223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Marina Dunes RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 76 user reviews. Phone: (831) 384-6914
CGID392

Marina Dunes RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   7   8   6   7   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$70
Our first time here, and we enjoyed our stay. Facilities are clean and sites are nice. Gravel site was wide and level. Our site had good satellite but some are blocked by trees so if you have a roof mounted dish and you want reception ask for a clear site. We had a nice firebox on site and sites have privacy with plenty of room between sites. The beach is a 15 minute walk. Keep in mind that it is a sandy trail through dunes if you have issues walking on uneven surfaces. Nice beach to let our dog run off leash. There is a Walmart that is a 15-20 minute walk away and a skip & jump by car. If you are sensitive to highway noise it is right next to coastal Highway 1, so you will get freeway noise in the AM but evenings to us were quiet. It is close for us and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$75
We've stayed here multiple times. We used to really love the facility. It's still great, but the bathrooms this time around were very disappointing. Two out of the three showers for the women were not working. The restrooms also could have been cleaner. For the price, we hoped the park was kept up better. The great thing about this park is its proximity to the beach. We walk our dog down the dune passage and she can run her legs off. The Wi-Fi also was average. The signal wasn't strong and sometimes didn't connect. I get up early, and that connection was the best. You can hear the highway if you are camping on that side. I wish they would allow us to pick our sites, especially for their return customers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$70
We've visited this park several times. It's a reasonably short walk to the beach and close to Monterey. We've stayed at the fairgrounds in the past, but much prefer this site. The only issue we have is the road noise, but it does quiet down at night. Our rig is 33' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
This place reminds me of the old cowboy who told his buddies in the bunk house he was going to town to play poker. When his buddies told him the game was crooked, he said "But it's the only game in town". If you are going to the Aquarium in Monterey and want to take your RV, this is your only choice. The Fair Grounds should be designated as a national disaster area. This park is really quite nice, everything considered. All back in spaces (with room enough for a skilled driver backing a 37' fifth wheel), and fairly level. The WiFi worked fine, as did the cable TV. This was our first time for spending $75 nightly before Good Sam discount. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$75
Great spot close to Monterey. Our 3rd time staying at Marina Dunes. Small RV park between freeway and ocean. Some road noise but manageable. Good satellite reception. WiFi just so so. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$62
Location, location, location -- That's what you pay for here. The place is showing it's age for a park with such a high price. The bathrooms were clean, but with only two toilets in the men's room, sometimes there was a wait. Freeway noise was noticeable. Most of the sites were a bit tight for our 33' motorhome with 2 slides and a car in tow. Wi-Fi was slow but serviceable. I'd have rated it a 7, but the high price dropped it a notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$70
The staff couldn't be more friendly and more helpful. Very welcoming! The park is clean, nicely landscaped, and the utilities worked well, with the exception of cable tv which we were not able to make work. Internet is by Tengo, which the park pays for. It works okay. The park is very well-kept, and the sites are big and private with fireplaces and tables, with pea gravel underfoot. The location is poor, however, for a $70 campsite. It is quite a hike from the ocean, close to a mile, and is located alongside California freeway 1, which is six lanes and very noisy. Perhaps the sites not backed up to the freeway are better, but we got the last one available. We would not stay here again due to the traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$70
Nice cozy park nestled in the sand dunes of Monterey Bay. Well maintained park and spotless camp sites with clean gravel and concrete paving stones. Nice chiminea at every spot for a "civilized" campfire. Easy 1/4 mile walk to the pristine beaches of Monterey Bay. Bicycled on paved bicycle paths through Marina Dunes State Park to Monterey and Pacific Grove and Pebble Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$53
We loved this park. Sites were large, had plenty of shade, included a chiminea and a concrete patio. The beach was a short walk and was not crowded. We loved it! Staff was friendly. We forgot about the coffee and cookies, but will definitely check it out next time. We highly recommend this park. We stayed in site #40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$70
This is a very nice park, close to the beach and convenient to Monterey, Pacific Grove and Carmel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our spot (20) was a bit small for our 28' Airstream. The trailer just fit, but the truck could not be parked next to it. There are lots of trees, but no grass anywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
A little pricey, but this is a really nice park with great facilities. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and cookies are always available. Wonderful, inexpensive restaurants in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$71
Nice RV Park new the beach. Only stayed one night. The park is not the easiest to maneuver, but it is manageable. It is a very pricey park. The spaces were wide enough to park the toad and each space came with a picnic table and a Chimenea fire pit. Staff was very friendly and we had, albeit a short stay, a pleasant experience. RV sites are dirt and ours was pretty level. The park is a bit overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Second stay at Marina Dunes. Good facilities. Sites are not all level but not bad. Sites are good sized. Beach access is a good walk but you will get good exercise. Recommend this RV resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
This place was very nice and comfortable. Family orientated, walking distance to beach, campsites allow and campfires, lots of trees. great location, easy access. The only complaint we had was traffic noise. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$70
Too tight for big rigs. Entrance and exit was VERY tight. For 70 a night they could redo the access points. Sites are very difficult to back in to. Baths were dirty and in disrepair. A RIP OFF!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$70
Staff is courteous. Park is quiet with the exception of the highway traffic buzzing by all night. Earplugs recommended. No rowdy party people. Sites are hard to back into as there is very little space to maneuver. Park is an older park but fairly clean. No view. Walk through the dunes to the ocean is nice. Too expensive for what you get. Nice rec room & big screen TV. $70 A NIGHT - Good Sam members $63 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$70
This park was like a breath of fresh air after having stayed in parks with high ratings in RV campground guides only to find them sorely lacking in many areas. Marina Dunes has a helpful, friendly staff. The park is in a very pretty setting and close to all the best of the Monterey area. My only complaint is that sites tend to be a bit tight although we managed just fine. Parking can be a challenge in big rigs due to greenery on the boundaries of each site. Also, the rate was a bit steep in our view. There's a path to the beach right across the street and access to the miles long bike path that goes along Monterey Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Have camped here 3 years now in 40' RV. Staff much improved this year. As others have said there is some noise from Hwy 1, but we just leave the AC fan running all night and it disappears. Fabulous biking down the coast to Monterey/Pacific Grove. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$66
This was our second time at this park.I would stay here again, close to all things in the Monterrey area. Only draw back is the noise from hwy 1. All in all it was a great visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$63
Stayed here for 10 days while we explored Monterey, Santa Cruz, and Moss Landing. Centrally located for many day trips up and down the coast. Easy access to beach along trail through the dunes. Shopping is very close. The only reason I rated park a 9 was the cost. It is very expensive but did have all we needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$70
Was hard to find a park in Monterey area so decided to pay the high price. It between the freeway (with the noise) and the sand dunes, restrooms were not clean the first day, sites are shaded but close together, but does have a good laundry room. The best characteristic is the location close to Monterey and Carmel, otherwise I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We stayed three nights in a little 8ft X10ft van conversion. Nightly rate was at a discount for being a AAA member (less $7). Our site was at the bottom end of the park and was a relatively flat, level, gravel site. Their was a paved road to our little site with had 30amp hookup with a leaky water tap. Mentioning such thing meant they came and fixed it within an hour. Brilliant! There is a little gift shop in the office, they don't sell bread, milk, etc. A short walk to Wal-Mart (about 1/4 mile) fixes that. The club house was nice with a large screen TV (free), couches, pool table ($1.25), video machines ($1), a work out room (free) and a kitchen. There was free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available all day long which was awesome! There is a nice outside patio with a large BBQ pit. The restrooms and laundry were clean. The showers, whilst clean are a little impractical as they on.y have a 'dry' bench which often has beach sand underneath. The free Wi-Fi worked pretty well at the far end of the park. The staff were very friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They provided good suggestions for places to eat and visit as well as having plenty of quarters for the laundry and gaming machines. I didn't hear much freeway noise. The park is right near the ocean via a path by their rear gate. Visiting the town Monterey while we were here, was very convenient. Lovely little RV park: we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
We stayed five nights in a 30 foot travel trailer. Nightly rate is a club price based on 10 plus rigs. All the sites are flat, level, gravel sites. Each site has a small, brick patio, picnic table and a fire pit. The sites are all, a 90 degree back in, off a paved road. It took a little maneuvering, but all our rigs were able to get located appropriately in their sites. There is a little store in the office. The club house was nice with a large screen T.V., couches, pool table, video machines, a work out room and a kitchen. There was free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available all day long. There is a nice outside patio with a large BBQ pit. Restrooms, showers, and laundry were clean. Cable T.V. was excellent and the free WIFI worked OK. Marina Dunes is under new management and the staff was friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They provided good suggestions for places to eat and provided discounts for local attractions. As a prior review stated, there is freeway noise, but not enough to be obnoxious. The park is 1/3rd of a mile from the ocean via a path by their rear gate. The park is less than 8 miles from down town Monterey and the numerous attractions in the area. We had a very pleasant stay in the park and would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$75
There are narrow driveways. It is difficult to park larger rigs. There are no pull through sites. It is a nice setting but close to freeway. Traffic noise is a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
The staff here was amazing, friendly and extremely helpful - absolutely the best! The park is convenient to the Monterey attractions. We camped in a site that back onto Highway 1 so there was some road noise but these sites are large and private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$76
We camped here one night. I thought it was a little pricy for the highway noise that goes with it. Other than that, it was easy to back in to our wide site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$70
The park is nice and clean, we are here in a 43 foot motorhome, they have and we have about 1 of six sites large enough for us, they are back in level sites with tall shrubs on both side, it is very nice and private, the price is expensive at $70 per night, but again you get what you pay for and here it is all about location,location,location we are walking distance to the dunes and a short drive over to Pebble Beach, my only real complaint is the noise, we are backed right up to a busy highway RT 1 , it is so loud I need ear plugs to sleep, the traffic starts to really roll at about 5:30 to 6 am and continues to midnight, days are not all that bad because we are up but the nights are a little hard, again its about location. There is no pool or hot tub as advertised they charge $8 for a very small bundle of wood, so bring your own if you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$48
This is a very nice park with a great location. The beach is an easy walk through the dunes. The sites are well separated but parking a tow vehicle is a challenge. The park is kid friendly and the kids there seemed to love it. The staff is friendly for the most part. The park allows pets but twice I was yelled at for my dog going in the gravel on the way to the street outside the park. This is where they they want you to take them. I guess I need to carry my 80 pound dog to stop him from going too soon. Each site has a fire pit, but ours was so rusted it could not be used. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$70
This is a nice park except for the highway noise which was really bad. We probably would not stay again because of the noise. The sites were very big and nice but close together. The beach is quite a hike or you can bike down to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$70
This RV park is nice. The staff is friendly and the grounds are clean and well kept. You cannot see or hear the ocean from the park. The beach is about a 1/2 mile walk down a sandy trail. I took my dog down to the beach which was nice. The cable TV and Wi-Fi was excellent. The site itself was level and had a little table and BBQ and there are some shrubs between the sites for privacy. The only negative is the highway noise. It is a little pricey, but I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$70
Like previous reviewers, units 1-34 are LOUD!!! They are right off Hwy 1 and even if you are not backing up to Hwy 1, they are still loud. The other side, 35 and higher is more reasonable noise. The after hours check-in is very easy, other than reading the numbers for the sites on the pavement which even with a flashlight was hard to do. However, while stating that they are dog friendly, there are only two areas of grass in the entire park and signs saying that this is not a dog walking area. Please take your dogs outside the park to walk them. Well, it is pitch dark at night and not convenient to walk outside the park. Rates are a little high for what you get, but the sites are level and privacy bushes on either side help keep you away from neighbors. Does look like they are trying to sell "Ocean cottages"-1/2 a mile from the ocean and that may be their new focus. All in all, a reasonable place that you can walk to the beach but come prepared. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
We had a great time in this little park. Convenient to Monterey, Carmel and Carmel Valley. Sites are close and short, but cozy with lovely patios, chimeneas, bbq's, hedges and trees. Nice walk to the beach. It was very peaceful lounging in front of the fire after a day of sightseeing. We liked this little park and look forward to returning. (Note: The sites on the east side of the park are backed up to the highway and would be noisy. There is a hum of traffic on the west side, but didn't bother us.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$69
Beautiful little park. Spots were small but private and each had a cobblestone patio, chiminea, and BBQ. Host were very accommodating also. We weren't sure if we were going to stay an additional night and they were fine with letting us be "wishy washy." They had a nice little DVD rental area that the kids enjoyed. Grocery stores were very accessible also. The down fall was pretty considerable highway noise and quite a walk to the beach. It was a beautiful beach though with a steep slope and crashing waves. We would definitely stay here again but would request a spot not backed up to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
Access was easy off of highway 101. Front desk was very friendly as we did not have a reservation and just popped in to see if they had availability. Hot shower was great. They have a new owner and are doing a number of renovations and upgrades. The small on-site store was well supplied with incidentals and RV items. Will definitely be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$70
The park is quite nice. Well maintained, clean, and nicely located with reasonably easy access to both a private and a public beach. I found it extremely difficult, however, to maneuver my 37 foot fifth wheel into a space, as just about every space (all are back-ins) is at a 90 degree angle to the roadway, and the roadway is not wide enough to accommodate the turning radius of the fiver and the crew cab with a long bed. We finally found a space on a circle that allowed enough of an approach angle to successfully back in. Shorter rigs would probably not have as much difficulty, but I was quite frustrated after multiple attempts with the 37 footer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
This RV park is located across the access road from Marina State Beach. The park has somewhat of a narrow entrance (heed the "wide turn" sign!). Sites are terraced in two wings. Each site has a small patio and has trees/shrubs as privacy efforts. The sites are all back-in with a small amount of space to park a tow vehicle. The staff is friendly. They helped us promptly when we had an electrical problem at our site. They are upgrading the office area and adding a playground area. The park provides very handy access to the many activities available on the Monterey Peninsula. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
Like previously said: this RV Park is "Really Noisy"! It is right off the highway and you can hear traffic all day. It's not much of a problem during the day, however at night it becomes a problem. It actually kept us awake. Other than that, it is great. About 300 yards walking distance to the beach over some dunes on a sandy path, about 5 minutes from Monterey, 10 minutes from Carmel, 5 minutes to Moss Landing. Sites are level. You do get a discount with AAA or Good Sam's Club (10%). We will stay here again due to location. But next time we will bring our ear plugs!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
Noisy, Noisy, Noisy!!! RIGHT BESIDE HIGHWAY 1, I MEAN RIGHT BESIDE. NOISY TRAFFIC ALL DAY AND NIGHT. Clean and very expensive. I do not think anyone should stay is this place unless they are very hard of hearing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Nice grounds but there are some permanent resident spots that are very trashy and brought down the overall good feeling about the park. Sites were very clean and level. Game room was "cool" according to the kids with a pool table, video games and a big TV. Restrooms and showers need a major cleaning or remodel. Staff was nice and accommodating. Weather was cold so we didn't visit the beach. The biggest complaint was the Wi-Fi service was very slow, almost non existent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
The best thing about this park is the proximity to the beach.It is a short walk to a beautiful, mostly unoccupied, beach. The RV sites are close together, but have privacy fences. Each site has a standing fireplace, BBQ and table. There are friendly staff. Although it's very close to Highway 101, the traffic noise is not really a bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
The only plus for this park is its location to the ocean. We understand that this park is under new ownership and improvements are being made. However, the back in spaces are small and barely allow for slide outs. There are trashy sites that give this park a negative impression. The bathrooms and showers are filthy. We watched the bathrooms/showers going through their cleaning process; which is a high pressured hose followed by a dousing with disinfectant. The price paid per night is way over priced for what you get. There are children running wild all over this park. This causes a safety hazard for all vehicles that enter it. We will never stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
A nice park due to proximity to beach, dunes and Monterey. The management needs some work. When we checked in, there were kids crying and screaming in the managers office, and that was just the beginning. The office staff huddled outside smoking and crying (at least for the 4 or so days we were there), weird. They are redoing the park, so there is a lot of noise from that and no privacy from the workers. Be sure to call before to make sure your site is not affected. I'm not sure I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
Beautiful location, nice park. The staff was friendly and the sites were paved. The proximity to the sand dunes and the beach are what makes this a great place to stay. We recommend this park for a home base when exploring the Monterey area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
This is a really nice park for adults. There's not a lot for kids to do, which was fine with us as our kids stayed home this trip. The beach is a short, 5 minute walk away. The sites are beautiful and private. We had a great time here. The only negatives are that it is close to Hwy 1, so there is freeway noise, and they were refurbishing some of the sites, so there was noise from power tools. This location is very close to Monterey and 17-mile drive, and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
This was an excellent park very near the beach. The only drawback is the proximity to the highway, which can be noisy for sleeping. It was very friendly towards animals, and everyone had their dogs leashed. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$65
The park is very nice and well located for touring Monterey. The park is well maintained and has a very nice club house for groups with free coffee. Nice game room for the kids. Try to stay on the west side of park to avoid the all night highway sounds. We arrived after hours and was pleased to find our reservation tags waiting on the bulletin board We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$65
I am currently staying in this park and really like it. I have room to put the truck next tot he trailer and still have room to enjoy the little patio. Not sure on the daily rate as I paid for the month. There are some long term people but you wouldn't know it unless you really looked closely. The showers and laundry room are all very clean and the clubhouse is also nice. Overall a very nice park. I noticed the freeway noise but it was never loud enough to be a nuisance. The staff are also very helpful. Would stay here again given the opportunity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$65
Not a bad park, although it wasn't entirely what we were expecting. Very close to sand dunes but it's a walk to the beach, and it's a bit pricey for what you get. Still, the proximity to Monterey and Carmel is nice, it's neat and clean, and it's easy to get to off of the freeway. Unfortunately, that also means you can hear the freeway from most of the park. Having a shorter trailer, we ended up in one of the smaller sites. It was a tight squeeze to get the trailer and SUV in side-by-side, which didn't leave us much room at all to use the picnic table, BBQ, and chiminea. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't mind coming back, especially when we visit Laguna Seca Raceway again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$65
While some complain of the noise from the freeway, it was barely noticed. We had a family tent site which was nice; our kids slept right behind us in their tent. This was also nice because we were on the Dune side. Ask for the dune side and it will be less noisy. The sites were nice, a snug fit getting in, but after a short half hour my husband and father figured it out. We do not normally stay at places with hook ups and this exceeded our expectations. The people were friendly, and everything was clean. The best part was heated showers and bathrooms. This may seem little, but when you take the little ones to the beach which is a short 10 minute walk, a beautiful walk, you will want those showers. There are no long term stays so it keeps the place nice. This was also the best RV park for those wanting to go to Monterey. The 9 of us all had a great time..try it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$60
This is a nice little park with easy access to the beach. Shopping is conveniently located nearby. Sites are spacious and tiered adding to additional privacy. Monterey Bay, Carmel and Cannery Row are a short drive away. Each site has a fire and barbeque pit with a picnic table. The amenities in the park were clean and well maintained. Slight noise from Highway 1, but not enough to bother you. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$63
Very nice place. Easy to find. Had everything we were looking for: clean bathrooms, nice showers, laundry room (bring quarters - washer $1.50, dryer $1.25), rec. room, complimentary coffee, store. Site was clean and ready. Sites have chimineas (outdoor fireplaces) and good tables. Met several families from other countries i.e. Netherlands, Germany, etc. Highway noise referred to in other posts did not bother us. It sounded like waves. It's a slight hike across the dunes to the water but it (the sand) was beautiful and clean. Located slightly north of Monterey. Parked RV on side streets near Cannery Row. Park is very well kept up and I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
Except for the fact that we are close to US 1, it's a great place. The highway noise isn't a big deal and if you take a site farther from the highway, it's not a problem. I definitely will come back. Great location and the beach is an easy walk, if you don't walk through the sand dunes. Groceries, A Wal-Mart, and 7-11 are an easy 10 minute bike ride away. The staff is friendly and its relatively quiet (background highway noise from US 1). What can I say. If it weren't for the highway noise I'd give the place a 10 rating, but even with this its only a 1 point deduction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$75
Park is in a great location and price is high due to area. We were put in a site that was really to small for our trailer which is 35ft. and which we told them when we made the reservation. It took us a long time to get into the site but once in it was a nice site. Office staff was not friendly at all and did not go out of their way for the customer. We would likely stay here again as it very limited in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
The campground is walking distance to Monterey Bay. It is on a cul-de-sac so there is not much traffic, except for the freeway side. Some sites back up to the 101 freeway, and you can hear the traffic, but you get used to it. There is a rec room, tot lot, laundry, and store on site. There is a Wal-Mart nearby as well. The Wi-Fi works well in the rec room. The staff is friendly and helpful. They take Good Sam and AAA discounts as well. They have fire pits and sell wood on site as well. It is about a 10 minute drive to Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$65
While this park is expensive, it is really the only place we would stay in the Monterey area. The owners were very helpful getting us parked. The restroom were very clean. The site had a tiled pad and a fire pit. There is a clubhouse with a lending library. There is access to the beach via a path across the dunes. This is about a 1/3 mile hike in deep sand. State park access is just down the road. There is a bike path from this campground all the way to Monterey. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$65
Noisy, noisy, noisy. This park is right on the freeway, a pretty busy one I might add, so we heard constant traffic. Please keep in mind, if you want to go down to the beach, it is a REALLY far walk. Go to the bathroom before leaving, too. The path is sandy, and in some spots deep sand. But once you finally make it to the beach, it's really nice, very clean and not a lot of people ( of course the lack of people may be because, if you know better, that beach isn't worth the effort it takes to get there). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$65
We would definitely stay at this campground again. The spaces were very large (especially for California), and the space we were in had a backyard area (not all spaces had this additional green space in the back). There are picnic benches and fireplaces provided for each space and it is clean, clean, clean. The campground is close to the highway, but the traffic noise was very minimal. It is also a nice, quick hike over to the sand dunes and beach area. The location is great as it is only 10 miles from Carmel and Monterey. There is a grocery store within a mile of the campsite and a great bagel shop as well. The bathrooms were very clean, the water was hot, and the water pressure was strong. We had the electricity go out in the campground one morning while we were showering, but it came back on about 10 minutes later. There is also a large rec room, a small playground for the little ones, and propane sold on site. Of course, for $65/night, we would expect to have a high quality campground and we were not disappointed at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$64
Although quite expensive, we felt the price was justified. The park is very well maintained. All services are included in the price including cable TV and WiFi. Our level site included a tiled patio as well as a Mexican style fireplace. A short, well marked, trail leads across some dunes to the beach. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$85
This park is about a mile walk + to the beach. They tell you when you call that it is 300 yards over the dunes; yeah, as the crow flies. Be prepared to hike to the beach. I didn't like that there was constant and a lot of freeway noise. It was also expensive at $85 per night. The site we had was just okay. Nothing special. It is cold and foggy there most of the time so this would probably good if you were going to do day trips to Monterey Bay Aquarium or day trips out of the park. I would not visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$79
Was fine. Very expensive!!! About 1/4 mile walk to beach. There were some VERY noisy neighbors doing karaoke VERY loudly, so I would have liked someone to take care of that. Ok trip. Would stay again, but probably won't due to cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$65
I really like this place and would have given it better than a 7 if not for the road noise. It is *not* US-101 as stated in a previous post, rather it is CA Hwy 1 which is a 4-lane freeway through this area. Great for visiting Monterey though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$70
This park is very attractive and within walking distance of a very secluded beach. Each site has a patio, barbecue, fireplace, picnic table and trees. The bathrooms were well appointed and clean. Of the four staff members we met, three were exceedingly friendly and accommodating. The downsides are significant road noise and high price. At that nightly rate, the wifi, pool table and firewood should be gratis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$65
This is walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen -- about 1/3 mile walk on sand, but level and through dunes with pretty colors of ice plant, etc. The beach was literally miles and miles long, with not a sole on it -- it was unbelievable!! Make sure you don't forget anything because it's too far to walk back and forth to and from your RV! The park was nice, clean, spots were manageable to get in and out of (even with 39 footer), bathrooms were clean, store and rec room were nice, but the ONLY reason I gave it a "5" was the freeway (hwy 101) noise was almost unbearable at night. We were backed up to 101, so the noise was horrible, but would go back and try a spot in the 50 range to see if that makes a difference. We'll give it another go because of the beach, though! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$65
We planned on 3 nights here, but enjoyed it so much that we were able to add an additional day in order to do some wine tasting in the area. The park is oriented more or less north to south and parallels Hwy 1, which is on the east side of the park. We were in the north end of the park, which is somewhat further above Hwy 1 than the south, and therefore quieter, I believe. The staff was pleasant and arranged a space reassignment for us without a problem. Our space was on the west half toward the ocean, so we could barely hear the traffic. It was plenty roomy for 35' coach, toad, and bikes. The only electrical power plug was for 30 amps, so I'm not sure if there is 50 amp service in other sites. Nobody previously mentioned the "chimineas" which appeared to be in most of the spaces as a place for a campfire. We used ours a few times as it was fairly chilly. The park office has firewood for sale. The aforementioned nearby restaurant is A.J. Spurs, a good western themed steak & ribs chain with full bar. Also, there is plenty of shopping for groceries, etc just a couple of miles east in the town of Marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$65
Their website states $55/night, but when we showed up it was $65 and quite off season. Everything is pretty average here - not worth $65. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$77
I read where others had spaces that accommodated their big rigs. We must not have been in that section! Our site was all but impossible to get our 34' 5th wheel into. The staff did not assist, our only help were those folks lined up behind us who acted as spotters to avoid the obstacles and other tow vehicles which were in the way. For $77 per night, we expected much more. As mentioned, the beach is a considerable distance away AND is not dog friendly, which necessitated a long walk back with a lab that had her heart on a good swim! Not really much to recommend, especially for the money. Would be tolerable for about one-half the cost or less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
Very close to Monterey. The park was obviously built before coaches grew to the 40-45 foot sizes we see today. There is not enough room to pull in with a dingy and I had to unhook outside the park. There are no pull-throughs, and the site are short, and not very wide. It took me 5 minutes to navigate my 40 footer into the spot. The road is so narrow, that it takes quite a bit of backing up, pulling forward, and again and again to get into a spot. I also couldn't put out both sides of the slides, as the spots were too narrow. The electrical box was in really bad shape and in need of repair. The only interaction I had with staff was when I checked in, and the girl at the desk was not overly friendly. There are no fenced in areas for dogs, but it is a very short walk to the beach with good sandy hills and great views of the mountains. The RV park is right next to a highway, so you can hear traffic all the time if your air conditioner isn't running. Overall the place was OK, but I might try to look around for another option next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$55
We really enjoyed our two night stay at Marina Dunes. The people working the desk were very friendly and helpful, finding us a great spot which easily fit our 24' motorhome and motorcycle trailer. The sites are nicely level, with nicely maintained pea gravel and picnic tables on small, tile "patios." The use of elevation and small trees and shrubs leads to good feeling, in terms of seclusion. Well, at least as much as a structured, close in facility like this can provide! I'm not sure what path others were taking to the beach, but we didn't find it a long walk, at all. Maybe 1/3 mile at most? It is over sand for a good portion of the path, which does make walking a bit harder. The beach, itself, is very nice. Close proximity to Carmel, Monterey and Laguna Seca contributed to our very much enjoying our stay. Unfortunately, that close proximity includes being near the freeway. Freeway noise is the one significant downside to this location. I'll use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$60
The sites are nice and level with enough space that you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbors. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had guests come by on both nights we were there, and there was no problem with that. There was no extra charge for guests. It is a little pricey, but this is the Monterey area, and there is not much else here. They do offer a 10% AAA and Good Sam discount. There are two reasons I did not give this park a "10": first, they charge extra for WiFi and second, some of the sites back up onto Highway 1. We have dual-pane windows in our RV, so it wasn't really a problem for us, but the highway noise might bother some people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$60
This is a real nice place, a little pricy but look where you are. The sites are large enough and easy to get into. There is landscaping in between all the sites as well, giving you privacy. The staff has always been very friendly and willing to do what it takes to make you happy. We were given a site that was just the length of my trailer and I went and asked to move to a larger site and they had no problem with that. The beach is within walking distance and there is a great bike trail all the way to Pacific Grove. There is also a very nice restaurant within walking distance. We will continue to come here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$55
If the sites had been a little more private and there had been a view, I would have given this a 10. (Mind you, we don't need a lot of 'extras' like pools, and lawn bowling.) Gravel sites were groomed after every visitor. Sites all had a unique elevation. Shade everywhere. Right across the street from Marina Dunes State Park. About 10 miles north of Monterey. There was a fantastic bike path for the hearty all the way into Monterey mostly riding along the dunes and the bay. We were there between terrible storms and the place still looked pristine. The office 'store' was nicely stocked with a few necessities and everyone was friendly. A bit pricey but in line with other area parks. (10% discount for AAA.) After all, this is Monterey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$65
We have spent 3 to 4 months here for 3 different summers. Half of the park has small spaces, and the other half has large ones, with some of them being very large, and private. Our 40' motor home had plenty of room for slides on both sides and room to park the car in front. Each site has a brick patio and fireplace. Shrubs or wood fences separate the sites. The nightly rates are high, but are greatly reduced on a monthly basis. It is the closest RV park to Monterey. The beach is nearby, but requires climbing up and down some high sand dunes. Golf is nearby at Bayonet/Black Horse Golf Club located at Fort Ord, and there are many other courses in the Monterey Bay area. We love it there, and are going to spend the summer there again in 2007. The only negative is that the park backs up to Highway 1 and there is some traffic noise. Sites not backed up to the highway access road, back up to the tent area, which can be loud, at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$49
Stayed here over the busy 4th of July weekend - had an end site that backed right into our neighbor's picnic table. Sites are a little cramped. Picnic table on a brick patio a nice touch. Somewhat pricey. Little store with fresh baked cookies, playground, game room, etc. Nice bathrooms, good base of operations for your Monterey Peninsula vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$50
It is very near the beach and with large sand dunes within a few yards of the park. There is a nice mall-type retail area (Costco, Starbucks, bookstores, etc.) within two miles. The sites are well maintained with a concrete pad, individual fire places and are fairly private due to the mature, attractive landscaping dividing them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Note: The name has changed back to the original: Monterey Dunes RV Park. Onterra was a management company that came in for a year, but was not asked to return. Still a LONG walk to the beach. Only real plus is short drive to Monterey. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
1999
$35
We could not find many campgrounds in this area. This one is ok but sites are small (22wide by 50long) All are back ins and some are smaller than this. There is some landscaping between sites but really on top of each other. Some rigs would have a very difficult time backing in. Wasn't this name in 1999 so not sure if they are still stating at the beach but it isn't. It is a good mile walk to the beach. If back in this area, would try to find another campground. But would probably try to stay another town/city so wouldn't have to stay at this one. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com