221660 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Mountain (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (605) 745-4600
CGID3929

Elk Mountain (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Great campground to use as a base to see all the Black Hills attractions! Lots of wildlife in the area! Campground is clean (with restrooms with flush toilets), quiet, and easily accessible via paved roads. Campground is 1 mile from the Wind Cave National Park visitor center. Nightly ranger programs throughout the summer. At least 20 sites will accommodate big rigs. (One site is 75' long!) Mostly pull-throughs; some back-ins. No electric, sewer or showers. Those services are available in nearby towns. Sites are first come, first served, but the host says the campground has never been full. $12 per night; 1/2 price for holders of Federal Senior (Golden Age) or Disability (Golden Access) passes. Campground is open all year; during winter the water is turned off, but there are pit toilets and fee is $6 (1/2 price for pass holders listed above.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
Great place to camp! Quiet and clean! Shade or full sun sites available. Tents only in Loop A; Tents or small Class Bs or Class Cs in Loop C. 16 sites for larger rigs in Loops A and D. (May need leveling blocks for front-to-back and side-to-side.) Most big rig sites are pull-throughs. Our rig is 70' with truck, trailer and jeep, and we would fit in 10 of the sites with no problems. Water spigots (good tasting water) available every 6 or so sites. Fill up before parking. No electricity. Nearest RV dumps (and groceries) in Hot Springs (15 mi. South) or Custer (30 mi. North). Generator hours 8 am to 8 pm. Most 'big rig' sites are not shaded. Shade available at most other sites. Clean bathrooms with flush toilets and sink during summer season. Camper sink in each loop, for dish washing. During winter, only B Loop is open - with pit toilets. Campground well maintained. Easy access to hiking. Less than 2 mi. to Visitor Center with daily cave tours. Lots of wildlife and wildflowers! Great place to kick back and relax. Wi-Fi may be available by Visitor Center. Phone service (except AT&T) is available along main highway, but not in campground. Nightly ranger programs at the campground during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
Very nice primitive campground in Wind Cave National Park. Not as many sites will accommodate RVs, but those that do will take big rigs. Water available from threaded spigots around the park. Restrooms have utility sink for dish washing. No luck with cell signals, either AT&T or Verizon. Beautiful scenery with wildlife all around the park. Dog friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
The only sites for big rigs are in the b loop. Of those there were four that our 37 foot fiver fit into, with three slides extended. Gravel sites. Saying that, the place is in a beautiful and quiet setting. Elk bugled near the campground each night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
We agree with praise heaped on this park by others. Open all year, but flush toilets and water are shut off in winter. There is an amazing modern design pit toilet that is immaculately clean and absolutely odorless, even after some dunce left the cover up!!!! No showers. All facilities are in good repair. There are paved roads and fairly level gravel sites with our favorite round steel firepits. We had no trouble getting our 32 foot fiver and tow vehicle into one of the pull throughs, and several sites could accommodate big rigs. Host and all other personnel are friendly and helpful. It is a pleasure to be there, and we are eager to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
If you are going to stay here, charge the battery, fill the water tank, empty the gray and black water tanks prior to arrival, turn on the gas 'fridge, and get ready to live with what you got. There are no showers (was told local private campgrounds fight the NPS on installing them). But, if you can take it, the rewards are awesome. Bison are fenced out of the campground, but can roam very close to the entrance. Deer, birds plentiful. Coyotes howling. The ultimate in quiet and peace. Dark at night, great for star viewing. Nighttime ranger shows were quite good. Sites are tight, even for our 18 ft trailer. Water is available, but the faucets have no threads, so we had to fill our tank by hand holding the hose against its washer. Bathrooms were immaculate. Free fire wood for campers. No dump station made us watch our water use closely. Road was good for bicycling. Not for the camper who needs electric devices and entertainment. We would definitely camp here again for a few days at a time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$12
We loved this campground. No hook-ups or showers but very clean restrooms and incredible peace and quiet even in the middle of the busy summer season. Some sites a bit sloped and the Trailer Life directory says no slide-outs for this campground. I assume because some pull-thrus seemed to leave your road side slide a bit exposed but it appeared that most if not all sites could handle slide-outs. We took a back-in for our 30 ft class A and it was very spacious. (Trailer Life also says no tents and we saw many, many tents so that seems to be an error.) The park has a nice nature trail with beautiful views of the surrounding hills, lots of wildlife and free firewood (this is the first year for the free firewood we understand, while dead and down wood in the area is being cleared from the surrounding forest; don't know how long it will continue). It was so pleasant and peaceful that we opted not to change locations and did all of our site seeing as day trips from this park. We enjoyed the Mammoth site in Hot Springs, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse monument, Mt. Rushmore, the town of Deadwood, Wall Drug and Badlands National Park. We also took a tour of Wind Cave but unfortunately found the many unhappy, wailing children on our particular tour to be rather a distraction from the event. We loved the area and the campground and hope to return some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com