223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Lower Lehman Creek Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (775) 234-7331
CGID3927

Lower Lehman Creek Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
11
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   10   9   8   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$6
Loved this campground. Had a site right next to Lehman Creek. The sites are paved, but not level. It would have been nice if they were graded prior to paving. Would definitely stay again as my preference is being in the parks, not outside of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$6
No reservations for any campground in Great Basin N.P. Both Lower and Upper Lehman have lovely spots along the creek with fire rings at each campsite. Vault toilets and water spigots around the campground. Many spaces are very un-level so bring lots of blocks if you plan to camp here in an RV. Most spots have either AM or PM shade. Good access to Lehman Caves and Visitor Center. Gas in Baker is pricey so plan accordingly; a few grocery stops and that's about it. Great Basin N.P. well worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$3
This small campground is hard to rate, as there is a lot of variability between campsites. We stayed in campsite number 10 and it was so nice we stayed longer than we expected. If you come here, plan to arrive early: 9:30-10:30,on a weekday, as there are no reservations and the campground fills up early in the day. There are no hookups. There is a pit toilet that is clean. Our rate reflected a Golden Age Pass, and the rate was reduced because the water had not been turned on. The campground is at about 7,500 feet so it is nice and cool, with lots of trees around. In campsite 10 we had no trouble leveling our 40 foot rig, but some of the other campsites did not look quite as level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$6
Actually we stayed at Baker Creek Campground. Lovely spot, great views but had to take a very dusty road to get here. Large sites, good hikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$6
Access is great. The campground is eight miles up from Baker. Paved all the way. The road in the campground is a little tight with overhanging trees but we had no problem in our 36' RV. (There is another campground just up from this one, the Upper Lehman, but it's pretty tight for a big rig. There is a third one up on Wheeler Peak but it's really a tenter park.) The campground is sweet. Eleven sites with lots of privacy and a wonderful creek running right through it. There are two or three good sites for big rigs. We camped in number 10 which is the most level and gives you your own creek beach! The price when the water is turned on is $12 (half for Senior Pass) and $6 when there is no water. There are restrooms but that's all. You can dump near the Visitor's Center for $5 but we weren't able to get water there as it's set up for gravity feed tanks. We went down the hill to Baker to the Sinclair Station and got our water there. Best to just go there, dump and get water. It's $5 to dump. There is no cell connectivity in the park but our Dish satellite antenna worked fine. Take a drive up to Wheeler Peak; take the toad through Oceola (not much there but a nice drive); stop and see the deer antler place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$3
The rate reflects off-season rate (water not on in the campground yet) and 50% senior discount. There is drinking water available at the dump station which is about 5 miles from the CG. Lower Lehman is the most medium size rig friendly CG in Great Basin National Park and it is not really for big rigs. We are 27 feet long and I don' think you would want to try for anything longer than 35 or so feet. As noted, leveling is a significant challenge that becomes even more difficult as your rig gets longer. The setting is nice, beautiful, calm, dark & quite, all of which we like. Some of the pull through sites are right next to the stream flowing through the campground. When you come into the park, there is a sign pointing to the right toward "Wheeler Peak." Even though it does not mention the campground, it will take you to Lower Lehman, Upper Lehman, and, eventually, Wheeler Peak. Lower Lehman entrance is 1.9 miles up this road. It is a fairly steep climb at supposedly an 8% grade. If you are a larger rig, do not go past this point. Some medium rigs might fit in Upper Lehman, bit it would be a tight fit and even harder to level than Lower Lehman. Definitely do not go past Upper Lehman or you will be in for about 8 miles of very steep, very winding mountain road to get to Wheeler Peak CG. There is another campground in the park -- Baker Creek, but it is up a dirt/gravel road to fairly small sites. This one would be for tenter's or the very adventurous. We would definitely stay at Lower Lehman again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$6
Beautiful setting in a quiet area. Sites were not really level and can be tight for larger rigs. Bring all the leveling blocks you own. Otherwise, we were lucky to grab a deep back-in site for our 30' foot Class C that we liked so much we stayed an extra night. Pit toilets and no showers, but what a deal for $6.00 a night. Dump station is near the visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
Some very nice and very large sites here, my only complaint is that I could not seem to be able to get level in any of them available to me, even with levelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$12
Nice National Park campground at the entrance to Great Basin that is open in the winter. 11 spaces, most are plowed. We camped in #5 and had the place to ourselves. Amazing wildlife and winter scenery. Trash and pit toilet service provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
This could be a nice campground if you didn't have to worry about finding a site after driving hundreds of miles. It is a first come first serve campground with no reservations. We arrived around 2:00 pm midweek and all the sites were full. We attempted to camp in Baker Creek which is accessible by dirt road and it does have some pull through sites. However, what was left was too difficult to level our 30' 5th wheel with slide out so be aware. We also tried to set up in the midst of a cloudburst and lightning storm with lightning strikes frighteningly close. Also be aware of the altitude climb both into Great Basin and further into either Lower Lehman or Baker Creek; it is very steep. We ended up at the Borden Inn RV Park. We will return if this campground goes on the reservation system. Lehman Caves was worth the hassle! WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$6
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. With our Golden Age pass it was $3.00 per night and what a bargain. We had no trouble getting our 35' fifth wheel in and chose a back in site with the stream right in our "backyard", there are several pull through sites available also. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit and the sites are nicely spaced apart. It was quiet and peaceful. We got there about noon and the campground was full by 3:00. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
Overall a very nice campground (it's not an RV park) considering the remote location and elevation (7,300 feet). Interior road and sites are asphalt paved and are spaced apart adequately. Cold water spigots seemed to be located everywhere throughout the campground with lots of pressure. As a previous reviewer mentioned, many of the sites are extremely unlevel in two directions... especially the back-in sites. This is easily dealt with if you bring your leveling devices and you have adequate wheel chocks to keep your ring from rolling away. Each site features a large picnic table and a fire ring. This is a first-come-first-served campground and reservations are not accepted. We arrived about 2:30pm on a Monday afternoon, only two campsites were open, and only one of the two could possibly accommodate our 28 foot long travel trailer. But it turned out to be a nice spot (site 11). I would not recommend this campground for any RV over 35 feet long, and even then you'll find only a handful of site which can accommodate that sized RV. If you find this campground full, the nearest one (accessible by pavement) is the Upper Lehman Creek Campground a few miles further up the road and higher in elevation. See my review of the Upper Lehman Creek Campground for more details. A dump station with potable water is located a few miles away toward the park visitor center and can be used for $5.00. Another dump station with potable water is also available for $5.00 in nearby Baker, NV located alongside the self-service fuel pumps at the south end of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$10
Eleven sites in this campground, 6 are pull-thrus big enough for larger RV's and all were fine for our 30 ft class A. About half the sites are along Lehman Creek. Most sites are fairly to extremely sloped. No hook-ups, no showers, pit toilets, but the roaring creek (the area saw much higher than normal snowfall this year so runoff is higher) that ran just beyond our awning more than made up for any shortage of amenities. Lehman Cave tour was worth doing. Hiking at the time was a little difficult as many trails were very wet or cut-off by swollen streams due to the extra rain/snow that season; flowers and grasses were beautiful. Would like to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com