223181 User submitted reviews online!!
Caspar Beach RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (707) 964-3306
CGID393

Caspar Beach RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   5   7   2   8   7   7   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Very tight spots. Some of the road is one lane and could use a mirror to see if anyone coming before turning down into campsites or pulling out. Restrooms were clean. Showers were coin operated (did not use). Give it a plus for short walking distance to beach (walked down for sunset). Quiet time is supposedly 10 p.m. but neighbors were noisy for a couple hours after. Will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Although this park is near a beautiful cove on the ocean (calm enough for kayaking), the park itself is very crowded. The sites are very close together (our slide out was within 6 inches of our neighbor) and not that level. The personnel were friendly and helpful. It was a good base to tour the area of Mendocino and Fort Bragg (be sure to check out the Skunk Train) but I doubt we would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
We stayed one night at this park. The sites are very close together and access for large RVs is not easy. The wi-fi was spotty. The laundry room had three washers and dryers and was expensive compared to other RV parks. The staff was friendly. The park was across the street from the beach, not on the beach. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We have stayed here about a dozen times over the past 5 years (family in the area). It is the best park in the area. That said, it is going downhill. We last stayed here in June 2012 and now (October 2012) the park is noticeably less maintained, less clean, and less appealing. It looks like a change in ownership / management with no one really taking care of things. Trash containers without lids, debris in the park, etc. We really did like this park and have rated it highly in the past. I really hate to see it go downhill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We feel as though we were mislead by the website. It shows beautiful sites with grass and spacious vistas. Wrong! It was packed with barely enough room between RVs. It was also dirty and loud. The only redeeming feature was the beach directly across the road from the park. We will never visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Not a bad campground. Very busy, but it is summer and it is right by the beach in California. Lots of friendly families, everyone respectful. Has tight sites but otherwise a great place to stay . We will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
This RV park is great for groups (such as ours) where a bunch of people can reserve way in advance and take out all the long sites closest to the front of the park. Then we set up about 4 tables and feed 24 to 30 on abalone every night. Electrical is iffy sometimes, and some had trouble keeping breakers from breaking. Have stayed here for 7 years in a row with 6 or 7 sites taken yearly. Great times, and staff is friendly and efficient. Could use some upgrading, but a great place from which to explore. Convenient location between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
We camped here over the new year's holiday and it wasn't that busy. We had some rain & some gorgeous sun but this place was pretty wet nonetheless. The location cannot be beat as it is directly across from the beach and Mendo & Fort Bragg are both a few miles away. I would agree that this place is not for big rigs as the spots are really tight. We have a 27ft Class C with no slides, but no one was on either side of us so it was great. All utilities worked great, including Wi-Fi, but cell service was very spotty. I would definitely come back here in the fall/winter/spring but in summer I bet it is too crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
The location is great for visiting Mendocino and the State Parks in the area. We paid $35 for a back in site with 30 Amp and full hookups with our Good Sam discount. The campground was not busy during our stay which was a very good thing as the campground is not designed for newer RV units - perhaps it was built back when no one had slides and everything was shorter in length and width or the owners are too greedy and care more about the number of sites than comfort of their clients - not sure which, but it is brutally tight. The roads going in and out were difficult to navigate with our 34 ft Class A and it really doesn't help when park staff park their vehicles on the narrow roads at turns. The bush across the road from the bathrooms needs a trim. The dump station is horribly located. Good luck getting out if someone is using the dump and good luck using it if you have a big rig. The campground has a lot of mobile homes and long term residents. The long term residents have their own area. The sites are way too close together and are partially dirt and partially concrete pads - two lines of pads - our front tires were on the mud. If we had neighbors, our slide would have been over there picnic table and I had to move our picnic table so that our step wouldn't hit it. The back in sites were lacking grass and were muddy. We backed on to a very small, slow moving stream. We had no room for our tow vehicle. I can't imagine this place full. Furthermore, many tent behind the RVs (across the creek). I have no idea where they would park. I would not be happy if a neighbor had a fire nor would we ever think to have one - the fire would be WAY TO CLOSE to the motorhome. The road to get to the campground is also a bit of an adventure, but if you made it on the 1 from the 101 heading south, this road will be similar - go slow and you'll be fine. Big rigs with large tow vehicles may want to detach if the road is really busy. The lady in the store was polite and happy to take our money, but would not provide any information on the area and then wondered why the campsite was so dead. She couldn't wait to get rid of us - "okay, bye bye now" - code for stop asking me questions about the area. The store does have kayak rentals, surf boards, and diving gear. It is also a short walk to a nice beach and we could hear the gentle barking of the sea lions in the morning and evenings. The Wi-Fi worked well. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Very crowded and hard to get into sites. Very narrow winding road in from the highway. Great location across road from a beautiful beach. Lots of potential. Okay facility, great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
We had a wonderful time at this park. Clean and well maintained. The management and staff were VERY friendly!! Great hiking trails and beach! Can't wait to go back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
When we first pulled in I was very disappointed. Gravel roads and the RV pads are just two strips of cement. Some sites have small patches of grass, put their covered in charcoal from many campfires. Apparently no one cleans the sites and the remains of the fire pits end up all over. On the good side it was very quiet despite there being lots of kids and tent campers. The Wi-Fi worked fine but we couldn't get cell phone service. I would stay here again for a short stay because its halfway between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. Casper Beach is a very nice small beach and just a short walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
My spouse and I are veteran campers/backpackers from the northwest. Hands down this was the absolute WORST camping experience of our lives. We regret having just not kept on driving instead of wasting our time at this campground, not to mention risking our health. 1. The tent sites are horrible, tiny and crowded in between RV's. 2. Our site smelled like rotting fish guts and dog doo. 3. The restrooms were filthy, unkempt, and stinky. 4. We never bothered with trusting the water for teeth brushing or even washing after our visit to the toilet. 5. Warning: this is more of a permanent RV park than campground. Consider yourselves warned! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
This is a lovely little park tucked back into a wooded cove with direct access to the beach. It is amazingly quiet due to the trees and the fact that it is set down away from the road. We were here when it was almost empty. The sites seemed narrow and we did not like the extra charges for each child and each dog (levied nightly), but the setting was nice and it was very convenient to visit Mendocino from here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Agree with all the other posters as far as tight spaces. Couldn't open awning even if we were so inclined. Wi-Fi good, pleasant employees, and a quiet park. Off season for some, but the park was nearly full the 4 days we spent here. We were looking for the closest park to the town of Mendocino. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
You are right next to everyone so if people are noisy this is not pleasant. Abalone divers like this campground and they were friendly. Office staff nice and they had a well stocked store. If you need to stop for a night it is OK but campers are like sardines in a can. The campground is near the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Close parking, but the campground was quiet & pleasant. Enjoyed being close to the beach, even though the weather was cold & windy, but still nice. Store was pleasantly stocked & staff was friendly. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Not a bad place for a group, like we had. A bunch of abalone divers and those willing to eat it. Great times and good food made up for a lot. The spaces are right on top of each other, and the number of easy to get at pull throughs is limited. Lots of smaller spots are available. Water pressure is horrible, and only 30 amp is available. Wi-Fi is so-so but better if you're near the antenna. We had a great time because of the group we were with and will return every year, but if we pulled in by ourselves would most likely be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Our group of eleven people, all in different rigs were able to stay here on short notice. Very friendly management! Spaces are almost too close together, however, all fellow campers were very friendly and the atmosphere very pleasant. Near to the ocean and beach is a plus for us as we have children. We will visit this RV Park for years to come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
The park has a great location very close to the beach. Although the park was crowded, the atmosphere was terrific and everyone was friendly. The store was well stocked and the employees were very helpful. The park has great facilities for cleaning fish and abalone. The park is very dog and kid friendly as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$46
I must agree with the majority of the folks who have previously posted on this campground. Had we come here when the weather was perfect, we would not have been able to have our slides "out". A nice walk to the beach, but overall rating: 0 for size, 7 for the beach being nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Campground area is a bit rundown, sites are mainly dirt and gravel although there are some paved sites. Location is hard to find due to lack of signage, and interior roads are narrow as are many of the sites. Beach is close by and the staff was helpful but there are a lot of units on a small property. We would probably consider other campgrounds in the area for our next visit to the Fort Bragg area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Loved that this place was at the beach. This made it worth a lot, but the actual campground was not well laid out. Our slide out was almost up against the guy next to us. Sites were way too small. Terrible directions to this place, it was really hard to find and cell service was poor. A confirmation email with directions would have been really appreciated. Bathrooms were creepy, dark, old and not enough of them. We would stay here again because of the beach but would like to see about 1/3 of the sites taken out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
The RV sites at this campground are very close to each other. There is some privacy if you get a back in spot next to the creek. There is little to no privacy for the pull through spots.What this park offers is a public beach right across the narrow street. The water is fairly shallow and in a protected cove so surfers and body boarders take advantage of the small, steady wave action. You have to appreciate the location of the park (between Fort Bragg and Mendocino and across from a sandy beach) to enjoy it. You have to ask for an internet connection code. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
The good thing about this campground is the folks who run it: in particular the camp host. He's great. The bad thing is you are packed in so tight, like sardines, that if you had a big rig and wanted to extend your awning it would be rubbing on your neighbor's rig. Truly the smallest spaces we've ever seen. They do have a nice little beach cove right across the road which is the reason we came here. However, that weekend it was full of flies so not very pleasant to sit on the beach and watch the water. Also, the right side of the campground as you drive in sits in the shadow of the nearby cliff so is very damp. The inside of our motorhome never dried out while we were here. The windows always had condensation on them. However, for as crowded as the place was, everyone was well behaved and there was very little noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This appears to be a very old park with extremely narrow sites. The grounds are not maintained to the degree that you would expect. Good proximity to the beach, well stocked convenience store, good Wi-Fi, but other than that, not too many other positives to speak of. There are other much better parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Pros: Great scenery. Beach is literally right across the street. Full service market with propane $2.99 gal (8-07-08) and a dumping station. Cons: In 30 years of travel trailer camping, I have NEVER seen spaces this tight. Literally you can't extend your awning/popout without hitting your neighbor. I am totally amazed the Fire Marshall allows this. It makes you feel like all they care about is packing the park as full as possible for the best ROI. It kind of tarnishes the splendor just across the street. We were here 10 days and I spoke with no less than 10 campers and at least 7 of those will never be back because of the crowded spaces. We will not be back for the same reason. One of the campers pointed out that new concrete slabs had been poured in between the old ones literally doubling the amount of people they can "pack" in the park. I am pretty sure that's why there is only one picture on their website of the actual campground. Even from that photo you can tell it is very crowded. If you want an accurate view of what you are in for: click on the photo on their home page to enlarge it and continue to click until you can see the trailers in the campground. There it is. Say hello to your neighbor because you are going to get to know them REALLY well! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
Older park in a perfect location--You walk across the road and you are on a beautiful sandy beach. Great beachcombing here! The park itself is not perfect, as the sites are very, very close together, and it is rather noisy until late with kids & teens having fun! Still, we stay here every trip down the coast because of the beach access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
OK park, very tight parking spaces. RVs are parked head to toe and there is not enough room between the sites for 2 coaches to have simultaneously have slideouts or awnings extended. All services did work well. The main attraction is Caspar Beach which is right across the road. There are two roads into Caspar Beach RV from Highway 1. Take the northern-most road as it is shorter and does not have the 200+ degree steeply descending hairpin just before the park that will tear the skid wheels off your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
Caspar RV Park is situated off a frontage road from Highway 1 south of Fort Bragg. The RV park is built near the site of the old Caspar Sawmill, and remains can still be seen of the old waterworks for the mill pond, as well as piers from the greenchain. It is our understanding that the mill site is private property and is still owned by Caspar Logging Company, although there are no signs posted, and the mill site is frequently visited. Park is normally very quiet, with no road noise, and the soothing sounds of the ocean permeates the sites. Beach access is wonderful, one of our favorite long term visits. Due to the popularity of this park, we reserve our visits during the off season. Park fills up during holidays and abalone season, so plan accordingly. Park was designed for smaller RVs, and can be quite crowded when the larger units show up. About 1/2 of the sites are pull throughs. Hookups vary with the back in sites. WiFi is available and works well. There is no cell service available in the park, at least with our provider. The park has recently remodeled their restrooms and showers and they are quite nice. There is a great fish cleaning station available. We enjoy our visits to Caspar RV Park during the off season. Did we mention that there is great beach access? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$35
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here near the Pt. Cabrillo Light Station. The ocean is just across the street. Campground is well-maintained, but the sites are close together. This time of year, that did not matter as we were one of the few there. Highly recommend camping here. Great location, comfortable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Upon arrival, our reservation couldn't be found so we were put into a site for the night and had to move the next day. This place can best be described as a mess. Dirt and dust everywhere. The sites are so close we could hear the neighbors breathing. Would never recommend staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Across the street from a nice beach. Some sites were grassy and looked into the stream, others were close together and noisy. Lots of permanent residents with gardens and fences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
The sites are close together. If you are planning to stay at your site all day, this may not be the place for you (not a lot of privacy). The beach is just across the road. It is secluded and not crowded at all. We could walk back to the restrooms or our trailer to use the bathroom or get food (it is that close). The park was very clean, the staff were friendly, and the park was quiet at night. We like to use our camping spot as a "base camp" and go to different places. It was excellent for us. Centrally located to several wonderful places to visit. At the beach sunsets are great and there are shells to collect. We will definitely make this our priorty campground when we go back to Mendocino. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2003
$35
We have stayed here twice before in 2003, 2004 and will be going again next week. We find the people in the store very nice and friendly. 99.9% better than those at Westport RV camp. The spots are rather small, but it's a nice enough park and I can walk (disabled) to the beach. Playing a round of golf isn't to far from the RV Park. We will stay there as often as we can over the next few years. This park is clean and only a couple of spaces set a little away from the over nighters are there. Can't beat this place, We love the Hill even without shade trees, and you are parked behind the store it's still nice to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$38
These guys must have spent all their money in advertising. The playground has one rusty monkey bar and one swing set. It's also full of trash (April 2003). The amenities are there, it seems. We didn't use the bathroom and the staff is reasonably courteous during check-in & check-out. Beach access? Forget it. It's across the road and a long walk. If you are going to drive anyway, there are more attractive beaches (Van Damme SP down HWY 1, for example). The worst part about this park is the lack of privacy. I've been camping 10 years, almost once every month and I've never seen RV sites packed so closely together. No hedges or other structures in between either. We had about 7 feet from our RV wall to our neighbors. Interesting trying to go to sleep while hearing the conversation next door (whispered). When our neighbor plays cards next door, we can see what hand he holds from our RV. Conclusion: Nice location (Caspar Cove). Walkable to the beach (although not that close). But the sardine-packing is ridiculous and took away from the camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
A "coveted" site is called "the hill" just as you enter the park. Very secluded and feels like your own lawn. We really enjoyed this park. To the left, tall redwoods. To the right, the ocean waves. A few miles to get into Fort Bragg (3) but worth it for the seclusion. Staff was helpful and sociable. We stayed a week, and ran out of things to visit! Skunk train, harbor, charter fishing, wine tasting, and fabric shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Park entrance is directly across from Beach access. However it was not being used much for swimming. All gravel driveways and sites. Staff was friendly but didn't go out of their way to offer suggestions on activities in the area. Entrance road to park is full of very tight curves and hilly. I enjoyed the stay more due to other campers than the location. I wouldn't go out of my way to visit this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com