214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Challis Hot Springs, Inc. was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (208) 879-4442
CGID3919

Challis Hot Springs, Inc.

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   10   10   9   9   4   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Arrived without reservation, friendly staff assigned us a large, on the river site. Quiet, relaxing. Really enjoyed the hot springs pool: the perfect temperature for me, which was hot! I didn't try the smaller, even hotter indoor pool as it was too hot for me. No AT&T cell here, Verizon air card did work. No sewer on site, dump station at entrance. DirecTV satellite no problem from my site. Other sites may have some tree issues. A nice find, I recommend a visit and would come back in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
One reason I did not give this park a "10" is that is a long walk through the tent area to the showers. If you camp self-contained, no problem. The other reason to mark this park a "9" is that it is almost 5 miles off the main Highway at the end of a ranch-filled valley. However, it is worth the extra drive. The hot springs flow into a 2 swimming pools with natural rock bottoms. The hot pool was too hot for us to use comfortably, but must be great in the winter. The larger pool is outdoors and stays about 99 degrees. WONDERFUL! The water is crystal clear, uniformly 4 feet deep and Olympic sized. Use of the hot spring pools is included in the price of the RV stay. The RV spaces are nicely spread along the Salmon River bank. We would definitely stop here again next time we are in Idaho! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is our 5th time at Challis Hot Springs, so of course we love it here. The pools are as fabulous as ever, and they have been upgraded with new stainless steel railings for added safety and access. The WiFi is stronger and can now be used at some of the RV sites. It was not quite strong enough to use at our favorite site # 21, but we were able to sit in the office to use it. Try to get a site along the river if possible. The camp has been in the same family for four generations, and everyone here was extremely helpful and friendly. We recommend that EVERYONE spend at least one night here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This was a great rustic RV park with the bonus of having hot springs you could soak or swim in. I met the owner in the pool, and he seemed very nice. He lives on the premises, but has a great grounds keeper/manager working there who was quite friendly and willing to help out when possible. Our campsite was RIGHT on the waterfront. Campsites had table and an in ground fire pit. The $33/night price included taxes, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
I could live here! The campsites are fine, nothing special, but the scenery and the hot spring pools make it awesome! Red rocks, Salmon River, remoteness. It was to be just a stopover night for us, but changed our plans to stay an extra night to actually look at property for sale in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This was the second year in a row we stayed here. It was as wonderful as the last time. We were with our 13 year old daughter. It was very peaceful and quiet. We are going to try to spend a week there next year and brings friends! It would be a great place for a family reunion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We stayed here for 3 nights with our 12 year old daughter. We stayed one night on our way to MT and then again for 2 nights on our way back. We loved it. The swimming pool and hot pool were absolutely fabulous! The people were really nice and we were even given a tour of the old bed and breakfast building by the 4th generation owner of the park. It was so quiet and peaceful and our camp site was right on the Salmon River. There were a lot of bugs,but that is what you would expect near a river in July. The roof over the hot pool was falling apart, but we were told they were planning on fixing it this year. If you like old buildings, and quaint surroundings this is a great place. If you are looking for fancy bathrooms and RV sites, then it is not for you. We would definitely stay there again, and would even consider making it a destination site as there is a lot to do in the area if you like the outdoors, American history and ghost towns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This rv park has a very pretty setting with a lot of potential, but, unfortunately, it is run down. The interior road is very very narrow and occasionaly overhung with tree branches, forcing us to drive on the grass. The spring fed hot pool was concrete, clean and had a gravel bottom, but the building had parts of the roof missing, and was badly in need of painting and upkeep. It was very dusty near a parking area, but the staff was trying to keep the grass watered on most of the sites. Unfortunately, the staff did not enforce their rules against dogs running off leash, and the barking was very annoying. It is a family type place, so there were children running, and yelling throughout the place. The hot springs themselves were clear and very enjoyable. We will not go back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
If you like hot water, this obscure place is for you. Down a long country road , it's an oasis of green trees & grass, flower beds and peacefulness. The old pools are cement with rock bottoms, but were clean and comfortable. The park sites are level and mostly spaced, with plenty of tent space too. The downside is that it's still an old place, with tiny, damp bathrooms, with 1 shower, 2 stalls for RVers, and a good walk away from the sites. There is no cell phone nor TV reception, no pay phone, but amazingly, a wifi hot spot in the office, but is also a long walk. Cost is $27.50 a night for W & E with a dump station on premises, and includes a hot spring soaking for 2. Singles pay the same rate. Be warned, there are plenty of mosquitoes and flies around. Worth a trip if you really like hot springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$24
This small campground is a hidden "gem" at the end of a four-mile country road. It is on the Salmon River, and there are mountain views all around. The sites are level, grass is mowed, and there are beautiful flower beds. There is a spring-fed pool, with a constant temperature of 94 degrees, and a hot tub as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Wildlife is abundant. We were greeted by four big-horned sheep on our way in, and during our stay saw more of these, as well as deer and bald eagles. We had a very pleasant stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com