits) The lake was not busy during the weekend, surprisingly! Boat docks were well maintained. Good place for a group! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Very pretty park, the sites afford a good deal of privacy in loop D with nice playgrounds and trails for the kids to enjoy. I would bet that the park gets packed in the middle of the summer with lots of activity on the lake. The kids would like to return in the summer to check out the swimming beach. Typical CO state park pay showers at 50 cents for 3 min shower, and a $7/day vehicle entry fee (unless you have an annual park pass for $60). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Another well maintained state park! Clean, with several walking trails around the lake; convenient to city; however, very loud due to nearby interstate and horrible light pollution. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
We had a great week long stay here and I have to agree with the previous reviewers - this is a great state park. Conveniently located to the sites and attractions in metro Denver area but far enough away to offer peace & quiet. The sites are large offering full hookups and lots of room. The restrooms are adequate, clean and the newer one in the "D" loop has a very nice laundry room. On top of the camping fee Colorado charges a daily vehicle fee. The fee is charged for all motorized vehicles. At Chatfield the fee is $7 per vehicle, per day. In our case, this included our tow vehicle as well as the motorhome - even though it never left the site. We are staying at enough Colorado state parks that we offset this fee by purchasing the annual pass ( good for a year from the month of purchase ) The passes cost $60 for the first and $25 for the second. Well worth it in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
This start park outshines most of the commercial RV parks we've ever stayed at. We loved it! Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The fire ring was spotlessly clean and the gravel next to the concrete RV pad had been raked by the campground host. We stayed in the newer D loop and loved the spacious layout. No crowding here. Water pressure is excellent and voltage fine. The state park itself is amazing with miles of trails and beaches to explore. We even went horseback riding at a concessionaire in the park. Note that while the price for a full hookup site is only $22, a daily $7 vehicle pass is also required (not included in the camping fee). This makes the total for a full hookup site $29 per day. The only thing keeping us from giving this park a perfect 10 was there's no Wi-Fi. Would we stay here again? Are you kidding? We'd probably live here if they'd let us! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
An excellent park with very large pull through sites, cement pads and paved roads. There are trees but few shaded sites are actually available. Many facilities including a marina, restaurant, stables, lake recreation and walking trails. Close to downtown Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is a wonderful state park with terrific campsites that are large with concrete pads and asphalt patios. We camped here for four days while visiting Denver, and found it to be quiet and private. There is water, sewer, and 50 amp and plenty of room on the campsite to put a toad and a boat. Firepits, picnic tables, paved roads and trails, playground, swimming beach, boat rentals, horse rentals and a gorgeous lake make up just part of this wonderful park. We watched hot air balloons launch. We would definitely stay here again. In addition to the nightly fee, there is a $7 park fee per day (or you can buy a season pass). This park is in close proximity to the southern suburbs of Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is the most beautiful state park we have stayed in. The only draw back was that if you leave the park they charge you the daily fee to get back in. But if you leave in the daytime and come back after closing which is about 10 pm you can get back in free. The Wi-Fi is great and you don't see Wi-Fi in most state parks. The sites are big rig friendly. They are cement pads and very level and have tables and BBQ rings. We have a daughter in the area and we always stay her. It is a #10. The B campground is the best, but they are all great and staff is very nice, they even have a place where you can fly your remote control airplanes, it's so cool. We love it here and wish we could stay more often. Wonderful, wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This is a really nice state park, in close proximity to Denver. We spent four nights and enjoyed our time here. The sites are large and easy to get into. Privacy is pretty good, although the trees are not really large. The biking and walking trails are extensive. And the park is clean and spotless. The park was quiet and orderly at night. All-in-all, a good place. We would return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
You have a choice of type. Full 50Amp hook ups or down to primitive. All concrete pads, nearly all pull through. Some very nice back in sites that offer more shade and privacy. Spacious sites and not crowded at all. No grass, just weeds. Radio controlled airplane field can be noisy at times. We got awoken by planes on 2 mornings. Wifi did not work and campground employees didn't care. From talking to people it rarely works. Big rigs should use south entrance as there is no clearance issues. Large prairie dog town right next to south entrance, be careful a couple got squished. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We reserved our big rig pull through site several months in advance for the maximum allowable time of 14 days. We can return again after 30 days, space permitting. As the rangers explained to us, this prevents people from "moving in" to the state park. We loved the park, the spacious sites, full utilities which all worked, and the clean restrooms and laundry room. Although they have Wifi, our signal was too weak, and we ended up taking the plunge and buying a Verizon broadband card. It worked great. This park is full every weekend all summer, but Sunday through Thursdays we saw lots of vacancies. We will be sure to book early again next year - access to E470 made it easy for us to get around the city with minimal hassles. We especially appreciated paved roads and paved RV spaces because it kept us much cleaner than in a gravel RV park. We were in loop D, and enjoyed watching the remote control airplanes flying nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Pull through site on cement and asphalt in rather rough looking state park, narrow patchy roads. Not too much vegetation. They have loads of Geese and their droppings made it very difficult to walk around. Campground fee does not include the entrance fee which is $6 a day or $60 for the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Signage to state park good but if you have a 'big rig' suggest you enter from the southern gate as main entrance has 12ft 6inches high entrance gate. You need a park pass to enter the park (technically one for each vehicle). At the time of year we stayed there it was self registration for the campground and you could only buy one night at a time. There are three campground loops, only one remains open all year. The sites are all large pull-thrus with a good solid pad the majority of which have full hook-ups with 50amp electricity. When we were there the water had been turned off but you could fill your tank at the heated portable water faucets at the easy accessible dump station. Plenty of space between sites and lovely location. Very peaceful despite the model aero planes. Plenty of walking and biking opportunities within the park. Good location to visit Denver and the nearby Rockies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This was a very nice park. All facilities were excellent. The only thing that kept this from being a 10 was the silly Colorado rule that will not allow a camper to book for more than three nights without a reservation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Clean beautiful State Park. Paved pull throughs with great views. The sites are far apart and very private. Beautiful lake with beach and boat rentals. We could stay here for months. Wish we could always find state parks this nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This park is awesome! Great location, wake up to the mountain views, nice lake, swim beach, sites are huge. Stayed here for 8 days. We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
We camped in the "Group Area" with a friend's camping club. No individual sewer hookups and only one water spigot across the road. No trees at all in the group area, but it has a neat configuration of a circle. Wind was very strong at night. We scouted several neat areas outside of the group area that we will try next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Sites have been newly renovated, now have concrete pads, new utility outlets, new tables and grills. Laid out in the pull-through loop design, so there is lots of room between sites. Unfortunately only a few sites have any significant shade. The lake is a favorite spot for locals during the weekend and the park gets very crowded. A heavy police presence is required to keep things in order. Park, campground staff were of little help when we received only a map of the state park, with little information about the campground. After two days we discovered there was a great laundry in one of the shower buildings. It would have been nice had we been given that information beforehand. All in all, this park has great potential and we'd probably stay there again, as the Denver area has few good campgrounds to choose from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Awesome place. We had to find a place due to work that had to be done on our motorhome. Outstanding dog walking big plus for us. Staff very friendly and helpful. We ended up staying 2 nights and would repeat the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Sites are nice pull throughs; most are full hookup sites as well. It is wide open with only a few small trees, but the trees have grown noticeably since my visit in 2003. A model airplane field nearby can be a source of annoying noise; it is the only negative. Windstorms can be very strong. Access to the vast network of metro Denver bike trails is excellent. There is great birding - especially for great blue herons. Get up early on weekends and watch the hot air balloons ascend. Free WiFi is available while their new network is in its trial phase. They may be charging for it in the future. Cost varies from $8 for a tent only site to $22 for full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
I have to tell you all that most of the sites at this place are great. We were put on a main road and; although there were many open sites with better views, it took an act of congress to move to one of those sites. The staff seemed to be "put out" when asked a question and gave minimal responses for answers. We have a class A that we tow a mini cooper. We had prepaid for 4 nights a total of $88 for campsite and $8 registration fee. When you check in there is a $6 dollar a day per motorized vehicle on top of the campsite rate that works out to 22.00 for the site, $8 registration fee, plus $6 for each motorized vehicle for a total of $36 a night. In any other world that would be wrong. When I pointed this out to the girl at registration she just laughed and said "Oh well thats the rules". Than we we asked to move to another site away from the busy road in the hassle they gave us was just wrong also. We ended up talking to a supervisor to make the change. The don't use logic here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Just beautiful. Great place to stay in the Denver area and a bargain at $22 per night for a full hookup site, although there is an additional park entry fee. Pull thru sites are the half circle drive to the side of the road style, and there are plenty of them with views of the lake and mountains beyond. We didn't use the rest rooms, coin operated showers or coin laundry, but when I checked for this review everything was clean and seemed to be in working order. We were here in the middle of the week in May and the park was only about one quarter full, but a ranger told me that most weekends were packed to full capacity during the warmer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
We love Chatfield. We hate that in addition to the rates we also have to buy entrance permits for both the car and the motorhome, but if you stay a few times a year it pays for itself. On weekends, as is usual with city and state parks it fills up with campers and gets a little more noisy - but the spots are so far apart you still feel isolated. We stayed on an outer loop so looked out on a vast ridge that overlooked the late and the mountains to the west. We loved being able to have a fire in the firepit (not usually available in urban campgrounds and RV parks) and feel more in touch with nature. There were herds of deer and just vast space to walk your dog or hike and explore. The lake even has some beach area to walk. WIFI did exist - but we were never able to access it. We understood it was new and they were still trying to get it to work. We hope it is up and working this year when we go to visit again. The showers are coin operated - there are laundry and shower facilities in each circle, but I recommend if you have the time and inclination to use the modern one built in the last circle. Nice facilities and very up to date. The drawbacks are that you have to pay for your reservations in full and in advance, and anytime after April you are unlikely to arrange a stay over a weekend for the rest of the summer. You can only stay two weeks - and have to leave for 45 days before you can come back. All the state parks at least in the Denver area have this rule. Also just to get in the park and to the RV area is a good five minute drive. You can get wood at the ranger station, although it's slightly cheaper at the King Soopers down Wadsworth towards Littleton. Each circle has a resident camp host - we never met ours, but then never had the need. They seemed to be the perfect blend of available, but not nosy. We paid $18 for an electric only site. The full hookups were about $22 a night. We definitely recommend this park and have no complaints whatsoever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
I live in this area and often think for all that I look for when in a great RV visit this place has. Great views of the mountains all the while with water views combined. Lake photos with white peaks in the picture are hard to come by in Colorado. If your passing through Denver and need a place to spend a few days then you'll appreciate this review. Clean bathrooms and laundry with very spacious sites and a safe fireplace to enjoy while watching one of our memory of a lifetime sunsets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
The nightly rate does not include access to the park. Several Colorado state parks (including this one) are renovating their RV camping spots with new concrete drives and full hook-ups. Very nice and plenty of room between campsites, but shade at this location is sparse. The park has some great bike paths and nature areas. Though large, the park is essentially in the city and attracts a really diverse group of characters. Many come out for the day to swim, boat, or fish. The park police, with lights on, went speeding by our campsite at least three times during our second night at camp. Further, one of the rangers indicated that theft is an ongoing problem at this park. Nice place to visit, but keep your valuables locked up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This is a very nice campground. The website said they were doing renovations and from what I could tell, they have done a great job. Our site was paved and had a concrete pad. All connections (W,S,E) were easily accessible and brand new. Campground is set up in a circular fashion so almost all sites are pull-thru. Yes, with the extra charges, the site is more inline with a private campground. However, not many private campgrounds in this area are completely paved and in this nice of condition. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
The park was clean and well maintained, nice large pull thru sites, we had view of the lake, and was close to the trail. The down side is there are many fees you have to pay such as car fee for everyday that you are there and a reservation fee which makes it cheaper to go to a private park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
The nightly rate posted is misleading. Not only is there a six dollar entrance fee per day for each night of camping, but if you make your reservation ahead of time with Colorado State Parks, you're charged an eight dollar reservation fee. All of these fees raise the price almost to the fees charged for a private campground. The restrooms had no soap or paper towels to wash hands. The park employees at the entrance gate weren't exactly helpful or friendly, and in one case were downright rude. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com